BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/2013

Dyson, Inc.

Phone: (312) 469-5950Fax: (312) 469-5951

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

166 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 61 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Delivery Issues6
Guarantee / Warranty Issues25
Problems with Product / Service131
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints166

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (166)BBB Closure Definitions
06/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: Below is a copy of my last email correspondance with Dyson. It has been 2 credit card billing cycles since they received the part. The refund should have shown up by now on my credit card

Dear *****,
Thank you for contacting Dyson. I apologize for the delayed response.
In regards to your inquiry, our records indicate that the part was received back to our facilities. We have initiated your refund request. Depending on the billing practices of your financial institution, refunds can take 1-2 billing cycles to appear on your financial records.

If you have any additional questions, please contact us at questions@dyson.com or via telephone at (866)693-9766. Thank you very much for your time.

Kind regards,


Dyson Online Support (ca)
For product support, troubleshooting videos and more visit
www.dyson.com/support
1-866-MY-DYSON (1-866-693-9766)
questions@dyson.com


Original Message
From: ***** ***** <******@shapecorp.com>
Date: 5/21/2014 6:44:29 PM
To: "ordersupport@dyson.com"
Subject: Order **********
This is in regard to my order ********** of:
XXXXXX-XX DC07 HOSE ASSEMBLY ST

1. I cancelled this order prior to shipment. I spent 20 minutes haggling with the operator over the need to cancel the order as opposed to ordering more repair parts for the other broken items on my vacuum
2. The order shipped anyway. I was on the phone 30 minutes again with another operator about why I needed to send the item back and why I should not be responsible for the return shipping costs. Finally the operator told me which UPS store to take the box to
3. I arrived at the UPS store and they did not have the paperwork. I spent another 30 minutes at the UPS store on the phone with another operator to get the shipment straightened out. That was April 28th, 2014
4. As of 5/19 my account was still not credited for the return. UPS confirmed that the package was received at SONWIL on 4/30/14 ********************. I talked to another operator on 5/19 to inquire about the refund. That was 5:56 EST (4:56 CST). He said that the accounts people had gone home for the night. I guess they could not be troubled to work until the end of their shift. He told me that he would personally call me back today (5/21/14) to confirm the refund of my money because he had the day off Tuesday and maybe no one else could be trusted with that task. Big surprise I have not heard from anyone and my account has not been credited

I have spent hours on this. Where is my money? The credit card bill has already came and went with this item on it. Will you be compensating me for the interest and the ridiculous amount of time this has cost me? I tried calling again, but the phones were not working;
*****************************************

Final Consumer Response

Consumer indicated complaint has been resolved.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

05/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: Purchased a dyson fan Dec of 2013. March it was recalled due to manufacture (fire) issues. We sent it back and have not received it. After several attempts to dyson they gave me the run around stating it could take several weeks and they do not know of when a new one will be sent. I paid over 400.00$ for this fan and I am not able to use for all of the spring months. This is unacceptable and the company needs to send a new one asap.

Initial Business Response
A message was left for the customer, and we have yet to hear back from Mr. ******. We understand his concern and will be glad to extend him a refund for his aggravation in addition to the return of finished machine.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: We purchased the Dyson DC39 2 years ago and have never been satified. The 4 tiny wheels bust constantely, very poor design. The head is too large for the tiny wheels to support, therefore the wheels keep breaking, causing gouges in my wood floor. I have called numerous times regarding this same issue. I was sent a new head and it worked great for a few months, then the wheels started breaking again. Each time I would call and make a report. I have been sent new wheels, but its a temporary fix. The issue keeps happening. Per Dysons request, I had the vacuum shipped *** on 4-30-14 for an expection. I highly stressed to them that I did not want this model back, I would like something that is going to hold up to normal wear and tear and that wont break as often as this one, not to mention damage my floors. I was reassured that my request would be noted in the computer. On Friday, May 9th I received my old DC39 vacuum back, shipped **** which happen to be missing the large attachment. I made another call to them on Tuesday May 20, and expressed my displeasure once again. I was told that the vacuum was fine and there was nothing they could do. I then asked to speak to a manager, I was placed on hold for 5 minutes and was then told, a manager would call me back. It is now Friday, May 16, 2014, and no call from a manager or anyone. This whole ordeal has been unbelievable. The amount of money spent on this vacuum, I just feel I should not have to experience this kind of treatment. I would never, ever recommend anyone to Dyson.

Initial Business Response
We have contacted Mrs. ******* regarding her complaint; she has been kind enough to agree to let us replace her canister vacuum with an upright version that may be more to her liking. We have agreed to speak on 5/22/14 @330PM to allow some time to research what would be her best option.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Dyson has suggested shipping my old vacuum back again and they will send me a different model. I shipped it to them *** on Friday May 23, 2014. II have not received the new vacumn yet but I am pleased that they are trying to make this situation right. That is all I was trying to do. I will be happy to advise you when the new machine is delived and I have tried it out.

Thank you again for your assistance in this matter.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

05/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: Hello,
I am writing in re to an issue with my AM01 air multiplier. Originally purchased from *** on 6/16/13 as a package with the Dyson DC39 (which is my second Dyson vacuum) for the amount of $561.70. The AM01 started making noises that were not fixed by the suggestions offered and a replacement unit was sent 6/27/13, old unit discarded. The same problem occurred again on 10/15/13. Again a "refurbished" unit was sent. Now again for the 3rd time I reached out to Dyson with the same issue on 4/22/14. The customer service and I have exchanged several emails since then and I received a "refurbished model". Upon opening it it looks like it was pulled from someone's home. It had grease or some substance smudged on it, no plastic cover. As I was cleaning it I realized if the outside was in this shape what proof do I have the inside was clean? The last thing anyone of us want is someone's dirty air blowing around their home, plus I have allergies. I asked that the unit be picked up and a new one sent on 5/9/14 I have still received no resolution. The agents have asked for videos, sales invoices etc and I feel like I am being distrusted. I sent the invoice from *** and the representative was still not satisfied stating it was the combined price, but I purchased the item as a package. I was told a "reasonable solution" would be reached upon receiving that documentation. Believe me I do not want this hassle, and for all of the Dyson products I own and the price I paid I do not deserve this. I am very disappointed with the service I have received and have not received. Do you guys think I'm collecting junk fans or something? I'm a very good customer and have referred multiple customers not to mention the over $1000 I've given your company, I don't deserve this and you have given me nothing to remain a customer. I will no longer work with the individual representatives and will work only through this portal. Thank you for your time.

Final Consumer Response
Hi
Has Dyson responded to my case XXXXXXXX? They did say they made me aware of a replacement but I didn't see where. Thanks for being so helpful!
*****


Consumer Response
Arriving home from work I did have an opportunity to open and use the AM06 unit sent by Dyson. It is a very nice unit and I am very appreciative. My concern now is waiting for someone to tell me what is happening in regards to the old unit. Do you want the tower portion back? The who fan? I'm concerned using the packaging the new one came in in the event I need to utilize that. I do have to say that while your customer service seems excellent behind the scene it is very hard to reach. Long hold times and so many agents involved in my case it is difficult to have any cohesion. If I need to send back just the tower portion I do have a box that size. Please update me and let me know how to proceed. Thank you.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

05/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: Sent new vacuum that was bought in late oct back to dyson early Jan. Co was suppose to send a different model. I sent sales receipt co said they will send vacuum. I went out of town gave them benefit of doubt.When I came home still no vacuum. Called co they said they sent vacuum out but could not find tracking number . Never was sent out. I asked for cash back told to re send sales receipt again. After a few more calls I sent sales receipt again. Now co says it will take thirty days to get money back to me. Have had many Dysons but never again as thier word or promises are no good. I should not have to wait thiry days because they never settled the issue back in late Dec early Jan. I spoke with a ****** last week and she said someone would follow up this week and I finally called support number at co at four thirty today and was again told would take thirty days. Bad Company supervisors and really don't care if a customer has to wait for refund or not. I guess I'm only a small peon to them. We are also in the service industry and if we treated our customers the way Dyson has treated me we would not have a business . Tired of all the lies and will not ever tell anyone to buy a product of dyson again.

hank You
***** *****

Initial Business Response
The customer was notified that we are expecting to have her check processed this week and we will keep her updated on the progress. Mrs ***** has agreed to allow me to follow up with her on the progress of this transaction.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 29
06/07/2013Problems with Product / Service
03/27/2013Problems with Product / Service
03/27/2013Problems with Product / Service
02/25/2013Problems with Product / Service
02/11/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
Page 1 of 5
10/17/2011Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Vacuum Cleaners - Wholesale & Manufacturers, Vacuum Equipment & Systems, Vacuum Cleaners - Industrial & Commercial, Hair Dryers, Dryers - Hand, Vacuum Cleaners - Supplies & Parts, Vacuum Cleaners - Service & Repair, Vacuum Cleaners - Household - Dealers

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.