Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

AAMCO Transmissions-123rd Halsted

Phone: (773) 568-4747 Fax: (773) 568-4749 View Additional Phone Numbers 12307 S. Halsted Street, Chicago, IL 60628 http://www.aamco.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AAMCO Transmissions-123rd Halsted meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for AAMCO Transmissions-123rd Halsted include:

  • 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on AAMCO Transmissions-123rd Halsted
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 2000 Business started: 05/01/2000 Business started locally: 05/01/2000
Business Management
Mr. Adan Pelayo, Branch Manager Mr. David Adleson, Executive Director Mr. Adan Paleyo, Owner Mr. Daniel Piske, Branch Mgr.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Adan Pelayo, Branch Manager
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Auto Repair & Service Automotive Transmission Repair (NAICS: 811113)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

AAMCO Transmissions-123rd Halsted has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 12307 S. Halsted Street

    Chicago, IL 60628 (800) 462-2626 (732) 202-1569 (773) 568-4747

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was took a vehicle into this location to get a diagnoses. I was told for $39.95 they would look at the vehicle and let me know what was wrong. I arrived at the location at 8:30am and was left waiting until 12:30 and I they were not able to give me a diagnoses. I was told that I needed to spead more money to have them look at the vehicle. I requested a refund because the services were not rendered but received no reply.

Desired Settlement: I believe I should be refunded my $39.95 because I did not receive the services I paid for. I also feel that I was taken advantage of because I was a women. I was left waiting for several hours and received nothing for my time and money.

Business Response:

This text is to complaint ******** Miss *****,I called ************ and left message that a refund of 39.95 will be given by mail or if the return to Aamco which ever way that's for them when they return my call...****** Manager Aamco transmission ************

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I tried calling ************ but received no answer.  I would like for the refund to be mailed if possible to **** ********* *** ******** ** *****

Thank you,

****** *****

8/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I TOOK MY CAR IN X-XX-XX TO AAMCO BECAUSE THEY HAD A FREE COUPON TO DO A TRANSMISSION CHECK THE OWNER WASN'T THERE I SPOKE TO A WORKER NAMED **** HE STATED HE HAD TO WAIT FOR THE BOSS TO COME TO GIVE ME A QUOTE & CHECK MY VEHICLE A COUPLE OF DAYS LATER **** CALLED ME & SAID HE COULDN'T TELL THE COMPLETE PROBLEM ONLY FROM THE MACHINE HE SAID HE HAD TO TAKE IT APART TO SEE THE PROBLEM FURTHER NOT ONE TIME DID HE TELL ME IT WAS A $500 FEE TO DO SO I THOUGHT IT WAS ALL UNDER THE FREE CHECK IF I WOULD'VE KNEW I WOULD'VE TOWED MY CAR AWAY SOONER.AFTER HE CALLED ME TO QUOTE ME A PRICE I ASKED MY MOM & SHE HIT THE ROOF & SAID THAT WAS RIDICULOUS SO SHE CALLED ANOTHER SHOP & THE QUOTE FOR THE SAME WORK WAS ONLY $1000 & AAMCO QUOTE WAS $2300.THE SHOP WE HAD IT TOWED TO SAID TO REBUILD MY TRANSMISSION AND INSTALL IT TOOK BETWEEN 3-4 HOURS BUT AAMCO WAS CHARGING ME $1757.50 FOR LABOR ND $495.43 FOR PARTS I WENT TO PAY $500 DEPOSIT ON THE WORK HE SAID I HAD TO PAY DOWN BEFORE THEY STARTED I SIGNED THAT FORM AS A RECEIPT FOR THE DOWN PAYMENT TO THE TOTAL BILL BUT TOLD HIM I COULDN'T AFFORD THAT AMOUNT I HAD TO TALK TO MY MOM HE RAN MY CREDIT & MY WIFE CREDIT TO TRY & FINANCE THAT AMOUNT. MY MOM HIT THE ROOF & CALLED HIM SHE WENT IN & REQUESTED MY DEPOSIT BACK & ALL THE PAPERWORK CONCERNING THIS TRANSACTION HE WAS VERY HESITANT BUT DID IT AND TOLD ME HE WOULD PUT THE TRANSMISSION THEY TOOK APART IN A BOX IN MY CAR & MY MOM HAD IT TOWED TO THE SHOP SHE FOUND WITH A BETTER QUOTE. ************ *** **** ON **** S. ***** IN CHGO., IL. WHEN IT GOT TO THE SECOND SHOP & THEY WAS ABOUT TO REBUILD MY TRANS THEY FOUND OUT IT WAS A TRANS FROM A 99 GRAN PRIX & MY CAR IS A 2006 SO THEY GAVE US THE WRONG TRANS PARTS. MY MOM HAD TO GO BACK & THEY COULDN'T FIND IT SO SHE JUST GOT THE CONVERTER FROM THEM & TOOK IT TO ************ *** **** THEY SAID DON'T WORRY THEY WOULD GO FIND THE RIGHT ONE & REPAIR MY CAR & THEY DID JUST THAT. **** THE BOSS TRIED TO SHOW MY MOM A FORM ANOTHER WOMAN HAD SIGNED FOR THE DEPOSIT SHE SIGNED BUT I DIDN'T SIGN THAT FORM & HE PRINTED OUT ALL THE FORMS MY MOM REQUESTED BUT I HAVE COPY OF THE ONES I SIGNED & THE ONES I DIDN'T SIGNED FOR THEM TO KEEP MY DEPOSIT. HE TOLD MY MOM THAT DEPOSIT WAS THE LABOR FOR OTHER TAKING APART OF THE TRANS BUT THAT WAS A LIE BECAUSE I HAD THE FREE COUPON SO THAT WAS A DEPOSIT TO DO THE WORK BUT HE WAS UPSET THAT MY MOM DISPUTED THAT AMOUNT & TOLD THEM THAT WAS A CRAZY PRICE & HAD MY CAR TOWED SO HE SAID HE HAD TO KEEP MY MONEY FOR LABOR. I WANT TO SUE TO GET MY MONEY BACK BECAUSE THEY MADE A FOOL OF ME BECAUSE I WAS YOUNG & WANTED MY CAR FIXED I AM 23 YRS OLD & LEARNED A VALUABLE LESSON MY MOM TAUGHT ME BUT I NEED MY DEPOSIT BACK TO PAY THE SECOND SHOP FOR MY CAR. WHEN WE FOUND OUT THAT WAS THE WRONG TRANS THEY CALLED THE DEALERSHIP & CONFIRMED THE CAR CAME WITH THE CORRECT TRANS FOR MY 2006 GRAN PRIX & NOT A 1999 TRANS THAT AAMCO PUT IN A BOX & SAID THEY DIDN'T KNOW WHAT HAPPENED TO IT. SO THIS SHOP KEPT MY 2006 TRANSMISSION & GAVE ME SOMEBODY ELSE 1999 TRANSMISSION ALSO THEY KEPT MY $500 DEPOSIT THAT THEY TURNED AROUND TO SAY THAT'S WHAT I HAD TO PAY FOR THE TRANSMISSION CHECK BUT IT WAS FREE WITH MY COUPON & **** WROTE IT ON THE FORM THAT I HAD A COUPON FOR A FREE CHECK AFTER THIS FRUSTRATING & TEDIOUS ORDEAL I FOUND OUT FROM SEVERAL OTHER PEOPLE AT THE ************ *** **** SHOP THAT THEY MOVED THEIR CAR THERE TOO FROM AAMCO BECAUSE THEY DID THE SAME THING TO THEM & ARE CHARGING PEOPLE THESE RIDICULOUS PRICES & KEEPING THEIR MONEY WHEN THEY TRY TO TAKE THEIR CAR I WANT MY MONEY BACK AS WELL AS TO EXPOSE THIS SHOP FOR THE RIP OFF THEY ARE DOING TO PEOPLE WHO REALLY NEED THEIR CARS FIXED. MY MOM RETRIEVED ALL THE PAPERWORK THAT THEY WOULD GIVE HER FROM MY CASE & WE WAS TOLD TO CONTACT BBB FIRST BEFORE GOING TO FILE A COMPLAINT TO GO TO COURT WITH **** ******* I FELT LIKE I HAD THE RIGHT TO CHANGE MY MIND BEFORE THEY STARTED THE WORK & THEY WOULDN'T START ANYTHING UNTIL THE FULL $2300 WAS PAID

Desired Settlement: I WANT MY $500 DEPOSIT I PAID THEM BACK. I DON'T NEED THE 2006 TRANSMISSION THEY KEPT OF MINE FROM MY CAR GOD BLESS THE THIEVES FOR TAKING MY STUFF BECAUSE ************ *** **** WORKED WITH MY DEALERSHIP & GOT THE CORRECT ONE FOR MY CAR & THEY TOOK CARE OF ALL THE FEES IN LIGHT OF WHAT I HAD TO GO THROUGH WITH AAMCO MY MOM HAD TO GO GET THE CORE BECAUSE THEY HAD KEPT ALL OF MY PARTS AND SENT THE 1999 TRANSMISSION ALL TAKEN APART IN A BOX WITH NO CONVERTER TO THE SECOND SHOP WHEN MY CAR WAS TOWED HIS COMPANY IS A TERRIBLE RIP OFF PLACE THAT IS RIPPING CUSTOMERS OFF FOR A JOB THAT CAN BE DONE FOR LESS AND IN LESS TIME. I JUST WANT MY DEPOSIT BACK AND WILL NOT GO TO NOR EVER RECOMMEND THAT SHOP TO ANY ONE THEY ARE SO UNORGANIZED IN THERE THEY DON'T KNOW WHAT PARTS GO TO WHAT CAR AFTER THEY TAKE IT APART OR NOTHING THE CROOKS CAN HAVE EVERYTHING ELSE I JUST WANT MY MONEY BACK FOR SOMETHING THEY DIDN'T DO MY MOM IS A LIFE SAVER THAT HELPED ME OUT OF A STICKY SITUATION AND GOT RIGHT TO THE BOTTOM OF IT AND EXPOSED THE CROOKS RED HANDED BOTTOM LINE I JUST WANT MY DEPOSIT BACK $500. THANK YOU SINCERELY!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2015/08/18) */ **** ******, AAMCO Dealer. I would like to offer the customer a FREE Oil and Filter Service as well as 20% off futures repairs at my S Halsted Location up to $100 off for the customer's inconvenience.

7/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2/21/2015 WE TOOK THE CAR INTO THE SHOP FOR REPAIR. MARCH 2 I RENTED A CAR. MY INSURANCE COMPANY, **** ***** ********** NEEDED A DIAGNOSTIC REPORT BEFORE ANY REPAIRS COULD BE APPROVED. ***** TRANSMISSION KEPT MY CAR WHEN THEY KNEW THEY DID NOT HAVE A DIAGNOSTIC MACHINE AVAILABLE TO CONDUCT THE TEST. **** ***** SENT THE INSPECTOR THREE TIMES BEFORE THERE WAS A DIAGNOSTIC MACHINE AVAILABLE. MEAN WHILE I HAVE A RENTAL THAT I WILL NOT BE REIMBURSED FOR BECAUSE THE INSURANCE COMPANY SAID THE RENTAL IS APPROVED AFTER THEY ARE SUPPLIED WITH A DIAGNOSTIC REPORT. TODAY, 3/12/15 I CALLED TO FINE OUT WHEN MY CAR WOULD BE AVAILABLE AND THE WORK HAS YET TO BE STARTED. I SPOKE WITH MY INSURANCE COMPANY AND NOW THEY ARE INVESTIGATING ******** PRACTICES BECAUSE ***** IS MAKING A LARGE CLAIM FOR THE WORK THAT HASN'T BEEN STARTED. MY MAIN CONCERN IS THAT I HAVE HAD TO RENT A CAR TO MAKE DOCTOR APPOINTMENTS THAT I COULDN'T MISS. I AM HANDICAPPED, ON A FIXED INCOME AND NEED READY TRANSPORTATION. ***** WAS TOLD THIS. REFERENCE # XXXXXX **** ***** ********** XXXX XXX XXXX ADJUSTER ****** ***** MANAGER *****

Desired Settlement: ***** SHOULD HAVE NOT KEPT THE VEHICLE UNTIL THEY COULD GET THE DIAGNOSTIC MACHINE TO CONDUCT THE TEST, GET THE INSPECTOR AND THE APPROVAL FOR THE WORK. NOW I AM WITHOUT TRANSPORTATION BECAUSE I CAN NOT AFFORD IT. I HAVE NO CLUE IF AND WHEN THE WORK WILL BE DONE. ***** HAS CREATED THIS PROBLEM BY GIVING THE INSURANCE THE RUN AROUND AND I AM CAUGHT IN THE MIDDLE AND AT THE MERCY OF THESE TWO COMPANIES BECAUSE THIS IS THE REPAIR SHOP MY INSURANCE SENT ME TO. I AM ALSO MAKING A CONSUMER REPORT ABOUT THIS SITUATION. RENTAL COST $790.33 FOR 17 DAYS FROM ENTERPRISE.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2015/05/14) */ We ordered a new analyzer and called the warranty company back to confirm our original diagnosis. The repairs were approved by the warranty company and we returned the car. The warranty company takes time to come out each time to the shop. The customer was notified that their was a 2nd party involved and there are procedures and protocol that need to be followed. We have not heard any complaints from the customer regarding this matter. The time it took was not intentional, but in order to go thru a warranty company does take time. Every time the warranty company has to come to our location it takes an additional 24 to 48 hours.

2/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I initially took my car in for repair in May 2014 and my transmission was rebuilt. It was warrantied for 12 months or 12,000 miles. In November my transmission was no longer working. I took my car in to have it repaired on 11/12. After calling everyday for a week I was told my transmission needed to get rebuilt. After two weeks I had not heard anything so I called in and was told they were waiting for some parts. Another week passed *** I called back. They guy I spoke with who's name is **** admitted to me that he was lying to me and was just trying to buy time because he had other cars to work on and supposedly the technician who rebuilt my transmission the first time was out sick. I was very frustrated at this point and called the cooperate office on 12/8/14. Sharleen assured me my car would be ready by 12/15/14. It is now 12/16/14 and still my car is not ready. My car has been at the shop for approximately 34 days and has not been repaired. I initially paid 3500 for the job. I paid cash. I would like a refund of my money due to the fact that the first time I took my car it was ready in about 8-10 days and now since its a warranty job its been about 34 days and my car is still in the shop getting worked on.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of my money due to the fact that my car has been there for over 34 days and I am greatly inconvenienced everyday because I don't have my vehicle. The contact person **** admitted to me that he lied to me to buy more time. That is not acceptable by any means. I have spoke with a customer relations rep from the Aamco cooperate office and she doesnt seem to have any idea of whats going on. She promised my car to be ready by a certain date and the didnt happen either.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1001, 13, 2015/02/16) */ The 2004 Audi was towed to our shop may of 2014 at that time there was about 10 cars ahead of him for trans problems,that A6 quattro is a all wheel drive difficult trans to rebuild and parts has to be special ordered.. The car came back to us 5 months later slipping,The customer put 11825 miles in 5 months way too much,125 miles away from running out his warranty.We rebuilt his trans,paid for a rental car on us because the customer had no valid drivers license,replaced the left lower ball joint a 365.00 repair at no charge ,We thought the customer left happy,The customer came in with a front end problem about two weeks later thinking it was a trans problem and we checked his front end for free ,The problem was the outer tie rod end ,We did have our head trans rebuilder in the hospital which did set us back .Why the customer wants his money back an as far as we know the trans is fine, he hasent call or said there was a problem


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on AAMCO Transmissions-123rd Halsted
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart