This business is not BBB accredited.

Birchwood Services I, Ltd.

Phone: (847) 359-1951 Fax: (847) 359-4279 PO Box 1727, Palatine, IL 60078 http://www.birchwoodsvcs.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Birchwood Services I, Ltd. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Birchwood Services I, Ltd.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 19, 2007 Business started: 01/01/2006 Business started locally: 01/01/2006 Business incorporated 09/10/2013 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Category

Tree Service Tree Service - Pruning Arborist Stump Removal & Grinding Landscape Contractors Landscaping Services (NAICS: 561730)


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 1727

    Palatine, IL 60078

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/1/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dep of $750. made for tree and stump removal. Tree was removed & were to come back to remove stump. Their equipment could not fit thru the gate so they wanted us to remove fence posts. That is an added expense as we can not do ourselves. The owner **** wants us to deduct 75.00 from the final bill of 800.00 to compensate for the stump. I told her I would get bids to have it removed & until then I would not pay her until the job is completed by her or someone else. She continued to harass me to get her $ for the job. According to the estimate for stump and tree removal, the job is not complete until the stump is removed.

Desired Settlement: I want her to pay the $285.00 to have the fence post removed and replaced so her equipment can fit in my yard or deduct the bid from another tree service company to remove the stump using smaller equipment. Also to stop harassing us until this is completed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/19) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********* Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *************@gmail.com Mrs. ******** was completely informed about her choices as well as her husband who was present at time of service. she authorized a job that was a year later and since then we changed our machine. her husband was informed on day of stump completion that we can not fit the stumper through fence. I went out of my way for them bit unfortunately the crew when the went out there told me it won't fit. I talk you the husband who was VERY understanding and explained the situation. I gave him the option for them to remove fence and then we will be able to take stump out or I can deduct 75.00 for the stump price and they can obtain a company with a smaller machine. I told him payment for the removal portion ONLY will be due and then we will worry about the balance. he told me his wife only gave him a check for the full balance and had no other check. I told him I can refund the difference when I get the check later. he told me to deposit the check and he'll let me know when he takes apart fence. I told him "are you sure because it will take a bit now to remove fence as I am busy with all the rain reschedules". he had no problem. Mrs ******** on the other hand when she came home was NOT accepting it or not understanding. it was going to be under her terms only. I clearly told her payment of the removal portion ONLY is due immediately the stump is dealt with OR she can deduct 100.00 to have another tree company can help her. she will not cooperate. her mentioning harassment is false as i have a call log. I will not pay for her removal of a fence. she also wrote a check for balance to the wrong name that I can't deposit. This was an unforseen thing with her fence and stumper and I gave her 2 choices that she won't accept. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/07/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have hired an attorney to handle this process going forward. Thank you.