Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Deerfield Tire Co., Inc.

Phone: (847) 945-9550 Fax: (847) 945-9655 120 N. Waukegan Road, Deerfield, IL 60015 http://www.deerfieldtireco.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Deerfield Tire Co., Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Deerfield Tire Co., Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 22, 1989 Business started: 08/02/1973 Business started locally: 08/02/1973 Business incorporated 08/02/1973 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Garrett Garofolo, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Garrett Garofolo, President
Business Category

Tire Dealers Auto Air Conditioning Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service Radiators - Automotive Transmissions - Automobile Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops Auto Services Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile Auto Service - Tires/Batteries/Accessories Springs - Automotive - Sales & Service Tire Dealers (NAICS: 441320)

Alternate Business Names
Deerfield Firestone

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    120 N. Waukegan Road

    Deerfield, IL 60015

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This business installed four tires on my vehicle in December of 2012 on my 2007 Toyota Camry. This vehicle is equipped with tire pressure sensors that are integral to the tire valve stems. As part of the tire installation, Deerfield Tire Co. 'rebuilt' these sensors/valves, which included replacing seals, batteries, valve cores and valve caps. They also filled the tires with Nitrogen and used special, green-tipped caps to indicate this as necessary. The caps they used were metal rather than plastic. Recently, one of my tires became low. When I tried to remove the valve caps, I noticed that they had become corroded and 'seized' onto the valves, and I could not loosen them with my fingers. Foolishly (to my own admission), I attempted to loosen one of them with a wrench and broke one of the valves. I contacted Deerfield Tire on 9/16/14, immediately after breaking the tire valve. My intention was to ask what would be necessary to fix the valve that I had broken, and then to ask them to loosen the other that had corroded/seized. Before I was even able to to fully explain the situation, the man with whom I spoke immediately went on the defensive. First, he denied that his company had ever installed metal valve caps on any car, for the very reason that there is a great risk of corrosion/seizure. After I insisted that the valve caps were installed there, he then stated that the seized valves were likely a result of over-tightening by myself or some other repair shop that has serviced the car over the last (nearly) two years. He then told me that he can replace my broken valve/sensor for $129 and try to loosen the remaining three valve caps (charging me at their full labor rate to do so). If any of the other three caps don't come loose or break during their attempt to loosen, I would be responsible to pay another $129 per valve. My rebuttal to his argument is simple. First, to his own admission in his first defense, these metal valve caps are a problem. At some point (obviously after my vehicle had been serviced) Deerfield Tire made a conscious decision to switch to using plastic caps exclusively....most certainly because of potential corrosion issues. Second, in regard to over-tightening, no human (or super-human) has the hand strength to over-tighten a valve cap with their fingers, so much that the cap would permanently seize to the valve stem threads. Furthermore, I can say honestly, that in the past 22 months since I purchased these tires, I have never had a low pressure warning, and I have never added air. If I were to have a low tire, I would not add AIR unless it were an emergency. Instead, I would have the tires filled with NITROGEN, at the one place that wouldn't charge me for it since I bought my tires there- Deerfield Tire Co. I was flat-out accused of lying when I pointed out this fact. An honest business would not have jumped into defensive mode and accused me lying and trying to cheat them. An honest business would make an attempt to rectify the situation in a way that is fair to both parties.

Desired Settlement: Fix or repair three corroded/seized valve caps. Reimburse me for the cost of the broken valve/sensor. Had I been treated with some level of courtesy when I called, I would consider sharing the cost of the broken valve. But after being shot down, repeatedly accused of lying and improperly holding them responsible for their products and services, I expect a full reimbursement. Above all else, I expect an apology for the way I was treated on the phone.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/09/17) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@deerfieldtireco.com 9-17-14 Mr. ********, As I indicated to you yesterday when I called you in response to your complaint we are sorry you are having trouble with your Tire Pressure Monitoring System or "tpms" system. I am also sorry you feel you were mistreated over the phone. You purchased 4 tires from us on XX-XX-XX on your 2007 Toyota Camry hybrid. You have never returned to our store for anything, including any maintenance on the tires as required by the car and tire manufacture including air pressure checks, tire rotations, wheel alignment etc. That vehicle as stated by the car manufacture should have had multiple oil changes, multiple tire rotations, multiple alignment inspections and the air should have been checked many many times regardless whether your tire light was on or not over the course of the last two years. All these things would require the removal of the caps. Because you choose to go elsewhere for your auto maintenance or do it yourself, whichever we do not know who did what or not to the caps on your valves and there is no way to know if they are factually even ours or not. In addition there is a reason for time frames on warranty periods. We offer 12 months or 12 thousand mile warranty whichever comes first on our parts and labor as indicated to you when you called. You are way way beyond that. Our store has completed all the training and has been tpms certified since August 2006 and well before the government mandated introduction of the use of these sensors in September of 2007. We are now and always have used only tpms approved caps both plastic and what you would call metal. Also as I stated to you yesterday we did not replace the battery in the TPMS sensor when we replaced your tires as you state we did. The battery is not serviceable on any tpms sensor I know of as they are encased in epoxy, sealed up and not accessible. We replaced the nickel plated Schrader valve core, the cap, the valve nut and the rubber seal as mandated by the manufacture in an attempt to slow down corrosion. The sensor itself corrodes on its own in addition it sulfates do to conducting of electricity same as your car battery. The car battery requires periodic maintenance to clean up this corrosion to keep from it causing additional damage same as the tpms sensor does. Unfortunately as you stated to me yesterday you have been doing all your own maintenance and never removed the caps since they were put on. If that's the case, that in itself could be the problem. As I stated earlier they should have been removed and replaced many times over in the two years that we have not seen car in just checking the air pressure. The sensors are made out of a type of aluminum that corrodes on its own over time, and its conducting electricity causing the corrosion to be worse. Then add the fact where you live and drive you deal with what's called salt on the roads in the winter causing additional corrosion. We see sensors every day that need to be replaced due to corrosion with all different types of caps on many types of cars of all ages. Most tpms and car manufactures have a life expectancy of their sensors and their battery being 3 to 5 years the same as your car battery. So as I stated to you yesterday it also may be time to replace all the sensors since your cars sensors are now 7 years old. I am again sorry you felt mistreated when you called. I realize you were upset when you called due to the fact you had broken a sensor and my staff member that spoke with you who is Toyota master tech certified and very knowledgeable on your type of car said he tried to explain all this same information to you but you seemed to not want to hear it. We have been in business here for 41 years and I believe we have a 96 percent satisfaction rating for a reason. Our motto here is we are ladies and gentleman serving ladies and gentleman and everyone involved needs to conduct themselves accordingly regardless of the situation. I again apologize for your feeling and I have spoken to my staff member about how I would like him to handle himself regardless of the customer or the situation going forward in the future. As I write this I have already spoken to you yesterday about all of this but I must respond so everyone else understands. Our price as you were quoted for replacement of your sensor is $129.00. I replaced it for you yesterday for $82.22 providing you a significant good will customer satisfaction discount. In addition I told you I would attempt to remove the other caps for no charge and if another sensor would need replacement I would do it for the $82.22 each. Last night at about 6:30 pm you came into our store with your tire that was flat we replaced the sensor and you were on your way by 6:54pm to go put it on your car. My offer stands for the replacement price of the other sensors till September 30th 2014 after that they will be full price. Same holds true for attempting to remove the other 3 caps for free, offer ends September 30th 2014. I hope you will consider using us in the future for your services such as oil changes and tire rotations as opposed to doing it yourself. Our goal is to be your partner not your enemy. We just need the opportunity to help provide the training and expertise on what the proper maintenance that is needed. We do this all the time every day, our guys are certified in this stuff and we know how to remove stuck caps if they are at all removable as opposed to using a wrench and breaking the sensor. We also set air pressure on every car that comes in, so if there is a problem with a cap or something else we can catch it right away and well before you would break a sensor. Thank you for your business and the opportunity to help resolve your situation. I provided you my personal cell phone yesterday when I called you to resolve this. If you have any questions or problems you may call me anytime. ******* ******** Deerfield Tire co.

7/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were quoted a price on a new tire with service. I later called to see if a coupon could be used. It was a new employee (I later found out) and she said yes. I questioned it again since it said for service and I was getting a tire and service. She again said yes the $25 (amount of coupon) will just come off the service price. I showed up and was talked over and mistreated and told that it was a new employee and they can't honor the coupon. He scoffed at me when I told him I would go elsewhere. Later the owner never apologized for the way his employee treated me and also said that ******** (the new employee) clearly told me I couldnt use the coupon. So he essentially said I lied.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to apologize for me being given the wrong information and the way ***** treated me instead of saying that ******** CLEARLY told me no. ***** argued with me when I said that I was going to go somewhere else when I was told I couldn't use the coupon. I don't appreciate that. I was a customer of theirs and was mistreated.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/24) */ I am again very sorry for your experience and confusion at my store yesterday with my staff. I have copied my response to you yesterday below; I had apologized 3 times for your experience and confusion. In addition I said the coupon would be rewritten going forward as to avoid this type of confusion in the future. We at Deerfield Tire through 3 different employees have attempted to explain this multiple times and you have agreed here again that we have said it. The coupon is for service and not tires and when you called on the phone and said you were coming in for tires and service and could you use the coupon, ******** said the coupon could not be applied to tires and it could potentially be applied to whatever service work you were getting only. The coupon in question as it is written is for $25.00 off of $200.00 or more in service work. When you came in ***** attempted to explain it to you again and again I apologize for any misunderstanding or offense taken in the process. The quote given to your husband twice yesterday was out the door for a specialty type runflat tire of $259.35 with a price of $210.00 just for the tire. Then $16.99 was for the state sales tax, $2.50 in Illinois state tire tax, $2.50 in tire disposal fee, this Leaving $25.00 in labor for the tire installation and to reset your tire pressure monitor. None of this is considered service repair work. So this coupon is not applicable here. However even if you had mistakenly considered the package price tire install labor as useable that's only $25.00 in cost you still would have to spend an additional $175.00 in service work before the coupon could be applied as it is written. Since the coupon again says $25.00 off of $200.00 or more in service work. We again are sorry for any confusion or offense taken. My previous response to you on 6/23/2014 I am sorry for your experience. I spoke with ******** and she recalls clearly telling you over the phone today that you cannot use the coupon on the tire, its only for service. I am sorry she was not there when you came in to clarify it for you. In addition the coupon itself says it is for service and not tires. I again am sorry for your confusion I have had that coupon posted for over 3 years and never had any problem with any customer understanding it till today. I personally will get it clarified even further going forward. Since opening 41 years ago we have prided ourselves in offering an exceptionally high value for our customers on the tires and service work we provide. We try hard but cannot satisfy everyone. However with a 96 percent satisfaction rating it seems most of our customers also agree with our prices and quality of service over the 41 years we have been in business. Our prices are extremely competitive on our tires and we just simply cannot afford to apply any additional coupon to our already aggressive tire prices. I checked again today and our tire price is cheaper than every single place on the Internet and locally that I have checked and most locally do not even have it in stock and would have to order it in. I again apologize for any confusion but we are a business ,we are entitled to make a modest profit and we just simply cannot afford to work for free.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Deerfield Tire Co., Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)