BBB Accredited Business since

Starship Travel, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (847) 394-1155 Fax: (847) 394-3784 View Additional Phone Numbers 310 W Northwest Hwy, Arlington Heights, IL 60004 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.starshiptravel.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Starship Travel, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Starship Travel, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Starship Travel, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 06, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1986 Business started locally: 01/01/1986 Business incorporated 04/12/1994 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Linda Schreiber, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Linda Schreiber, President
Business Category

Travel Agencies & Bureaus Cruises Sightseeing Tours Travel Agencies (NAICS: 561510)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Starship Travel, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1750 Grandstand Place

    Elgin, IL 60123

  • 310 W Northwest Hwy

    Arlington Heights, IL 60004 (847) 394-1155 (866) 394-6300

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is ************* and I as well as 10 people of my immediate family used this Travel Agency at the bequest of my Niece ( ****************)for her wedding in Puna Cana ,in the Dominican Republic on May 9th. This agency was visited and vetted by my niece prior to her picking them. They have failed or at least one member of their staff (******) has failed in providing exceptionable service when it came to clear communication on details. Our rooms should have been connected as requested, but were not because they failed to blocked in advance the number of rooms needed for our entourage. Our invoices were difficult to comprehend because they were consolidated to include 2 or 3 people and using another person's credit card information so you had no idea who was getting billed. Correct procedure would have been to provide single invoices per person. When first discussed it was our understanding that the deposit of $200.00 would have been substracted from my total invoice cost of $ 2,138.00. This was not the case. I called****** again on 4/25 prior to departure for Puna Cana, and his excuse was that they do not handle the accounting functions at the travel agency but they contract it out to an acctg firm. He had promise to call me back next week to confirm. He didnot. It's been 37 days since I returned from the wedding and as of last Friday which was the 13th I still have not receive a call back from Mr************* even after I warned him that I would contact the BBB if he didnot return a courtesy call by end of business. My whole family has complained about the way they have handle our travel arrangements and there is no excuse but to say that they are an incompetent group of people. We will never refer them to anyone we know Here are my reference numbers for your information when you conduct this investigation: If you need confirmation to their poor service please contact some of the people in our wedding group: ****************-( Mother of the Bride) XXX-XXX-XXXX, ***************** (friend) XXX-XXX-XXXX, ********** ( Aunt) XXX-XXX-XXXX. ************* Confirmation Numbers *****************************************

Desired Settlement: I want the full $200.00 deposit refunded to me immediately and an apology to me and my whole family in writing.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/19) */ Contact Name and Title: ****************President Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX x 104 Contact Email: ***************@starshiptravel.com To whom it may concern: I am responding to this complaint in a short version today. There are so many inaccuracies in this complaint that I want to take the time to review carefully each comment and respond. I will complete this on Friday June 20th. Thank You, **************** Owner BBB TORCH AWARD 2014 FOR ETHICS IN BUSINESS Starship Travel Inc. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) i will give her till the 20th but I stand by position in this matter. Maybe she should call the people that I mentioned in this complaint if she still believes that my view has several inaccuracies. As of today, I still nor has my sister Diand Bond received our deposits refunded to us. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/07/03) */ This has been amicably agreed and payment has been made to **************** (via ************** on June 30, 2014. A check was sent to her in the amount of $240.00 What is my next step to get this resolved on the BBB Website? ***** ********* - President WINNER BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU TORCH AWARDS 2014 for Ethics in Business Winner MAST President award for dedication in business starship travel.- ************************************************* **************************************************************************************************** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/06/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Both parties have been in discussions to resolve this matter. I have the balance sheet and will review over the weekend with ****************. I will have a final determination of the outcome on Monday. At that time i will advise BBB what our position is. Thank You.