BBB Accredited Business since

Acorn Tire-Chicago

Additional Locations

Phone: (773) 539-2970 Fax: (773) 539-7908 6200 N Lincoln Ave, Chicago, IL 60659

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Acorn Tire-Chicago meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Acorn Tire-Chicago include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Acorn Tire-Chicago
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 26, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1928 Business started locally: 01/01/1928
Business Management
Mr. Frank G. Aleman, Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Frank G. Aleman, Director
Number of Employees


Business Category

Tire Dealers Auto Air Conditioning Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Lubricating Service - Automotive Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Transmissions - Automobile Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Service - Tires/Batteries/Accessories Steering Systems & Equipment Tire Dealers (NAICS: 441320)

Alternate Business Names
Acorn Niles Corp. Acorn Tire/Goodyear

Additional Locations

  • 1580 N Aurora Rd

    Naperville, IL 60563

  • 275 E Ogden Ave

    Naperville, IL 60563

  • 6200 N Lincoln Ave

    Chicago, IL 60659 (773) 539-2970


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had service done on my 1998 explorer at ***** Tire in ************* on this day I had them replace a fan belt,which it took them almost 3 hours to complete when I was told it would be less than 1 hour wait. The next day I took the truck on a far drive on an expressway with my 4yr old in the car although we made it to our destination on the way home my truck started to smoke from under the hood and the temp gage went from a normal temperature to over heating in seconds I was lucky that this happened as I was exiting off expressway and was able to get the truck home,seeing as I live right off the expressway.When arrived home I lifted the hood and smoke was pouring out so much I could not even see the engine,once the smoke cleared I inspected the engine and surrounding area and discovered that the fan belt had shredded and wrapped itself around the fan.I had a small utility knife in the back of the truck that I used to remove the shredded pieces from the belt And I spent a good hour doing this,but i did take a picture before i removed it.I then contacted the store and at first they said they would send a tow truck and fix the issue and then the manager Joseph contacted me back and stated that he would not be able to send the tow truck but that he would be happy to look at the truck if i could get it to the location,knowing the truck would not make it,i told him i would try. I then contacted the other location on ******** in ********** where i usually take my trucks.I spoke with **** and he only offered to replace the fan belt,but i would take the truck to them becuse it was closer to me.I took the truck and they changed the belt,but also stated that one of the pulleys of the belt was loose and that may have caused the belt to shred and that the fan clutch was blown and some other other issues that he was sure was caused by the belt,and that he was not sure if the pulley was loose before or if it occurred due to the belt not being placed properly,but if they put the belt on they should of noticed that the pulley was loose and told me in order to fix it.I called the location one more time after this and asked if they would fix the truck and was told that they did not cause the damage .i then contacted there corporate office and they sent them notice and did not respond to me.I waited 2months and contacted them this afternoon,and again was told by Joseph that he would call me back next Friday.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to repair all damages caused and compensate me for the time I have not been able to use my car.I believe that these demands are not to much to ask for

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********* Ms. ***** came in on 5/20/2013 requesting that the serpentine belt be replaced. She was adamant about ONLY having the belt replaced and nothing else. We then replaced the belt. She drove off and the belt failed due to the fact that she had a faulty water pump. She then refused to return to the store where she had the work done and went to the other location at **** ***** ****** rd. Service Manager **** remembers her and the events that day vividly, Mike states that before he pulls the car into the shop he opens the hood notices the faulty water pump which caused the belt to fail. **** then gave her a discounted price to replace the water pump and warranty the belt at no charge. She refused the work, stating that she had a relative do the work for less money. **** then told her that if she does not replace the faulty water pump than the belt warranty will be void. She then seemed upset and left the store. After she complained to the store manager at our *** ***** store, my manager tried repeatedly to get a hold of her. In closing Ms. ****** ***** had multiple problems with her car that made the belt shred and fall off. When she came in stating "I only want the Belt replaced" that's what we did. When we looked for other problems leading to the cause of the belt frailer she refused the work. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2013/09/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) first of all I can not believe that a company can get away with the way you are answering my responses,I find it to be very disrespectful,and the fact that my account is under my husbands name and or mine is beside the point,I have asked for a response from the location that caused these issues,not the location that attempted to repair and or review the issues.As far as still driving the car that is an untrue I stated before the car has been sitting ever since I had the belt replaced at the ******** location.I do not understand how this is being handled and would like an answer from the location that caused the issue as far as the ******** location the day I took my truck to this location the manager looked at the truck and he himself stated that the other location when they changed the belt if anything was loose they should have told me about the issue on that day when the belt was being replaced that is what I was told by **** at the ******** location. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/09/05) */ That statement is un true. In my 25 years as tech and a shop owner I have never heard a story or seen that a belt causes a water pump to go bad (especially with a self tensioning Belt tensioner)but in fact the other way around, The water pump causes belts to go bad because the bearing wears out and shakes so bad that the belt goes out of alignment. You insisted replacing the belt only because it was bad period. The facts are that there was more problems then that and you said "I only want the belt replaced" Your car is far from brand new and things will go bad regardless of how you drive it. We gave you a fair price on the belt and you want us to cover something that caused the problem? I can't believe your still driving with a bad water pump? Good luck to you Ms. ***** BTW why are you using different names when you come in for service?

4/22/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/15/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues