Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Cahill Building & Roofing, Inc.

Phone: (773) 238-8450 Fax: (773) 238-8343 10527 S. Whipple St., Chicago, IL 60655


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cahill Building & Roofing, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cahill Building & Roofing, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cahill Building & Roofing, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 27, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1980 Business started locally: 01/01/1980 Business incorporated 01/01/1980 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

City of Chicago
121 N La Salle St # 604, Chicago IL 60602
cityclerk@cityofchicago.org

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Martin Cahill, President Ms. Jill Beausoleil, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Jill Beausoleil, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Martin Cahill, President
Business Category

Tuck Pointing Waterproofing Contractors Waterproofing Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Basement - Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling Remodeling Services Kitchen Remodeling Building Restoration & Preservation Chimney Builders & Repair Concrete - Restoration, Sealing & Cleaning Contractors - General Contractor - Remodel & Repair Gutters & Downspouts Mason Contractors Patio & Deck Builders Deck Builders Hardscapes Brick Pavers Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Masonry Contractors (NAICS: 238140)


Additional Locations

  • 10527 S. Whipple St.

    Chicago, IL 60655

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/28/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I HIRED CAHILL ROOFING,TO INSTALL A NEW ROOF AND SKYLIGHT,IN April 2014,about three weeks ago,I noticed that the skylight had a leak,and the wall was a little damaged from the leak.I called Cahill and they sent two men out to repair the exterior,which was fine,I was then told that someone else would come out to see what materials would be needed to repair the interior damage..A man by the name of Festus came out twice and told me that someone else would be out to repair the wall within a couple of days..It has been two weeks,have heard nothing from them,and have called several times only to get a voicemail..I have left messages to no avail..I am really dissapointed,because up to this point,I have had no problem with them,I only have two more payments whis are automatically debited from my checking account,and the roof and skylight will be paid for..also there is a correction,the date of hiring the company was April 2015 not 2014..Pls excuse the error...

Desired Settlement: I want the wall repaired by the company,or they can give me a monetary refund of $****** and I will get someone to repair it..

Business Response: Cahill building has taken care of the concerns Ms. ******** had with her skylight.  

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** ********

12/29/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cahill Building performed concrete landing and step work on my residence in October 2015. I was told that the concrete color would be light tan/beige in order to slightly match the concrete walkway that Cahill Building installed in 2012. Unfortunately, the concrete landing and step color is light gray. I contacted Cahill and was told that the color would be altered upon application of the concrete seal. After the seal was applied in November 2015, the concrete landing and step color is still light gray. I have left several messages for Cahill but have not heard anything back regarding this issue.

Desired Settlement: To have the concrete landing and step color light tan/beige as promised. The light gray color does not complement my light tan concrete walkway or light brown concrete stairs.

Business Response: The owner of the company visited ***** ****** this morning. They discussed the color difference. There was a misunderstanding and the owner thought that the sidewalks that we completed for her 3 years ago had coloring in them which they did not. ****** ****** explained that it is the same color we used in the past which is the only color for concrete and that over years with wear and weather, the older concrete has discolored on its own. What we just completed for Tammy on the stairs and landing is original concrete color. ***** agreed with ****** and this issue has been resolved. 

Business Response: The owner of the company visited ***** ****** this morning. They discussed the color difference. There was a misunderstanding and the owner thought that the sidewalks that we completed for her 3 years ago had coloring in them which they did not. ****** ****** explained that it is the same color we used in the past which is the only color for concrete and that over years with wear and weather, the older concrete has discolored on its own. What we just completed for ***** on the stairs and landing is original concrete color. ***** agreed with ****** and this issue has been resolved. 

10/23/2015 Delivery Issues
12/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
9/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Concrete and brick were replaced on the south side of the house. (May of 2014). A month later, cracks near the basement window where the concrete was replaced have formed. Since then, I have made repeated calls to Cahill to address the issue. While a representative made a visit a month ago, the company continues to ignore my pleas to fix this. I made my payment of $800.00 immediately following the completion of the work. I would like to see this addressed in the same timely and professional manner.

Desired Settlement: I am looking for the issue of the cracks to be corrected in a timely fashion.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/11) */ Contact Name and Title: **** Office Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **************@yahoo.com We were aware of the cracking that the customer had. His first complaint was 7/7/14 and we had went out and inspected the work 2 days after that to see what needed to be fixed or repaired. We have been fighting with the weather to get back and take care of the issues there. The issue was resolved on 9/9/14 as we had made all necessary repairs. We do apologize for the delay as we were working around the weather.

12/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Chose CBR ****** Building, XXXXX S. ******* Chicago, Illinois XXXXX, aka. ****** Building & Restoration, Inc, XXXXX S. Ridgeway Ave, Chicago, IL XXXX-XXXX from a list given to my mother from the BBB and because my neighbor with whom I share a chimney met ***** and seemed to feel comfortable with him. My neighbor told me, she was on her way to mail the letter to my lawyer, giving permission to tie into her roof. After our conversation with ***** from CBR, I asked her to make a reference giving permission to change the flashing and per *****'s verbal description add shingles on her side of the chimney. I received a copy of the modified letter from my lawyer. October 10, 2013, through the October 12, 2013 the Contractor ***** and crew from CBR ****** Building , replaced the roof (JN XXXXX) and interior attic insulation at my home. On the start day, I was given a copy of the invoice. I told *****, I did not see anything about changing the flashing around the Chimney on the proposal, or repairing or tuck pointing the cap on the chimney as requested. On the first day, I was told, by ***** that the flashing around the chimney was okay and he would have someone come out and look at the chimney and come give me an estimate. I asked him to please make sure to caulk, because I had occasional dripping on my side of the chimney. I did not know about my neighbor's side but, I did not want a problem with my neighbor. By the second day, ***** told me he talked to the Masonry guy, but he would not be doing the work. ***** suggested I should call ******* their masonry, personally. I said, if he could not get him to come, how was I suppose to convince him. He said, I should try and contact this gentleman. On Sunday they finished and I paid them the total amount. I showed ***** that I had modified both CBR's Copy of the proposal and my own copy concerning the replacement of the flashing around the chimney, the required shingle replacement and the installation of the metal barriers he purchased because the neighbor to the North did not respond with permission to tie in.. ***** forgot to get the signed CBR copy of the Proposal before he left. During the following weeks it rained. I heard dripping and went into the attic. There was a small but constant dripping coming down around the chimney. A few days later, during normal business hours, I called XXX XXX-XXXX and left a message at CBR to let them know I had dripping in the attic. Later **** responded and said she would talk to *****. A day later ***** called and we set up an appointment for them to come on a Saturday. On the day of the Saturday appointment at approximately 11:30, ***** called to say, he was working on another job and was not sure when he would be able to get out to my house. When I asked, if I had to be at the house for them to fix the problem, I was told no. He suggested the leaking may be coming from the chimney and not the because of the flashing. He said he caulked thoroughly but, may have missed a spot. I reminded him that I had dripping with the old roof. I did not receive a phone call to let me know if anyone form CBR had come to the house. October 21, 2013, I called the CBR office and left a message with my home and office numbers. I did not receive a call back at my office number, however, a few days later, I say evidence that someone had been in my backyard moving things around. Since there had been thieves stealing metal from my yard and in the area, I was not sure what happened. Since I did not see ***** on that Saturday appointment, on October 24, 2013, I certified mailed the signed CBR's copy of the proposal to ****** Building. Approximately a week later it rained heavily and the dripping was from multiple sides of the chimney and at a faster rate. I notice the insulation near the chimney was showing signs of water damage. I saw water drops running down the plastic on the east and west side of the chimney.

Desired Settlement: I am asking for assistance getting the roof leakage stopped, a letter of completion and a copy of the warranty.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/11/25) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **************@yahoo.com ****** Building addressed this customer's complaint immediately after speaking with her. The complaint of water entry was not due to any work we performed. We did however fix the issue where water was entering which was through her chimney. We have spoken to customer since we fixed her chimney and were told that there are no more water entry issues.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Cahill Building & Roofing, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)