BBB Accredited Business since

WyzAnt.com

Phone: (877) 999-2681 View Additional Phone Numbers 1714 N Damen Ave Ste 3N, Chicago, IL 60647 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.wyzant.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that WyzAnt.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

This company was an accredited business with the
BBB of Metropolitan Washington, DC and Eastern PA
from 03/12/07 until 01/09/09, when they relocated to Chicago.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for WyzAnt.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 25 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

25 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 7
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 25

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on WyzAnt.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 20, 2009 Business started: 09/21/2005 Business started locally: 09/21/2005 Business incorporated 09/21/2005 in DE
Business Management
Melanie Pell, Customer Support Manager Mr. Justin Chiles, Chief Operating Officer Mr. Andrew Geant, CEO Mr. Michael Weishuhn, CIO
Contact Information
Principal: Melanie Pell, Customer Support Manager
Business Category

Tutoring Language Training Aids Coaches-Business/Writing Computers - Training Training Programs Exam Preparation and Tutoring (NAICS: 611691)

Alternate Business Names
WyzAnt Tutoring WyzAnt, Inc.
Products & Services

This company offers In-Home tutoring services.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

WyzAnt.com has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1714 N Damen Ave Ste 3N

    Chicago, IL 60647 (866) 775-5392 (703) 945-1835 (877) 999-2681

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/10/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a Profile with WYZANT as a Tutor. My business was a little slow. I adjusted my marketing strategy and started to get interest from potential clients. Then the Profile Review Team deleted my Profile. I requested an explanation out of professional courtesy. WYZANT will not give a specific reason. This has cost me potential tutoring business.

Desired Settlement: I would like a specific reason for the deletion of my Profile which has cost me potential Tutoring business.

Business Response: *** ******** tutor profile was removed in accordance with WyzAnt's terms and conditions, available on wyzant.com, that he agreed to when WyzAnt listed his profile.  WyzAnt communicated with *** *****r via email regarding the removal and provided information regarding this action.  WyzAnt reserves the right not to list the services of any individual, and we have chosen not to list *** ******** profile going forward.  We wish Mr. Coover the best in his future endeavors.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  WYZANT continues to be evasive and unspecific regarding the reason for removal of my profile.  They continue to refer to the Terms and Conditions but refuse to specify which was the reason for removing my Profile, which cost me business.  I was in the process of picking up a new client the day they pulled my Profile.  All I want is the actual reason they pulled the Profile when they did.  The timing is very suspicious.

Sincerely,

**** ******

8/3/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was a tutor that was an independent contractor with WyzAnt for about one year. I can say, without reservation, that I have never contracted before with such an unethical organization as WyzAnt in my educational career. First, they have a pyramid-like commission structure, beginning with the exorbitant rate of 40%, and reduce their commission to 35% after 20 hours of tutoring. This is gradually reduced with the more hours a tutor logs until it is reduced to 20% commission after 400 hours of tutoring: As a point of reference, if we were to look into other independent contractor work, we would find commissions of 30% (Taskrabbit), 20% (rideshare companies like ***** ***** and ********* and 10% (union-franchised talent agents). When I made inquiries with regard to why the commission was so high, I was told that the commission was needed to pay for marketing, IT, and other expenses. I explained that 40% was much higher than their competitors in the industry, and asked why their expenses necessitated such a high commission. They refused to provide further details. I continued to provide tutoring services through WyzAnt, and I reached 20 hours of service, upon which the commission was reduced to 35%. My ratings were excellent (5 of 5 stars), and the comments I received from students were outstanding. Then last month I received an email from the "Profile Review Team" which stated the following: "A routine review of tutor profiles listed on WyzAnt.com brought your account to our attention. We have concluded that the WyzAnt platform is not the best fit for your tutoring business, and we have elected to remove your profile from our active directory." I also found that I was no longer able to log in to my account. I replied to the message and asked why my profile was removed. I received the following response: "According to our records, you were unable to successfully use the WyzAnt platform to secure and maintain lasting relationships with students through our website. We understand that our platform is effective in different ways for different tutors, and we review and sometimes remove profiles based on what we believe provides the best opportunities to potential students and our marketplace. The decision to keep your profile closed will stand." Needless to say, I was quite puzzled by this response. I replied with an explanation that I received excellent ratings and reviews, and that many of my students had stopped tutoring due to reasons that were not in my control. For example, two students had to return to their respective countries (I teach English as a Second Language); one student owned a convenience store while he was going to business school, and could not afford the time or money to continue tutoring with me; another student was a nanny and her schedule became increasingly difficult, as she was looking for a new place to live with her husband. I received the response below: "The decision to remove your profile from our directory was made in accordance with our terms and conditions. WyzAnt considers this decision to be final and a representative will not be made available to further discuss this matter." I can say without a doubt that I have never been treated so disrespectfully by any organization in my educational career. To make the decision to remove a tutor's profile, with no warning, and then refusing to even discuss the matter, is nothing short of outrageous.

Desired Settlement: I request a fullly detailed and complete explanation from WyzAnt as to why my contract was terminated without warning, and I request that my contract and profile be reinstated immediately. I also request a change in WyzAnt's policy with regard to "profile review" so that tutors whom they contract with are provided with a full and complete explanation when their contract is terminated, and that a process is established so that tutors can appeal the decision and request additional information.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/14) */ WyzAnt removed Mr. Silver's profile in accordance with the terms of use, which were agreed to by Mr. Silver upon the listing of his profile. The terms of use are made available to all users on our homepage. WyzAnt is under no obligation to list the profiles of any user who does not agree with the terms of use or the independent tutor contract, including the commission structure, that is agreed to upon registration. WyzAnt considers this matter closed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/07/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The response provided by WyzAnt does not provide specific details or explanation. WyzAnt claims that my profile was removed in accordance with the terms of use; however, WyzAnt has refused to provide any supporting information, and has flatly refused to discuss the issue with me further. In addition, I have researched what other tutors have written publicly with regard to WyzAnt's business practices, and have observed that this sudden deletion of tutor profiles appears to be part of a pattern - tutors achieve a certain number of tutoring hours to lower their commission rate and begin earning more, and soon find their profiles removed with little in the way of explanation or specific criteria or other details. This raises questions as to whether WyzAnt terminates tutors who have achieved a higher take-home rate in order to maximize their own commission. As a side note, I found in my research a recent article the WyzAnt CEO wrote on the importance of corporate ethics. It's hard to reconcile this article with the manner in which I and other tutors have had their contracts terminated without warning nor adequate explanation. I am therefore requesting the following items: 1) Data which indicates how my student retention rates compared with tutors in the same discipline in the same metro area; 2) WyzAnt standards that used in determining how a tutor is flagged for profile review and deletion; 3) a full and complete explanation as to why my profile was flagged and deleted, with supporting evidence and data, and without warning; 4) a full and complete report on my ratings and comments from students. If WyzAnt is unwilling or unable to provide this to me, then I request that WyzAnt reinstate my profile or refund the commission I paid to WyzAnt in full. Sincerely, Steve ****** Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/08/03) */ While we regret that you are not satisfied with our response as to our reason for the removal of your profile, based on WyzAnt's agreements with you, further information will not be forthcoming. In accordance with the WyzAnt.com site ("Site") Terms of Use, to which you agreed to be bound, "WyzAnt reserves the right to suspend and/or terminate any user with or without notice at any time in its sole discretion, for any reason or no reason. You agree that, if you are suspended and/or terminated, you will make no further use of the Site after termination or during suspension." (See para 14.) Additionally, pursuant to the Independent Tutor Agreement to which you also agreed to be bound, ("IT Agreement"), you agreed, "Either party may terminate this Agreement for any reason at any time." (See para 18). Providing you with further supporting information is not contemplated in the agreements with you. Responding to the request to refund the commission, pursuant to the IT Agreement, you agreed to be bound by the Commission and Tutor payment policies while listing your services on the Site. (See paras 5 and 6). Therefore, we will not refund any such commissions. We continue to stand by our decision to not reinstate your profile.

5/7/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Asked to do a background check. I did and then was charged. They, without full disclosure said I would be denied an open account and would recieve my background fee refunded. I have not recieved it back as of this date.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $7.99

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/06) */ Thank you for your inquiry. WyzAnt successfully processed a refund to Mr.******* Visa ending in***** on *** 4th, 2015 in the amount of $7.99. Those funds will be made available according to the card holder's banking institutions schedule of refund availability. Mr.***** is welcome to call Customer Support to receive the transaction approval code in the event his refund has not posted to his account within 3-10 business days, the typical time it takes to appear on a card holder's account. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/05/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

4/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a tutor with WyzAnt since 2010 with 5+ hours of tutoring experience. I was happy with WyzAnt until recently I unknowingly violated their terms by giving a potential student my personal email when she asked how she can send her class syllabus so I can see if I am able to tutor her in the topics she needed help on. She could not attach the file in a Wyzant message so I asked her to send it to my personal email to review the topics on her syllabi before we scheduled a session through WyzAnt. Within minutes of replying to her message, WyzAnt sends me a notice that my account was deactivated. I logged into my account and saw on the top that my account was deactivated and if I wanted to reactivate it I would need to contact ***************. So I did that, I emailed *************** and let them know I did not mean to violate any terms and I was just trying to review her syllabus. I wrote that I was upset they would not give me a warning or courtesy notice, but instead they immediately closed my account. I got a reply to wait 24-48 hours for further review of my account. A few days later I emailed info@wyzant a second time apologizing for the misunderstanding and assuring them that I would not give my personal information until after the student enters payment information on their website and requested reactivation of my account. They replied very unprofessionally telling me the decision was final and a representative would not help me anymore. I find their decision harsh and unfair for an honest mistake.

Desired Settlement: Reactivation of my WyzAnt account

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/07) */ Ms.*******'s tutor profile was removed in accordance with WyzAnt's terms and conditions which are available to view here. While the account had been active since 2009, and she had tutored a total of 5 hours, the removal of her profile was in line with the terms that she agreed to when WyzAnt listed her profile. We understand that Ms.******* does not agree with this decision, however, WyzAnt reserves the right not to list the services of any individual, and we have chosen not to re-list her profile. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/04/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) WyzAnt.com did not resolve the issue, instead they reiterated the same response. I am highly dissatisfied with their unapologetic reply and unwillingness to help. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/04/15) */ WyzAnt is sorry for the frustration that the removal of Ms.*******'s profile has caused her. It was done in accordance with the terms and conditions that she agreed to when her profile was listed. WyzAnt maintains its adherence to the terms and conditions, and requires that all users who have agreed to the terms honor them as well. Again, we are sorry that this has caused Ms.******* to call into question the decision to remove her profile. However, WyzAnt will remain committed to its adherence to the terms of use it has set forth for all parties involved in any transaction through the website. For further reference, a full listing of the terms and conditions can be found at the bottom of every listed page on the website. Thank you.

3/20/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I consistently wait five days while they use a fine tooth comb to harass my clients about payment methods, then charge a excess of fees to document our work, and after another five days in the mail, I find out they can not be bothered to verify that my check for payment is signed?! The check (*********) for $70 is dated 2 March 2015; I received it this morning. I wrote an email about the issue as per their directions. I then contacted them by phone and was instructed that they would send me a corrected check when it was convenient for them according to**************. I did not receive a ticket # nor did they consent to using an expedited mail service. I also asked about the 1099 form for our 2014 taxes, and then was told that I would not receive one unless I generated more than $650 within a year.

Desired Settlement: Immediately place a signed payment into an expedited delivery service container. Remit the container to the delivery service for Saturday delivery this morning.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/16) */ Due to a printing error, a replacement check needed to be issued to Mr.******** Upon discovery, Customer Support opened ticket******* with the Finance Department, and a replacement check was mailed the following day. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this caused!

3/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a couple of gripes with WyzAnt. In an effort to schedule a session, I supplied my cell phone number and an alternative email address b/c a potential student had no way of otherwise contacting me as he claims my # didn't show up in my tutoring profile. The company then abruptly and unjustly deleted my account. I had no intent of screwing over WyzAnt as I simply wanted to talk to the student before actually meeting him in person. I supplied an alternate email because it's a shorter email address and I often email my students extra online practice. Moreover, I am awaiting $60 next week from the two sessions I did tutor a student in the ASVAB at Brooklyn Public Library. I supplied my bank, checking account #, routing #, and social security number. Therefore, I am eagerly anticipating payment for the two 1-hour sessions. Thanks.

Desired Settlement: $60 direct deposit for tutoring 2 hours

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/16) */ Payment for the lessons conducted were remitted by direct deposit on 3/3/2015 in the amount of $30, and on 3/10/2015 in the amount of $30. The total amount paid was $60. Thank you!

12/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wyzant deleted my account. I was about to gain two or more clients for tutoring services, after an interview I was hoping to set-up today. Instead of being able to initiate this and gain the trust of the parents to set an account as well, the Wyzant persons deleted my account. (Probably better to work with some other tutorial service)

Desired Settlement: Stop false advertising about themselves.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/21) */ After looking into this matter, WyzAnt found that the tutor's profile was removed according to policy for a violation of the terms of use that the tutor agreed to when WyzAnt listed his profile. The terms of use may be reviewed on WyzAnt's home page.

10/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a first time Chinese tutor and relied on this service to set me up with a student. I provided a lesson to the student, but was tricked into waiting to submit the lesson. When I submitted the lesson and the student rejected it, I submitted proof of the lesson from an e-mail from the student. I was later made aware that the company's policy which is not stated on the web site does not honor lessons that are submitted 7 days or more after completion. I contacted customer service several times for assistance. I even spoke with a supervisor who called himself**** twice and both times he was not willing to let me speak to his manager. The first time I was assured I would receive a call back from the manager, but I did not receive a call back from the manager (only an e-mail from**** telling me that I was out of luck and they could not help me). I called back and spoke to**** again and asked to speak to the manager, due to the urgency of this matter. He refused, but said he would again request a call back. Today I received another e-mail from**** saying there is no resolution they will provide and the manager will not call me. This is very poor customer service. They do not stand behind their service and collect payment even though they agree that proof exists of a lesson. Furthermore, it is horrible customer service in that they do not deliver on their promises and call back customers that request to speak to someone else. I do not feel that I was treated fairly in how**** handled the issue. There is no guarantee that he even spoke with his manager as all communications come from him. Also he refused to give me the name of his manager or even a time he/she would call.

Desired Settlement: I will only consider this issue resolved if I receive reimbursement for the services I provided to the student ($25) at this point, given how I have been treated by supervisor***** I wasted more time having to speak with*****and get the run around than I did with the Chinese lesson.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/08) */ WyzAnt is sorry to hear that the tutor had difficulty navigating the WyzAnt system and was unable to successfully log the lesson according to the payment policies. The policy in question, as was agreed to by the tutor upon sign-up, states that in order to guarantee payment, the lesson must be submitted within 7 days of the date of the lesson. If a lesson is not submitted within 7 days, the submission must then be approved by the student. In this case, the student did not accept the lesson charges. The tutor's calls to customer support did include two escalations to a supervisor, who followed company protocol. In light of the situation, WyzAnt is willing to provide a one-time exception to the payment policies and provide the tutor with $21.60 in payment (the tutor's hourly rate of $36 less the current 40% commission fee) for the lesson in question. This payment will be remitted according to the tutor's selected method of payment during the next pay period.

10/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I closed my account and deleted my credit card infomation. I am still getting billed when my son is not getting tutored anymore. I called the representative and was told that they still have my paypal and credit card still on file. I asked him to please close my account and I did not authorize that payment. He said he will refund my money and close the account. He did not tell me the truth because my account is still open.

Desired Settlement: I want my $30 refunded and I want my credit card and PayPal deleted out of their system. I also want my account closed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/08) */ On 9/24/2014, WyzAnt sent the account holder an email alerting her to a $30 pending charge that would take place on 9/29/2014. The email invited the account holder to phone Customer Support if she had any questions regarding the charge. On 9/29/2014, WyzAnt charged $30 to the PayPal account on file. Later that same day, the account holder called Customer Support to contest the charge and request the closure of her account. The representative let her know that he would open a ticket with the Finance Department who would process her refund request and close her account. Two days later, on 10/1/2014, the Finance Department processed the refund back to the PayPal account on file and closed the account, as requested. A receipt of this refund was emailed to the account holder at the time the refund was processed.

9/30/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I cannot believe that an advertising company can justify taking 40% of a tutor's salary, and also make the tutor pay extra to retain his/her customers. This stealing of a tutor's money is unjustified as we have to take and pass competency tests, pay for our own background check, and get approved for the subject areas to which we are applying. I got denied three times for public speaking without justified reasoning for the denial. Also, WyzAnt would not allow me to alert parents that I may need an extra traveling allowance, as owing a car, and putting gas into it is very expensive for a single mother trying to make a living to support her three kids.I am a highly qualified certified k-8 teacher in the state of Arizona with endorsements in: Spanish Elementary Foreign Language, English as a Second Language (k-12), 7th and 8th grades Language Arts, and Early Childhood birth through age 9 primary school. I passed 29 tests, was approved for most subjects, but was treated like garbage from the approving staff. I was severely uncomfortable with their lack of professionalism, that I immediately withdrew my name for tutoring services with this organization. The tutors are the ones bringing in the hard earned money, and the marketing crew is making the profits. Where is there justice in this model, especially considering that I did not even land one tutoring job after all of my parental inquiries and responses. WyzAnt does not provide the tutors with curriculum and leave the tutors to figure it out. There is a high probability that the tutor would have to buy supplementary materials out of his/her 60% salary return in order to do the job. Product_Or_Service: Professional Tutor Marketing

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like my complaint published, in addition to the $7.99 background check fee that I was supposed to be reimbursed when I received my first check.WyzAnt advertises that they are endorsed by the BBB, maybe, after some digging and auditing you may find that this business is not worth endorsing, especially when the tutors have to provide their own curriculum and are treated very poorly.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/18) */ WyzAnt.com is a marketplace that provides listings for private, independent tutors who wish to advertise their services. Completing a profile to be approved for a listing is voluntary, and all who sign up must agree to the terms of use and payment policies that are outlined for every applicant. Part of the sign-up process is designed to make every potential tutor aware of the terms required for a listing to ensure that there are no surprises when it comes to operating within the WyzAnt system. As stated in the terms of use, Ms *************** is correct that as independent tutors and not employees of WyzAnt, tutors are not supplied with any curriculum or supplemental materials to aid them in their duties as a tutor. WyzAnt is sorry to hear of the frustrating experience that Ms *************** has described. The Customer Support Department is unaware of any communication between Ms *************** and any WyzAnt staff members. In light of this complaint, however, we are happy to refund the $7.99 that was paid to voluntarily purchase the background check, and will ask the Finance Department to process the refund today, September 18th, 2014. Again, we are sorry to discover that Ms ***************'s listing and WyzAnt's services did not meet her expectations, and we wish her the best of luck in her future endeavors.

8/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I visited wyzant.com in order to find tutoring opportunities. Later I found out that the company considers the creation of a profile on their website to be an application. They never indicated what the application was for though: employment, other services. I felt they were intentionally misleading about the actions they could take after you had given them money to complete your profile, like canceling your account for what seems arbitrary reasons. My account was closed after I had paid about 7 to 8 dollars for a background check that can only be obtained through a partnering company of theirs. This was part of the process to complete the account, and was encouraged by the company to be done by me in order to start tutoring. The events leading up to my account being closed involved me editing a short two paragraph statement explaining to potential customers of how I approached tutoring. I sent the edited version. When I checked the site again, it said it hadn't been approved. I was confused since I followed the requirements of it being two paragraphs. So I sent it again. I checked my regular email shortly after and found two emails. The first said I needed a 'descriptive' two paragraphs; the second said my account had been closed since I had not provided what they wanted in the description. They also cited my practice tests to be certified in the field I wished to tutor as a reason, but I passed all of those with near perfect scores. I did some background research on the company, and I believe many others have experienced similar circumstances. I also believe that the site has a lower supply of customers seeking tutoring services than the tutors that advertise their services. In order to keep approved tutors interested in staying with the company, and the company to collect 40% commissions of the tutor's fee for service. I believe they are canceling most accounts to keep the supply low, while misleading the new prospects into creating an account--paying to complete the profile, so that they can collect money for their partner company who performs background checks and possibly themselves--and then finding questionable reasons to cancel service with that tutor, again to collect money from prospects they know they will not approve and keep a large supply of jobs available for those tutors they approved some time ago. I realize this last part is based on my research but it seems at least plausible to explain their actions. Please feel free to contact me if I can provide better information for you.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the money I was encouraged to pay to complete my profile and start tutoring since they closed my account and won't let me do that know.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/13) */ WyzAnt.com offers a marketplace for those seeking tutoring services to connect with those seeking to provide tutoring services. Those who wish to be listed on the site as a tutor must complete a short 7 step application process and have their potential profile listing reviewed for approval. Potential tutors are given feedback during this process to help them adjust their submission to ensure the likelihood of approval. However, fewer than 30% of those who submit an application for a listing are approved. Because a tutor who is listed on WyzAnt.com is an independent tutor, and not an employee of WyzAnt, WyzAnt does not require that a tutor purchase a background check in order to be listed, and the application process is entirely free. The website provides the opportunity for the tutor to purchase a background check if they choose to do so. However, this is neither a requirement of the sign-up process, nor a requirement for approval for a profile listing. Purchasing a background check is completely voluntary for all who wish to have a profile listed. Once a tutor is approved and their listing is available to students, a tutor must agree to consent to having a background check run if a student chooses to purchase one on a tutor. We are sorry to hear that Mr.********** profile was not approved for a listing. When he contacted Customer Support on August 6, 2014 at 1:44 PM CST, a request for a refund of the $7.99 he paid for his background check was submitted to the Finance Department. That refund of $7.99 was processed on August 8, 2014 at 4:20 PM CST to the MasterCard he placed on his account to purchase the check. We are happy to provide Mr.******** the details of this refund transaction. We recommend he contact his financial institution for the details of that transaction as they pertain to his personal account. We understand the frustration Mr.******** must feel for not having his application for a profile listing approved. However, since WyzAnt does not guarantee that any individual application for a listing will be approved, and Mr.********** refund was processed the same day he requested it, WyzAnt considers this matter closed.

6/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/7/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Sunday, March 8. 2014 Capt*************US Army, who is taking a graduate course at the Univ of Maryland, had a scheduled session with me. She had received a study guide for this behavioral psychology course. It outlined each potential question type or content area that the student had to know in advance of the upcoming final. I taught her some of the content and taught her how to find the answers herself,primarily in peer-reviewed journals. I agreed to charge her for just 2 hours but gave here over 7 hours of my time,in 2 study sessions that evening. Very late that night she texted me several times about preexam postings she had to enter of her class blog site because we had highlighted those discussion points but she hadn't taken them home. I called the information to her, reading the article portions to her. Two days later I received a notice from Wyzant stating they were accusing her of cheating using my help. I called ***** immediately to let her know the accusation and she called Wyzant to send them the study guide and documentation showing that the final was conducted under in a proctored setting and that the prof encouraged using tutoring to work through the PR final study Guide. The customer service rep refused to allow her to submit the documents required to correct this false interpretation of her rapidly written emails. When I called the rep actually lied to me saying Capt******* prof was accusing her of cheating...he never did and was appalled she was falsely accused. Now the company, which I have had a great relationship with as a top 1% tutor for over 2 years, has written a derogatory letter to my clients, refuses to send emails that my clients send to my Wyzant email (so my clients think I am not returning their emails) and refuses to pay me for *****'s 3 last sessions, and 4 other sessions that are pending from other clients. Their 11 person company has their staff send unsigned emails and no one takes personal responsibility for honoring contractual agreements or making decisions. I asked for a call back from ************, CEO, who had written me just months earlier as one of his company's leading tutors and the head of this small team will, I'm certain never even see my email.I have told clients time and time again that I trust this company and they should not hesitate to do the same when they have to give Wyzant their financial information to even give and receive phone numbers for scheduling. But they have treated me with utter disrespect, and done the same to my dear client, a decorated Army officer who's career, rank, and educational benefits would all be lost if she cheated in any matter. And all of this is done with their administration unwilling to examine evidence that can hold up to any level of scrutiny. Although not an employee my clients have worked with me through this entity for years and commonly write me directly when referred by former or current clients. Having Wyzant write them saying they no longer host my profile implies I have done something to warrant that and I absolutely have not.This and the refusal to forward my client emails is costing me hundreds of dollars each day, and again, I in no manner violated any part of my contract. Litigatable or not the refusal to meet with someone who has brought the company a great deal of business and revenue and earned over $100k in the process, is simply poor business conduct. This is so important to me, and to Captain Weeks that we would gladly fly to Chicago to meet with the Wyzant executives. Our reputations are critical to both of us and this accusation without the opportunity to prove it false (which is very easy to do) is very distressing. Finally, and much less importantly, the company owes me unclaimed bonus monies. I was reserving points to redeem later and these, along with all the hours I devoted to taking Wyzant exams and building a strong client base through the site is all lost.

Desired Settlement: I request immediate restoration of my profile to the site, with a letter to all my clients stating that the removal of my profile was an error on Wyzant's part, caused by no fault of mine. Given the very small size of the company I would ask that Wyzant schedule a work session, as a whole, with Captain****** and I, so that a process recreation can be done to prevent these errors in the future. We will come to Chicago for tthis or meet in a conference call on my company's platform. I'd also recommend that a Council of Lead Tutors be formed to develop protocols that better serve those who are daily bringing revenue into this company. Growth in service to the Stakeholders, which in this case are the tutors, is the hallmark of quality for any business entity and one I'm certain this company's Board of Directors and their investors demand. Immediately I am demanding compensation for the 8 sessions left unpaid including 3 from ***** Weeks that I can not even bill, and compensation, in an amount to be determined for the loss of clients I've suffered this week, and the harm to my reputation. I understand ***** will be making her own financial demand for the distress this has caused her and for the damage to her reputation, if only in the eyes of Wyzant's small staff. I also need to have all client emails forwarded to my private email during the time while this is resolved so no one thinks I am ignoring their correspondance.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/27) */ The tutor's listing on the WyzAnt.com website was removed under the website's Terms of Use.

3/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm angry at this website as a customer 2 years ago i had a calculus tutor which charged me $90/hr to teach me crap. he did not know anything, he was unprepared and I ended up tutoring him. 2 years later after i got my degree, i come back to tutor in wyzant to make a difference. i got contacted by a potential customer and i told them they could e-mail the materials they needed help with(i do this to get material ready prior a tutoring session to be more efficient) and after they submit payment information we can talk about the hours. just for the fact that i gave them my e-mail address I was banned even talking to wyzant customer representatives were VERY RUDE trhough the e-mail. There is not second chances on that website they banned you for no reason(as stated by their agreement). I jut was my 7.95$ back that you guys took and then banned my account without actually investigating thoroughly if i deserved to be banned or not. Don't make me expose more of your malpractices of business and how you get tutors because what you guys are offering are not tutors but a bunch of people hustling for business. People like me who worry about the student are left behind on your website. i hope people can see it.

Desired Settlement: either a refund or a reactivation of my account or delete my information COMPLETELY from your records, and i mean all of it. since i found out wyzant have all my info.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/14) */ WyzAnt is an online marketplace for tutors and students to contact one another in order to conduct one-on-one tutoring lessons. All payments are processed through the WyzAnt system. It is unfortunate that Mr. ****** had such an unfortunate experience as a student back in 2012. Further, we are sorry to hear that this platform has not served to be the best option for Mr. ****** as a tutor. Within the WyzAnt Terms of Use, it is stated that either party may sever the relationship at any time, for any reason. We do apologize for the frustration that this situation has caused Mr. ******, but the decision to close his account and remove his information complete is a final decision. As a courtesy, I have fully refunded the $7.99 that Mr. ****** spent in order to purchase a background check on himself. We wish Mr. ****** all the best in his future tutoring endeavors.

3/24/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I tried to use WyzAnt site to recruit new students. But after 6 weeks of recruiting Wyzant terminated me because, they claimed, I had not developed relationships with new students.I believe that six weeks is not sufficient to recruit new students. Wyzant, which collects a significant percentage of Tutor compensation, is being greedy. I believe the Wyzant decision to terminate my agreement and delete my online profile was not reasonable. Product_Or_Service: Business Advertising and Billing Order_Number: NA Account_Number: NA

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want a formal apology and I want someone from the company to work with me personally to help me recruit new students.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/27) */ WyzAnt is a marketplace for tutors and students to connect for one-on-one tutoring at a location mutually agreed upon by both parties. Tutors and students can connect either by a tutor responding to a posting for help from a student, or by a student contacting a tutor directly after reviewing their online WyzAnt profile. WyzAnt's marketplace consists of both legitimate tutors and students in need. WyzAnt does not concoct or fabricate any of its users. Given the growing number of tutors and students, the opportunities for tutors are competitive factoring in the subject, location and experience of the tutors. Taking these factors into consideration, WyzAnt does not make any guarantee that tutors will be hired by students; WyzAnt is simply the platform for marketing their services and communicating with students. Signing up with WyzAnt is a free service for tutors to use and does not prevent tutors from maximizing their tutoring business in other ways. On multiple occasions, Mr. ***** contacted our Customer Support Team to express his frustration with WyzAnt's procedure. Based on his dissatisfaction with the WyzAnt platform, it was decided that WyzAnt would sever its relationship with Mr. *****, as is stated within our right in our terms of use. WyzAnt does apologize that Mr. ***** was not able to successfully connect with any students through the online marketplace we provide and wish him the best on his future endeavors. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/02/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did have some legitimate complaints about certain aspects of the WyzAnt forums. However, it was not sufficient reason for WyzAnt to suddenly sever the relationship without any discussion. I think that the way WyzAnt handled this was very unprofessional. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/03/11) */ While WyzAnt understands that the closure of the profile of******** ***** is a frustrating matter, WyzAnt does retain the right to terminate any profile listed on the WyzAnt marketplace for any reason, at any time. This was done so as it seemed that this was not the best platform for Mr. ***** to promote his tutoring business. We wish Mr. ***** the best on his future endeavors.

2/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wyzant closed my tutoring advertisement, with no warning, and refused to give me information that my customers had posted to my advertisement.

Desired Settlement: A downgraging of Wyzant's BBB score.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/31) */ Prior to becoming an Active Tutor through WyzAnt.com, all applicants are required to agree to an Independent Tutor Agreement as well as our terms of use which WyzAnt has put in place to ensure that all Tutors understand and follow policies. Outlined within those documents, WyzAnt explains that all tutors who find students through our marketplace must not attempt to circumvent our payment policies. This includes the exchange of personal email addresses, phone numbers or location addresses for the purpose of conducting tutoring lessons outside of WyzAnt's system. On multiple occasions, Mr. ****** attempted to get in contact with students beyond the guidelines of the WyzAnt policies. He was warned of his actions prior to any deactivation of his profile. Upon a routine review, a member of the WyzAnt team made the decision that the WyzAnt platform is not fitting for his personal tutoring services. As is also outlined in WyzAnt's Independent Tutor Agreement, either party may terminate the agreement at any time for any reason. We appreciate the time Mr. ****** spent as an Independent Tutor on the WyzAnt.com website, and we wish him luck in all of his future endeavors. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Wyzant made their decision based on their incorrect and unsupported assumption that I was attempting to circumvent their payment policies. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/02/13) */ After reviewing the matter further, WyzAnt concludes that Mr. ****** did exchange contact information with students in order to set up sessions prior to the student having payment information on file. This is in direct violation of WyzAnt's protocol. While we understand that this decision can be frustrating, it is within WyzAnt's right to sever the relationship of any tutor at any time, for any reason. We do appreciate Mr. ******'s time with WyzAnt and wish him the best of luck. Thank you.

1/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up to tutor with wyzant on 11-24-13. I was registered for 6 areas to tutor. I was contacted by a client through their source on the 26th to edit a paper. He explicitly stated he wanted it to be vio online and would sent me the work through their website. " I could send you the paper and you could fix it and send it back and I could pay you that way?" from students email. 11-29 I was contacted via email and phone by ********, she asked if I did the work as a student disputed it. I told her I did, she checked and read my emails with the student and agreed the work was done. I was paid for the work that following Monday through their system. Since then i have tutored a student who wyzant has yet to pay me for and did take 40% from the tutoring. On 12-16, I was contacted by their company and they indicated that the student complained to a supervisor and they would be taking $9 from this weeks money and next weeks tutoring money to refund to the student. I told them no I did the work, you worker agreed, and besides they take 40% they can refund people money from their portion. The women was very rude refused to discuss and closed account. Still not paid for service rendered.

Desired Settlement: Refund of my 40% paid to the company ($18) for the first lesson and $12 for the last lesson as well as the 18 owed to me for teaching a session on 12-13-13. ( the refund of the two 40% includes the two $9 fees stemming from the first lesson with the student equaling $18).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/26) */ ****** ********* signed up to be a WyzAnt tutor on 11/23/13, as stated. His application was completed and accepted to be listed on WyzAnt's online marketplace on 11/24/13. Upon signup, Mr. ********* agreed to WyzAnt's Terms of Use and Payment Policy, which clearly state that when a tutor first begins with WyzAnt, they earn 60% of their hourly rate, while WyzAnt retains a 40% commission. A total of two (2) lessons took place with two separate students. Mr. *********'s rate for these two lessons was $30/hr, 60% of which is $36 total. As a tutor on the WyzAnt.com website, having agreed to our Terms of Use and Payment Policy, the remaining 40% of the money charged from the lesson are still WyzAnt's commission, regardless of Mr. *********'s current standing with WyzAnt. The remaining $9 Mr. ********* mentioned was removed from his amount earned due to a dispute that arose between he and the student he was working with remotely. WyzAnt handles those disputes internally and the tutor was kept in contact about our actions. WyzAnt currently owes no money to Mr. ********* and we consider this matter closed. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 15, 2014/01/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accepted the final resolution which was the requested resolution made by the petitioner on XX -XX-XX. Wyzant has agreed to refund the money erroneously taken, that to which we both agreed to this resolution. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/01/21) */ WyzAnt has furnished a copy of the payment policies that were agreed to by Mr. *********. As such, it is not without reason that WyzAnt has been unable to comply with Mr. *********'s request for reimbursement as those payments were never to be paid out. However, due to the confusion and frustration of the situation, WyzAnt will be making a payment today, 1/21/14 to Mr. *********'s *********** Bank account via direct deposit. It will take between 1-3 business days for the $42 to appear in the account. As a resolution has been reached and completed, we consider the matter final and closed.

7/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/11/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
6/10/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
6/4/2013 Delivery Issues
4/8/2013 Delivery Issues
4/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service