Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

AAMCO Transmissions-Oak Park

Fax: (708) 383-8370 View Additional Phone Numbers 311 Madison St, Oak Park, IL 60302

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AAMCO Transmissions-Oak Park meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on AAMCO Transmissions-Oak Park
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1971 Business started: 01/01/1971 Business started locally: 01/01/1971
Business Management
Mr. Les Ehrhardt, Branch Manager Mr. David Adelson, CHAAMCO-Executive Director Mr. Bruce Barry, Branch Mgr.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Les Ehrhardt, Branch Manager
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Auto Repair & Service Automotive Transmission Repair (NAICS: 811113)

Additional Information

This Aamco location has been sold to new owner Bruce Barry in October 2006.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

AAMCO Transmissions-Oak Park has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 311 Madison St

    Oak Park, IL 60302 (708) 383-3680 (800) 462-2626


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I take my SUV (2006 Lincoln Navigator) to get a free engine light check from **** **** to find out that ignition coil in cylinder number 3 was causing a misfire. I then take my SUV to the Lincoln dealership located in ********* IL to fix the problem. I found out and was shown physically from the service department the real cause for the bad ignition coil was the fact that I had a spark plug that was loose and broken in cylinder number 3. They checked and that the spark plugs in cylinders 6 & 8 were also loose. The service department repair men at the Lincoln dealership tightened the loose spark plugs and replaced the old spark plug in cylinder number 3. The repair men at Lincoln also informed me that the spark plugs were not replaced with new ones as stated by Aamco in 02/14. I was even given the the broken spark plug as proof from the repair man at Lincoln to show they were not the cause of of it. After the repair I went to the Aamco to ask the service writer about the matter and he proceeded to become irate and confrontational asking me "Why would I go to the Lincoln dealership for my repairs"? Then insinuated I was saying "He ripped me off"? I told him, "Um hold on, take a step back and I came to ask were my sparks replaced as you claim you all did"? "Plus you implied that since I did not accuse you of ripping me off!"

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the tune-up since I believe they did replace the fuel filter but not the spark plugs and left a broken spark plug in the cylinder since it was told that spark plug replacements are difficult on 2006 Lincoln Navigators, where most mechanics brake the old platinum spark plugs easily if the mechanics are not well experienced.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/07/17) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX, 224 Contact Email: ******* The Oak Park AAMCO closed February of 2014. I contacted Mr. ******* on July 15, after receiving the BBB complaint. I requested he fax AAMCO paperwork and any supporting documentation from the dealership for our review. Once received we will respond to his request. **** ****** Consumer Support Administrator AAMCO Transmissions, Inc.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on AAMCO Transmissions-Oak Park
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart