BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/2010


Phone: (773) 399-1600Fax: (773) 399-1588View Additional Phone Numbers8420 W Bryn Mawr Ave, Ste #400, ChicagoIL 60631-3489 Send email to InterCallView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


InterCall is a communication consultation company which provides connective technology, web conferencing, videoconferencing, and consultation services for business which require innovative connectivity services to keep their offices and workers communicating effectively across long distances. Located in Chicago, IL, this company serves businesses nationally and internationally as well as the greater Chicagoland area, including Hoffman Estates, Lake Villa, Deerfield, Crystal Lake, Highland Park, Lake Forest, Great Lakes, Roselle, Rosemont, Elgin, St Charles, Mount Prospect, Rockford, Joliet, Naperville, and Evanston. The company has been in business since 1991 and supports over 75,000 organizations, with over 85% of Fortune 100 companies using InterCall for their distance communication needs. In 2012 alone, the company executed over 21 billion minutes of teleconferencing, web conferencing, and videoconferencing services for businesses. Partners of this company include Microsoft, Cisco, Adobe, Brainshark, Blackberry, CRG, Intelisys, ARG, and WTG.

This company offers web conferencing, videoconferencing, videoconferencing, and consultation services for both small enterprises and large corporations, assisting them in helping their staff remain in contact when their offices are located in different areas of the world, be they one town over or a continent apart. Their services are broken down by industry, job function, and use, and include international solutions and mobile solutions to ensure that each customer will receive the product that works best for their company. InterCall can also provide consultation to create a solution specialized for the company itself, taking into account that company's unique culture and workflow.

Visit the website for InterCall to learn more about the company, read their blog to read about connective technology, and contact the company to discuss web conferencing and communications services.

Request a Free Quote

Request a quote from InterCall.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/2010

BBB has determined that InterCall meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised InterCall's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on InterCall

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
08/05/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Started paid service with Intercall in February 2015. Contract is for $39/month

March 6, 2015 - received our first bill (Invoice **********, dated 2/28/2015) for February services at $281. Emailed our Sales Rep Holly ****** and had a phone call with her. She stated on the phone our account was set up incorrectly and would take care of it.

April 5, 2015 - Emailed Holly ****** regarding second bill (Invoice 1742886208 from 3/31/2015 at $746.79) with total charges to date over $1,000 instead of $78 per contract. Asked for the changes to be made per our March conversation and the over charges to be credited back. Customer Service Rep Caitlyn responded that we are being charged $0.05 for using a toll free number. At this time we verified that all employees knew not to use the toll free number and that the over charges were well above and beyond what 5 cents a minute would incur.

April 7, 2015 - follow up email to Holly ****** requesting help with the $1,000 bill. Holly responds same day saying she will look into it and submit a credit for all incorrect charges.

April 20, 2015 - sendt update request to Holly ******. No response.

April 22, 2015 - sent update request to Holly ******. No response.

April 24, 2015 - sent update request to Holly ******. No response. Requesting update on the credit, and that the issue has been resolved. Holly responds that she has been out of the office and will look into the credit that she submitted for.

April 29, 2015 - another follow up email to Holly ****** as no response has been given. Holly did not reply.

May 6, 2015 - 3rd month in a row we are billed more than 7 times our contractual fee is. Emailed Holly ****** and requested to be provided with a supervisor to address the over billing issues. Added full InterCall billing department email to the email chain in hopes someone would provide some assistance. Holly responds and blames the drastic over charges to utilizing their toll free line. We provide a response same day detailing why she is incorrect and why we need a supervisor to contact us. No users are utilizing the toll free number. The "call me" dial out feature is registering toll free charges (which we were told multiple times and have the documentation this feature does not charge us). They are charging us $0.35/minute for each attendee on a web meeting. This is to be included in our $39 monthly fee.

May 7, 2015 - Holly emails to confirm a credit was processed for $1,186.12. No further information.
May 7, 2015 - we reply to Holly and Billing to confirm the settings have been adjusted. NO REPLY.

May 13, 2015 - follow up email to Holly and Billing to confirm settings have been changed. NO REPLY

May 20, 2015 - another follow up email to Holly and Billing to confirm settings have been changed. Holly replies that she will check with her product team.

June 9, 2015 - over billed again. Email sent to Holly and Billing noting we have been charged $91.64 over our contractual amount. Detailed that the same issue has not been corrected. Asked for confirmation they changed, an updated statement detailing any charges over our contract amount, and a date when the new credit will be applied. NO RESPONSE.

June 17, 2015 - follow up email to previous requesting the same. NO RESPONSE.

June 24, 2-15 - 3rd email requesting the previous information. Holly responds she is researching now and will have taken care of ASAP.

June 29, 2015 - follow up to Holly and Billing that adjustments have been made, we will be receiving a credit as detailed in the emails, and that our invoice in July will no longer be over billed. NO RESPONSE!!

July 5, 2015 - receive invoice ********** from InterCall for $835.29. Our contract fee is for $39. At this time we feel the charges are deliberate.

July 6, 2015 - file complaint with BBB.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking the over charges to be credited back in a timely manner and the adjustments to be made to our account. We would like the business to provide the services promised for the fee agreed to. As a display of good faith, InterCall could agree to compensate us with a credit for the extreme amount of time lost to this issue. Approximately 10 hours have been spent and at our billable rate of $220/hr is a total of $2,220. A reasonable offer would be considered.

Business Response
We apologize to Mr.******* for the incorrect billing and any inconvenience it has caused. InterCall takes pride in the reliability of our platforms and providing exceptional customer service, but it appears that in this case there are some areas where we fell short. The lack of response to Mr.*******'s requests was due to our representative participating in extended training and procedures are now in place to ensure proper back-up support is available to prevent this type of delay again.

As for the question of the charges, terms of use and pricing are available on our website, but we are looking into making them more clearly stated to avoid any future confusion. There were errors in InterCall's systems for some of the charges and those are being credited to Mr.*******'s account. Our team has been in communication with the customer POC and Mr.******* since the feedback was received via the BBB site and we will work with Mr.******* on an acceptable credit solution for their time spent on the issues.

Again, we apologize for the delays and inconvenience and value Mr.*******'s business.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
As noted in the case description - the entire InterCall billing department email address was added to all communications in May so the problem might have been larger than a single rep attending an extended training.

The business response to this complaint insinuates we are or were confused about terms of use and pricing. Per the case description - on April 5 (received bill for $746.79 instead of $39+tax) we verified all usage was within the terms and contract pricing. All charges are detailed and contested in full in the case description and were explained again to the rep that contacted us in regards to this complaint. If there are legitimate charges over the contract amount we're responsible for - then we are still confused as to what they are.

Outside of the business's written response - the customer service has become outstanding. We received an immediate call from a Director acknowledging the issue and detailing the steps they were taking to remedy. We received unprompted status update calls from the team assigned to this matter. Our rep Holly has provided full and detailed email responses to inquiries within minutes and has gone above and beyond in making sure this is resolved. Today, Holly sent a full breakdown of all charges to date along with the credit that has or will be issued respectively. Holly and the InterCall team appears sincere and committed to a long term business relationship which we look forward to.

Perhaps most importantly since this is now public information - the actual InterCall conferencing product is excellent and is the reason we did not seek services elsewhere. Our clients love it, it's easy to use even for our tech challenged team members, and we have not once had a problem with it. We have tried the competition's products and InterCall is at the top, especially for the value they provide.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Teleconference Service, Communication Consultants, Web Conferencing, Internet Services, Videoconferencing Services

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 03/21/2000Business started: 04/03/1991
Type of Entity


Incorporated: October 1995, DE

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Molly Fulghum (Senior Director of Customer Care)
Business Category

Teleconference Service, Communication Consultants, Web Conferencing, Internet Services, Videoconferencing Services

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for InterCall

8420 W Bryn Mawr Ave

Chicago, IL 60631-3489

To | From


1 Locations

  • 8420 W Bryn Mawr Ave
    Ste #400 

    Chicago, IL 60631-3489(773) 399-1600
    (800) 374-2441
    Fax: (773) 399-1588
    Fax: (773) 399-1588

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*InterCall is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 374-2441

Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Teleconference Service


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.