Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Brightspark Travel

Phone: (877) 545-0070 8750 W Bryn Mawr Ave  Ste 450E, Chicago, IL 60631 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.brightsparktravel.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Brightspark Travel include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Brightspark Travel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 26, 2005 Business started: 10/01/1969 Business started locally: 10/01/1969
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Lisa Curtin, General Manager Ms. Carol Senderak, Accounting
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lisa Curtin, General Manager
Business Category

Travel Agencies & Bureaus Tours - Operators & Promoters Travel Agencies (NAICS: 561510)

Products & Services

This business operates student tours.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Brightspark Travel has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8750 W Bryn Mawr Ave
    Ste 450E

    Chicago, IL 60631

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/5/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A deposit amount was paid to the business on 3/1/16. We were told by the school that this was the deadline to book the trip. All details of the trip was advertised by the school for 7th graders. We knew there was a chance our son's team would make the final of a tournament but we also knew we would have the answer in matter of weeks. It was our understanding of Illinois law that transactions could be reversed within 30 days if the product was not used/delivered or the service had yet to be given. We contacted the business with a cancellation request on 3/25, the day the 2nd payment was taken and the day we received confirmation from my son's coach that they would play late in the tournament of the day of the trip. I have an email substantiating this. I was refunded the amount charged that day but not the downpayment of $99. This complaint has been reported to the Illinois Attorney General's office as well. We intend to take to social media to warn parents against this business.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $99 downpayment of student trip that was cancelled within 30 days of order. Thank you, *******

3/11/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed my 13 year old son Isaac up for a school trip to Washington D.C. I signed him up when they were enrolling students but the trip was already full. This was back in October. They put my son on a wait list. Mid January I received a call that a student cancelled at the last minute and there was a spot open. They required that I pay the trip in full that day. I did that. They said I would have to log onto the website and make one last payment. I logged in about 1 1/2 - 2 weeks later and there were two fees listed. One was a late fee of $111 and the other was a late fee of $60. The first opportunity I was given to pay anything I paid the trip in full and feel like it is absurd to charge someone a late fee that had no other choice but to pay at that time. I called and they removed the $60 late fee for not paying the first late fee but would not remove the $111 late fee. They said it was for a name change on the itinerary. I don't feel like I should be held responsible for something like that when I was called and offered the position and paid in full all within an hour. I know they collect a nonrefundable down payment and cancellation fee from the person that cancels and I thought that was for the expenses to change itinerary. It feels like price gouging

Desired Settlement: I would like the $111 late fee removed since I paid in full the day I was expected to.

Business Response: Good Morning:

I have been trying to call, but haven’t been able to get through to see what is the correct procedure to respond to your UPS sent document.  

I am sending this to the e-mail listed on the document to show we are responding within the 5 days.

Resolution:  We had already refunded this parent on February 2, 2016 the full $111.00.  It went back to her credit card ending 7509.

Can you please let me know how we change how you communicate with us so we have two people receiving information in case someone is out of the office?

If there is another format to respond to you, please let me know that as well.

Thank you for your help.

Pam ****

7/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My son was offered a school trip to attend. My Fiance had lost his job. I was still working but figured I should contact Brightspark to find out about the cancellation policy in case we needed to cancel. Upon calling I was told that I was covered and would be able to cancel with no penalty and all monies would be returned as the trip INCLUDED insurance for this. I was then told that I could not get my money back because I didn't have insurance. I was passed to the insurance company who then told me I did have it..They sent me back to the Brightspark to "iron out" my contract. My son never attended the trip and I have received nothing in terms of a refund. I was told that I do not get a refund because we cancelled. This was the whole reason I had done the foot work before hand. I had an extremely condescending email sent to me from ************ on Mothers Day.. Mothers Day of all times essentially telling me that I was not getting anything back and to have a "great Mothers Day". I feel like I was passed along between these two companies.. received no service,lost almost $400 and treated like garbage. I will pursue this legally if something is not resolved out of this.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund due to the fact that had I of known that I could not get a refund, I would never have purchased the package. The agent was told this when I initially called about the cancellation and she gave me incorrect information. I feel that I was mislead, passed around and in the end lost out on a large sum of money. My son never went on the trip. I can understand paying a small fee but to get nothing back when I was TOLD I would is wrong, bad business practices and shameful. If I do not get at least 50-75% of my refund back, I will take legal action.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/07/08) */ Greetings, This consumer contracted for a trip Brightspark Canada, a seperate business from Brightspark USA. I have fowarded this complaint to Brightspark Canada. They can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX. We are not the same company. Please remove this complaint from our account. Thank you


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Brightspark Travel
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart