This business is not BBB accredited.

Harpo Productions, Inc.

Phone: (312) 633-1000 Fax: (312) 633-1976 110 N Carpenter Street, Chicago, IL 60607 http://www.oprah.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Harpo Productions, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Harpo Productions, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 14, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1986 Business started locally: 01/01/1986 Business incorporated 05/21/1986 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Bernard Gugar, General Council Mr. William Becker, General Counselor
Contact Information
Principal: Bernard Gugar, General Council
Business Category

Television Program Producers Television Stations & Broadcast Companies Independent Artists, Writers, and Performers (NAICS: 711510)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Harpo Productions, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    110 N Carpenter Street

    Chicago, IL 60607 (312) 633-1000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/14/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 4th 2014 I purchased the e course for brene browns book the gift of imperfection. When participating in the course I mentioned that the courage board the main way of communicating in the class and turning in assignments was not working for me. I was told to clear my cookies, try another computer. I did all these things tied my iPhone, iPad, laptop, my sisters computer, the library computer, my husbands computer and my computer none of these allowed me on the courage board, I complained again with no resolve, I eventually gave up and never could finish the class. I feel bad for filing this complainant but I have no other recourse, I don't want anyone else to get ripped off from this ecourse which seems to be unfortunately a dud.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund or this to be fixed so I can do the course as I think it would be beneficial for me, and it seems like a really neat course.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/27) */ We corresponded with this user beginning when she first alerted us of her issues, on April 11, through April 18, trying to get down to the root of her technical issues. The tech team verified that she had access to the referenced board under a specific user account, which we made sure she knew, and she was still having difficulty accessing the board. The tech team also did a thorough Quality Assurance check of the board itself on April 11 (when we first received her email) to make sure that various user profiles all had access. We continued to work with her according to our troubleshooting guide. In our last correspondence on April 18, we asked her to try a different browser and let us know if she was still having difficulty, and she never responded after that point. She never requested a refund or let us know she was still having trouble, so this complaint comes as a complete surprise.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Harpo Productions, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart