Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Pathfinder Network, Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (815) 431-1941 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 20, Ottawa, IL 61350

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pathfinder Network, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 02, 2012 Business started: 01/01/2007 Business started locally: 01/01/2007 Business incorporated 11/30/2009 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Craig Scheffler, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Craig Scheffler, President
Business Category

Travel Clubs All Other Travel Arrangement and Reservation Services (NAICS: 561599)

Products & Services

This company offers Travel & Leisure memberships offering private access to various travel related products and exclusive prices.

Additional Locations


    750 E Etna Rd

    Ottawa, IL 61350


    PO Box 20

    Ottawa, IL 61350 (815) 431-1941 (815) 343-0601


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: i signed up for a travel club program which promised significant savings for those who travel on a regular vacation basis. In the presentation that I was given. Promises and examples were given showing significant savings on cruises and on condo vacation rentals and on vacation packages. In fact, the first time we used them we did get a significant savings on a cruise. On the second time I tried to book a cruise (June 23, 2014), I waited 3 days for a reply and was given a quote identical to the price I found online with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Carnival Cruises in less than 5 minutes of my time. When asked why their quote was the same, I was given the answer that they can't guarrantee their quotes being lower. I was foolish to get suckered into this in the first place, but this Pathfinder Network is acting as an agent for and selling memberships for this Tradewinds Vacations, and is scamming people on a regular basis. I cannot get a response from this company after several attempts. All I get is a voicemail with a promise to return my call, which never comes.

Desired Settlement: I realize that two years have gone by, but I would like to get at least a partial refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/27) */ Contact Name and Title: ***************, Pres Contact Phone:*********** Contact Email: ****************************** We are sorry this member has not been able to maximize the membership benefits to date. The membership is designed to offer a private booking service for various travel methods over many years. As the complaint states, the member has used the service and has experienced savings on the first cruise booked. When comparing cruise prices there are many factors considered and some are discounted more than others. On most cruises we are able to offer a rebate equal to the travel agent commission (5%-15%)depending on the cruise requested. It is not expected that a member will save the entire membership cost within the first two years. The savings will accumulate over many years of usage especially when using the condo's and travel packages as described. We email a weekly specials list with hundreds of specially priced vacations in addition to the the ability to book personal requests. We are more than happy to work with this member to re-explain the benefits and services we provide. We strive to provide excellent customer service but we have never had any communication from this member to have the opportunity to address the concerns. Since the member purchased more than two years ago and as he stated has saved money using the membership, it is not a fair request to ask for a refund since he has not even contacted us for assistance. The member signed agreements with full disclosure of all services and expected savings. We are more than happy to assist member to use and benefit by the membership.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Pathfinder Network, Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)