Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Acorn Tire-Hoffman Estates

Phone: (847) 882-0600 Fax: (847) 882-0612 100 E. Higgins Rd., Hoffman Estates, IL 60169 http://www.acorntire.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Acorn Tire-Hoffman Estates meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Acorn Tire-Hoffman Estates include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Acorn Tire-Hoffman Estates
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 08, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1928 Business started locally: 01/01/1928
Business Management
Mr. Frank G. Aleman, Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Frank G. Aleman, Director
Business Category

Tire Dealers Tire Dealers (NAICS: 441320)


Additional Locations

  • 100 E. Higgins Rd.

    Hoffman Estates, IL 60169 (847) 882-0600

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
11/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought in my **** *** ***** for light bulb replacement on ******* 25th. When picking up the car I noticed there was condensation on the inside of the headlight they worked on. I was told this was normal and would go away. The night of ******* 28th it rained, and the condensation worsened. The same bulb they changed went out again. I took it in on ******* 29th, and they explained it was not sealed properly. They got the bulb working and assured me it was sealed. When I left the shop my Adaptive Headlight failed. I called the shop back, and **** said it was due to the fact the "o ring" was degrading, and it was nothing they caused. He said in fact their notes showed condensation form the first visit which is why the bulb failed to begin with. When I explained that is impossible and I have dozens of witnesses who see my car daily who would tell you there was no condensation, he referred to me *****. ***** looked at the notes and said there were no notes that said there was condensation on the first visit, only on the second visit after the damage was done. They asked me to bring it in again. I instead, first stop at ******* *** to let them inspect it. The service Manager, ****, showed me how they had broken the clips on the back of the headlight, then tried to seal it with red tape and glue. He advised me to take pictures of it. I did. He explained it was consistent with someone trying to change the bulb through the wrong opening. I asked if it could have been like that (broken) previous to the repair, and he explained that if it was the headlight would have failed previously and/or shown major water condensation. I have witnesses from work and from the neighborhood that can attest the car had no condensation or damage until Acorn Tire worked on it. I also have service records from *** for other repairs/inspection that show no signs of needing headlight repair. I took it to Acorn Tire and they said they were going to look at it. They simply removed all of the tape/Glue they put on it and sent it out saying they can't do anything about it. They claim that they never touched that part of the light and the compartment they used was totally different. ***** said ***** (owner) stopped into the shop that morning and said they weren't going to do anything about it. They referred me to *****, whom I left a voice message and email for. When I went to leave my battery was dead, as they left the interior lights/radio on. They jump started my car which caused my DSC/4x4 lights to come on which I also showed to them. They admitted it may have been from improperly jumping it. Acorn Tire called the *** and **** again told the manager, *****, over the phone that the right thing to do was to fix it, because it was obvious they damaged the bulb. He said *****' response was "well, that's not going to happen". I have tried to call/Email ***** from Acorn Tire. I have had a second *** Service center look at the car and they too agree this would be caused by someone trying to access the light bulb through the wrong hole. I am simply asking for them to make right what they damaged.

Desired Settlement: I am looking to have the job corrected. The Adaptive Headlight repaired, as well as the headlight housing replaced as it is full of water and stained on the inside now. It is also required in order to replace the back of the vents where the clips were busted off. The estimate from the dealer was around $2700. They did explain if the problem is not corrected it could lead to more extensive electrical damage. I do not want to drive the car for fear of further damage, but I have no other mode of transportation for work.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/04) */ I am sorry that this happened and we will make a wrong turn into a something right again. Thank you for allowing us this opportunity. ***** ** Director, Acorn Tire


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Acorn Tire-Hoffman Estates
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)