Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Tax Recovery Corporation

Phone: (312) 361-3557 Fax: (312) 233-2963 115 S La Salle St STE 2600, Chicago, IL 60603 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.trcrefund.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tax Recovery Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tax Recovery Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tax Recovery Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 20, 2011 Business started: 01/25/2009 Business started locally: 01/25/2009 Business incorporated 10/13/2010 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. I. Mpeti Otola, Owner Mr. Asumani Sula, President/Business Development
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. I. Mpeti Otola, Owner
Business Category

Taxes - Consultants & Representatives Tax Preparation Services (NAICS: 541213)

Alternate Business Names
TRC Refund
Products & Services

This company offers property tax recovery consulting.


Additional Locations

  • 115 S La Salle St STE 2600

    Chicago, IL 60603

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/3/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We filled out paperwork with ******* ******** ** March 2012. He informed us that we would receive a check by June or July 2012. We received a notice, dated August 18, 2012, that the company was awaiting for Cook County to issue the refund checks. In March of 2013, we still had no funds. I called ******* and he said he would look into it, and he called me back, claiming that that Cook County was behind, and I needed to fill out an affidavit that we had not received our money. I received the affidavit over four weeks later, and I signed it and mailed it back to the company, as instructed. By November 2013, we still had received nothing. I called ******* again, but a man named **** answered and said that ******* was no longer employed there. I explained the situation to ****, and he said that our check had been sent to us, but it had never been cashed, so he would have another check cut, which would take approximately two weeks. He would call me when the check was ready, and he said he would deliver the check to us at our home to ensure that it was not lost. On Dec. 5, **** left a message on my voicemail that he was out of town but that my check was in and that he would deliver the check at my convenience. I was not available until after the week of the 21st, so I called to make arrangements. **** said he could deliver the check to our home on Dec. 26. I agreed and thanked him. On Dec. 26, **** called to say he was still on vacation with his family, and he could deliver the check on Monday, Dec. 30. At 10:37 a.m. on Dec. 30, I called **** to see what time he would be at our home. I called his office number, but there was only an answering machine. I called his cellphone and left a message, but he did not call back. An hour later, as I sit typing this, my husband called **** from a different number, and **** answered immediately. My husband asked **** when he would arrive, and **** said he would be here in the afternoon, by 2:30 p.m.

Desired Settlement: I want the money the business has promised us, and I want them out of my life. That is it. If the check is delivered by 2:30, I will downgrade my complaint from "Failure to honor a contract" to "Customer Service," but I will not withdraw this complaint. I work two jobs; my husband is a full-time pharmacy student and part-time student pharmacist, and we have three small children. We do not have time for this aggravation. This company cold-called us we did not seek them out and their service has been lip service only.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Tax Recovery Corporation
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)