Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Chicago Controls Thermostats, Inc.

Phone: (773) 593-0434 Fax: (773) 589-0434 6351 W Montrose Ave STE 323, Chicago, IL 60634

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Chicago Controls Thermostats, Inc, is a thermostat company which sells tamperproof lockable thermostats for landlords. The company was founded in 2005 and sells nationwide.

This company creates thermostats that prevent abuse of free heat and air policies by tenants by creating limits on how low or high that a thermostat can be set. There are a variety of different settings available on the thermostats, including ones that will not allow the air conditioner to be set below 76 degrees, or the heat above 68 degrees. Certain thermostats are created with the elderly and very young in mind and therefore and designed to allow slightly higher heat and slightly lower air conditioner. Other thermostats automatically set the heat back to 68 degrees after a specific period of higher temperatures, or reset to a higher level of air conditioner after a period of cooling. All the thermostats are tamper-proof because the setting limits are programmed directly into the circuit board and therefore cannot be changed without removing and replacing the circuit board. There are not security codes or programming necessary in order to install the units and there are no lock boxes necessary.

Visit the website for Chicago Controls Thermostats, Inc, to learn more about tamperproof lockable thermostats, read about their free tamperproof thermostats program, and order tamperproof thermostats for an apartment complex.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chicago Controls Thermostats, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Chicago Controls Thermostats, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 05, 2009 Business started: 01/01/2005 Business started locally: 01/01/2005 Business incorporated 02/03/2009 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Michael Lyle, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Lyle, Owner
Business Category

Thermostats Security Control Equipment & System Monitors Heating & Air Conditioning Seals - Security Automatic Environmental Control Manufacturing for Residential, Commercial, and Appliance Use (NAICS: 334512)

Additional Locations

  • 6351 W Montrose Ave STE 323

    Chicago, IL 60634 (773) 593-0434


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/6/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a thermostat from Chicago Controls Thermostat, Inc. on Dec. 12, 2015 order ****** It arrived defective and the thermostat did not function as advertised. I had the same issue as a previous person who submitted a complaint here where the thermostat could be set to any temperature completely defeating the purpose of this temperature control thermostat. So I called the customer service number on their site numerous times for several days no answer. I sent them several emails and no reply. So I returned the thermostat with a detailed letter in hopes they refund my money for the faulty thermostat they sold. It has been weeks since they received the return and I have yet to be refunded. I shipped the return via USPS tracking number ***************************** They offer a 30 day money back warranty on their products and I returned the thermostat well within 30 days.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund of the purchase price $65.75 and the $9 i spent to ship the faulty thermostat back to them.

Business Response:

Hello, we apologize for the problem. We have refunded 59.95 plus 14.80 for a total of 74.75.  And we will send you a new unit. We do have a very low failure rate, but they are electrical co

mponents and occasionally fail. Again, our apologies for the inconvenience this has caused you. 

All the best.....the new free  unit will ship today.

10/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased two ****** Auto Setback Thermostats. I purchased them in September of 2014. (order ****** They have a warranty period of one year. As of June this past year (2015) one of the units failed and would not stop calling for heat. I talked to a plumber who said the unit was bad and to send it back and get a replacement. Mind you the thermostat downstairs has been no issue...yet. I called chicago controls in early June and spoke with a "manager" she said to send the unit back for a replacement. I sent the unit back (with tracking thankfully) (USPS #XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX) the unit arrived at their address on 24 June. Since that time I have tried calling their office 7 one answers the phone. I went on facebook and found that they were corresponding with another customer so I wrote asking for help. Again no answer. Finally I left a 2 star review on their page and someone got back to me saying they would "look into it" its now been a full 10 days since that interaction. Again I tried calling and emailing...nothing.

Desired Settlement: After not hearing from anyone in the company for over a month I want the company to step up and send me a new unit or refund my money. Beyond that I want them to actually provide customer service which apparently is something they don't know how to do.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/08/11) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* **** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX cell Contact Email: ******** We did receive the complaint regatding the faulty unit. Gave customer choice of refund or new unit......he chose refund We sent check #**** on July 30 for $64.95 which also covered his additional shipping. Check has cleared bank.

2/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: i purchased a landlord tamperproof thermostat online using paypal. I emailed them to not send it to me instead they did. They said if you want a refund credited to your credit card please mail it to us and we will do it on the same day. i mailed it first class it was supposed to get to them December 23 they told me because of the holiday we did not get it.Ever since then i was emailing them calling and they just ignore me by not answering thru email or on the phone they said we will call you back they never did that. By now i am sure they got it in the mail they just do not want to refund me.please help me to get them to give me a credit on my American express credit card

Desired Settlement: a credit on my American express credit card for fifty one dollars and ninety five cents

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/02/06) */ Contact Name and Title: Chicago Controls ******* Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX Contact Email: ***** Hello, Mr ****** claims to have returned a thermostat for whatever reason. We never received the return. However, in good faith, we have refunded in full the amount paid. The original Paypal transaction was too old to reverse (60 day max) therefore we simply sent him $53.95 to his Paypal account. A copy of the transaction is below. PayPal Search PayPalSearch Skip to main content Transaction Details Payment Sent (Unique Transaction ID # 7SXXXXXXJGXXXXXXW) Sent to: ***** ****** (The recipient of this payment is Verified) Email: ********* Amount sent: -$53.95 USD Fee amount: $0.00 USD Net amount: -$53.95 USD Date: Feb 6, 2014 Time: 13:12:08 PST Status: Completed Subject: You have sent $53.95 USD to ***** ****** with PayPal Funding Type: PayPal Balance Funding Source: $53.95 USD - PayPal Account PayPal Search PayPalSearch Skip to main content Log Out Help Security and Protection My Account Overview Add Money Withdraw History Resolution Center Profile Send Money Request Money Merchant Services Products & Services Transaction Details Payment Sent (Unique Transaction ID # 7SXXXXXXJGXXXXXXW) Sent to: ***** ****** (The recipient of this payment is Verified) Email: ********* Amount sent: -$53.95 USD Fee amount: $0.00 USD Net amount: -$53.95 USD Date: Feb 6, 2014 Time: 13:12:08 PST Status: Completed Subject: You have sent $53.95 USD to ***** ****** with PayPal Funding Type: PayPal Balance Funding Source: $53.95 USD - PayPal Account

11/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failed to ship paid merchandise and did not return any of my calls or replied to any of my emails. Order #1103 Product Quantity Price PREPRG71 Pre-Programmed

Desired Settlement: Send item or refund full amount.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/11) */ We received order from Mr ***** Sunday 11/03/2013 He received a confirmation email same day. He called the office and spoke to Hope Thursday 11/08. The order shipped 11/11 USPS priority Tracking #XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX additional email sent confirming shipping. He placed the complaint with the BBB 5 business days after placing the order. I believe that it is somewhat premature to complain this quickly. We will be happy to refund upon receipt of thermostat back . Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/11/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) my several contacts via phone and emails with this vendor never received a reply from this them. apparently this vendor does not think that timely customer service is important and chose to ignored all my requests instead. my credit card should not have been debited until the order was shipped, but this vendor charged my card 7 days before was order shipped. All I wanted was and answer as to the status of my order. If they would have communicated with me to give a shipment date all this could have been avoided. Hint: Improve your communication with customers if you want to avoid complaints. P.S. at this point I hope that the product I bought will fair better than their very poor (actually, non-existing) customer service.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Chicago Controls Thermostats, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)