Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AAMCO Transmissions-Crystal Lake meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for AAMCO Transmissions-Crystal Lake include:

  • 6 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AAMCO Transmissions-Crystal Lake
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 06, 2013 Business started: 01/01/1971 Business started locally: 01/01/1971
Business Management
Mr. Ed Wristen, Branch Manager Mr. David Adelson, CHAAMCO Executive Director Mr. Tim Erwin, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ed Wristen, Branch Manager
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Auto Repair & Service Automotive Transmission Repair (NAICS: 811113)

Additional Locations

  • 7218 Virginia Road

    Crystal Lake, IL 60014 (815) 479-5152 (800) 462-2626 (732) 202-1569 (815) 261-9558


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: took truck into this business with blown transmission to have rebuilt. Got the truck back 10 minutes later back in shop for another 3 weeks. Get truck back still having issues driveshaft falls out while Im driving down the road because when they reinstalled it they didn't put bearings back in u joint caps now its back at shop and the guy who was there isn't and nobody has any answers for me

Desired Settlement: I want the truck finally fixed after so long its a plow truck and we lose $1500 to $2000 a day when they don't perform and I shouldn't be charged for this either for all the lying and time loss

Business Response:

** ******* brought his 1999 Ford E350 to us in August with transmission issues.  We rebuilt the transmission and delivered it to him.  He bought his drive shaft to us on Monday Nov 9, 2015 and asked us to press in bearings. As a courtesy we pressed in the bearings at no charge to him. On Sat, Nov 14, 2015 He brought the vehicle in to us to diagnose a problem with the back up alarm coming on in drive.  The wiring is very old and in poor condition due to age and the use of the truck as a snow plow/salt truck. As a courtesy and at no charge we replaced the back up alarm and wired it so that the alarm goes off when the car is in reverse.  ** ******* picked up the vehicle on Nov 16, 2015.  To our knowledge there are no outstanding issues with ** *******.


Thank you,

** ******* 

Crystal Lake Aamco

9/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dropped vehicle off for inspection of transmission on 03/30/2015, they called to say they needed 3 days to diagnose and cost is $500 which would be applied towards the rebuild. Went ahead with rebuild, was told it will be done that Friday, went to pick it up and was not done. Was told they ordered a wrong part and will be done Saturday. Was told the same thing and that it will be done Monday. Picked it up and returned to show damage to muffler that was purchased only 3 weeks prior and catalytic converter. ***** denied touching those parts but said he would do his best to help. Went back that day and was told they took out the speed sensor and would take a couple of hours to replace. Asked ***** to do it now or give me the part to do it myself. After waiting for the owners and *** to discuss, they handed me the keys and said he put it back when the car was sitting in the lot the entire time! He lied to me and said I was an "***". Went home to inspect the work and fix what they broke and found that they did not even put all the necessary bolts back in place! Very unsafe work!

Desired Settlement: Would like $500 refund and reimbursement for the muffler, bolts, and catalytic converter.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/05/14) */ Contact Name and Title: ** *******, owner Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **** WE completed rebuilding the customer's transmission for his 1997 Jeep Cherokee on March 23, 2015 per the customer's request and approval. On April 3, 2015 the customer brought the vehicle back to us because of his concerns about the installation of the aftermarket kit for the front differential, the exhaust, the catalytic converter and the check engine light. We remounted the aftermarket lateral arms for the front differential as a courtesy per the customer's request. We found that there was a VSS sensor failure for the transfer case. The customer declined the repair. We repaired the exhaust as a courtesy to the customer at the customer's request. We found that the catalytic converter was intact but rusty and will require future replacement. The customer requested that we complete the work by 5:30. We were able to complete the inspection and work and deliver to the customer by 5:30. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2015/05/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The spokesperson has given false information,I was told the vehicle would be ready by the 30th and they kept saying it wasn't ready after not even telling me anything on the phone so I had to drive over to speak to them in person. I brought the vehicle home on the 3rd and inspected their work to find damage done to my new exhaust system I had just installed (so I brought it back the next day) and I had to replace the bolts holding the brackets that I had been told were replaced. Also, the VSS sensor was never taken out because my wife was waiting in the parking lot in another car as they told we they were taking it back to fix it and she said no one even went to my car or did anything. The four wheel drive light also isn't properly working and I now need to get my transmission worked on again because it shifts out of gear while I am driving. Final Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2015/08/26) */ I spoke with the dealer regarding this concern and they made an attempt to correct the issues with the exhaust and repaired the exhaust (reinstalled with bolts) at no charge to the customer. I was also told the dealer was not aware of the 4 wheel drive light issue and when they were made aware and attempted to get the customer back into the center to repair it the vehicle had been sold. With the customer selling the vehicle and the attempt to repair all the concerns with the customer what would be the next step. There is no vehicle to make good on and address the customer's concerns. Any direction from you would be helpful Thank you, **** ******** Regional Operations Manager Midwest Region

3/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: When they replaced my fuel i and injector system they never changed the engine oil. The oil was contaminated with gas. So when I drove home I got up that night for work, by the time I got to work the engine was making as kinds of noise. i called them up and they said drive it in so i did. They had it for 7 days and said it was fixed. I picked it up and by the time I got home it was making as kinds of noise and the oil pressure dropped again. So I changed the oil and filter. It was the same filter I had on it when I first brought it to them. The oil was very black. They also never put on the bill engine oil or oil filter cost, but they put oil and filter cost of the transmission. After telling them they never changed the oil *** said his techs changed the oil twice. If that is true why is it not on the bill? Now I have 3 thousand dollars into my blazer and I can't drive it for fear the engine will blow up.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement Replace or fix my engine

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/27) */ An oil change was completed on the vehicle; however, the location offered to have the vehicle towed back to the center at their expense in order for it to be inspected. The customer's responded rudely to the offer and hung up the phone. If the customer is unwilling to return the vehicle to the location, nothing can be done.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on AAMCO Transmissions-Crystal Lake
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)