This business is not BBB accredited.

Transmissions 4 Less Co of America

Phone: (773) 723-4444 View Additional Phone Numbers 6415 S State St, Chicago, IL 60637 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Transmissions 4 Less Co of America include:

  • 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Business has failed to resolve underlying cause(s) of a pattern of complaints

Factors that raised the rating for Transmissions 4 Less Co of America include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Transmissions 4 Less Co of America
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 03, 2010 Business started: 06/01/2003 Business started locally: 06/01/2003 Business incorporated 01/21/2008 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Salim Safran, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Salim Safran, Owner
Number of Employees


Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile Auto Service - Tires/Batteries/Accessories Auto Air Conditioning Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Auto - Emissions Testing Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Shocks Auto Repair - Power Steering Brake Service Engines - Rebuild & Exchange Automotive Transmission Repair (NAICS: 811113)

Alternate Business Names
Transmission 4 Less

Additional Locations


    6415 S State St

    Chicago, IL 60637 (773) 723-4444


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 4,2015 I had my 99 Chevrolet Suburban towed to this place because my transmission wouldn't shift gears and needed to be repaired. I requested they rebuild my transmission.

Desired Settlement: On April 4,2015 I had my 99 Chevrolet Suburban towed to this shop because transmission wouldn't shift gears and needed to be repaired. On April 13,2015 I went to pick up my vehicle. When I got there one of the mechanics told me that in addition to rebuilding the transmission he replaced the distributor cap. Which I was not contacted about before the replaced. But I didn't complained since they hadn't charged me anything extra. But when we went both test drove the truck it was still hesitating and now it was a check oil pressure light on the dashboard. He connected a diagnostic tester to the the truck and said its problemly a bad sensor. We drive back to the shop and I left the truck there for them to repair. I went back to pick the truck and this time it was making a ticking noise under the hood and still had the same hesitation. At this point I drove back to shop and the mechanic says it sounds like something is wrong with the pistons then he and the receptionist told me they don't do engine work. I'm absolutely disgusted at this point because there was nothing wrong with my engine prior to bringing my truck to the shop now they tell me it sounds like an engine problem. I attempted to drive my truck home and of course it wouldn't even make it. I ended up on the side of the road and had to have it towed the rest of the way home. When I called and spoke with the owner who was constantly unavailable he told me on April 16,2015 that he would pay for the tow back to his shop and they would diagnose the problem. Well I call the tow company to setup the tow everything seemed fine by then no show and when I called no answer. I have not heard anything from the shop or the tow company. Prior to towing my truck to this shop I had a full diagnosis done and nothing showed engine problems we're listed only the transmission. I believe this shop damaged my vehicle rather intentional or not something they did caused damage to my truck.I'd just like my money back because each time I left my truck with them when I came back there were more problems than the time before. Also the shop has shown a lack of integrity by agreeing to diagnosis the problem and not following thru on that agreement. Not to mention they will not give me a complete list of all the work they performed on my vehicle. They never told me what components were damaged during the transmission rebuild which makes me question did they even rebuild my transmission or did they replace it. Then when the mechanic stated that it sounded like a sensor they never told me which senor or if it was a sensor problem. Finally when the mechanic stated it sounds like the pistons he stated that based on the sound which didn't begin until after the shop did there work. So the only remedy I see is just give me my money back so I can use it to undo whatever they did.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/05/01) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ***** he picked his truck driving from my shop, he complains about trans and we went over again as per our warranty, when he called back he stated that his truck is not working i called him and i have his call recorded in my phone system that" i said we will send u a two truck and if the problem has nothing to do with the trans then we charge u the towing but we will diagnose it anyway to find the cause of his problem, also as per the rocrding i told him he can take his car to chevy dealer and klet them diagnose it and see if it is related to our work, as per the contract he signed we fix his transmission only, and his complaint has nothing to do with the trans or the work we did on the trans, so kindly close this case to out favor, complete call recording can be provided upon request to show the patience i had talking to him trying to help him and ask him to two it in my expense to figure what is his problem. again please close this case for the reasons i mentioned

4/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: After my truck was towed to them on on February 24,2015 they told me my truck would be ready in a couple days. So I called back tht Friday to get an update on the truck n thts when they told me tht it would be 7-14days untill the truck would be fixed. They didn't tell me it would take tht long when I first dropped it off. So I waited till the 7th day n called back for an update, I was constantly placed on hold for 15-20 mins then once they returned to the phone she told me tht she would call back wit information on the truck. I waited hours still no call bk n when I called back they we're closed. So I called on the bk still was placed on hold n they couldn't provide me wit an update on when the truck would be ready. So I kept callin back till I got information. Finally they told me I would have to wait the whole 7-14days for them to complete, I agreed so I called back on the 14th day n still the truck is not ready then I started to ask questions on why n she couldn't provide me wit details n I had said I was going to come n take it some where else n thts when she finally said its already took apart n they are waiting on a piece to be shipped it would be another day or two n now it's been 18 days my truck had been there n still had not been repaired or have not giving me a date it would be finished.

Desired Settlement: A discounted price for their poor service n delay

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/03/30) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *** we give flat rate price to all customers and we honor the prices we let customers signed for, we initially quoted her 1200 for a rebuilt transmission that is not less than $3000 in other shop around, we found major damage in her transmission related to manufacturer flaws in the assembly that made us spend more time and parts to resolve it, also the officer gave her $100 off the bill even as a shop we put more money in parts and and time more than what she paid us, we believe we did our part and this case shall be closed.

12/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On or about the 27 September 2014 I took my 2002 Acura TL to them for repairs and the promised the car would be finished in 1 week. After contacting them several times for updates on my car they said parts had to be ordered. Going in the 2nd week I would call them daily and all I was told is their test driving it. This continued every week for additional 4 weeks with no return call by any employees. The have avoided myself or my son calls by saying call back, I'm here alone, no technicians are here, wait to the owner comes. After weeks of frustration my son picks up the car on November 1, 2014 its running fine but the next day slippage issues occur again. we return the November 7, 2014 for a check up required by them and I still can't get a date or a person who can tell me the car will be repaired. This situation has brought discomfort and a strain on me and my family.

Desired Settlement: I'm requesting the put my car back together so I can drive to qualified transmission shop for repair. Full refund and pay cost for transportation for me to and from work.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/12/09) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** safrran Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ***** this vehicle came with major transmission problem and we fixed it and give it back to the customer, when the car came back there was a crack down the transmission as this car got hit by a curb and cause the transmission to break again, so this customer paid 1400 and we had to buy another parts for this car so we spent $2000 to fix this vehicle and we did not even complain, but got surprised to see such letter from bbb even though the car got picked up in perfect working order 2 weeks ago, so kindly close this case as we did out part and more to help this customer and lose to get this car back on the streets.

9/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my daughter's 96 Chrysler Sebring convertible transmission rebuilt by T4L for $850.00. The repair was completed on 9/10/13. When I picked up the car, after reading the invoice(#XXXXXXX)it was noted that the transmission mount needs to be serviced. The owner was not there at the time to discuss the issue/my concerns. I inquired with the front desk reception on why this piece was not repaired and/or why wasn't I informed during the time the transmission was being rebuilt there was a piece that requires fixing. A piece that is part of the transmission and was removed in an effort to rebuild the transmission. The receptionist said they don't service transmission mounts there. My daughter and I returned to T4L for the 7 day check up on 9/21/13, per warranty. The owner still was not there. After the check, we were informed the was fine. A couple of days after that, the car had was overheating. I emailed the owner ***** on 9/29/13 to inform him, the car was overheating and it wasn't an issue until after the repairs done by T4L. In addition, questioned him about the transmission mount> How could a place that rebuild transmissions don't do transmission mount repairs. This was what was originally stated by ******* Also, if they broke the part, they should have informed me/the consumer during the repair job, the mount was an issue. Not put the damaged part back on the car then inform me at the time of pick up by noting it on the invoice/warranty,it requires servicing. The owners response was "our policy to make sure the price the customers quoted and signed is the same price when picking up the car without additional changes. We had issues with customers complaining when advising them about extra stuff they need. You came for a trans job and got it. On 9/30/13 I emailed him and stated you verbally informed me if there is an issue with the car also it is under a 6 month warranty to bring the car back. It is obvious you don't stand behind your work or the warranty/contracts issued. The warranty doesn't state a transmission mount is not covered. The owner ***** e mailed me back on 9/30/13 saying, " *****, You have warranty on the transmission as agreed and covered by the contract signed, Please contact the office Evette directy by phone so she can help u Regards." I contacted transmissions4less after I had the car assessed for overheating. Once that was completed, I contacted ***** 10/5/13 to inform him I wanted to schedule an appointment on a Saturday to have the transmission mount repaired at no additional cost to me. His response changed "The mount you shall buy it yourself and bring your car when u have it in hand, we will charge you 100.00 labor to replace the mount to cover some of my guys time, if this is not fair that I shall get paid to work on your car. I cannot afford salvation army concept of doing business maybe you do but I can not if that is not fair for you then look for someone more fair than us to work on your car." Regards ***** ******. I went to transmission4less expecting a repair and a quality service as a customer/consumer. That I didn't get. They didn't not deliver a quality product or service. Definitely didn't back their warranty. As a consumer I should have been notified in advance during the time of repairs there was additional damage on the car. It was poor judgment for the owner to make a decision not to inform me of any issue with the car based on other experiences he had incurred with past customers. Placed the damaged part back on the car, The mount, much like an engine mount, is designed to keep your vehicle's transmission system in place. It also performs a number of other functions to keep your vehicle from falling apart. If the transmission mount breaks, it will cause a loss of stability in the area surrounding the break point. A broken mount will be unable to absorb the driveshaft vibrations and can get loud at high speed driving.

Desired Settlement: I tried to have this situation settled by transmission 4less completing the repairs. ******* the receptionist originally stated they don't do the mounts. The owner stated he will do it for a cost. Relying on the transmission mount for stability is the driveshaft, which is an extension of the engine's crankshaft that runs through the transmission to the rear axle. The driveshaft is responsible for delivering power to the rear of the vehicle. Rear-wheel drive vehicles require a longer driveshaft to send enough power to the back wheels. In most cases, the mount is located underneath the front end of the vehicle's frame on the driver's side. If the transmission mount breaks, it will cause a loss of stability in the area surrounding the break point. A broken mount will be unable to absorb the driveshaft vibrations and you will notice that the passenger cab is not only experiencing vibrating sensations, but can also get pretty loud when traveling at high speeds. Since the mount is designed to support the transmission system, which tends to be heavy, a break can damage the system's housing. The instability will create unexpected strain on the housing and unsupported transmission weight can lead to a cracked or otherwise damaged housing. The transmission mount can break in multiple spots at once as well, which can cause damage to a number of different areas in the housing and other aspects of the system. Since the transmission system relies on the mount to keep it properly in line with the driveshaft, a broken mount cal also cause misalignment. The transmission housing needs to be positioned in a certain way to ensure that the driveshaft can enter it and access the gears properly. Misalignment can cause damage to the driveshaft and the coupling that connects it to the transmission. Placing this damaged part back on the car, could cause additional damage to the car. I would like the cost of the part and labor installation. They had to remove the part in an effort to rebuild the transmission. This is the right thing to do.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/10/27) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX Contact Email: ***** She brought the car for a transmission job and we did our part as per the signed agreement, old cars require lots of maintenance and considering her car that is known to have many bad rubber mounts for such age , such car with about 140K, the mount in the car is not broken and will not cause any safety issue, the rubber is bad only as it is very common on dodge front wheel drive setups. We got paid for a transmission job only not fixing all problems in her 17 old well consumed power train , the contact is clear and does not cover Free work in any way. The technical story she described is for rear wheel drive vehicle setup not front wheel drive and that shows how much she is lying to get away with free job. Instead of thanking us for the job and price we gave her that made it affordable to her to finally use her again instead she wants to steal and black mail us as u can see in her email to us .Finally the only way she can prove her un ethical fabricated story is to take her car to Chrysler dealer and let the dealer investigate the bad rubber in that mount and will tell for a fact it was already bad way months to may be years before she brought her car back to our Shop. Below is the communications with her through email , Please dismiss her complaint immediately as we proved our commitment to BBB. Our shop is located in Englewood and we do respect our African American customers and give them great attention that BBB can see from records that we are professional and fare beyond measures to be proud Chicago small business operation that helps the people with almost no prohibit and working with cost only. not like other who does the same work we do for triple and fourth what we charge and still does not see nor may ever understand to appreciate the hard work we do here. Best regards ***** ****** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 20, 2013/11/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Again, during the time the car was being repaired, I as a consumer should have been made aware that the mounts required repairing. It was the responsibility of the T4l to inform me during that time not after the car was repaired and ready for pick up that the part was damaged/required servicing. A genuine business/owner will have done this. This was poor decisioning and bad business ethics on their part. To state, they don't hold their bays open for customers to decide whether they want a car part replaced and/or wait for ordered parts...this is very sad. This is a normal business practice. What king of shop is he running. Regarding the warranty, yes In order for the warranty to stay active you have to meet the 2 appointments or it is null/void according to the warranty. Of course, they would say nothing is wrong with it now due to me reporting their negligence to BBB. ALso, if anything more goes wrong with the car, I have my contract for proof. In addition, if I have to move forward with any additional actions against T4L. I never look for anything free. For I have money. By the way *****, I drive a Jaguar. I wanted a level of service and didn't get that. He originally stated for me (via email) to bring the car back because it is under warranty to make an appointment with Yvette, the receptionist. I provided the proof to BBB. Then he changed his mind. Poor customer service and he don't stand by his warranties provided to costumer. This shop was very negligent and should have told me in advance about the part while they were completing the trans. The labor should have been on them because they were doing a transmission job>>>fOr they were paid for labor. If money was an issue I wouldn't have paid them at all. I should have been informed that the part was issue for it is part of the transmission. It should have been my choice to say If I wanted the part replaced or not at the cost of me buying the part only. Labor shouldn't have been anything additional because they were do a trans job anyway. Professional and real businesses do that. His continued unprofessional behavior as a business owner is sad. Not taking ownership for their actions is sad, Now he is threating ****** Drew and questioning her work ethics>>>this is extremely unacceptable. What kind person is he and business he operating???? Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2013/11/19) */ as we have explained that this customer is just a liar and deceiving trying and keep trying to blackmail us to do free work. she came last week for two months and her transmissions is in perfect order as it is our terms that she has to come twice under the warranty, when we remove the transmissions we remove many parts that needs to be replaced due to the age and life time of many parts that does not mean we have to keep put bays busy till she make up her mind to agree to install new parts instead of the old ones and have to wait days for delivery or not nor she will pay us for the labor, the mount consists of two parts, one is the main bracket attached to the body and the flexible one attached to the transmission, we had to remove only 3 bolts that is holding the trans not the actual mount as still screwed to the body since factory assembly, all what she want is to install new mount free for here , we mentioned before that she can take her car to the dealer will confirm what we stated in our last reply, she signed a contract for trans job and got it as agreed. i wont be surprised to come up with more lies so we can install passenger side new tire and brakes and front end since we had to remove them and put them back. I can not hold my bays busy for free till she come up with new parts and replace what ever she wants as it does not work out like that. I need to know for what reason still ****** **** trying to keep this case opened either she does not know what she is doing or she is trying to favor the customer for a personal reasons against us that is against the ethics of her employer BBB. I will contact BBB executive to resolve this case if ****** **** fails to comply with BBB ethics.

7/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service