BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/20/1990

AAMCO Transmissions-Oak Park

Phone: (708) 383-3680Fax: (708) 383-8370View Additional Phone Numbers311 Madison St, Oak ParkIL 60302-4109 Send email to AAMCO Transmissions-Oak ParkView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/20/1990

BBB has determined that AAMCO Transmissions-Oak Park meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised AAMCO Transmissions-Oak Park's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on AAMCO Transmissions-Oak Park

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
07/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I take my SUV (2006 Lincoln Navigator) to get a free engine light check from **** **** to find out that ignition coil in cylinder number 3 was causing a misfire. I then take my SUV to the Lincoln dealership located in ********* IL to fix the problem. I found out and was shown physically from the service department the real cause for the bad ignition coil was the fact that I had a spark plug that was loose and broken in cylinder number 3. They checked and that the spark plugs in cylinders 6 & 8 were also loose. The service department repair men at the Lincoln dealership tightened the loose spark plugs and replaced the old spark plug in cylinder number 3. The repair men at Lincoln also informed me that the spark plugs were not replaced with new ones as stated by Aamco in 02/14. I was even given the the broken spark plug as proof from the repair man at Lincoln to show they were not the cause of of it. After the repair I went to the Aamco to ask the service writer about the matter and he proceeded to become irate and confrontational asking me "Why would I go to the Lincoln dealership for my repairs"? Then insinuated I was saying "He ripped me off"? I told him, "Um hold on, take a step back and I came to ask were my sparks replaced as you claim you all did"? "Plus you implied that since I did not accuse you of ripping me off!"

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of the tune-up since I believe they did replace the fuel filter but not the spark plugs and left a broken spark plug in the cylinder since it was told that spark plug replacements are difficult on 2006 Lincoln Navigators, where most mechanics brake the old platinum spark plugs easily if the mechanics are not well experienced.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX, 224
Contact Email: *******@aamco.com
The Oak Park AAMCO closed February of 2014. I contacted Mr. ******* on July 15, after receiving the BBB complaint. I requested he fax AAMCO paperwork and any supporting documentation from the dealership for our review. Once received we will respond to his request.
**** ******
Consumer Support Administrator
AAMCO Transmissions, Inc.

10/28/2013Problems with Product / Service
04/30/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Transmissions - Automobile, Auto Repair & Service

Additional Information

top

This Aamco location has been sold to new owner Bruce Barry in October 2006.

BBB file opened: 01/01/1971Business started: 01/01/1971
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bruce Barry (Branch Mgr.)
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile, Auto Repair & Service

Industry Tips
Contracts

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

AAMCO Transmissions-Oak Park has received 4.72 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for AAMCO Transmissions-Oak Park

311 Madison St

Oak Park, IL 60302-4109

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 311 Madison St 

    Oak Park, IL 60302-4109(708) 383-3680
    (800) 462-2626

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*AAMCO Transmissions-Oak Park is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 462-2626
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Transmissions - Automobile

Contracts
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.