BBB Accredited Business since

Sam's Transmission Center

Phone: (630) 851-8440 Fax: (630) 820-8473 View Additional Phone Numbers 1327 E New York St, Aurora, IL 60505

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Sam's Transmission Center is an auto repair and maintenance center specializing in transmissions, both foreign and domestic. Located in Aurora, IL, this company serves the western suburbs, including North Aurora, Montgomery, Sugar Grove, Batavia, Naperville, Boulder Hill, Warrenville, Oswego, Geneva, St Charles, Kaneville, Yorkville, Woodridge, Bolingbrook, West Chicago, Winfield, Wheaton, Elburn, and Campton Hills. The company was formed in 1989 and owner Sam Carbone has over 40 years of experience in fixing automobiles.

This company offers free diagnostic tests, free road tests, and free check engine light servicing, as well as free towing in some cases. This company works on a variety of cars, including automatic transmission, standard transmission, overdrive transmission, front wheel drive, four wheel drive, and computer-controlled transmission cars. Trucks, vans, and recreational vehicles are also welcome at this shop. Financing is available on repairs, and rental vehicles are also offered to ensure that customers are able to maintain their routine while their cars are being serviced. Cars can be dropped off overnight and will be serviced in the morning, ensuring that the customer will be as inconvenienced as possible and will not have to wait until the morning to start the process of having their car repaired. Sam's Transmission Center honors extended car warranties, including those sold by new and used car facilities, manufacturers, and by-mail offers.

Visit the website for Sam's Transmission Center to learn more about the services available, obtain coupons for discounts on services, view directions to their facility, and contact the company to schedule an appointment for transmission repair.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sam's Transmission Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sam's Transmission Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Sam's Transmission Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 04, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1989 Business started locally: 01/01/1989 Business incorporated 02/22/1999 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Sam Carbone, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sam Carbone, President
Number of Employees


Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Tune-Up Automotive Transmission Repair (NAICS: 811113)

Alternate Business Names
Sam's Transmission Specialist

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Sam's Transmission Center has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1327 E New York St

    Aurora, IL 60505 (630) 851-9898 (630) 851-8440


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told that I needed a new transmission. I was told the best thing to do was pay 4,000 on a new trasmission. I was told it would be brand new and work great. Since I have had the repairs it has been back many times. First it was not shifting right. We brought it back and was told it was fixed. Then the car died on us within a week due to leak. After getting it back again it started to shift wrong and then not shift at all. We broguht it 12/17 and was told metal shards were in the transmission from the leak. After a week we were being told it was not shifting right. After New years we were told it needed a new case becuase it was dmanaged. Now 01/06/15 we are still without a car. When asked about a rental we are told we would have to pay. I dont understand how a brand new part can have so many issues.

Desired Settlement: having no car has cost me over 4,000. I feel if he can not fix my car then I should get a refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/08) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ******* owner Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ****************** to whom it may concern I *** ******* owner am deeply saddened for the inconvience to this customer the vechile a 2008 ford fusion with a mazda type transmission fnr5 was brought in on june 4 2014 with a hard rev and shifting problems after doing a free diagnostic check we found there were two problems one is very bad and noisey wheel bearings so noisey and rough it makes it very hard to feel or hear the shifting of the transmission second was that the transmission was slipping there for needing a internal inspection this was authorized and performed after informing the customer of needing acomplete rebuilding of the transmission at a cost of 2487.00 the customer opted for a custom rebuild upgrade at the cost of 2878.00 the work was okd on 6/12/2014 and repairs finished four days later ready for pickup and was not picked up until 7/16/2014 with no storage being applied left working good with 177301 miles on it 5 months later on11/26/2014 it came back with no second no fourth and ck engine lite on finding a internal problem we removed and inspected it finding a defective overdrive drum very common on this transmission so we needed to do another complete rebuild finished and leaving on 12/5/2014 with 189830 miles unfortunately 6 days later it was towed in with a cooling line leak with all the fluid leaking out the car quit moving after line repair and replentish the fluid all worked ok and checked out good 7 days later on 12/18/2014 vechile returned slipping from being run low on fluid transmission had gotten internaly damaged so again we did a complete custom rebuilding with all new parts under the three year warranty specifications three times we have rebuilt it each time when it gets very hot it looses third and fourth gears having talked with ford and mazda techs we were turned to a technical service bulleton about the transmission case (housing) that gets internal warpage causing or type of problem so in replacing the caseing we got three housings all with the same warpage finally getting a case with no problems but after installation it not shifting good were having a mobil diagnostics company come out to reprogram the computer I offered to rent the customer a car and pay for it but they needed to swipe a 200.oo deposit that would be refunded upon return but they did not have these funds available so I arrangedwith the rental company that I would personally put down 150.00 and all they would need was fifty on their credit card but when I called and explained all this I was hung up on so as of 1/8/2015 im waiting to have computer reprogramed at a cost of 150.00 to us and as for the incoinvence im going to replace the very bad and noisey wheel bearing at no charge to our customer we are a transmission repair shop we do not deal in brand new transmissions only rebuilt with all new needed parts there r no new transmissions available there are factory remanufactured ones at a cost of6321.00 plus labor plus fluid so this is why its more cost effective to do rebuilding sometimes there are little problems that accure but we strive to fix these at all costs and as fast as possiable we do not make the parts we only assemble them