Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Jensen's Plumbing & Heating, Inc.

Phone: (815) 338-1936 Fax: (815) 338-1987 View Additional Phone Numbers 670 E Calhoun St, Woodstock, IL 60098 http://www.jensensph.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jensen's Plumbing & Heating, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Jensen's Plumbing & Heating, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jensen's Plumbing & Heating, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 27, 1996 Business started: 03/01/1942 Business started locally: 03/01/1942 Business incorporated 06/12/1972 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Public Health
122 S. Michigan Avenue, Chicago IL 60603
http://www.idph.state.il.us
Phone Number: (312) 814-2608

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Allan Jensen, President Mr. Charles Snowdy, General Mgr
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Allan Jensen, President
Business Category

Water Heaters - Parts & Supplies Furnace Sales & Service Furnace Cleaning Fiberglass - Bathtubs & Showers Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Sump Pump Contractors Heating Contractors Plumbers Plumbing - Contractor Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Water Heaters - Repairing Plumbing Fixtures, Parts, Supplies - Retail Furnaces - Industrial Plumbing Fixture Fitting and Trim Manufacturing (NAICS: 332913)

Alternate Business Names
Jensen's Plumbing & Heating Inc

Additional Locations

  • 670 E Calhoun St

    Woodstock, IL 60098 (815) 338-1936 (224) 337-3418

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Requested repair or second opinion. on 2.24.14 which I feel should have taken only an hour or less. they charged for 2 hours, and also charged for truck use not mentioned when appointment was made. service man only did simple test and inform me that a new furnace was needed and did no repairs on the furnace. Repair bill (call slip number 45304) was left in home. Spoke to service manager about charges, he would not negotiate, I paid $125.00 out of a billing of $270. Service manager filed a lien on the house for remainder of bill, $145 plus filing charges of $40.

Desired Settlement: Remove the lien and have the bill paid in full

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/06/30) */ Mr. ***** is incorrect in his assessment of the time it took for his service call, and the truck charge. We track our service vehicles via satellite and have records that show our driver was at the location for 2 hours. This did not include the travel time that is normally charged to the customer from the time we leave our shop to the time we return. Mr. ***** was not charged this amount as we were in the area. The truck charge of $20 for a Harvard service call is the standard charge to cover vehicle costs. This amount is clearly told to ALL NEW customers along with the hourly rate for service. Mr.***** was also informed that all new customers are COD and someone needed to be present at the time of the service to pay the ****. Mr. ***** was not present when the service was performed and left his elderly father to handle the call without any source of payment. The technician that handled Mr. ***** call is one our best and is very through in his assessments. The original call for service was for NO Heat, and not for a 2nd opinion. Unlike the service company that Mr. ***** hired to Fix his furnace the week prior to our call that put parts on that did not solve his problem, our technician ran several tests and determined the unit was too old to be repaired and recommended the unit be replaced given the age and condition of the furnace. Mr.***** reportedly paid the first service guy in full even though the repair was of no use, but refused to pay us for all our time and an honest opinion. He only paid for what he "felt" was an appropriate amount for what he guessed would be an appropriate amount of time. I offered him proof of the time we were there but he refused it. He was also given letters requesting payment and was forewarned that we would file a lien if he didn't at least call us, but he ignored them. So he left us no other choice but to file a lien. I'm sorry Mr. ***** wasted money on his first attempt to repair an un-repairable furnace and that he incurred additional expense hiring us to try again to fix something that shouldn't be without wasting even more time and money. But we gave him the best advice and an honest two hours of review by a highly trained technician. Perhaps if Mr. ***** was actually at the house when the service call was made, he could have seen how much effort the technician made to try and find a solution to his No Heat problem, and maybe he "feel" like the time and charge were fair. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/07/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My assessment of the worked performed is accurate. There were no repairs made, no materials used. Jensen's uses the satellite tracking system for their truck for a smoke screen. I cannot validate the work done by how long the work truck was on my property. I will only pay for the work that was performed. I spent time with previous techs and who could not fix this furnace and saw how long these test take. Only took 10 minutes for a gas valve and another 10 minutes for a pressure switch test. From there they only guess what else was wrong. I was in constant communication with my father's phone and spoke with the tech on his phone. After his testing and guessing, he quickly switched from repairman to salesman and stared his own agenda and gave me quotes for new furnaces off the top of his head. And then wrote on the bill these quotes, and which the bill had no pricing for list of parts or a list to repair the furnace. Then he tried to railroad me with waving the trumped up service charge if I bought a new furnace through their company. I feel this is a degree of fraud with this billing technique because I was paying for a repair service, not a sales call. There responds to my complaint was full of many lies and smoke screens to the truth. Like bringing in my elderly father and the previous company service call. This has nothing to do with their billing. I cannot allow myself to be a victim at their discretion. This is the kind of mannerism and ethics they exhibit and causes for me not to communicate with them for further negotiation. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/07/10) */ I'm confused by the customers response as it is not consistent with his original complaint or his request for service from us. In his case description he says he was seeking a repair OR a second opinion, but in his response to our response he implies that he is not satisfied because "NO repair was made or no materials used". There was no parts used or "repair" attempted because the "2nd Opinion" that was given, after 2 hours of testing and investigation, was that repairing the unit due to it's age and condition would be a waste of money. The customer received the second opinion that he requested from a highly trained technician who was very thorough in his review and testing. His bill was fair and should be paid. We are happy to provide the customer with his request to remove the lien, when he pays the balance of his bill. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2014/07/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It's unfortunate that the ******' business is confused. They are not consistent and contradict themselves with the service request whether they were there for a second opinion or not. This shows in their first responds to their second responds. Why would it take such a highly trained technician who knows the unit was 20 plus years old, testing for 2 hours and not attempt a repair? Only to realize that the unit was too old and cost would not be worth repairing and then after 2 hours recommended the unit to be replaced? That does not sound like a highly trained technician. Due to the fact that the ****** business **** not remove the lien, as stated, the only way to resolve this would be through the court of law.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Jensen's Plumbing & Heating, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)