Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

New Star Transmission Service, Inc.

Phone: (773) 736-0880 Fax: (773) 777-3082 3415-21 N. Milwaukee Ave, Chicago, IL 60641 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for New Star Transmission Service, Inc. include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on New Star Transmission Service, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 2007 Business started: 05/01/2000 Business started locally: 05/01/2000 Business incorporated 04/03/2000 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. David Garcia, Owner Aristeo Garcia, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Garcia, Owner
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Service - Tires/Batteries/Accessories Brakes - Manufacturers & Distributors Heaters - Automotive Springs - Automotive - Sales & Service Auto Air Conditioning Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Radiators - Automotive Automotive Transmission Repair (NAICS: 811113)

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

New Star Transmission Service, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    3415-21 N. Milwaukee Ave

    Chicago, IL 60641 (773) 736-0880


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I conducted my business with ***** at New Star Trans. We initially verbally agreed to $1100 to fix my transmission. He changed the price to $1900 when he started working on the car. I asked him why he changed the price and he told me the sensors were $450 and the torque converter were not included. I told him that the sensors are part of the transmission and so is the torque converter. He then told me that he was going to use used sensors sense I didn't want to buy new ones. He has changed his statement saying he never said that. I asked him why would he use used sensors when I'm paying him to fix the transmission and I know it's a part of the transmission. When he finally finished my car, I asked him if I could test drive it before I paid FOR it and he refused. When I got home, the car wouldn't reverse properly and I immediately informed him of that. He instructed me to bring the car back when I can. My car didn't pass the emissions test because of 3 transmission error codes and now is not working. I informed of that a couple of weeks ago and we argued about everything that has transpired of the car not working right, and all that was and was not done. I had the car towed back to him today and because of his changed statements I do not believe he will fix my car right and also do it in a timely manner for me, because he stated over the phone for me to bring it back and he's going to have it for a while. Please assist me in this matter Thank you. Sincerely Mr. ********.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Repair For my car to be properly fixed in a timely manner. Also inform him that I have a 1 year warranty that requires him to correct anything that goes wrong (free parts and labor) which is an obligation to fix without charging me extra. Thank you.

8/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: 4/21/15- Took car in with transmission & enginee problems. Verbal quote was $1,800 for transmission $2,500 for enginee. Decided to only do Trans. once approved for fin from shop. Meantime ***** manager had me pre-sign blank authorization to open trans for diagnostics or find problem (never gave me a copy and refused to do so to this day). No labor cost for hours worked that I refuse work to be done due to 4/22/2015 call with exesive almost double the cost to fix trans. he wants to keep entire $700.00 deposit required. I wanted him to keep $200.00 for 2 hours or so of work. He kept entire amount with no disclosures of hours worked or transperancy on work done PLUS no work order copy provided since I refused work to be done. So I do not know what exacly he charged me $700.00 for at this time. Many complains like this one regarding non-transparency of cost and bad customer service on internet leads me to believe this is a practice to entice people with low verbal estimates at first and once commited with money and car in the shop Inflating prices almost double and if refusal then loss of initial deposit with no disclosures of any kind to explain charges. Rude also and not willing to let me speak with shop owner (***** said he is not the owner just manager-not sure that is the case). This shop's practices are dubious at best and makes you feel very vulnerable with their lack of disclosure and display of your cars problems really. I believe there is a system in place to defraud desperate clients out of lots of money here. PLEASE STOP THEM!!


Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2015/07/31) */ To whom it may concern; The customer was fully aware of the removal and disassembly fee in case he did not want any of the repairs that were advised. It takes about 14 hrs to remove and disassemble the transmission. We ask this fee for everyone that gets any work performed in case they don't want any repairs. The estimate that he was quoted is an average price. The final price is given to him after the disassemble. If you have any questions feel free to give us a call at XXX-XXXXXXX

12/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: frist the bait and switch, they asure you that its going to cost you $1000 to repair transmission no additonal cost. When they have the transmission apart, they got you and now its almost twice as must$1800 i settle and paid additional 700 which came out to be $1700.Also they had my car for three months from 10-30-2013 to 1-17-2014. i belive they were driving my car around for most of time they had it . also they lost one of my hubcaps. also own my 150 dollars for making me buy the cars computer.nothing wrong with my old.they told me that compter was causing the problem we switch computer and nothing change, they still had to rebuit the transmission

Desired Settlement: $850 ,the additional cost for repair and $150 for computer

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/11/25) */ To whom it may concern, We have looked for Mr. ****** invoice during the time frame he provided, and have not found an invoice. If Mr. ****** would be able to provide the invoice we can find a proper resolution. Without an invoice there is nothing else we can do. If he has any questions please feel free to call us at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

10/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On ******** I paid for a complete engine rebuild. The same day I took the car out of the shop, ******** I had to return it because the radiator hose came off causing the coolant to come out of the car. Since then I have returned the car at lease four times due to the engine leaking oil and antifreeze. As of today it is still leaking oil. On ******* I paid for a full tune up which was not included in my engine rebuild. I did not receive the PCV valve or the oil change that I paid for. On 12/11/13 I paid for a distributor which was not included in the tune up. I had to return the car back a couple times due to the car not accelerating right, which to this date it is still not accelerating correctly. I am also hearing noises upon acceleration. I'm worried about the quality of the parts that New Star used in my car. They broke the hood release lever and have taken weeks to months to complete repairs on my vehicle. At one time they would not release my car until another client that I referred to them would pick up their car. All I am asking for is for them to repair the engine correctly meaning no leaking fluids and for the engine to run correctly without making noises.

Desired Settlement: All I am asking for is for New Star to repair the engine correctly meaning no leaking fluids and for the engine to run correctly without making noises within a reasonable amount of time. If this is not possible I want a refund, or I can take my car to another shop and have New Star pay to complete the repairs.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (450, 7, 2014/03/13) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: I contacted ***** at New Star and he stated that he will take another look at my car.

2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my **** **** ******** to new star transmission for engine rebuild for a $1,400 estimate after towing my vehicle to their shop approximately two days later i received a call from new star stating the repair would be $3,200 but my engine would be like brand new so i agreed to the price . then i received a call from new star that my car was ready i went to pick up my car they would not let me test drive my vehicle till i made payment after i made payment i took the car for a ride i noticed the engine light was on and the car was idled extremely high but it was a saturday and new star closed so the following i returned my car to new star and got a call back saying it was an egr valve and would cost an additional $200 dollars i complained that they said it would run like new i was then told that would fix i refused went to pick my vehicle took my vehicle to three other mechanics and was told it is not an egr valve but internal problems made during rebuild engine was not properly rebuilt and other mechanics want $300 or more just to find specific problem not fix just ton find one mechanic refused to do any repair to the vehicle due to the multiple internal problems . i have had to replace the rear cv joints due to the high rpms on the engine at a cost of $800 now the muffler is broken from the engine due to the high rpms high idle causing the engine to jump up inside the engine compartment causing the muffler to seperate from the engine

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my engine rebuilt the proper way like brand new as promised or and have my muffler repaired to have my $3,200 returned plus the payment of repairs of cv joints and muffler repair costs

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/11/19) */ Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2013/11/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) To whom it may concern. When I took my car to New Star they looked at the engine and told me I had nothing to worry about. They promised me my car would be running like new!!!The 1st quote before looking at the engine was 1400.00 then after they had my car in the shop the price went up to 3200.00. After seeing the condition of the engine, they quoted me the 3200.00 and told me I would have nothing to worry about. When I picked up my car on a Sat. because they closed early. I started the car and I noticed my engine light was on, by then everyone in the shop had already left. When I called to tell them my engine light was on they advised me to bring it in. The person behind the desk called me back and told me it was the egr value that it would cost an additional 200.00 to put a new one in. I explained to them I just spent $3200.00 to have my car running like new as they promised. I was never told it will run like new if this is fixed or if that is fixed!!!Then I was told to take it to other mechanics for a 2nd opinion. Three separate mechanics told me it was not the egr valve the problem is internal in the engine. Thats whats causing the sensor to stay on. NO!!!! ONE!!!! at New Star ever told me not to drive the car!!!! Due to the engine being idled so high, it caused the rear bearring to go out and they had to be replaced, the cv joint had to be replaced and now the car is overheating!!! So I paid 800.00 more to get these other things done. I am not a happy customer all I want is what they promised me and what I paid for and thats a new engine or rather like they promised and have my engine run like new. If New star wants to replace my engine with a used one so that it runs like new I will settle for that or I would like a refund of at least half my money so I can take it to someone eles who knows what they are doing. As far as the car being cleaned im sorry but I didnt pay 3200.00 dollars for a car wash. Thank you so much for your time and consideratation. ******* ************ Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/11/27) */

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on New Star Transmission Service, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart