Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Greater Illinois Title Company, Inc.

Phone: (312) 236-7300 Fax: (312) 407-9241 View Additional Phone Numbers 120 N Lasalle St Ste 900, Chicago, IL 60602 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Greater Illinois Title Company, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Greater Illinois Title Company, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 18, 2006 Business started: 03/14/1985 Business started locally: 03/14/1985
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Gregory M. Kosin, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gregory M. Kosin, President
Business Category

Title Companies & Agents Financial Services Title Abstract and Settlement Offices (NAICS: 541191)

Products & Services

This company offers Greater Illinois Title Company provides an innovative range of title insurance, escrow, real estate information, commercial and construction services including title agent support services, condominium services, land surveys and 1031 exchanges. GITC operates 19 full-service office locations throughout the metroploitan Chicago area.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Greater Illinois Title Company, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 120 N Lasalle St Ste 900

    Chicago, IL 60602 (312) 236-7300


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service
8/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: GITC overpaid my real estate taxes on file #XXXXXXXX at closing on PIN# XX-XX-XXX-XXX-XXXX on 2/14/13 for 2012 tax payment. GITC paid $1,133.52 in error when actual taxes due were only $1,006.67. They overpaid my taxes by $126.85 and are refusing to give me a receipt so I cannot collect my refund until they provide me with an actual receipt which they are not providing. No one, including my closer ******* ****** GITC # XXX-XXX-XXXX will answer my calls or emails because they are lazy, negligent & refuse to help me get my refund because it is not their money. $126.85 is a lot of money to me that I could be using to pay my other bills or real estate taxes, but because they will not give me a receipt for their overpayment of my taxes, I am unable to collect my refund of $126.85 from ***** ****** Cook County Treasurer who sent me a notice that I must have a receipt to collect my "Tax Refund Available $126.85" on May 19, 2014. I have contacted ******* ****** over 6 times, emailed her 2x and am still unable to obtain my receipt which makes me unable to collect my tax refund. Please help, GITC has no customer service & she will not give me any phone number to get the receipt I need. My HUD-1 Closing statement shows GITC overpaid my real estate taxes but no one there will help me get the receipt from they overpaying my taxes, so I cannot file for my property tax refund. Please help help motivate them to give me the receipt I need because of their erroneous overpayment of my taxes. Thanks for your help.

Desired Settlement: I need a receipt from GITC overpaying my property taxes for PIN #XX-XX-XXX-XXX-XXXX paying $1,138.52 when only $1,006.67 was due so that I can collect my refund of $126.85 from Cook County Treasurer ***** ******* Without a receipt I am unable to collect my property tax refund of $126.85 and my HUD-1 statement is NOT a receipt. The Duplicate & Overpayment Refund Application says the receipt must provide documentation (proof of payment) section "3. A letter from any mortgage company, title company or other third party who submitted payment that includes the following information. (1) Property Index Number, (2) taxpayer's name, (3) amount(s)paid, and (4) date(s) of payment(s)."

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/17) */ After researching this issue, Greater Illinois Title Company has issued a Check payable to the Complainant in the amount of $131.85 which includes the amount of the refund and the $5.00 fee for transfer. The request for a copy of the receipt was being worked on internally. Since we are required to pay taxes electronically via a Third Party Administrator, we were in the process of redacting other tax payer information from the data sheet being provided to evidence payment. GIT will refund the money and pursue the County for reimbursement. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2001, 13, 2014/08/04) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: Thank you for helping me resolve this complaint. Without your help I never would have obtained my refund. Thanks again.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Greater Illinois Title Company, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart