Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Broadway in Chicago

Additional Locations

Phone: (312) 977-1701 17 N. State St.  Suite 810, Chicago, IL 60602 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.broadwayinchicago.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Broadway in Chicago include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Broadway in Chicago
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 23, 2003 Business started: 01/01/2002 Business started locally: 01/01/2002
Business Management
Eileen LaCario, VP Ms. Amy Houston, Director of Ticketing Operations Mr. Rudy Voit, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Eileen LaCario, VP
Customer Contact: Mr. Rudy Voit, Customer Service Manager
Business Category

Ticket Sales - Events Theaters All Other Travel Arrangement and Reservation Services (NAICS: 561599)

Alternate Business Names
Bank of America Theater Broadway In Chicago LLC Cadillac Theater Ford Center for the Performing Arts, Oriental Theatre

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    151 W Randolph Street

    Chicago, IL 60601

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    17 N. State St.
    Suite 810

    Chicago, IL 60602

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    22 W. Monroe, Ste 700

    Chicago, IL 60603

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    24 W Randolph

    Chicago, IL 60601

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My daughter and I went to see "THE BOOK OF MORMAN" at the **************a Theater Mar 28, 2015 at 2pm, and it turned out to be my worst theater experience ever. We sat in seat ************* in the Orchestra Section on the right side of an aisle. I was told that these are full view seats when I purchased the tickets at the box office for $100 each. Shortly after the show started, a big women in a very tall wheel chair was wheeled in. They set her right in front us. I could manage to see from the aisle, but my daughter's view was completely blocked. I asked the usher whether it was possible to move the wheel chair to the aisle. The usher told me that I had to talk to the manager outside. So I went to the manager and explained to her that the women in the tall wheel chair was blocking my daughter's view (and the view of people behind us). I asked her whether she could move the wheel chair to the aisle. She said, "No. I cannot move her to the aisle. The seat in front of you was taken out for wheelchair." I said "but the wheel chair is really tall. This is not fair to us" She replied:" why don't you switch with your daughter?". I said to her "but my daughter is taller than me and that the wheel chair is really tall". She said, "It is not that tall, I wheeled her in. The show is sold out, there is nothing that I can do." The women in the wheel chair is almost two heads above the person next to her. I don't know how she can call it "not that tall". I have a picture to show that. I returned to the theater, sat down in my daughter's seat, and could barely see anything. Then I noticed that on the left side of the aisle, there is room to put in the wheel chair. The space is in front of the control station so it will not block anyone. So I went to the manager again, and told her that there is space for the wheelchair to the left side of the aisle. She simply replied: "I am not moving her." If she was just not being helpful earlier, she was simply being difficult and unreasonable the second time. I asked her name and she refused to give me. She said: "I am the house manager here and you can complain to Broadway in Chicago". Frustrated beyond belief, I returned to my seat. Out of desperation, I asked the woman in the wheelchair whether she could move. The woman agreed but said that they might have me move back. Thanks to this reasonable woman in wheelchair, I was able to see the rest of the show. But I was so upset with the house manager, that I could not concentrate and enjoy the rest of the show. I was looking forward to the show, but ended up missing a good part of it and all the fun. It was totally unfair.

Desired Settlement: Disciplinary action against the house manager, apology and refund

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2015/05/05) */ The seats in question are not considered limited view. When a show comes to one of our theatres, we make a determination on each location based on the set. We have received no other complaints about these locations. We unfortunately cannot move someone in a wheelchair to the aisle as it will block the aisle. Our Customer Service Office communicated with this guest. This guest stayed for the whole show. We offered to have her come back to see The Book of Mormon at no charge and she declined. We offered to keep her on our offer comp list, where we will invite her back to a future show, that we have comp tickets for. It was explained that she will stay on this list until we find a show that will work for her, and she accepted. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 17, 2015/05/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The company is either missing the point about the complaint or trying not to take responsibilities of its wrong doings by focusing on the location of the seat. The seats are not suppose to be limited views, which I agree and that is precisely why I was upset when my view was blocked and the theater's house manager refuse to do anything about it. I stayed till the end of show only because I talked to the women in the tall wheelchair and she eventually moved to the aisle. This happened after I already missed a good part of the show trying to resolve the matter with the house manager. Not to mention that I was so upset that i could not enjoy the show. They did later offer me to see the show at no charge but it was on a few hours' notice for a weekday evening show. That is not going to work with my busy schedule. I question their sincerity. I was told that they will keep me on their list should comp tickets become available. I am waiting to see what will happen. To say that I have accepted their offer is a false statement. Final Business Response /* (4000, 25, 2015/07/28) */ Customer accepted offer of tickets to another show. Spoke with our Executive Director of Sales and confirmed she had a great time. We are going to speak with House Staff regarding Customer Service. And ask future producers to take the comments on these seat locations into consideration. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 27, 2015/07/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Broadway in Chicago
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)