Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

AARCO Travel Agency

Phone: (773) 363-9500 Fax: (773) 363-7164 View Additional Phone Numbers 2226 E 71st St, Chicago, IL 60649 http://www.aarcotravel.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for AARCO Travel Agency include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for AARCO Travel Agency include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AARCO Travel Agency
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 11, 1992 Business started: 09/01/1984 Business started locally: 09/01/1984
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Idella Blackwood, Co-Owner Ms. Vera Smiley, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Idella Blackwood, Co-Owner
Business Category

Travel Agencies & Bureaus Cruises Sightseeing Tours Travel Agencies (NAICS: 561510)


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2226 E 71st St

    Chicago, IL 60649 (773) 363-9500 (800) 445-4611

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In Oct 2011, a previous employee used this agency to advertise a trip to the ******* in Apr 2012. On the flyer presented to myself and others, there is a line that says "Air accommodations available upon request". There is nothing stating "No refunds" for deposits on airfare. I put down a $80.00 cash deposit for the airfare on 12/7/11, and was emailed a receipt on 2/7/12. No other payments toward the airfare was made due to the fact that I was unable to have the balance of the airfare by the due date. I asked the employee for a refund of the $80.00 so that I can purchase my own flight and was told that I would have to wait until she was paid from the agency after the trip was completed. Trip was taken in Apr 2012 and shortly after that, I began to question the employee about the $80.00. Got responses that she had not been paid from the agency, or she will be sending it to me by mail. After several months of requesting my money back, I then got a response that the airline does not refund any deposits. However, there is nothing in writing from the advertisement that there is no refunds for airline deposits. I contacted the agency direct in Jul 2012 and spoke with the "owner" and explained the situation to her. Her reply was that the employees have been paid already. I asked her would she be able to help me to get my $80 back. She took down my name and phone number and told me she would call me at the end of the week. ( NO RETURN CALL) I called the agency again about a month later and spoke with her again and she told me that the employee told her that she had given me the money back. (NOT TRUE) I explained that to her and she then asked me for the employees phone number so that she could call her again and give me a call back. ( STILL NO RTURN CALL) I have contacted the agency over and over again and still have not received any assistance from them. On Jul 16,2012 I received a call from the employee asking for my email address so that the money could be Quick Paid to me through Chase Bank. I gave it to her. I checked my account and it was a payment from the employee in the amount of $65 with a message "Acceptance of this funds transfer acknowledges refund in full for airfare deposit 4/20/12 less fee". I DID NOT ACCEPT IT due to the fact that this is not what is owed to me. What fee am I being charged for returning money back to me that is rightfully owed to me?? I am still owed as of today $80. I have contacted the agency several times throughout the 2013 year and have yet to get this issue resolved. I have placed another 2 calls this year and have yet to get anything resolved. How am I able to get this resolved with the agency or the employee. The employee will not answer or return any of my phone calls or text messages, and I have no other information on how t reach her. Whenever I contact the agency, I speak with the owner, she has to always take my number down and say that she will call me back. But I never get the phone call. When I spoke with her on today, I explained to her that I am still waiting to receive my refund of $80. I also let her know that I would be filing a claim with the BBB and her response was " I hope it's against her ( the previous employee) because I don't want that to go on our records with them (BBB). Give me a couple of weeks to get your money" She again asks me for my phone number and also the phone number of the previous employee. I am filing this claim right now just in case this matter has not been resolved by 2/28/14 and it is duly noted for future references.

Desired Settlement: I am hoping that after speaking with the owner on today, that by 2/28/14 I will have my money back, Paid In Full in the amount of $80.00


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on AARCO Travel Agency
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)