This business is not BBB accredited.

Tool Planet

Phone: (888) 535-8665 Fax: (708) 365-5186 View Additional Phone Numbers 831 W. Maple Ave #215, Homewood, IL 60430 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.toolplanet.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Tool Planet include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Tool Planet include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Tool Planet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 06, 2002 Business started: 07/01/1996 Business started locally: 07/01/1996 Business incorporated 12/31/1998 in WI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Thomas S. Kreis, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas S. Kreis, President
Business Category

Tools - Electric Tools - Hand Tools - Power Actuated Welding Equipment & Supplies Gardening Hand Tools Machine Tools Tools - Cutting Hardware Stores (NAICS: 444130)

Alternate Business Names
Stillbay, Inc. Tool America

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Tool Planet has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of C+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    831 W. Maple Ave #215

    Homewood, IL 60430

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service
8/11/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered 36 wooden hammers from Tool Planet to give as gifts for Father's Day. When the hammers arrived, they were not in usable condition. The wood looked weathered, the metal heads were not polished as mentioned int he description, and most heads were wiggling, some almost coming off completely. Moreover, they seemed to be 13 oz hammers with 16 oz stickers on them. I immediately contacted Tool Planet within an hour of my shipment. I was told they would be looking into the matter. I followed back up and was told a damage claim would be made. I was sent an email several days later stating the damage claim had been started and to hold on to the hammers for 10 days. A few days later, I was sent an email asking for pictures, and sent the email with several pictures. Since the email with the pictures, I have not heard from Tool Planet at all. I've tried multiple times and cannot reach anyone on the phone. I have also sent two emails requesting an update. What is unacceptable, is that when I called, they made the excuse that they were not a "craft dealer" and that their main customer was contractors. I'd like to point out that these hammers couldn't safely be used to hang a picture, much less build a home. I'd very upset that my refund has not been posted yet, but more upset that Tool Planet feels it's OK not to provide good customer service to me because I a not their main business.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1001, 13, 2015/07/16) */ The customer was refunded before the complaint was filed Final Business Response /* (1000, 22, 2015/07/31) */ Customer was refunded in full before claim was filed

7/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tool Planet (transaction number: 2KJXXXXXXXXXXXXXN for $27.97) took over two weeks to ship the wrong items they were asked not to ship in the first place. They were asked to not ship the items if they were not as pictured: Green. The air compressor guns shipped were red. They refused to return calls and refused to return email requests for a product pickup and refund of the the $27.97. They simply took the funds, shipped the wrong items and disappeared. The items are still waiting for them to be picked up at the front door. Red air compressor guns are useless to us and our machine. They are still unopened at the front door and have been there for over a month. When placing an order on their website it states on the order form 'comments' we simply asked them to cancel the order if the air guns are not green as pictured on their website. They ignored this request and shipped red air guns and refused to make any contact with us to fix the simple issue. Their business philosophy is to assume they will disappear and go away. I have never run into any company that operates like Tool Planet. We were all surprised when they don't answer their phone and don't return messages. Don't return emails. All we simply wanted was the incorrect item they should never have shipped in the firs place be picked up and the $27.97 be refunded. We are writing to the BBB simply because it's alarming that a little amount as this they would rather choose to not take care of the little issue they created. They did not care. They still do not care. They had no interest in fixing the problem they created. They took the funds and disappeared.

Desired Settlement: Pick up the red air guns. Refund the $27.97. We have been asking this for a month and a half now. They ignore you. This is their business model. They could care less. The items are unopened at the front door now for over a month. They refuse to fix the prolem they are responsible for causing.

4/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My order number from tool planet is #XXXXX. It was for: X XXXXXX XX" Magnetic Storage Bar and Tool Holder 2 ST-XXXXX Stark 24" Magnetic Tool Storage Bar XXXXX They sent me 8 bars, all one type. The shipping package was not damaged, but all the individual packages were split open and mounting screws were scattered in the shipping package. I am short 5 mounting screws and have 6 bars that are the wrong bars. I have contacted tool planet 3 time by email asking them how we can fix this problem, but they will not reply.

Desired Settlement: I would like what I originally ordered.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2015/03/26) */ Customer was asked to return incorrectly shipped items and issued a label. We have not received it back to issue a refund. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (4200, 13, 2015/04/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am returning all items. Tool Planet has sent the return label and I am in the process of packaging the items and dropping them off at ***. When they are returned and the refund is issued, I will then be satisfied. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2015/04/20) */ XXXXXXXX 1 message *** ***** <*****@toolplanet.com> Mon, Apr 20, 2015 at 3:28 PM To: *******@chicago.bbb.org The product was just returned to us. He was refunded in full today. Sincerely, *** K Web: www.toolplanet.com Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Note to consumer from BBB: We have been informed that the refund has been processed today. Please allow sufficient time to receive the refund. IF, the refund is not received within 2 weeks, please let inform us. Thank you

3/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tool Planet order# XXXXX status as of February 6th 2015 still pending. I have received no e-mail response since making several complaints. I paid $133.58 for a Titan solar powered welding hood. After seeing the confirmation e-mail with my order details and how much I paid. I've emailed Tool Planet 3 or 4 times and called them 4 or five times. I only got hold of a guy one time and his words were "The girl who handles that stuff is not in and she won't be in until this afternoon. Let me take your name and number and you will be the first person she gets ahold of when she gets in." No one ever emailed me or called me back. My order was placed via www.toolplanet.com on Jan 22 which was a Thursday. Their website states that my order should have under normal circumstances been processed and shipped that same day. Well it's still pending. I have called and got 4 or 5 rings and then an answering machine. I have left 2 messages one politely asking them to call me back and the second message I left I was pretty upset and I definitely told them that I was going to start writing bad reviews. The other strange thing is that the item I ordered disappeared from the website after I ordered it like they ran out of stock and are afraid to tell me.

Desired Settlement: I want the welding hood I orderes or a better welding hood for my troubles.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/02/28) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ***** President/Owner Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***@toolplanet.com Customer emailed that item would be delayed due to port strike in LA. Item is still on our website. Credit card was not charged until item was shipped Feb 10. Item has shipped & has tracking information showing delivery on Feb 13.

10/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received an Email about a week after placing an online order stating one item was back orderd, and asked how to proceed. I emailed back asking if the in stock items could be shipped now, and I would still like the back ordered item when available. Have not head back. Have tried to email back a few more times and get no response. Have attempted to track order from their website, but website states order does not exist. Order Details: DATE: 29-Aug-2014 REFERENCE #: XXXXXX Ordered: X XXXXXX XXmm Fully Polished Individual Metric Combination Wrench $2.99 Ordered: X XXXXXX XX mm Fully Polished Combination Wrench Metric $7.99 Paypal Payment information: Transaction #***************** -$18.97 USD 8/28/XXXX XX:XX PDT Stillbay Inc ***@toolplanet.com

Desired Settlement: Please refund my money in full and I will take my business elsewhere.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/10/18) */ ********* was refunded in full on 10/2 via Paypal - as our container was further delayed. What does ********* want us to do?

8/18/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have purchase a Stark air compressor pump XXXXX from this company. Order # XXXXXX. I have been trying to contact them for a week now and they don't answer there phone or return emails. I need to return this product and on there wen site they state they have a return policy and all you have to do is contact them to begin the return process. I guess they are thinking if we make it impossible for people to contact us we don't have to accept returns. Please help me with this issue I have almost 300 dollars tied up in something I don't need.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund in a timely manner.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/16) */ Contact Name and Title: ********* Contact Phone: ********** Contact Email: ******************** ********** purchased the air compressor on August 6. It was received at 12:44 pm Central time and sent to our LA warehouse for shipping. They shipped FedEx that same day, ***************. He was emailed tracking information later that day. Sat, Aug 9, 2014 at 6:26 AM. ********** emailed "I haven't received my order yet and I want to return it when it gets here. Please let me know what I need to do to accomplish this." He emailed us again with the same message, Mon, Aug 11, 2014 at 6:17 AM. He also left several voice mail messages over the weekend. We responded on our first working day Monday, August 11 with a phone message stating that the compressor shipped the same day he purchased it. If he did not want the item, please refuse it and he would be refunded the purchase price minus the cost of shipping. ********** called back later that day stating that he wanted to keep the item. He had spoken with FedEx about the shipping charges and did not want to be responsible for return shipping. He asked ********* to not initiate a return. August 12, ********** called leaving an angry message about how we did not have his permission to initiate a return. ********* called FedEx and said that ********** refused the package when it was delivered. An hour later he called the terminal changing his mind. We paid for the redelivery fee and the product was delivered on Wednesday August 13. If ********** would like to return the item, please tell him to ship the item back to our LA warehouse. ************ ********* ************** ****************, ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Tool Planet
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart