BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Pixcel, LLC

(800) 557-3508View Additional Phone Numbers3336 Commercial Ave., NorthbrookIL 60062-1923 Send email to Pixcel, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Pixcel, LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Pixcel, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Pixcel, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
08/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I had Pixcel LLC convert 1050 feet of 8mm files into individual tiff files, each file being a scan of the original frame on the film (Order ******** This is often referred to as a "frame by frame" conversion. It was my understanding from Pixcel that this would be a "full frame" scan.

What I received was something less. The scanned images are "full frame" left to right with the edges and sprocket holes. What I did not get was a full frame, top to bottom. There is a discernible loss of the top of each frame with each tiff file.

I purchased a Keystone 8mm viewer and it appears to be a problem across all the film that this company converted.

I've complained to this company, and their response has anything but helpful. They failed to address the issue, simply asserting the conversion was performed using a "ProScan process that has since been discontinued." They proposed that if I now used their new "Pristine process" I would get a "full frame capture (including sprocket holes and framelines." They want to charge me for this "new" service.

While they have offered to discount what I have already paid for this conversion, I am reluctant to pay more for something that I should have already received the first time.

Desired Settlement
At this juncture I would simply like a refund. Because of the missing detail these frame scans that Pixcel has provided to me are useless for converting into a film sequence.

Business Response
Order ***** was placed on May 18th 2012. Since then Our services and pricing have changed drastically - Our equipment has even changed.

If the customer would have informed us of his displease for the project sooner and not two years later - We would have been able to redo the project free of charge.

We understand that in providing our services different customers have different needs. We are always willing to work with customers to get their projects completed as desired. All projects are saved and back up on our servers for 30 days after the project is completed - to ensure the customer is happy with the result.

It is unreasonable to expect a full refund two years after the fact. A significant discount was offered to the customer in hopes to remedy the situation but the customer declined and continues to expect a full refund.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Distilled to its essence, Pixcel LLC's response is that if I had complained much earlier it would have been only too happy to address my complaint. Two years later is now too late.

I understand that certain aspects of film conversion, such as color correction, can be very subjective and "in the eye of the beholder" in terms of a satisfactory outcome for the customer. Had this been the case then Pixcel LLC's response might have merit.

However, this is not the case here and Pixcel LLC's response completely misses the point of my complaint. The issue here is that I contracted with Pixcel LLC for a complete scan of each frame. What I received was an incomplete scan of each frame, rending these scans useless for my intended purpose.

Perhaps what is most telling is one of the emails that I received from Pixcel LLC that it new "Pristine" process could perform (I quote) a "full-frame capture (including sprocket holes and frame lines)," implying that its pervious (now discontinued) "ProScan" process was inferior in terms of the scanning between the frame lines.

The "ProScan" process was clearly inferior in terms of the scanning between the frame lines and this is clearly evident comparing the actual tiff file for each frame with the actual frame viewed under a Keystone 8mm viewer. However, that is precisely what I understood Pixcel LLC could perform at the time I contracted with them for this service, and is precisely what Pixcel LLC represented it could provide and which it failed to provide.

The fact that I am filing this complaint two years later (and it is not actually two years later - I first complained to Pixcel LLC in October of last year) is really beside the point. That point being that Pixcel LLC represented that it could provide a service that it could not, at the time of the representation, provide. It gave me something considerably less than what it promised leaving me with a product which is of no use to me. Thus I would like a refund of the fees that I paid to Pixcel LLC for this service. I don't consider my request unreasonable.

Final Business Response
The customer can bring his film back to us, we will re-scan the film and complete the project to his liking - Free of charge. It will be scanned on a better machine and have a higher resolution.

We still believe two years is a ridiculous time to wait if there is an issue with the project but at this rate we just want the customer to be happy.

09/05/2013Problems with Product / Service
11/14/2012Problems with Product / Service
11/27/2012Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Video Tape Duplication Service, Photography Sales on the Internet, Internet Shopping, Videotape, CD, & DVD Duplication & Transfer Services, Video Editing, Motion Picture Film Editing

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 03/10/2010Business started: 01/17/2003
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Eugene Gekhter (CEO)
Business Category

Video Tape Duplication Service, Photography Sales on the Internet, Internet Shopping, Videotape, CD, & DVD Duplication & Transfer Services, Video Editing, Motion Picture Film Editing

Products & Services

Pixcel helps individuals and companies alike transfer obsolete film and video formats to digital, preserving historical footage for many generations to come.
General Information
Pixcel specializes in professional conversion of 8mm, Super 8mm, and 16mm film, with or without sound. Our analog to digital services preserve home movies in high definition. HD quality ensures recorded events will never deteriorate or become obsolete. Available digital outputs include: DVD, Blu-ray, external hard drive, and HDV. We also back up your digital files for 30 days after we ship your materials back to you, at no additional charge.

Film Restoration

Over time film deteriorates, producing visible damage such as dirt, dust, flicker, stains, and shakiness. Restoring film will reverse this damage, so that you can view your film as it was originally intended.

Color Correction

Due to the passing of time, the three different dye layers used to create the beauty of color Kodachrome film deteriorate, all at different rates. This produces film that may look purple, pink, or an assortment of many different hues. Thanks to digital technology and the skilled colorists at Pixcel, we can undo the damage done by time and restore most films to their original form - or better!

Transfer to External USB Hard Drive, Blu-ray and DVD

A hard drive is one of the most stable ways to keep your cherished memories safe for years to come. With an extra copy on a portable USB drive, you not only can have your 8mm, Super 8 and 16mm films transferred to computer for high resolution viewing, but also the capability to edit your videos on any PC or Mac. It's easy and fun - so create your own masterpiece!

Hours of Operation
Mon: 10:00 AM to 06:00 PMTue: 10:00 AM to 06:00 PMWed: 10:00 AM to 06:00 PMThu: 10:00 AM to 06:00 PMFri: 10:00 AM to 06:00 PMSat: 10:00 AM to 02:00 PM
Service Area

Chicago, Nationwide

Alternate Business Names, The Film Transfer Company LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Pixcel, LLC

3336 Commercial Ave.

Northbrook, IL 60062-1923

To | From


1 Locations

  • 3336 Commercial Ave. 

    Northbrook, IL 60062-1923(800) 557-3508

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Pixcel, LLC is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (847) 272-8207

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Video Tape Duplication Service


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.