Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Firestone Complete Auto Care-Chicago

Phone: (773) 284-1313 5111 S Pulaski Rd, Chicago, IL 60632 http://firestonecompleteautocare.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Firestone Complete Auto Care-Chicago meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Firestone Complete Auto Care-Chicago include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Firestone Complete Auto Care-Chicago
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 29, 2012 Business started: 01/01/1900 Business started locally: 01/01/1900
Business Management
Mr. Philip Suomi, Branch Mgr. Mr. Rich Korda, Senior Customer Retention Specialist
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Rich Korda, Senior Customer Retention Specialist
Principal: Mr. Philip Suomi, Branch Mgr.
Business Category

Tire Distributors & Manufacturers Battery Repairing & Rebuilding Shock Absorbers Tire Dealers Auto Inspection Stations Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Tire Retread & Repair Auto Parts & Supplies - Wholesale & Manufacturers Battery Supplies Tire and Tube Merchant Wholesalers (NAICS: 423130)


Additional Locations

  • 5111 S Pulaski Rd

    Chicago, IL 60632 (773) 284-1313

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2/12/11 I brought my van in for it oil change. 24 inspection report shows no oil leaks and any other problems. 36 miles later my engine blow. Oil was all over the oil filter at bottom of van. I told ******* who was the manager she caused this which she denied. I climbed under the van to show her the the oil filter was soaked with the oil my engine had lost. Because the van was used for work I had no choice but to let them replace the engine . They charged towing fees and over 2,200 dollars to repair. The engine was a mess later I was informed by ***** that they never even changed out old filter at bottom of engine. In the next six months while still under warranty I took the van back several times. the blinkers were switched that they fixed. The van started to over heat I went back and they replace some hoses which really didn't solve the problem. ***** **** has all this slips showing that I had returned repeatedly but nothing was truly fixed. Because of the poor installation it ruined my cooling system which again they ignored. After only nine months and many visit to Tires plus the warranty was gone and they van was in worse shape then ever. I tried to fix around the theromostat with welding material which was like putting a band aid on a 7 inch wound. I have begged Firestone please replace this engine because it wasn't done right. I thought they were because they brought into a 3rd party for inspection. ***** (that's the company). Told me they engine was not put in right they had not changed out the filter the engine was leaky every where and this engine had caused cooling system to fail. He also told me that they caused all of this because of poor mechanical installation He also thought they would fix this engine which he was willing to do. Firestone after 8 days decided to use that welding material as an excused not to fix this engine. I had to junk a van valued at around 3500 with a loan still on it for 2000 over 2500 in repairs and all the money wasted on repairs that never fixed my van. This van was in excellent condition, it had all new tires and new stereo it the body was in excellent condition they mileage was low. All I would like is compensation for what they have done . ******* **** under new management I told me they caused and that he wishing who could have helped me but his hands were tied. This new manager did not caused this damage has been heavily fined bccause of ******* neglect on my behalf. The slips that ******* **** had shows that it's there fault. ******* who at the time was the manager would not take respondsabilty for the damage to my engine, because of a bad oil change and a poor installation of the new engine. I have tried to work with Firestone who just has giving nothing but excuses. I am disable and I just think this company took advantage of me and now I have a car loan because the van is gone. This has been a long two years fighting a losing battle because I can't afford a lawyer.

Desired Settlement: They value of the van $3500 the repairs $2500 and because I could not sell the van the amount of the loan @2000 I not even trying to get pain and suffering which they have caused. I just want to be compensated for what they cost me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/08/08) */ When Ms. ***** brought her vehicle in it had around 167,000 miles on it and there were multiple problems with it. This was far from being in excellent condition with low mileage that she reports. Unfortunately, we are unable to inspect the original engine since it had been replaced several years ago and is no longer available for inspection. Based on the statements made by Ms. ***** there appears to have been oil all over the bottom of the engine. This could have been the result of the engine throwing a rod through the block or leakage from any one or many of the gaskets/sensors on the engine. There is no longer any way to confirm what happened to that engine and had she believed it was the store's fault she should have sought a second opinion prior to replacing it. The failure of the replacement engine was due to multiple coolant leaks (hoses) and an improper repair to a leaking thermostat housing that she made herself. Her continued driving with the engine overheating appears to have caused the head gasket to fail as evidenced by the combustion gases emanating from the coolant. This failure was the result of the owner ignoring needed repairs and continuing to drive until the engine failed. The inspector's notes are as follows. Details of inspection and test(s) performed: A visual inspection revealed the thermostat housing had gray silicone sealant used on the sealing surface and also on the outlet pipe consistent with substandard previous workmanship. The inspector observed there was an excessive amount of the silicone applied to the exterior of the thermostat housing and it was dark and and distorted suggesting excessive heat. There were excessive amounts of the grey silicone used with the cork thermostat housing gasket, suggesting an improper repair. There was no battery in the vehicle at the onset of this inspection. The technician hooked up a jumper box to the vehicle's electrical system and added approximately 1 gallon of water to the radiator while the engine was running and verified the engine started and ran; however, it was displacing water from the radiator, consistent with combustion gases entering the cooling system and internal engine problem. The water was leaking to a fast drip state from the thermostat housing area as well. The inspector observed irregular whining noises were audible that sounded like they were emanating from the power steering pump and could represent a problem with the power steering pump; however, the power steering fluid was low in the reservoir and that could be the problem causing the noise from the pump; however, the inspector was not able to run the vehicle long enough during this inspection to properly test the power steering system or any of the other problems referenced in the instructions above due to the severity of the water leaking from between the thermostat housing and where the gray silicone had been applied. There was currently a Security L3600A OF195 oil filter on the adapter that was tight and showed no evidence of impact, swelling or leaks apparent. The leaking thermostat housing needs to be repaired and the internal engine problem corrected before the power steering and other problems can be checked thoroughly. Cause of Failure/Conclusion: The engine has an internal problem that will require disassembly to pinpoint the root cause and extent of the internal problem; however, the evidence indicated the thermostat housing leak was significant and operation while dangerously low on coolant is suspected to have caused excessive internal engine operating temperatures (overheating) and the internal engine problem now present. In the absence of additional evidence or other repairs performed, it is suspected the shop who serviced the thermostat added the gray silicone and would be responsible for the leak emanating from the thermostat housing and the internal problem. After the engine is running then the rest of the problems referenced above can be checked and/or verified. Unfortunately, Ms. ***** was unable to provide documentation to support her beliefs and the results of the investigation by the independent inspector and the claims department showed no fault by our store so her claim was denied. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/08/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The store has receipts showing that the engine that was worked on 2/12/11 was in perfect working order there mechanic's did a poor engine oil change. The paper supports what I have said there was not one think wrong with my van on the on 12 and yet two days later I had a blown engine there own people have said it was there fault. They do not want to take responsibiliy for an engine that they had serviced from the day I bought it and they continued to be the mechanic. On that Monday there reports shows during there inspection that there was no oil leaks or raditor leaks or any other problems or they would have brought that to my attention. As that is Tire's Plus policy. The report that shows nothing wrong with my van. Yet not 36 miles later were they had put a new oil filter was full of oil. ******* and I was under that van and she could not explain what could have gone wrong except our mechinics didn't cause this. I also asked why would you not tell me that I was leaking anything by your own inspection. Firestone doesn't want to take respondisbilty for a company they didn't even own at the time. The inspector who went to the 3rd party inspection also had to the mechanic tire's plus had done all the damage to this van on both engines but they used a welding material against me and thats how there justifing there action. There manager has all the proof in documents that shows a perfect running van until they did that oil change. There claim that I had an oil leak is false that van which I had never had one issue with never burned a quart of oil. Suddenly has coolant problem and oil leakage that they are the cause of. How can they claim they are not respondsible when you take your vehicle in there they have a 21 inspection from oil to tires to breaks to coolant they check fluids and you give me a slip saying every thing is perfect and then my engine was gone. Firestone by there own employee who was my advacate knows all they are saying is false all the paperswork she had recieved has proven without a doubt Tires's Plus under the management of ******* blow this engine and I have been take to the cleaners by them Final Business Response /* (4000, 20, 2014/08/28) */ The copies she sent only confirm the denial. On 2/27/12 she states the car was in excellent condition...the invoice states the engine warning light was on, the abs warning light was on,the l/r tail light was broken and the spare tire had steel showing. This vehicle was far from excellent condition. Our store only performed a courtesy check and was not authorized to do any diagnostics. The engine was replaced several hundred miles later and was replaced. The replacement engine had a 6 month 6,000 mile warranty and it failed about 2 years and 3months later when she overheated it and continued to drive it in that condition. This was determined to be a warranty issue and not a claim issue so the claim was closed. The warranty issue was also closed since it was well beyond the warranty period. Prior to the claim being closed we did have an independent inspector look over the engine. He concluded that the vehicle overheated from continuous use when the coolant was too low. Either the customer or another shop had attempted to put silicon or a liquid weld substance on the thermostat housing in an attempt to stop a coolant leak instead of performing a proper repair. The housing continued to leak and ultimately cause the head gaskets to fail as evidenced by combustion gases coming out of the radiator. All of the invoices and inspections she sent were just duplicates of what our claims department already had before the inspector was sent. No new documentation has been received to support her beliefs so the status of her complaint remains declined. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2014/08/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I will get all the copies to support what I am saying and will forward to you here at better business bureau

8/18/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ON January 30, 2013 i purchased (4) Affinity Touring tires for my 2011 Ford Focus after search for the best deal for my money. This tires are supposed to give me 70,000 miles why after 42,000 miles I need new tires. I brought my car in for a routine oil change and told the guy to check my tire because the guy at Mr. ***** in May 2014 said that my car almost didn't pass inspection because of the tread on my tires I almost passed **** I thought he was just trying to make some more money out of me not being aware that he was serious. In the pass when I bring my car in for service at firestone I ask the guy to check my car for to see if i need any alignments, tire rotation, balance and was told everything was fine. I guess if they weren't trying to make a bigger profit off the customer they could help them save money. My only regret is that I didn't go with ******** Tire's they may cost an arm & leg but at the end of the day your stilling rolling. Also the guy at firestone offer me a prerated for the tires in all i would be out of over $600 dollars.PLEASE HELP

Desired Settlement: Replacing the tires at no cost.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/05) */ I spoke with Our Customer and explained our warranty. After she understood we agreed on the next step which will be to return to the store to have the tires replaced at agreed pricing.

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/19/2014, I took my daughter 2007 Nitro to Firestone/*** ****** located at **** E **** ******* because of a check engine light. I received a call on 4/21/2014 because the car was fixed and ready to be pickup. I paid approximately $360 - $370 for services for check engine light, smog test and oil change. On 4/23/2014, I bought the Nitro back because the engine light came back on. The repairs conducted....replace a part that was replaced on 4/19/2014, free of charge, because a hose was pinched. I received a call on 4/24/2014, car was fixed and ready for pickup, free of charge. Then I had to return on 4/28/2014 for the third time because the check engine light came back on on 4/27/2014. They need to keep the car for a few days because they needed to drop the gas tank. I left the car with them on 4/29/2014 so that they could drop the gas tank. I picked up the car on or about 5/2/2014. On 5/6/2014, the check engine light came back on for the fourth time. Also while putting some gas in, the gas spout opening cave in while tighten the gas cap. I decided to trade the car in because I no longer wanted to deal with it or *** **************** I have no problem paying for services like the smog test and oil change. But for the check engine light service(s), I feel that I paid for parts not needed because the check engine kept coming back on. And each time I bought it back, they kept telling me that it was other problems related to first problem and that there were different codes. I only can take them at their word just like I took them at their word that it was fixed three times. I used my Firestone credit card, if I would get a refund for the attempt service on the check engine light ($300.) because it was never fixed properly after three attempts.

Desired Settlement: $300 refund for three attempted repair services on check engine light problem.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/19) */ *** ***** is an independent dealer and not one of our company stores. Please contact the owner to assist with a resolution. Also remove the ******* store from this complaint since they had nothing to do with it. Thanks Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No but I will have to because it is independently own but carries the name Firestone/*** ****** I will contact the owner for *** *************** **** E **** ******* *** ****** ** XXXXX Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/05/20) */ thanks for the update

5/20/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Firestone Complete Auto Care-Chicago
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)