Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Acorn Tire-Naperville

Additional Locations

Phone: (630) 355-3200 275 E Ogden Ave., Naperville, IL 60563 http://www.acorntire.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Acorn Tire-Naperville meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Acorn Tire-Naperville include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Acorn Tire-Naperville
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 10, 2010 Business started: 01/01/1928 Business started locally: 01/01/1928
Business Management
Mr. Frank G. Aleman, Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Frank G. Aleman, Director
Business Category

Tire Dealers Tire Dealers (NAICS: 441320)


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Been customer of Acorn since 02/08/10. 07/30/13 Invoice # N-XXXXXX - Valve cover gasket replaced, $450 11/12/13 Invoice # N-XXXXXX - Valve cover gasket replaced 11/16/13 Invoice # N-XXXXXX - Check for oil leak. 11/20/13 Invoice # N-XXXXXX - Valve cover gasket replaced. 12/18/14 Invoice # N-XXXXXX - Oil smell in car. MULTIPLE LEAKS on vehicle. 12/26/14 Invoice # N-XXXXXX - Followup on tracer dye. Replaced a/c compressor. 01/05/15 Invoice # N-XXXXXX Check for leaks, Replaced oil pan gasket. 05/23/15 - Took car to third party because car was overheating. Found that fan had become disconnected. At that time, I was informed of poor workmanship on the valve cover gasket repair. A sealant was applied on the outside of the gasket, apparently to stop leakage. Although there is no leak at this time, I was told it's just a matter of time before the leak happens again. 05/25/15 - Memorial Day. 05/26/15 - Took car to Acorn to discuss problem about the gasket cover issue. Manager was off that day. Discussed problem with head mechanic (***). He indicated he would talk to tech whom serviced the car and also let the manager know of my concerns. At this time, I STILL have not received a return call from Acorn.AT this point I have very little trust in their workmanship. I have had other repairs there took more than one time to resolve.

Desired Settlement: Refund for the amount I spent on replacing the valve cover gasket. It took them 4 tries to fix the problem and at the end the gasket cover was sealed on the outside.Poor workmanship.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/07/15) */ Hello Mr. ******, I'm sorry for the frustration this situation has caused, it is my understanding that ****** refunded you for the service. I hope you are satisfied with this resolution. Regards, ***** ****** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2015/07/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

7/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Be aware please do not bring your cars here! The mechanics are incompetent. I brought my BMW X3 in for issues with AC. I was suggested to do a recharge which I was told should take care of the AC and at that time they would also put in a dye to see if there were any leaks. I was charged $189 for the service. 4 days after the Ac was not working again at that time my husband brought back the car in again to figure out what was happening. Acorn Tire at that time checked for the leak and could not locate it and decided to put more Freon in along with a dye and asked us to return again in 2 days (for the third time) to see where the leak is. After bringing the car for the third time they still could not locate the leak and now suggested to have another thing looked at which was now going to cost me over $1,900.00. Keep in mind they are still not sure that this will fix my current problem. We decided to wait and research more on the suggested service. That was on July 2nd that we visited Acorn tire. On July 14th I took my car into BMW dealership for yearly maintenance service and to my surprise I was told that my car was missing the Skid Shield which is like a panel/cover that is placed under the car. I asked them is it anywhere near the AC system. They confirmed that yes it is. I was stunned and right after the services from the dealership I went straight to Acorn Tire and spoke with the Manager. While waiting in the shop for the fourth time the Manager comes over and quietly whispers and confirms that the panels are still sitting in the back and apparently his excuse was since they were busy on the day that we last went they forgot to put it back on. He continues to whisper and tells me that they'll "take care of it" for me. Like they are doing me a huge favor by fixing it for me.This was surely Red flag! For me. Know I get the felling what if they are trying to sabotage my car as the AC system never gave me trouble at all. It worked perfectly fine in the prior summer. I took the car in for something else in December what if they screwed up something at that time. Well I will never know now. Now on another Issue I had purchased 4 new tires from them for the same car along with warranties. I was told these would cover parts and labor for the time that they were under warranty. After getting the tire installed I had nothing but trouble with them. If it wasnt a flat then it was always pressure issues with them. It came to a point that one of the tire would need to be replaced. I was told that it would cost me additional for the new tires I explained to them that they are under warranty and should not be costing me to get them replaced. They kept insisting that its not and that it shows nothing in their computer system. Luckily I had saved my receipt from that purchased and showed it to them. It clearly stated that it would cover parts and labor. Still they were trying to get the labor cost out of me. I did not give in. I was just relieved that I had saved that receipt. We for sure won't go back here, considering they screwed two things up. If you want my advice stay away from Acorn tire, I used to think you were great.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I am seeking refund of $188.69 for the service charges that I paid for on June 26th. As they were not able to fix the problem.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/15) */ Hello *****, I read your Yelp complaint and I'm sorry for what happened. I immediately called **** (the store manager) and after hearing the full story, I fired the mechanic that forgot to put your shield back on your car. I assure you I do not tolerate sloppy work on any car. Again I am sorry and embarrassed for this issue. I can write you a check for the $188, would you like me to mail it to your house or would you be willing to pick it up at the store? Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/07/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thanks for your response, yes please mail the check. *****

11/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Acorn Tire-Naperville
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)