BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2011

World Water Works

Phone: (815) 496-0157

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
09/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On July 17th 2013 I purchased a water filtration unit and a water softener from World Water Works. 100 S State Street Lockport, IL. The unit came with a 1 year warranty. In the first quarter of 2014 after installation it was leaking and I had to call and have the leak fixed. The leak was fixed with no problem and with no charge. Then again at a different spot it started to leak again on June 22nd 2014. I called again and the repair man came out to fix it. This time the individual stated that he needed a credit card number and he informed me that he would have to bill me for the repair. I stated that it should be repaired under warranty and he disagreed. He then threatened to inform the law if I did not pay. I gave him my credit card number in which I was billed roughly $189.00 dollars.

Desired Settlement
Full Refund of the repair charges.

Business Response
We have reviewed this file and after further review have determined that there was an error on the part of the service technician in when he thought the original installation date was. We have refunded the service charge of 184.95 to the card it was charged on. Please allow a few days for processing. Sorry for any inconvenience

11/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The product was installed one year ago. It is now flashing a 'call for service' warning and constantly beeping every time I run a load of laundry or run the dishwasher. I have been calling this company for two weeks. Not once do I get a person on the phone. I have left messages and nobody has returned my phone calls.

Desired Settlement
I would like someone to come look at this unit, fix it if necessary, or replace it if necessary. I have no guarantee that this unit is even doing what it is supposed to be doing.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **************@gmail.com
I'm glad that this has been brought to my attention and will be taken care of. I had no knowledge that she was trying to get ahold of us prior to this. It is possible the number she has may no longer be good. Our service line is XXX-XXX-XXXX. We will contact her right away and get her taken care of.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I still am upset that I couldn't get a direct answer for a few days, and their website seems to be what a fly-by-night company would provide, but eventually the company did call me back and come to look at the unit. They were very professional and helpful.

11/03/2014Problems with Product / Service
11/25/2013Problems with Product / Service
09/10/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
12/09/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A sales rep came to the house to do a water demonstration to convince my husband & I that the water in our house was highly contaminated. He performed some pretty convincing tests but when my husband & I said we were not interested he laid the sales pitch on pretty thick. But he went on to tell us that by getting the system we would save all of this money in other ways. he promised things like not needing to buy fabric softener any longer, no longer needing to buy hair conditioner...lotion .etc.. He said that the oily feeling we would feel on our skin would be our skin's natural oils and that we would see the difference in our lint trap when doing laundry. That by having better water- it would be better for our clothes & that they would last longer and look newer. Neither my husband or I are totally stupid or naive, but we did not know much about these systems or about our tap water. We have 3 children & of course want the best for them but we still were not 100% convinced. The cost was up in the $6500 range & we could not come close to affording it. And here is where the problem comes in ... beyond the exaggerated savings we would have & the straight out lies ... it is the salt in the system causes the oily feel...he guaranteed us that we would love it & if after 30 days we were not convinced- we could call him & someone would come out & remove it for free. When we still said no, he made a call to someone & miraculously ... got us a once in a lifetime price of $4000.00 for the whole program. He said that low of a price was "Unheard of " !! We caved & signed the papers which stated that there was only a 3 day cancel period. When we asked Michael (the rep) about this, he said that was old paperwork & did not apply to our situation. Of course.... after realizing the truth of the product& what it does & that we do NOT need a $4000.00 system for our tiny house we tried to cancel& were told that we could not. *** ****** is the person I tried to resolve the issues with-henever got back to me.
Product_Or_Service: water condition system, filtration syst. & dri

Desired Settlement
We would like the system taken out & refunded as we were promised by Michael.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: **************@gmail.com

We offer a 30 day assurance guarantee and we have it in writing. It gives the customer an opportunity to shop around after installation. In the event that they can find a system that has equal or better certifications then ours, an equal or better manufacturers warranty, and proof of a lower price then we would refund the money in full and let the customer keep the system for free. We were provided with no such documentation. The paperwork states very clearly that there is a 3 day cancellation period. We train our reps to show the 30 day assurance guarantee and explain it. This is the first instance we have had to date of it being misconstrued as a 30 day cancellation period.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We were told several times by the rep that we had 30 days to cancel regardless of what the paperwork said.. There were 3 people present.

Final Business Response
Our cancellation policy is stated very clearly on our paperwork. We do offer a 30 day assurance guarantee with our systems which we have in writing as well. The assurance guarantee gives the consumer 30 days after installation to check out other systems. If they can find something that meets 3 criteria, then we let them keep our system at no cost. The criteria are proof of equal or better original manufacturer warranty, proof of lower price, and proof third party contaminant removal that can equal ours. We were provided with no such information.

NOTE FROM THE BBB:
Please provide a copy of your contract, invoice and warranty for our review. That documentation may be attached to your next response or faxed to XXX-XXX-XXXX.

***** ******
Assistant Manager-Home Services
BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois

Industry Comparison| Chart

Water Filtration & Purification Equipment, Water Treatment Equipment,Service & Supplies, Contractor - Water Conditioning

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.