This business is not BBB accredited.

ProTaxAppeal

Phone: (847) 719-8450 Fax: (847) 739-7404 View Additional Phone Numbers 795 Oakwood Rd STE E100, Lake Zurich, IL 60047 http://www.protaxappeal.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for ProTaxAppeal include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on ProTaxAppeal
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 02, 2010 Business started: 09/01/1990 Business started locally: 09/01/1990 Business incorporated 08/02/2005 in IL
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Rick Robin, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Rick Robin, Owner
Business Category

Taxes - Consultants & Representatives Taxes - Property Tax Consultants Real Estate Investors Tax Preparation Services (NAICS: 541213)

Alternate Business Names
RMR Home Solutions LLC RMR Property Tax Solutions
Products & Services

This company offers We are real estate consultants specializing in the representation of property owners for all property tax matters.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    795 Oakwood Rd STE E100

    Lake Zurich, IL 60047 (847) 477-8356 (847) 719-8450

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/25/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted this company in 2010 to appeal my real state taxes as my property value had dropped. The hearing happened and I paid the $315 for a $630 decrease, unfortunately with the increased interest rates in Kane county, I ended up saving about $2.00. I still paid my bill in a timely manner. I never heard from this company again. Suddenly on 2/1/2014, I get a bill from them for $215, stating I will be receiving a refund on my taxes of $430 for 2010 and their charge is 50% hence the $215. I called **** ***** who was listed on the invoice in case there were any invoice questions. I left him a message on 2/3/2014 and he did not call back. I again called on 2/6/2014 and tried to explain that I was confused about this new statement and that I wanted a copy of my signed agreement since I did not recall this portion of the contract where I could receive a bill 4 years later. I told him I did not have an issue paying for the bill and that all I wanted to see was a copy of our contract. He refused to give it to me and stated I should have a copy. I stated I did not have a copy because I did not know there was anything further I would need from them. He then made this a personal issue and began attacking me personally, stating "I know how people like you work" and "you mean to tell me that even after we saved you money, you will not pay us" He stated that my signed contract was in storage (although my case is still opened.....). He then threatened me and stated that it was my choice to pay it or else I would have to deal with his attorneys. I did let him know his customer service skills were very poor and that I also had attorney and I would be happy to pay them rather than pay him based on his horrible approach to me as a customer. I feel his company is doing additional services not in the contract and then charging people for them if they are succesful. He told me he had a note in his system where I verbally told them to proceed with the state appeal even though I never spoke with anyone in his company after my original appeal. I asked to speak to someone that oversees him and he told me he was the owner. I am happy to pay what he states I owe him, if I agreed to in on the contract. His company charging me money for services that I never agreed to is called fraud.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking to pay for only services agreed to on the signed contract. I would also like a copy of the contract for my own records. I am not opposed to paying anything if I agreed to it, and a "made up" verbal agreement without my signature is not a contract.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/10) */ As always ProTaxAppeal takes all client concerns seriously and always attempts to resolve any issues directly with the client before taking further actions. ProTaxAppeal also will vigorously defend itself and take action against any client that attempts to defame us by filing false, misleading, and inaccurate allegations to enrich themselves and to avoid paying as agreed. This client talks a good talk but is deceptively trying to get a free service. Therefore this matter has been turned over to our attorney and a small claim case will be filed against this client in Kane County Circuit Court to collect money owed and for additional damages for defamation relating to this false complaint filed by the client. ProTaxAppeal considers this case closed since it is now a legal matter. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/02/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept this response because I have been completely truthful about my experience with this company/ owner. If he considers the truth defaming then maybe he should provide better service to his clients and not be so rude and offensive. I guess I can also claim defamation since he personally attacked me on the phone and is basically calling me a liar, which I am not. As I stated before and I will state again, I am more than happy to pay for what I agreed to. All that I asked from the company is a copy of the signed contract and if I had agreed to additional appeals other than the original appeal I would pay with no argument. This owner refused to provide me a copy of my contract with them which only leads me to believe I did not agree to it. I think anyone in their right mind would question a charge 4 years later when there was never contact with the company since. It is not about the money what so ever, I am also a business man and believe people need to be compensated properly, but I am also not willing to pay for a service I did not agree to. Please prove me wrong and send me my signed agreement. That is all I ask and if I agreed to continue the appeal, I will send an apology letter and will overnight a cashiers check and pay what I owe. It is obvious from this response and from our phone conversation that this owner did not want to resolve my concern as he was quick to threaten me with lawyers for $215.00 rather than provide me with a copy of my contract. This is my final attempt to resolve this issue, if the owner of this company believes court is the only way to resolve this, I just hope that this part is at least true and we go to court. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/02/20) */ As previously stated, ProTaxAppeal considers this case closed since it has been turned over to our attorney who is proceeding with legal action against the client for breach of contract seeking money owed, additional damages, and a court ordered judgment. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2014/02/24) */ From: ****** ******* <*******@sbcglobal.net> Date: Thu, Feb 20, 2014 at 11:11 AM Subject: Complaint ID#: XXXXXXXX To: "*********@chicago.bbb.org" <*********@chicago.bbb.org> Hi *********, I wanted to cancel this complaint with ProTax Appeal. I have the agreement in hand and I do in fact owe them the amount charged. I also spoke to the owner today and I think there was a misunderstanding from both end in our initial conversation. Can you please cancel this complaint? ****** ******* XXX-XXX-XXXX