Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mercola Health Resources, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (847) 252-4326 Fax: (847) 285-3448 View Additional Phone Numbers 3200 W. Higgins Rd., Hoffman Estates, IL 60169 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.mercola.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description



Mercola Health Resources, LLC, is a vitamin and health food resources site that recommends health supplements and vitamins that have been investigated by Dr. Mercola, an osteopathic physician. Located in Hoffman Estates, Mercola Health Resources assists individuals across the United States and internationally make informed decisions about their health via a website. The site was formed in 1999; Dr. Mercola received his Doctorate of Osteopathic Medicine from the Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine and is a State of Illinois licensed physician and surgeon. He is also a fellow of the American College of Nutrition and has been featured on numerous television programs and magazine specials to discuss nutrition and healthy lifestyles, including the Today Show, CNN, Time Magazine, Forbes Magazine, and ABC's World News Tonight.

This website provides articles and resources discussing a healthy lifestyle, and recommends products and services meant to improve health and reduce the risk and severity of diseases and conditions. Products recommended and sold on this website include air purifiers, bath products, cookware, dental care, feminine care, krill oil, probiotics, protein powder, skincare products, tanning beds, water filters, and food supplements. Special sections on the website include resources on fluoride, aspartame, cancer, fructose and sugar, genetically modified organisms, mercury, nutritional typing programs, pet care, vaccines, and vitamin D deficiencies. The website is also available in Spanish.

Visit the website for Mercola Health Resource, LLC, to learn more about healthy living and avoiding common diseases and disorders, read Dr Mercola's biography, and shop for healthy living products and food supplements.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mercola Health Resources, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mercola Health Resources, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Mercola Health Resources, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 18, 2001 Business started: 06/18/2001 in DE Business started locally: 06/18/2001 Business incorporated 12/20/2007 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Dr. Joseph Mercola, Owner Ms. Amber Carsen Mr. Steve Rye, CEO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Amber Carsen
Principal: Dr. Joseph Mercola, Owner
Business Category

Vitamins & Food Supplements Skin Care Cleaning Supplies by Internet Food Products Tanners Equipment & Supplies Cooking Utensils General Merchandise - Retail Health & Diet Products - Retail Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail Food (Health) Supplement Stores (NAICS: 446191)

Alternate Business Names
Mercola.com Mercola.com Health Resources, LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Mercola Health Resources, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3200 W. Higgins Rd.

    Hoffman Estates, IL 60169 (847) 252-4326

  • 385 Kimberly Drive

    Carol Stream, IL 60188

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/28/2014 I ordered from mercola.com. The confirmation they sent promised stellar customer service and sit indicated the delivery time from 2-5 days. Tracking information via UPS.com indicates it arrived in my town on 12/2/2014. I phoned the Customer Service dept of Mercola.com a couple of days later when I still had not received the package. The CSR stated they would initiate a missing package investigation. Via telephone and email I have expressed concern over the integrity of the merchandise which is sensitive to temperature extremes. They state it is thier policy to allow 10 days before re shipping or refunding my money( or 15 days, I don't remember). They have failed to provide what they promised in regards to customer service and in 2-5 days shipment. And should the missing product eventually be delivered, I would not feel confident in the effectiveness or even the safety of it as I wouldn't know what temperature it had been exposed to.

Desired Settlement: I prefer expedited reshipment of the items ordered but if they won't do that, to be refunded my money.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/15) */ On Friday, December 12th a supervisor contacted the customer via e-mail to apologize and get an address to reship the package to. The customer responded with the approved address. An expedited reshipment of the package was sent on December 15th. We will verify with the customer that they received the new shipment once the tracking says it was delivered. Please feel free to contact us if there is anything else we can do to resolve this situation.

4/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a Bidet. Received it, it did not work. I called to confirm that the refund would be in check form and was told to keep it 30 days and they would have to cut a check instead of refunding to the original card. I waited the additional month and mailed it back. The money was never refunded into my account which had been closed by the bank due to divorce. I called Mercola customer service and was told they put it into the account by the credit card number. I reminded them the account had been closed and I had not way to confirm the money was deposited nor to get to it. The Customer Service rep said that's too bad and hung up. I had no idea Mercola was a member of the BBB, or I would have written this a long time ago. I have told all my friends and family to avoid the company due to it's thieving practices on returns, but I feel like every one should be aware of the refund/return policy - because I have yet to see the refund. As far as I am concerned they stole that money from me, and therefore food from my 10 year son.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of my $100 for that Bidet that did not work for my health situation.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/07) */ We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We are trying to locate your account and order so we can research this for you. We are unable to find any orders under the email address provided: ******************* Do you have your order number or account information so we can assist you further? Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) because that is what they said right after i ordered it. the email and address have not changed. it is not my fault they lost the order that does not surprise me. ************************************************************* i did not know, never imagined such a lousy business would be part of the BBB, so this is an old order, probably 2 to 3 years old. and no, i do not have the credit card number since the bank closed that account between the time ordered it and the time i returned the product. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2014/04/24) */ A refund was processed back to the original form of payment. The original form of payment was a Visa ending in 8708. We contacted our credit processor to ensure the refund was cleared back to your credit card. PayPal (our credit processor) sent the refund back to the original form of payment and the refund was accepted back by your bank. The refund was for the whole total amount of your order which totaled $99. The refund was processed on 9/13/2011. The refund transaction ID is XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXK. We recommend that you contact your previous Visa provider. The credit was accepted back by the bank, and the money was removed from our account and processed back to the Visa. We again apologize for any confusion this may have caused. We have refunded the money for your order back on 9/13/2011. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/04/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Do you seriously think that if they stole $100 from a single mom that they would keep evidence of it? ******* is bad business and I will tell everyone about it. Bad, bad, bad to steal from anyone let alone a struggling single mom who has a child to feed.

3/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased PC WHF 2000 whole house water filtration system from Dr********** website. Instructions/warranty stated that it must be installed by licensed plumber. Plumber came, said instructions where not explained in great detail. We have had two leaks and paid $176.00 to have parts replaced. No one at Mercola wants to cover the charges. They blame the Licensed plumber. My husband looked at the instructions and stated that they were minimal at best. The unit itself is very nice, but the plastic parts break easily.

Desired Settlement: Would like the $176.00 refunded for out of pocket expenses that we had to pay for repairs on a system that is still under warranty.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/03) */ Since Mercola.com started selling the Whole House Water Filter, we have not had any issues with the shut off valve leaking and causing cracks. After pictures of the Water Filters installment were emailed to us, we noticed that the unit was set up incorrectly. The plumber installed the Post Filter first and the Pre Filter last. This is an error in instalment and might very well be the cause for the cracking and leaking. We would be happy to look into the matter further if a certified letter from the plumber can be submitted to us. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We've had a different plumber out who says that it IS installed correctly. He said that the way the water is flowing, that the larger/courser filter is first to filter out the bigger things and then the smaller/carbon filter is last and that that filters out the finer stuff before going into our faucets. How do you wish to have this "cerified" letter delivered to you? *************** Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/03/13) */ We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused. When we were contacted via phone it was explained to one of our supervisors that the unit was incorrectly installed because the directions were not clear. A picture was provided to our staff who confirmed that the plumber installed the unit incorrectly since the flow of water was going left to right. The plumber put the post filter where the pre filter needed to be. The housing for both filters are the same size, and after further research with our manufacturer this would not cause the system to leak. If there are leaks it is due to another area not properly installed. In order to process a check for the money paid out to repair we need to research the matter further. We would need a notarized copy from the plumber who installed the unit. The letter must contain their contact information and license along with a statement that they originally installed the unit. We noticed that a second plumber came out. Was this the plumber that repaired the unit? We would need a copy of the invoice for $176 along with their contact information and license. The invoice must state what was repaired and if any material was used. You can mail this information to our office. Mercola.com Attn: Returns Department ********************************************* We again apologize for the inconvenience this has already caused.

3/4/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Date item was delivered was 02-04-2013. I contacted Mercola customer and was directed to send a picture of the damaged item. I was then told to send the lot #. No other company makes these requests. Mercola should have sent out a replacement immediatley. I have ordered several items from this company. Another time, about 6 months ago, Mercola advertised a free product with a purchase of skin care products. I never received it and I was told the offer was not valid. However, it was on the website when I placed the order. This is very poor customer service. The dollar amount is negligible but it is the principle that matters.

Desired Settlement: For my inconvenience, I should a duplicate of my order which included 3 bottles of Vitamin D, 90 day supplies of Astaxanthin, Ubiquinol, and Purple Defense. The Vitamin D from the damaged bottle leaked all over these containers.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/21) */ We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. We see that our office was contacted on 2/13/14 via live chat feature regarding the defective Vitamin D spray. When we were contacted regarding the product issue we ask for pictures and lot number so we can give this information to our Quality Assurance Team. They use this information to conduct quality assurance process on this lot of products. They use the picture to provide to our warehouse and manufacturer to see where the issue started, and how to prevent it in the future. We see that a reshipment of the Vitamin D spray was created the next day by our warehouse to ship you a brand new bottle. This order is *********, and tracking shows that this was delivered by UPS on 2/19 and signed for. We see in your complaint here that the original damaged bottle leaked over the remaining items in your order. We apologize for that and if we were notified of that the day our office was contacted regarding this issue, we would have been happy to send a replacement for these items along with the defective product. Today we have reshipped those items to you via UPS to your shipping address on the order. Your reshipment order number is *********** We see that this is the only time that our office has been contacted for any other issues. If you placed an order for a skincare package and did not receive that item please contact our office so we can resolve this issue for you.

10/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: PRODUCT: 4 earthing mats which were purported to protect the user's body from EMFs by grounding. MISLEADING ADVERTISING: Dr ******* himself hyped the mats by saying he takes his personal earthing mat on all his flights. It turns out the mats must be plugged into the grounding receptacle in a wall socket. Just where on an airplane, especially next to his seat, does he find a wall socket? PUNITIVE RETURN POLICY: I was refused a full refund because I opened one of the 4 cardboard boxes inside the shipping box (no seal to break or wrapping to disturb) to see the product and to find out if it worked. Is it a fair business practice to deny this right to a customer? It turned out the mat's materials are flimsy relative to the price and, using my gauss meter, the earthing pad I tested did not function as claimed. The complete lack of response from the meter's needle showed the mat has no effect whatsoever and is therefore useless to me. Moreover, this is not the first ******* product I have found to be poor quality or completely useless. Their big ceramic skillet has a hot spot in the center which makes food burn, even with constant stirring... but its weight made it too costly to return. In the case of supplements, I had to open and use them and check the results with lab tests before recognizing the product was ineffective, so returns were not an option. Now, with the earthing mats, darn right I want my money back, not a REDUCED-PRICE STORE CREDIT of $46.34 (on top of the $17.36 UPS ground cost to ship all 4 boxes back). *******.com has lost a customer. From now on I will confine my purchases to reputable companies with excellent return policies such as ****** and *********** So why did I keep buying ******* products? Because I'm a long-time follower and admirer of Dr *******'s newsletters. I've had excellent benefits from following his diet and fitness advice. But now, after recognizing the self-serving, shady-dealing of his product line, I'm so disappointed and disillusioned that I doubt the integrity of ALL his so-called public service activities. From this moment forward I am no longer recommending him and his website to my clients.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full product refund in the amount of $185.37. I would also like to be reimbursed for my UPS shipping costs in the amount of $17.36 to compensate the time and energy I've expended filing complaints with the BBB and the *************************** office.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/15) */ We apologize for any inconvenience this situation has caused. We attempted to contact this customer via phone, but did not receive a response back. We sent an email to follow up the phone message we left. I have copied that email below. The customer will receive a full refund when the items are returned to our warehouse. Hello********** It is with great concern and regret we received your comments outlining the issue you had with the response to your phone inquiry in reference to a return for an opened Earthing Mat. First and foremost, on behalf of *******, I would like to personally apologize for the inconvenience. We never like to hear that we will be losing a customer, if there is anything we can do to make this right, please let me know. I called and left a message briefly explaining that we will process a refund instead of store credit for the opened Earthing Mat. Please continue to send in the Earthing Mats to our warehouse and once they are received a full refund will be processed for the returned items. To address the comments about an article Dr. ******* wrote about how he grounds himself on flights that was received in the feedback, in the article Dr. ******* says he puts his feet on the metal bar of the seat in front of his to ground himself during the flight. He says, "My schedule typically has me flying somewhere at least once a month. When I'm on a plane, I simply take one shoe off and place my foot (still with my sock on) on the metal foot rest underneath the seat in front of me. Since the metal frame of the aircraft is used as the conducting ground for all components on board, this is an easy grounding technique anyone can use while flying." I do apologize for any confusion this may have caused. We value our customers and ask you to please feel free to continue to provide feedback about our services. If you have any further questions or would like to discuss this matter further, please feel free to contact me. We look forward to continuing serving you as a valued customer. Thank you for your invaluable support, ********* Customer Service Supervisor


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Mercola Health Resources, LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart