Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Nick's Precision Transmission Specialists

Phone: (708) 423-8700 Fax: (708) 423-8980 View Additional Phone Numbers 4810 W 87th St, Burbank, IL 60459

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Nick's Precision Transmission Specialists meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Nick's Precision Transmission Specialists
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 07, 1999 Business started: 06/01/1991 in IL Business started locally: 06/01/1991 Business incorporated 02/27/2008 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Nick Carbonara, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Nick Carbonara, Owner
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Services Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile Auto Perform, Race & Sport Equipment Auto Service - Tires/Batteries/Accessories Starters - Engine Heaters - Automotive Shock Absorbers Springs - Automotive - Sales & Service Auto Air Conditioning Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Smog Inspection Brake Service Engines - Rebuild & Exchange Lubricating Service - Automotive Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Radiators - Automotive Automotive Transmission Repair (NAICS: 811113)

Alternate Business Names
Nick's Precision Transmission Specialists, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Nick's Precision Transmission Specialists has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4810 W 87th St

    Burbank, IL 60459 (708) 423-8700


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Nick's Precision Transmission location *************** Burbank IL XXXXX. Phone (XXX)XXX-XXXX Let me say this to whoever can help me at BBB. Back on September 13 2014, I went to pick up my Vehicle from a Auto repair shop under the name of Nick's Precision Transmission. I had them to do some work on my car key Ignition switch. I paid these people $375 on 9/13/2014 for the work that I believe was done. However, less then 25 days later, I call Nick's Precision to tell them my vehicle keep Stopping and sometime it doesn't want to start so it may be the key Ignition. They told me to bring it back to the shop ASAP. On November X XXXX, I took my vehicle back to Nick's Precision so they could correct the issues with the Ignition lock Cylinder and the Program Box. Nick's told me when I got there not to worry they're going to be redoing the faulty Ignition Lock Cylinder and Program box that they install into my vehicle back in September of 2014. They also said their mechanic didn't program my vehicle keys to the Ignition lock Cylinder properly nor the program box properly so that's why my vehicle cluster gauge lights stays on while driving and a reason why my vehicle stops and want start. They said this can cause my engine to become like its dragging or stuttering and slow when pushing the gas paddle. This is base on what they told me 5 months ago but nothing has yet to be done to my vehicle. Every time I call them to see if they have fix my vehicle they just keep telling me lies about waiting on parts or they're too busy to work my vehicle, or they'll get to it tomorrow & tomorrow but nothing hasn't been done in five months yet. My vehicle is a 2002 **** ******** ****** 4 by 4. It has been paid off some years ago and still looks like its new base on the way I keep it up. it's in very good condition believe me. These people are still holding my possession in their shop as if it is theirs its been there since November 5 of 2014. Keep in mind that I've already paid these people $375 of my hard earned moneys and I'm still with out my own vehicle. I'm long long tied of all this mass of **** these people are putting me through about my own vehicle. This would be a second time that this Auto shop Nick's Precision Transmission has mess my vehicle around and cost me moneys. The first time was when I came to pick up my vehicle from their shop on 9/13/2014. It was the same day my lock Cylinder was install, I paid $375 for that job and after that I went out the door to go but before driving off their lot, "I notice that something was wrong with my vehicle left front tire. As I look closer to see what the problem was I notice clearly that my front left tie-rod was bent and my wheel hub that connects to the tie-rod was severely damaged also. I went back into the shop to make Nick's Precision Transmission aware of this and said to them my vehicle whole fort end was just done a few months before coming to you guys, "that's what I told them and they still have not repaid me back yet for the damage to my left front. It cost me $342 to get my left fort end redone by the same shop that done the whole fort end earlier on. Even though Nick's Precision Transmission did admit to driving around my vehicle and causing the damage, "I still have not receive the $342 dollar from them. I have all my receipt to prove what I paid to get the work done. I am still calling Nick's Precision Transmission and they still has not repair my vehicle in no way at all. I even call them about just today March 24 about returning all my moneys and vehicle back to me. Now they have another new LIE... PLEASE is there anything that can be done about PLEASE. Nick's Precision Transmission.

Desired Settlement: I really want all my money and my vehicle back with out any more delays. I can take my vehicle some were else to be repair. I never though this company would be this low down This company Nick's Precision Transmission is off the chain ridiculous as in a BAD WAY. ****** *********** I can be reach a (XXX)XXX-XXXX or (XXX)XXX-XXXX

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/27) */ MR. *********** TOWED HIS VEHICLE INTO NICKS PRECISION TRANSMISSION WITH A NO START ISSUE ON 07/02/2014. WE TOLD MR. *********** THAT THE DIAGNOSIS IS FREE TO FIND THE ISSUE WITH HIS VEHICLE. OUR TECHNICIAN FOUND THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH, IGNITION LOCK CYLINDER AND IGNITION TUMBLER HAVE ALL FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. MR ***********'S REPLIES FROM THE BEGINNING, OF WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS AT NICKS PRECISION TRANSMISSION, WAS CONSTANTLY TRYING TO ACCUSE OUR TECHNICIANS AND COMPANY OF FALSE DAMAGES TO HIS VEHICLE AND WOULD CONSTATLY REQUEST COMPONENTS TO BE PAID BY NICKS PRECISION TRANSMISSION. AFTER TELLING MR. *********** HOW MUCH EVERYTHING WOULD COST TO HAVE THE VEHICLE REPAIRED THE PROPER WAY HE THEN BEGAN TO GET ANGRY AND BLAME EVERTYTHING ON THE REPAIR FACILITY INSTEAD OF UNDERSTANDING THAT THE REPAIRS NEEDED ARE DUE TO FAILING PARTS. HE CALMED DOWN AND SAID HE WOULD PROVIDE HIS OWN IGNITION TUMBLER TO SAVE SOME MONEY ON THE REPAIR BILL. WE EXPLAINED TO MR. *********** WE DO NOT RECCOMENED TO USE JUNKYARD PARTS BUT HE INSISTED TO USE THE IGNITION TUMBLER HE PROVIDED. THE REPAIRS FOR THE IGNITION SWITCH, IGNITION LOCK CYLENDER AND INSTALLING THE INGNITION TUMBLER HE PROVIDED WERE ALL COMPLETED ON 07/09/2014. VEHICLE WAS FUNCTIONING PROPERLY AND HAD NO START ISSUES OR DYING OUT ISSUES. VEHICLE WAS COMPLETED. MR. *********** THEN CALLED NICKS PRECISION TRANSMISSION ON 10/20/14 STATING THE VEHCILE WAS DYING OUT AND WOULD NOT STAY RUNNING. NICKS PRECISION TRANSMISSION TOWED THE VEHICLE THE SAME DAY AT NO CHARGE TO THE CUSTOMER TO FIGURE OUT WHAT THE PROBLEM IS WITH THE VEHICLE AND ALONG WITH ANOTHER FREE DIAGNOSIS. AFTER OUR TECHNICIAN SPENT NUMEROUS HOURS OF GOING THROUGH WIRING AND CHECKING ALL COMPONENTS FOR FAILURE,THE TECHNICIAN FOUND CORRODED WIRING AT THE PCM (POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE). MR. *********** WAS THEN CONTACTED AND WAS TOLD BY THE MANAGER THAT THE VEHICLE MAY NEED A WIRING HARNESS AND POSSIBLE PCM. CUSTOMER REQUESTED TO HAVE THE WIRING AT THE PCM REPAIRED AT A CHEAPER COST (AND PREFERRED TO RISK FAILURE AGAIN) THEN TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE PROPERLY AT TAHT TIME. VEHICLE WAS COMPLETED AND PICKED UP BY THE CUSTOMER ON 10/27/2014. MR. *********** CAME TO PICK UP HIS VEHICLE THAT SAME DAY AND IMMEDIATLEY BEFORE EVEN DRIVING THE VEHICLE HE LOOKED UNDERNEATH THE DRIVER FRONT TIRE AREA AND STARTED ACUSING DAMAGES TO HIS VEHCILE AS IF HE ALREADY HAD THIS ACCUSATION PREMEDITATED. THE MANAGER THEN TOLD MR. *********** THE VEHICLE WAS ROAD TESTED BUT NO DAMAGE WAS DONE TO THE VEHCILE. MR. *********** BEGAN TO GET IRATE AND HE WAS CONSTANTLY STATING THAT HE IS A CHICAGO POLICE OFFICER AS IF THAT WAS A THREAT. THE ACCUSATIONS AND THE STATEMENT OF "**** ADMITTED TO DAMAGING THE FRONT END" IS 100% FALSE AND NOT TRUE. NOVEMBER 2014 THE VEHICLE WAS THEN TOWED TO NICKS PRECISON TRANSMISSION DUE TO A NO START ISSUE. UPON HOURS AND HOURS OF FREE DIAGNOSIS NOT CHARGED TO MR. ***********, OUR TECHNICIAN FOUND THAT THE ORIGINAL KEY TO THE IGNITION MUST BE PROGRAMMED TO THE BCM (BODY CONTROL MODULE) OR THE IGNITION KEY MUST BE REPLACED. NICKS PRECISION TRANSMISSION CALLED MR. *********** AND EXPLAINED THE ISSUE TO HIM. HE STATED HE IS NOT PAYING FOR ANY REPAIRS AND THAT HE WANTS THE REPAIR DONE FOR FREE. WE EXPLAINED TO MR. ********** THAT THE ISSUE AT HAND IS NOT RELATED TO THE PREVIOUS REPAIRS BUT MR. *********** DEMANDED TO NOT PAY. THE MANAGER TOOK IT UPON HIMSELF TO HAVE THE ISSUE TAKEN CARE OF (REPLACE IGNITION KEY AND HAVE BCM AND IGNITION KEY PROGRAMMED) AT NO CHARGE TO THE CUSTOMER FOR CUSTOMER SATISFACTION. AFTER AN OUTSIDE SOURCE DEALER PERFORMED AND ATEMPTED TO REPROGRAM THE BCM FOUND THAT THE BC WOULD NOT TAKE THE PROGRAMMING WHICH MEANS THE BCM HAS FAILED. NICKS PRECISION TRANSMISSION CONTACTED MR. *********** TO LET HIM KNOW THE ISSUE WITH HIS VEHICLE IS THE BCM HAS FAILED AND HAS NOTHING TO DUE WITH THE PREVIOUS REPAIRS PERFORMED. CUSTOMER UNDERSTOOD AND ASKED FOR PRICES FOR THE BCM. THE MANAGER AT NICKS PRECISION TRANSMISSION CALLED FOR A PRICE ON THE BCM AT MANCARIS ******** ***** ****. THEN CONTACTED MR. *********** TO LET HIM KNOW THE COST OF THE REPAIR. MR. *********** DECLINED TO RECIEVE A BCM FROM THE DEALER DUE TO COST OF THE PART AND WANTED TO TRY AND FIND A CHEAPER ROUTE AND REQUESTED TO GET A USED BCM OR AFTER MARKET/REBUILT. THE MANAGER AT NICKS PRECISION TRANSMISSION EXPLAINED TO MR. *********** THAT THE USED OR AFTER MARKET/REBUILT BCM MAY NOT WORK. MR. *********** DEMANDED TO HAVE A USED BCM INSTALLED. NICKS PRECISION TRANMISSION ORDER A USED BCM FROM A JUNKYARD UNDER MR ***********'S DEMAND EVEN THOUGH THAT WAS NOT THE CORRECT WAY TO GO ABOUT REPAIRING HIS VEHICLE. AFTER INSTALLING THE USED JUNKYARD BCM THE BCM WOULD NOT TAKE PROGRAMMING AND WAS A DEFECTIVE PART. NICKS PRECISION TRANSMISSION PAYED FOR THE $135.00 FEE FOR PROGRAMMING AND ATE THE COST OF THE USED BCM DUE TO THE FACT THAT MR. *********** DEMANDED NOT TO PAY FOR ANYTHING EVEN THOUGH HE REQUESTED A USED JUNKYARD BCM AND KNEW THE REPERCUSSIONS IF A USED/JUNKYARD BCM WAS FAULTY AND NOT A WARRANTEED PART. WITH ALL OF THAT BEING SAID WE DID NOT CHARGE MR. *********** ANY KIND OF COST FOR CUSTOMER SATISFACTION. MR. *********** THEN REQUESTED A REBUILT/AFTER MARKET BCM TO BE INSTALLED AND PROGRAMMED. ONCE AGAIN NICKS PRECISION TRANSMISSION WARNED MR. *********** IF THE AFTER MARKET BCM DOES NOT WORK THERE WILL STILL BE A BILL THAT MUST BE PAID BY THE CUSOMER MR. ***********. MR. *********** KNEW THERE IS NO WARRNTY ON A AFTER MARKET BCM FROM THE SUPPLIER OR FROM NICKS PRECISION TRANSMISSION. ONCE AGIN NICKS PRECISION TRANSMISSION INSTALLED THE BCM (AFTER MARKET) HAD THE VEHICLE SENT TO THE DEALER FOR PROGRAMMING. THE DEALER CALLED AND SAID THE BCM IS FAULTY AND WILL NOT TAKE THE PROGRAMMING. NICKS PRECISION TRANSMISSION WENT TO THE DEALER PAID THE DEALER FOR THE LABOR TIME ($135.00) AND HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED BACK TO THE REPAIR FACILITY. NICKS PRECISION TRANSMISSION THEN CONTACTED MR. *********** TO LET HIM KNOW WHAT IS GOING ON WITH THE VEHICLE. MR. ********** ONCE AGAIN STATED HE IS NOT GOING TO PAY FOR ANY TYPE OF BILL EVEN THOUGH THAT IS WHAT HE REQUESTED TO BE INSTALLED AND KNEW IN ADVANCE BEFORE THE REPAIR WAS PERFORMED OF WHAT THE CONSEQUENCES WILL BE IF THE AFTER MARKET BCM DID NOT WORK PROPERLY. ONCE AGAIN NICKS PRECISION TRANSMISSION DID NOT CHARGE MR. *********** FOR THE REPAIR AND PROGRAMMING FOR CUSTOMER SATISFACTION ($475.00). THE MANAGER EXPLAINED TO MR. *********** THAT THERE WILL BE NO MORE ATTEMPTS OR REPAIRS FOR HIS VEHICLE PERFORMED AT NIKS PRECISION TRANSMISSION DUE TO CUSTOMER NEGLECTING TO HAVE PROPER PARTS INSTALLED. CUSTOMER WAS ADVISED TO TOW VEHICLE TO ANOTHER FACILITY AND THE REPAIR DONE ELSEWHERE BUT DECLINED AND ABANDONED VEHICLE ON NICKS PRECISION TRANSMISSIONS PROPERTY FOR FIVE MONTHS AND THERE HAVE BEEN NO STORAGE CHARGES APPLIED. ALL THAT NICKS PRECISOON TRANSMISSION REQUESTS IS THE VEHICLE TO BE REMOVED FROM THE PROPERTY AND TAKEN ELSE WHERE. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/04/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Let me say this first to BBB I don't agree totally with what has been said from Nick's Precision Transmission response to my complaint the reason is there's some inaccuracies in what they have said in response to my complaint especially with the times and dates concerning my vehicle a 2002 **** ******** ****** 4x4. I also want to say, that I have receipts to prove what has been done to my vehicle and even the times in which my vehicle was still operable based on the emissions date on which my vehicle was tested those dates just doesn't coincide with the dates and times in what Nick's Precision Transmission is saying. I have spoke with Nick's Precision Transmission I believe on Thursday Apr 2nd and we did try to come to an agreement in reference to my vehicle 2002 **** ******** he apologized to me ****** *********** about all the inconvenience in which they cost me, I also ****** *********** apologized as well in reference to my complaint to BBB. I told them I had to do what I needed to do because it was just taking entirely too long to repair my **** ******** I said to him I didn't make this complaint to BBB just to be malicious it was only because I felt that you guys were just simply messing me around after telling me that it would be about 2 weeks that's why I made the complaint to BBB. He apologized again and said that he will do his best from our conversation on to have my vehicle running hopefully on Mon Apr 6th he also said that he would definitely call me on Mon Apr 6th when he gets my vehicle up and running or not that's what he told me but I have not yet heard from Nick's Precision Transmission on Mon Apr 6th I called them on that day in the late evening at about 5:15 pm I didn't speak directly to **** but I did speak to one of his assistants by the name of *** he told me to try to call back in about 15-20 minutes because Nick's was at that moment assisting another customer I told *** to just tell Nick's to reach back at me sometime on Tues the next following day. Also Nick's said to me on Thur Apr 2nd that if he could not get my **** repaired back to running condition that he will tow my vehicle where ever I would need him to tow it for free at no cost or expense so that someone else would be able to assist me in repairing my vehicle I agreed to his terms and conditions at that moment based on the assumptions that seemed to be truthful. However, as you can see, I ****** *********** again have tried to maintain giving Nick's Precision Transmission another opportunity to set things straight with me concerning my vehicle a 2002 **** ******** but still, nothing has yet to happen nor have they yet have called me on the phone to let me know the status in which again they agree to repair my vehicle. And again I say as I have said in my first complaint I have already paid them $375.00 to repair something in relations to the ignition lock cylinder and the BCM program box as well as the extra expense they have cost me which was an additional $341.00 in reference to my front left tire rod and wheel hub in which I pocket. I'll give them one more day which would be Tues Apr 7th to reach back to me in reference about my vehicle being repaired so please BBB on Wed take everything in which I have now written to you in to full effect because I did try to come to an end with this complaint based on the conversation and the belief that Nick's Precision Transmission would resolve this Mon Apr 6th but nothing has yet to happen. So ask you now BBB to take full action based on my complaint please my number is XXX-XXX-XXXX or XXX-XXX-XXXX these numbers I can be reached directly because I did try to give Nick's Precision Transmission another opportunity to complete the repairs on my vehicle. Thank you ****** *********** Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 24, 2015/06/08) */ I ****** *********** ask the Better Business Bureau to reconsider my case for a reopening against Nick's Precision Transmission. I'm asking this because I had no awareness that this case was close and I've never gotten an e-mail nor a Phone call stating a reasons nor the facts of why this case is being close. Here is My case ID XXXXXXXX, I think the case is being handled by ****** ****. Nick's Precision Transmission still hasn't fix my vehicle to this day a 2002 **** ******** ******* My vehicle is still sitting at their shop and it's been there since November 2014. That was the last time I drove my vehicle into their shop to be fix for a second time by them due to their own fault. Also remember, "I've already paid them $375 for that work but it still has not properly been done yet. Also at that time I spent an additional $341 due to further damage being done to my vehicle by Nick's Precision Transmission just base on them admitting to driver my vehicle around and leaving it at another shop of theirs. I just don't understand what is happening here and why this case came to a close without poof of anything from me. Did the Better Business Bureau ever read my last complaint because Nick's Precision Transmission is saying in one of their counter responses that I told them to use junk yard parts on my vehicle. They're also saying they've towed my vehicle on several occasions in 2014. None of these things in what Nick's Precision Transmission is saying are true. Let me just say this again to the Better Business Bureau some things from my last response complaint in late April early May 2015. Nick's Precision Transmission still have not fix my vehicle yet a 2002 **** ******** ******* It now has been almost 6 or 7 months now since I drove my vehicle into their shop after I finally got it back up started in November of 2014. What a shame on this auto shop for being nothing but dishonest. In their counter complaints they have said that they have towed my vehicle back in October of 2014 when they have never towed my vehicle in October of 2014 at all nor any other months other than the month of early or mid July of 2014. I don't have any other receipt for towing except for July of 2014, along with the repair payment fee that is included with the towing fee receipt. Nick's has never given me no other receipt for any other towing but in their complaint they're saying they towed my vehicle at other times in 2014, that is totally a lie and BBB really needs to challenge Nick's Precision Transmission to come up with the receipts dates and places where they towed my vehicle from in 2014 a 2002 **** ******** ******. They also have lied on me telling them to use junk yard parts to repair my vehicle when I ****** *********** has never told them in any kind of way that they better fix my vehicle with junk yard parts are they better save me money on those junk yard parts, are they kidding me cause they are surely trying to kid the Better Business Bureau in their complaints and statements with such lies. No one goes into a auto repair shop and demand a mechanic to repair their vehicle with junk yard parts, "what kind of craziness would that be to an auto mechanic. They are the ones who recommends what parts or whatever you may need to get your vehicle properly running no matter what the price may be. It is still up to the customer if he or she wants to pay a high price or low price and I'm sure if the customer decides not to go with a much higher cost they will just simply go some were else,...right! This junk yard part stuff that Nick's Precision Transmission is saying is a lie and the truth just ain't in them. I say again they are lying on me as a customer to their shop. I say again I never told them no such thing cause they are the mechanics who has done all of the diagnostics to see what my vehicle needs and after that they told me what it needed and what the price would be to get my vehicle up and running again and I agreed. So Better Business Bureau please think about what these people have said in their complaints about me telling them to use junk yard parts in a angry, furious, and threatening way, "I've never said such a thing. What person man or woman goes into a auto shop who has no Knowledge like a mechanic such as myself and tell the mechanic what they better do or going to do to get my vehicle up and running and they better save me money on some junk yard parts that is ludicrous to say that to a mechanic and he better call the Police to get that nut out of their shop. In fact, I'm sure the auto mechanic shop managers or personnel would say they can't do or won't do such a thing. I'm sure they would say we're not or can't repair your vehicle in that way because a reputable mechanic is real and he is just going to repair a vehicle the right way so you can go some were else cause we don't work that way. Nick's Precision Transmission never told me anything to the extent, they are just trying to make me ****** *********** seem like I'm a nut cake or some quack who has come to their shop and start accusing, lying, conniving, and being abusive to their workers so they want fix my vehicle in a proper way based on their own faults to my vehicle. I also want to say, to the Better Business Bureau isn't it a fact that a reputable mechanic shop such as Nick's Precision Transmission supposed to return my money back to me do to my vehicle not properly fixed or else wise fix it the proper way. Right now toward the end of their last two complaints, they are saying that they are going to start charging me storage fees how is that possible that they would want to do that when at the beginning of my complaints to the Better Business Bureau they held on to my vehicle for almost five months do to them telling me that they are waiting on parts and other customers' vehicles and that they will fix my vehicle when they get to it on a tomorrow and a tomorrow. This is ludicrous and it's just totally unfair for them to even mention anything about storage fees. I believe they want me to come and tow away my vehicle with further damages that has probably been done to it by them why should I move this vehicle not knowing a possibility of further damage to it based on it being in their hands this long as I said, before, in my complaints I drove my vehicle to their shop and parked it in the front of their shop. This vehicle again as I said before has never been towed to their shop ever again other than early or mid July of 2014. I just ask you the Better Business Bureau to compare all of our complaints to see what the real truth is coming from as well as who is really lying I just ask for my money back since this vehicle has broke down again based on Nick's Precision Transmission the last people and the first people to repair it but now in less that 30 days my vehicle goes back down and has ever since been sitting back at their shop back in November 2014 waiting to be repaired by them. I say this to the Better Business Bureau that I don't know what else to tell you other than through what my complaints in all truth has been told to you. I also will say this as well, as I have said in my complaints, that I talked back with Nick's Precision Transmission on Thurs of Apr 2nd 2015 which was a recorded message in that message he did honestly discussed with me that he would get my vehicle back up and running if he didn't he would return my money and he would tow my vehicle at no cost or expense to me wherever I needed him to tow it to. Also, somewhere in his counter complaints to what I have complained about he is now trying to say that my vehicle is having or has had a no start issue away from what my vehicle first came in there for that is not true at all because this vehicle I was able to get it back up and running so that I could return it back to his shop to redo the repairs in which was their faults. Nick's Precision Transmission themselves told me after I returned my vehicle back to them that it was a faulty problem with the ignition cylinder and BCM box. I have now told the truth again to the Better Business Bureau in relations to Nick's Precision Transmission not repairing my vehicle and holding on to it all this time with no repairs done as they supposed to have done. I also again say that I have already have paid $375.00 plus an additional $341.00 in relations to some further damage they did to my vehicle when I first picked it up back in 2014 of September. I ask you the Better Business Bureau to please resolve this issue for me because it has long gone overdo with Nick's Precision Transmission I really did try to work it out with them but they lied about repairing my vehicle again to me when I talked to them back on April 2nd 2015 in a recorded message. So there is no way that they have gone beyond and beyond to help me get my vehicle back up and running as they have said in one of their counter complaints they just took my money, wow what can be done Final Business Response /* (4000, 26, 2015/06/10) */ THE CUSTOMER ****** *********** AND NICKS PRECICION TRANSMISSION HAVE RESOLVED THIS ISSUE IN PERSON ON 06-09-2015. TERE WILL BE NO MORE COMPLAINTS ON THIS PARTICULAR VEHICLE/CASE. THANK YOU BBB AND THANK YOU MR. ***********.

5/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Nick Specialists while price shopping 1/26/2015. *** quoted around 1,500 after taxes to rebuild and replace new parts for a 2005 ******* *** ** 5.3L transmission. I explained to *** I'm looking for the best price due to low finances. *** explained the price would be around 1,500. *** said he will tow my vehicle for free if I chose to get the transmission repaired. I was thrilled and explained to *** I work M-Sat 8am-8pm and I could make the payment over the phone now and have someone leave the keys in the gas cover of the vehicle. *** said, you can pay for the service after it has been completed because after we look into the transmission the price may vary slightly but still be around 1,500. If you choose not to have service repaired you will just pay for the towing of the vehicle. I will call you in the morning informing you that we are working on you vehicle. On 1/27/2015 *** called and stated ***** we have your vehicle and we will take a look at it today. On 1/28/2015 **** leaves me a voicemail saying please give him a call back. I called back and **** tells me the total cost will be 3,100 for the transmission, brakes, rotors, and a valcover gasket. I explained to **** that I only spoke to *** about a transmission repair. **** began to say well you still need the rest of these parts fixed as well. I asked **** if I could call him back in a couple of hours due to being at work. When I called **** back I told him honestly I do not have that much money and no one will lend me the funds so I'll just have to come and pick up my vehicle. **** voice suddenly changed from being polite to agressive saying well you can just pay for the transmission for 2,300 or your going to have to pay for the tow plus labor. I explained to **** that *** already quoted me a price range and if I didn't choose to get the service done it will be just the cost of the tow. **** said no your paying for the tow and labor since your not having the service performed. I repeated the *** said only the tow would be charge and if he could bring *** on the line as well so he could explain. **** said no you can speak to *** yourself and handed *** the phone. *** said well ***** since your not getting the service done you have to pay for labor and towing. *** said he assumed that I already knew that I would pay for labor and towing, but at the same time *** agreed that he only told me I have to pay for the towing. I explained to *** that I have limited funds so I wouldn't of allowed him to take my vehicle if he would of said I have to pay for labor as well if I choose not to get the repairs. I feel scammed and tricked into just getting my vehicle to your shop and why would you tell me I would have to pay for labor like you said for the towing. *** ignored my question three time but then said lets start over because we always want the customer to be happy because one happy customer makes 10 more. *** began to say ***** well I call you tomorrow and do my best on a price and see what we can do because we want you happy. I asked *** what can you do I just want my vehicle back and will pay for the towing. *** said we have been in business for over 30 years and began to give me his background. It was like he was deaf earing that I just want my car back. Then he ended his company history conversation with ***** I do my best for you and will call you tomorrow. I was horrified to get help from a local auto shop but I had seen ****'s Precision Transmission Specialists as an accredited business and trusted *** over the phone in while I feel I was mislead. I explained to *** and **** I just want my vehicle back and have no problem paying for the towing service.I wasn't told in the beginning by *** about paying labor as well if I choose not to get the service performed.

Desired Settlement: I want my vehicle released while I pay for the towing service only which is what *** informed me I would have to pay if I didn't get the service repaired.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/22) */ Contact Name and Title: **** GENERAL MANAGER Contact Phone: X-XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **************@*****.com INDEED MR. ******* CALLED OUR SOP ON 1/26/15 INQUIRING ABOUT A TRANSMISSION REPAIR. MR. ******* WAS ADVISED BY THE MANAGER *** TO BRING HIS VEHICLE IN FOR A FREE DIAGNOSIS TO CONFIRM ANY CONCERNS REGARDING HIS TRANSMISSION. MR. ******* WAS TOLD THAT THE TOWING WOULD BE FREE OF CHARGE IF HE CHOSE TO REPAIR HIS TRANSMISSION AT OUR FACILITY. MR. ******* AGREED TO HAVE HIS VEHICLE TOWED TO OUR FACILITY FOR A DIAGNOSIS. THE DIAGNOSIS DID CONFIRM THAT MR. ******* DID INDEED HAE AN INTERNAL TRANSMISSION FAILURE, AND WOULD REQUIRE A TRANSMISSION REBUILD. FOLLOWING THE DIAGNOSIS MR. ******* WAS CONTACTED, PRIOR TO ANY REPAIR BEING PERFORMED, AND WAS EXPLAINED TO THE RESULTS OF THE DIAGNOSIS. MR. ****** WAS THEN GIVEN A "ROUGH" ESTIMATE TO REBUILD HIS TRANSMISSION. MR. ******* UNDERSTOOD THAT IT WAS A "ROUGH" ESTIMATE AS HE STATED HIMSELF IN HIS COMPLAINT WHEN HE OFFERED TO PAY UP FRONT $1,500.00 AND WAS ADVISED TO WAIT UNTIL THE TRANSMISSION WAS ACTUALLY REMOVED FROM THE VEHICE AND TAKEN COMPLETELY APART SO AN EXACT PRICE CAN BE GIVEN TO HIM. HE WAS QUOTED ON THE LOW END OF $1,500.00 AND AT THAT POINT MR. ******* AUTHORIZED THE REPAIR OF HIS TRANSMISSION. ONCE THE TRANSMISSION WAS REMOVED FOLLOWING THE AUTHORIZATION OF REPAIR, A THOUROGH INSPECTION OF MR. ******* VEHICLE WAS PERFORMED AS A COURTESY TO BRING TO MR. ******** ATTENTION OF ANY FURTHER REPAIRS THAT MAY BE NEEDED ON HIS VEHICLE. THE TECHNICIAN FOUND THAT THE BRAKE PADS AND ROTORS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AND THE VALVE COVER GASKETS ON THE TOP OF THE MOTOR WERE LEAKING MOTOR OIL. WHEN MR. ******* WAS CONTACTED WITH THE FINAL DAMAGE REPORT ON THE TRANSMISSION HE WAS ADVISED AND GIVEN THE OPTION TO HAVE THE BRAKES AND VALVE COVER GASKETS REPLACED. THE TOTAL PRICE THE TRANSMISSION ALONE CAME OUT TO $2,018.32 AND THE REMAINING BALANCE WAS FOR THE BRAKE PADS AND ROTORS ALONG WITH THE VALV COVER GASKETS WHICH WAS COMPLETELY AN OPTION AT THA POINT. MR. ******* COMPLAINED THAT HE DID NOT HAVE THE CORRECT FUNDS NECESSARY TO PAY FOR THE TRANSMISSION ALONE AND REQUESTED TO HAVE HIS VEHICLE TOWED OUT OF OUR SHOP. MR. *******S VEHICLE IS A FRONT WHEEL DRIVE VEHICLE, MEANING THAT WHEN THE TRANSMISSION IS REMOVED, THE FRONT WHEELS, AXLES AND FRAME HAS TO BE REMOVED AS WELL. MAKING THE VEHICLE IMPOSSIBLE TO TOW UNLESS THE TRANSMISSION WAS RE-INSTALLED. MR. ******* DID AUTHORIZE THE REPAIR OF THE TRANSMISSION AND WAS WELL AWARE OF THE PROCEDURE AND ROUGH COST OF REPAIR PRIOR TO ANY WORK BEING PERFORMED. WE EXPLAINED TO MR. ******* IF WE DID NOT ACTUALLY REBUILD HIS TRANSMISSION AT THAT POINT WE WILL BE HAPPY TO OUT THE TRANSMISSION BACK TOGETHER WITHHIS ORIGINAL FAILING PARTS AND RE-INSTALL THE TRANSMISSION IN HIS VEHICLE HE WILL HAVE TO PAY FOR THE LABOR. MR. ******* TRIED TO STATE TO US FIRST THAT HE NEVER AUTHORIZED THE REPAIR IN THE BEGINNING. BEING THAT THE ORIGINAL COVERSATION TOOK PLACE WITH *** THE MANAGER. *** CALLED MR. ******* AND WENT OVER ONCE AGAIN EVERYTHING THAT WAS SAID BETWEEN THE TWO OF THEM. AGAIN MR. ******* STATED HIMSELF IN HIS OWN COMPLAINT THAT HE DID INDEED AUTHORIZE THE REPAIR AND OFFERED TO PAY $1,500.00 UP FRONT. MR. ******* FINALLY TOLD *** THAT HE SIMPLY COULD NOT AFFORD TO PAY FOR THE TRANSMISSION REPAIR. *** THEN TOLD MR. ******* THAT HE WOULD SPEAK TO THE OWNER AND TRY TO GET HIM A BETTER PRICE OR WORK OUT A PAYMENT PLAN. *** CALLED MR. ******* BACK AFTER SPEAKING TO THE OWNER AND TOLD MR. ******* THAT WE WOULD ALLOW HIM TO MAKE A PAYMENT OF $1,600.00 TOWARDS THE REPAIR IN WHICH HE CAN PICK HIS VEHICLE UP AND THE REMAINING BALANCE OF $418.00 CAN BE PAYED WITHIN THE NEXT 90 DAYS. ME. ******* WAQS PLEASED AND AGREED TO THE OFFER. WHEN MR. ******* CAME TO PICK UP HIS VEHICLE ON 1/31/15 HE WASVERY PLEASED AND THANKED US FOR ASSISTING HIM DUE TO HIS FINANCIAL HARDSHIP. WITH THAT BEING SAID MR. ******* HAS YET TO COME IN AND MAKE A PAYMENT TOWARDS HIS OUTSTANDING BALANCE AND WE ARE SHOCKED TO SEE A COMPLAINT BY MR. ******* CONSIDERING EVERYTHING WE DI ON OUR PART IN ASSISTING HIM AS A VALUED CUSTOMER. ONE OF THE TERMS OF OUR AGREEMENT WAS THAT IF THE REMAINING BALANCE WAS NOT PAID, WITHIN THE 90 DAY GRACE PERIOD, THE WARRANTY ON THE REPAIR WILL BE NULL AND VOID. WE FIND IT ODD THAT WE SUDDENLY RECIEVE A COMPLAINT JUST 9 DAYS TO THE DEADLINE OF MAKING HIS PAYMENT IN FULL. WARRANTY WILL BE VOID AS OF 05/01/15 IF BALANCE IS NOT PAID IN FULL. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/04/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When I called the shop I spoke with *** and explained that I can only pay 1,500 and *** quoted me 1,500 after taxes. *** said the tow would be free if I had the service done. After I agreed to the terms of 1,500 after taxes I gave *** my information to tow the vehicle. *** never explained that I would have to pay for labor if chose not to have the service completed only towing. **** calls me back saying it will be 3,100 not 2,018.32. When I requested to speak to ***, *** told me basically that's the price and it's my fault that I assumed that I wouldn't have to pay for labor i chose to not get the service done. After multiple conversations with *** and **** debating on why *** didn't tell me before towing my car that I would have to pay for labor if service wasn't done then the price went to 2,300. I was force and bullied into accepting ****'s agreement at 2,018.32 because they wouldnt allow me to pick up my vehicle without paying them labor and towing. I spoke with *** one finale time and ask again why he didn't explain paying for the labor as he did about the towing and he said he assumed I knew, which I can't even tell you where a transmission is located under the hood. From the beginning of contacting *** I told him I only have 1,500 that's why I agreed to allow the service done. I never said no to the service until **** calls me back about paying 3,100. I believe **** and *** are great people but *** cannot assume I know anything about a transmission and leave out labor cost but not towing cost. *** should have been upfront. I was never pleased with the offer to pick up my vehicle paying 1,600 then 418 later. I had no choice other wise I would have paid them almost half of that for labor and towing just to have a vehicle that doesn't move, which makes no sense. As for this complaint was filed the day **** told me 3,100 not a few days ago. I have my vehicle now with no warranty and a balance of $418. I don't feel I need to pay a balance for being deceived into allowing my vehicle to be towed under the assumption the cost would be around 1,500 after taxes when explained to *** I can not pay more then 1,500. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/05/02) */ MR. ******* STATED IN HIS FIRST COMPLAINT THAT HE WAS QUOTED "AROUND" $1,500.00 TO REPAIR HIS VEHICLE AND HE CLEARLY ADMITTED THAT HE WAS TOLD BY *** THE MANAGER THAT THE PRICE CAN VARY ONCE THE TRANSMISSION IS OPENED UP. AFTER BEING GIVEN THAT INFORMATION MR. ******* ALSO ADMITTED TO AUTHORIZING THE REPAIR TO HIS VEHICLE. NOW MR. ******* IS ATTEMPTING TO SAY THAT HE WAS QUOTED $1,500.00 WHICH IS COMPLETELY UNTRUE. WE AT NICKS PRECISION TRANSMISSION TAKE PRIDE IN OUR CUSTOMERS AND THE QUALITY OF THE REPAIRS THAT WE PROVIDE. NICKS PRECISION TRANSMISSION IS NOT IN BUSINESS TO MISLEAD OR TAKE ADVANTAGE OF OUR CUSTOMERS. WE TOOK THE TIME TO EXPLAIN IN DEPTH TO MR. ******* THE REPAIR NECESSARY TO FIX HIS VEHICLE AND THE PROCEDURE NECESSARY TO CARRY OUT THE REPAIR. WHEN MR. ******* EXPLAINED TO US THAT HE WAS HAVING FINANCIAL DIFFICULTY, NICKS PRECISION TRANSMISSION WENT ABOVE AND BEYOND TO ASSIST HIM IN A REASONABLE PAYMENT PLAN THAT WOULD ALLOW HIM TO PICK UP HIS VEHICLE AND OWE A BALANCE IN A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME. A DETAILED INVOICE AND DETAILED TERMS OF THE PAYMENT AGREEMANT WAS PROVIDED TO MR. ******* IN WHICH HE AGREED TO ALL OF THE TERMS AND SIGNED THE INVOICE AND AGREEMANT. MR. ******* HAD UNTIL 5/1/15 TO PAY OFF THE REMAINING BALANCE OF $418.62 OR THE WARRANTY ON THE REPAIR WOULD BE NULL AND VOID. MR. ******* HAS NOT MADE A SINGLE PAYMENT TOWARDS HIS REMAINING BALANCE IN 3 MONTHS AND HAS OFFICIALLY PASSED *** DEADLINE THAT WAS AGREED UPON THEREFOR THE WARRANTY ON HIS TRANSMISSION REPAIR IS OFFICIALLY VOID. NICKS PRECISION TRANSMISSION TREATED MR. ******* FAIRLY AND HONESTLY AND WE PROVIDED MR. ******* WITH A QUALITY REPAIR. ALTHOUGH NICKS PRECISION TRANSMISSION DOES NOT OFFER IN HOUSE FINNCING WE DID SO FOR MR. ******* AS A VALUED CUSTOMER TO ASSIST HIM IN HIS FINANCIAL DIFFICULTY. MR. ******* DID NOT HOLD UP HIS END OF THE AGREEMENT. NICKS PRECISION TRANSMISSION CAN PROVIDE TO BBB THE SIGNED INVOICE AND TERMS OF AGREEMANT THAT WAS PROVIDED TO MR. *******. THANK YOU. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2015/05/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The cost was my main concern when I called. I spoke with *** saying I only have 1,500 so why would I allow him to tow my vehicle if there was a chance of me paying more. I authorized my vehicle to be service under the terms *** explained. *** never told me the price will vary and may increase before performing service on my vehicle because I would of told him no. It makes no sense for me to allow someone to perform service for a price I cannot afford. I would of went to another shop. I signed **** agreement because he told me I wouldn't be able to receive my vehicle back without paying tow and labor. I never had an option. **** transmission wasn't doing me a favor in house financing me *** mislead me to allowing them to tow my vehicle then made **** talk to me after I kept asking *** why he didn't tell me the price would go up or that I would have to pay labor if service isn't performed.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Nick's Precision Transmission Specialists
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart