Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Tramcar Transmission

Phone: (773) 792-1003 Fax: (773) 792-0280 5914 N Milwaukee Ave, Chicago, IL 60646 http://www.tramcartransmission.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Tramcar Transmission is an auto repair shop specializing in the diagnosis and repair of transmissions, both foreign and domestic. This company serves downtown Chicago and the surrounding areas, including the communities of Jefferson Park, Forest Glen, Norwood Park, O'Hare, Norridge, Harwood Heights, Edison Park, North Park, Albany Park, Lincolnwood, Portage Park, Dunning, Kelvyn Park, Belmont Cragin, Montclare, Logan Square, Park Ridge, Des Plaines, Bensenville, Schiller Park, Franklin Park, Northlake, and Stone Park. Services available from this company include manual transmission repair, automatic transmission repair, transmission diagnosis, clutch replacement or repair, transmission replacement, and transmission maintenance.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tramcar Transmission meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tramcar Transmission include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Tramcar Transmission
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 08, 1988 Business started: 12/01/1983 Business started locally: 12/01/1983 Business incorporated 01/05/1984 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Cary Hajduk, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Cary Hajduk, President
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Auto Service - Specialty Parts Auto Services Auto Repair & Service Automotive Transmission Repair (NAICS: 811113)

Alternate Business Names
Tramco Transmissions Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Tramcar Transmission has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5914 N Milwaukee Ave

    Chicago, IL 60646

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/30/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It was based on this understanding that absolutely no work was to be done on the transmission without my authorization... that I gave over-the-phone authorization to pickup my vehicle. It was not until after pickup, those representatives for Tramcar d.b.a Tramco Transmission gave me the repair facility address located in Chicago, IL... over 1-hour away from where the vehicle was picked up in DuPage County. Dis-enchanted, I asked *** to cancel and return my vehicle, he gave me the phone number to call TramCar d.b.a. Tramco directly. The conversation ended abruptly when **** ******** the manager at TramCar stated that he could not speak to me and that all questions regard the vehicle had to be directed to **** ************* Both Tramcar d.b.a Tramco refuse to speak to me for over a week... then on A few months thereafter, after a call from the Tramco we agreed that he would be in the shop the next day, and I would make arrangements for a two truck to pickup the vehicle then. Upon arrival at TramCar d.b.a. Tramco, we were told Gary, the manager had to leave; one of the four mechanics standing side-by-side gave me the key. When I ask about the transmission, all of them confirmed that the transmission was in the back seat or truck of the car. My daughter and I seen loose parts in the back seat of the car, and since either one has never seen a transmission; it was assumed the transmission was one of these items. It was only after the car was towed to another repair shop, that we discover that transmission was not in the vehicle. TramCar d.b.a. Tramco removed the transmission and I assumed they are holding it for ransom or to send to the Cash-4-Guzzlers refund program. Thereafter... TramCar d.b.a Tramco refused to respond to my phone calls or certified letters.

Desired Settlement: Cost of vehicle and expenses associated with securing another vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/12) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** - President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@sbcglobal.net I have no idea what this is concerning as I can not find a * ******* listed in our customer data base. I **** ******* was employed until September of 2009 which was almost 6 years ago. Please have consumer give more information as to what they are referring to so I could respond accordingly. Please have consumer respond with Repair order #, date, and full name so as to check our records and answer the complaint.

12/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my vehicle to Tramcar near the end of October, my car was promised back to me in 3 days. It took them 24 days to get me my vehicle back. I spent 4000.00 to repair my car and when I drove my car home the transmission failed. I took my car to another repair shop only to find out that it would cost me in excess of 1,500.00 to fix the damage done by Tramcar, they destroyed my transmission, my electrical system and my radiator. I tried to settle with the Owner (****) and he promised to refund a portion of my expense, which he never did. My car will never be the same, they have damaged my car beyond the point that I can afford to have it fixed, they lied to me about the work they did and they lied about reimbursing me for my damages.

Desired Settlement: I want the 4k that I spent refunded.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/02) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@sbcglobal.net I would like to take the opportunity to clarify some of the facts pertinent to this complaint: The vehicle was brought to Tramcar Transmission on Saturday ******** **** 2013. Tramcar is normally closed on Saturday and Sunday but do accept vehicles on Saturday mornings. The vehicle was returned to the customer *** ***** 2013 which was 14 business days from receipt of the vehicle. This time frame exceeded the time that the customer was told it would take to complete the repair. The major portion of delay resulted from attempting to use a "use/refurbished" component in order to keep the cost down. This transmission repair from Land Rover is in excess of $7000, we kept our repair under $4000. Numerous delays were encountered in an attempt to make this part work. In an effort for better customer satisfaction, Tramcar purchased an "OEM Factory Remanufactured" component at no additional charge to get the repair completed. This component cost $600 more than the customer was charged. No additional costs were charged to the customer. The vehicle was thoroughly road tested the day before the customer picked it up, with no incidents related to its performance. The customer took the vehicle for a short road test with one of our employees and was satisfied with how it ran. Apparently, on his way home the customer called me and stated that is was not shifting correctly and he did not believe that the vehicle was ever thoroughly checked the day before. The customer was rather upset and stated he was going to send a barrage of attorneys down upon me. I asked the customer to return the vehicle so we would have an opportunity to verify and repair the complaint. Even though our warranty clearly states that it is good at our shop only, the customer refused to return the vehicle to allow us to confirm and repair the condition. Thinking that texts may be more appropriate form of contact, the customer and I exchange numerous texts later that day and the following morning. Not to make this reply too lengthy I would summarize the texts as follows; I offered 3 options to the customer which included paying for a rental car while we investigated the problem and repaired it, to refunding the customer the full amount once we received the parts back we installed (and we would remove and install his old parts back at no charge) and finally in lieu of returning the vehicle to us I would refund the labor portion. The customer informed me that he had already taken the vehicle to ***** **** ***** and that they were repairing the vehicle. At this point I also offered to contact ***** **** ***** on his behalf as to return some of the customer's parts and reclaim the parts we installed as to be able to refund the customer on the parts as well. The customer refused to do this and ended our correspondence by stating he will see me in court. I have attached a copy of the letter that was sent to the customer certified mail on *********** I have offered to pay the customer's bill up to the customer's labor charge upon receipt and review of ***** **** ******** bill. The customer brought up the smell in the car, unfortunately the odor in our shop is a result of working on autos. I also offered to have the interior detailed for the customer when he returned the vehicle. Again, the customer refused to return the vehicle. The claim that we destroyed his electrical system, transmission, and radiator is news to me as I have not been contacted by ***** **** ***** nor has the customer supplied any documentation supporting this claim, nor have we ever had an opportunity to defend the claim. In closing, I would like to say that Tramcar Transmission makes every effort to satisfy their customers. I believe our BBB record with complaints is less than 5 or 6 in 31 years. However, to ask for a full refund for a repair that we were never given an opportunity to verify, never given an opportunity to repair at no additional cost to the customer, never given an opportunity to examine the customers' or another shop's claims that everything related to the repair is damaged (parts totally unassociated with the repair) even goes beyond the scope of this shop's customer service. Even though relations have regressed to this point, we are still more than willing to stand behind our work and repair any issues within the scope of our warranty at no additional charge to this customer. Sincerely **** ****** President- Tramco Transmission Inc.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Tramcar Transmission
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart