Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chicago Title Insurance Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Chicago Title Insurance Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Chicago Title Insurance Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 12, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1927 Business started locally: 01/01/1927 Business incorporated 04/22/2008 in NE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Mary Makhamre, Executive Assistant Mr. Gus Abello, Senior Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Gus Abello, Senior Vice President
Principal: Ms. Mary Makhamre, Executive Assistant
Related Businesses
Chicago Title Co
Business Category

Title Companies & Agents Insurance Companies Title Abstract and Settlement Offices (NAICS: 541191)

Alternate Business Names
Chicago Title Insurance Co

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Chicago Title Insurance Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 10 S LaSalle St
    Suite 3100

    Chicago, IL 60603

  • 4944 W 95th St

    Oak Lawn, IL 60453

  • 5215 Old Orchard Rd Ste 400

    Skokie, IL 60077 (847) 677-3410

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I sold a dental building in 01/2015. At the same time the dentist who had been renting from us sold his business to the same individual that bought our building. We received an incorrect 1099S form. We sold the building for $*******. We received a 1099S for $*******. I have called our closer **** ******* ************ and she stated that the dentist who sold the business would have to make a 1099 up before Chicago Title could rectify the situation. I don't understand why they cannot correct their mistake. I don't want to pay tax on money not received.

Desired Settlement: I would like a corrected 1099S to reflect the correct amount of proceeds from the transaction, which is *********

Business Response:

In response to complaint ID# ********. Attached is a corrected 1099S form, as requested by the customer. We apologize, for any inconvenience this may have caused. Please let us know, if you have questions or require any more information.

 

Thank-you,

 

Alka

 

Alka ******** *** * ******* ***** ***** * ******* ************ * ****************

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Thank you for contacting them and getting this resolved.

Sincerely,

*** ********

3/4/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Title company, Chicago Title Insurance Company, was attempting to commit fraud during a recent Real Estate purchase transaction with ******* **** Realty. Both companies are frauds. On July 10, 2015, I entered the office located at XXXXX ** **** ******* ***** **** ****** ***** ** XXXXX to meet with the Title Company to complete the purchase of a home on the south side of Chicago. When I sat at the table, the Title Company closer never spoke a word and never introduced herself and immediately placed documents on the table. Her first word was, "Did you complete the Wire Transfer?" Upon review of the documents, I noticed that the Bill of Sale (Title) had the incorrect address. I immediate told the Title Company of the mistake and was rudely ignored. I was then told that the Title could not be changed/altered but they could just strike through it with an ink pen. Next, I was presented the HUD-1 and immediately I noticed that the HUD-1 had unauthorized charges and didnt have the Realtor's Commission listed. This was the first time I realized that they were attempting fraud. The HUD-1 also didn't have a credit for the unpaid, delinquent property taxes. After I pointed out the issue, the Title Co stated that they would give me a discount on the service and reduced the Title fee from $1300 to $400. This is totally unethical. Another fraud attempt to get me to Wire Money to their account. Later, I requested the Illinois Real Estate Declaration and noticed that it was marked for "Vacant Land" verses residential property. This is something the Title company should have caught but since they were attempting fraud, they didn't expect me to request this document. Also another red flag was that they never even requested an address or copy of my ID. This Title Company is a fraud and should be out of business for scamming a potential buyer or future buyer(s).

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Finsh the job I am seeking the Title Company to complete the escrow with proper and clear documents to close on the property. I want all documents and Title/Deed free and clear. Also, I would requested a written apology from the corporate office.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/28) */ Contact Name and Title: *********** ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***********@ctt.com Customer was a buyer in a real estate transaction scheduled for Friday, July 17th, 2015 in the Orland Park Chicago Title office. She was represented by her attorney. The closing started on time, at 10:30am. The seller involved in the transaction did not attend the closing, which both Buyer and her attorney were made aware of. The original documents sent by the seller's attorney's office were mis-directed to another Chicago Title location in error, which resulted in there being only copies of the documents present at the closing table. As is the case with a one-sided closing, there is often a delay in having all the paperwork signed & in an approval status to fund the transaction. Buyer expressed her unhappiness over this issue, but was assured by her attorney that this is typical and acceptable. Buyer subsequently disagreed with atty over this, at which point atty excused herself from the transaction. Buyer chose to wait in our lobby for the "dry closing" aspect to be completed and was told by both her closer and the office manager that she would be notified of the ongoing developments of the transaction. After approximately 1/2 hour time, Buyer left our office. Our area manager contacted Buyer via phone to see if there was anything further we could facilitate for her. This closing was never funded nor completed. Buyer will need to contact her atty to re-initiate this transaction in order to proceed with the purchase. Chicago Title would like to extend a formal apology for any impression during the closing process that was unsatisfactory to her. This was also communicated to her by the Area Manager and was told to contact him if she had any further questions. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/07/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This company is a fraud. The Title company is supposed to complete a search of all documents related to closing. I never received any of those documents, this is not the Seller's responsibility as stated in their response. Also, the Title company offered so many times to reduce the fee for the transaction. The closer also asked several times if "had completed the Wire Transfer." Also, the area manager did not contact me, I requested to speak with a manager once I knew that the entire process was a scam. Buyers you have been warned!!!

7/28/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Chicago Title Insurance in Bakersfield California was used by my real estate agent to close my house sale. I was not instructed to not pay my water bill that was overdue. The closing date kept being put off and my water bill needed to be paid. Chicago Title took money out of my closing payment and paid the same water bill that I paid and refuses to reimburse me.

Desired Settlement: Send cash, check or money order.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/13) */ The customer was never refused payment reimbursement. It was explained to him that because of the overpayment, the Water Company would not send any funds back to Chicago Title, the funds were refunded to the buyer of the property. The escrow officer was in communication with the buyer as well as the seller that funds would be sent to Chicago Title and then forwarded to him. However, this process did not happen quick enough for which we do not control. Funds will be sent out by the end of this week. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/05/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I don't accept this response because it does not convey the numerous attempts I made to clear this matter up with the agent. I asked about almost four weeks ago and they could have easily paid me out of their petty cash instead of giving me excuse after excuse as to why they had to wait for the buyer to send them money. It was their fault in the first place I never received my correct closing money. They never told me not to pay the water bill. Why not? Why did no one call me before they sent the money to the water company? I tired to communicate with them prior to closing but no one returned my call. They could have resolved this issue immediately upon learning of their mistake instead of making me wait almost one month for my money. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 14, 2015/07/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Check received and cashed. Final Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2015/07/28) */ From:********, Shauna (mailto:********@CTT.com) Sent: Tuesday, July 28, 2015 12:49 PM To: Jennifer ******** <*********@chicago.bbb.org> Cc: ********, Tasha <*********@ctt.com>; ********, Mary <********M@CTT.com>;********, Shauna <********@CTT.com> Subject: RE: BBB Complaint Good morning, In reviewing the file, it appears that we received a demand from the water company approximately one week prior to closing. It is not a normal procedure to inform the clients about when a bill is due to a utility company. The Escrow Officer paid the invoice accordingly and the Seller also paid it directly to the water company. Upon finding out what happened, the Escrow Officer contacted the water company to ask for a refund of the excess funds. Their procedure is apparently a bit different and they would only credit the Buyer's new account with the overpayment. The Buyer said they would send the money back, which never happened. Although there was a delay in the refund process, Chicago Title went ahead and advanced the $36.42 to Mr. ****** on May 15, 2015. That check cleared our account on May 26, 2015. Therefore, I believe this situation has been resolved. Please let me know if I can provide any further information. Thanks!

6/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I closed on a house over a month ago. I was told that when the property taxes were paid, I would receive a refund of the overage. The property taxes for my property was over $2,000 less than what they paid and that is what is owned to me. The property taxes were paid on 5/15 & 5/16 for both bills. I was told on 5/16 by the ********** office that if the taxes are paid the check was in the mail. I wait a week and still no check. So I call and now it's 2 weeks later and I get the name of ******** ******* who is the office manager in ******* ******* would be the one handle this refund check. I have called several times for the last few days with no response back from her or anybody in her office. I have called Biatta who was the closer for my property and she told me she emailed ******** with no response either. This not how you conduct business and this is a great example of HORRIBLE customer service. Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXX-XXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like the money that is due to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/11) */ At closing there were funds held back to pay the **** County taxes for 2013 1st installment. Once the tax bills become available we are able to print bills and send payment into the county which was completed on May 14th. The taxes were not due until June 2nd, however we pay them as soon as we can. Our policy is to ensure the tax payment check clears and that the payment is posted to the correct property according to the county's website, at which time we issue any overage to the customer. Ms. *******'s check was issued May 29th and cleared our bank on June 2nd, so we trust this issue was resolved to everyone's satisfaction. Certainly we wish to clearly communicate this process to our customers, and apologize for any inconvenience the lack of contact may have caused Ms. *******. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/06/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I have received my check. But I don't appreciate the lack of communication after several voicemails had been left with no return call.

9/27/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Closing of my Condo took place at Chicago Title Insurance Company at 10 S LaSalle St Chicago IL on March 20th,2013. (**** **** ****** was the closer File No TRXXXXXXX XXXXXXXX-XXX). My Name was correctly spelled on the all the documents I signed at the time of closing. They recorded the Deed with incorrect spelling of my Name. I made repeated attempts to contact them help me but they failed to respond. I spoke to *** **** ****** and left voicemails/emails to ****** ********* who was the responsible person as per **** **** ******* Nobody is willing to even listen to me at Chicago Title. They made my homebuying experience really unpleasant. I wouldn't recommend this company to anybody

Desired Settlement: Chicago Title must rerecord the Deed of my condominium with my correct name and refund the closing Fee $1025

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/09/16) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******* VP Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***********@ctt.com The mispelling of the grantee's name does not change the validity of the insurance that was provided, as ********* ***** was insured under the policy and could still be able to file a claim on his policy regardless of the fact that the name on the deed was misspelled. However, in order to correct the typo on the deed the name was corrected and the deed was re-recorded at no expense to the insured (see attached re-recorded deed).


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Chicago Title Insurance Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart