Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Taxback, Inc.

Phone: (888) 203-8900 Fax: (312) 781-2707 333 N Michigan Ave Ste 2415, Chicago, IL 60601

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Taxback, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Taxback, Inc. include:

  • 9 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Taxback, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 17, 2005 Business started: 05/09/2004 in IL Business started locally: 05/09/2004 Business incorporated 05/28/2004 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Terry Clune, President/Owner Ms. Jennifer Gallagher
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Terry Clune, President/Owner
Business Category

Tax Return Preparation Tax Preparation Services (NAICS: 541213)

Alternate Business Names
DiviTax SprinTax

Additional Locations

  • 333 N Michigan Ave Ste 2415

    Chicago, IL 60601 (888) 203-8900


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought the product of CA tax return preparation on March 8th. At the end of checkout the website claimed I will receive my form within several days. However it is not true. After waiting for several days with no tax return result, I contacted the company through online chatting on March 14th. The representative claimed they need some other information in order to proceed with my tax return, and I gave it to the company. Note 1) There is no place I can provide this information when I was ask to fill my personal information online, so there is no way I know it's needed. 2) During March 8th to March 14th, the company made no efforts to contact me (by email or phone) to obtain this information, but only when I contacted them did they claimed they need it. After providing needed information, the representative said I can get my tax return form on Friday, March 18th. On March 18th, there was still no tax return available for me. So I contacted the company again through online chatting. The representative said they are still working on it. This is far beyond normal processing time, and I said if I can't get my return on Monday March 21st, I'll file complaint to BBB. The representative acknowledged it and said they are processing with urgent priority. On evening of March 21st, I checked again and my tax return is still not ready. So I'm filling this complaint.

Desired Settlement: I want refund, and apology of time wasted and untrue information told by company representative.

Business Response:

Dear Sirs or Madam,

We have carefully reviewed client issue as discussed with BBB. We acknowledge the receipt of client information on 08/03/16 however our software was not able to prepare client application due to additional information requested concerning client "foreign income".

Our agents contacted client back and we did receive client information on 14/03/16. Following the new information received we had to review application with one of our tax experts.

We confirm that due to these circumstances we did not prepare client return within the promised 3 days processing time.

This situation was communicated with client following the first e-mail from BBB was received, we have prepared and reviewed client application and as we do understand client disappointment we have agreed to refund $25.95 to customer account on 24/03/2016.


We do hope this will consider the matter closed and we remain concentrated on providing a fast and quality client service to our clients.


******* *****

Operations Manager



10/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: They first told me on march my reimbursement was going to be $574 usd then on June they told me $502, I agreed to the reimbursement of $502 usd on june first 2015 via email, and they told me i would hear back which I did not, then on September they told me there was a NEW regulation and i had to pay them first their commission of $72 USD so I agreed and paid via credit card, when i contact them again to ask about the check they were supposed to send me they told me they had a NEW regulation and the new amount to be reimbursed was going to be $79 USD. I do believe there was a mistake on their side and now they are trying to charge me for it. I do not understand how the amount can change so much and why it took them so long to tell me.

Desired Settlement: the only fair resolution is for them to pay me what was agreed on June 1st via email $502.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/13) */ Contact Name and Title: Mr. ***** ******** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ********* We carefully reviewed the federal tax refund application for ******* ********. Upon preparing the estimation (Mar 10, 2015) we had included certain work related expenses and considering her income and taxes withheld at source it was estimated that her refund would be $574.00 Once we started completing her tax information and preparing it for sending to the IRS, it was discovered that part of the work related expenses cannot be used and as a result we had to calculate her tax refund to $514.00 (Mar 11, 2015). Since there was a change in the refund amount, we had to get back to the taxpayer and request her approval to proceed. It had been a few months (June 01, 2015) until such a confirmation was received. During that time, as we had been advised by external auditors, we had to make certain changes in the way the tax declarations are prepared. As a result of this change, there was further reduction of the refund to $79.00. All the above information was communicated to her during the process and we are surprised to hear that she finds it misleading in a way, especially after she agreed to pay the upfront fee and proceed further with her tax application. If she is dissatisfied with the outcome due to the circumstances beyond our control, we are ready to refund her fee. We confirm that this is a fully compliant tax return based on the taxpayer's residency information, tax home and allowable expenses. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/10/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I agreed to 514 USD not 79 USD that is why it is misleading on The company and i paid because i agreed yo 514. I do not think is fair that new changes Apply to a previously agreement, when this NEW changes started? Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2015/10/27) */ Contact Name and Title: Mr. ******* ***** Contact Phone: +XXX X XXX XXXX Contact Email: ****** We have reviewed client response and we would like to confirm our initial position. As advised by external auditors, IRS disallows work related expenses to be used in tax declaration by Non-resident taxpayers. As a result of this, there was a reduction in client calculation to $79.00. In line with our client service policy we always confirm such changes in preliminary calculations with clients asking them for a confirmation to proceed further. It is also written in our Terms and conditions that : Where there is a change in the applicable tax law in the country from which the tax refund is being reclaimed, or in the interpretation or implementation of the rules and laws by the tax authorities of that country, will meet its commitment to organise the refund to the degree allowed by the law. The decision of the exact value of any refund due or amount owed is the decision of the relevant Tax Authority. - See more at:**************.dpuf We would like to confirm that taxback never guaranteed the amount in initial calculation and never actually filed client tax return application. Final decision is always with IRS and in this case we cannot guarantee the quoted amount. In all our letters we advise that - 'Please note that your total refund amount will be subject to the approval of the US Tax Authorities' Finally, in this particular case we only communicated to client changes in calculation and our treatment of the details she has provided and asked for an approval to proceed with tax return application. The decision is with client whether she would like taxback to submit tax return application or if she disagrees with our treatment of her tax return application we can only return processing fee in full baring all transactional expenses and close client application. We can also call client when available to explain the situation further in person and agree return of processing fee.

6/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a Finnish citizen who worked in Canada ending April 2013. I filed my taxes through, an advertised expert in foreign worker taxes. During the last 13 months I have been attempting to resolve my outstanding Canadian tax situation through their service. The service until May 2014 was pleasant but their slow and unresponsive service has led to much frustration during the last year. The original amount I paid to (725.59 CAD + 75.00 CAD on 20.5.2014) plus (10.77 CAD on 13.9.2014). The core of this complaint is regarding the lack of care taken to resolve the additional payment of 10.77 CAD to the Canadian Revenue Agency in a timely manner which has resulted in numerous emails, online customer service chats, etc. Each time I contact them about the issue they respond quickly as you can see below but the follow up and resolution is nonexistent. I believe that I have given more than adequate time for them to solve the problem and remained patient during the matter. I am concerned that's service with my taxes which has led to an outstanding tax balance could eventually compromise my ability to enter Canada which is unacceptable. My account manager with is ****** ******** Excerpt from account Log: 08/05/15-Telephone > Checked TxO status - CRA agent advised payment of CAD 10.77 has not been rcvd yet. However CRA has rcvd the copy of the bank statement showing that the transfer was made and agent informed TxO has issued a responce that, currently, it's is tracing the payment. 06/05/15-@ed cust as per prev comment ; we'll follow up w/ TXO again 08/04/15-reviewed file - the balance due is not clered yet; Fax > sent again copy of the bank statement to the TXO; 30/03/15-Telephone > Checked TxO status - CRA agent advised payment has not been rcvd yet. 23/03/15-chat: cust wants confirmation that her tax balance has been cleared. Advised we will contact her in next couple of days with more details. 05/03/15-Email > advised cust- we have sent the ban statement to TXOso that they can trace the payment 25/02/15-rec'd bank statement from finance department; Fax > sent statement to TXO in order to trace the payment; 23/02/15-Telephone > called to TXO - they still do not have record for the payment of CAD 10.77 from 06/11/2014; passed ** finance department for copy of bank statement; 19/02/15-chat, cust asked for an update, passed ** FS per TXO follow up 16/12/14-Telephone > Called to TXO - the payment of CAD 10.77 is not in the system yet, waiting on statement for conf of the payment from FD; 02/12/14-Telephone > called to TXO - the payment of CAD 10.77 is not entered in the system yet; will call again after a week; 20/11/14-Telephone > Checked TxO status - was advised payment of CAD 10.77 not rcvd yet, w/ interest at present amount owing is CAD 10.90 but agent advised that when payment is rcvd the difference of 13 cents will be cleared. Updated RDD 06/11/14-Arranged to have CAD 10.77 transferred back to Canadian TXO 16/09/14-Rcvd confirmation re CC payment from cust of EUR 8.00 (CAD 10.77) for addittional owe tax (Realex QSUK XXXXXXX XX Sept 14); passed the amount to be paid to the Canadian TXO A full log of correspondence &'s shorthand code is available if needed.

Desired Settlement: As a resolution I am only requesting that the 10.77 CAD + any accumulated interest be paid by to the Canadian Revenue Agency on behalf of my account and the original filing fee of 75.00 CAD issued as a refund to me for the troubles I have had with their service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/25) */ Contact Name and Title: *************** Client Se Contact Phone: +XXX (X) XXX XXXX Contact Email: ******* Dear *****, Thank you for your submission on BBB, I am sorry to hear that you felt the team were unresponsive in finalising your claim. As you will know, the additional amount was indicated on the NoA received from the Canadian tax office as the submission of the original liability was so close to deadline the tax office imposed small interest / penalties on same. We acknowledge there was a small delay on our end in submitting the payment to the tax office. Typically when an amount is paid to the tax office there is a time to allocate the payment against the client file. You will note there was regular correspondence with the tax office, each time a query is submitted the suggested follow up time is within 4 weeks at which stage another contact is made with them. We have provided the tax office with bank statements to support them in finding the payment however as of Thursday (21 May) they could not allocate the amount. We spoke with the tax office and have sent another version of the proof of payment to them (I can forward you same upon request) and we have also paid the amount again on Thursday and provided another statement in a bid to finalise this case. We have confirmed with the tax office that after the transaction on Thursday that there is no additional charges on your return, we have presented them with the information that this additional $10.77 has been paid and also provided additional proof of payment on Friday for their records. I can only apologise for the delay in finalising this case however can assure you we were providing the information as per previous experience with the tax office timelines and as much back up as required. I can assure you it at any point we thought your future entry into Canada was ever an issue we would have informed you, having the proof of payment showed payment was in fact made as requested, the allocation of same however was the issue. I fully understand tax is an important topic to our clients and we take our responsibility very seriously, I will be in touch with you as soon as we have your final confirmation from the tax office that all is in order and I assure you as of today we are confident this matter has been resolved by the tax office. Should you require any additional information or wish to contact me directly please do so. Kind Regards, ******* ****** Client Services Delivery Manger Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/06/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

4/20/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my 2015 federal and state tax return on on Apr 5 and filled all the information required on Apr 5. The federal tax return was prepared properly. However, the state tax return was not. Here are the reasons: 1. On the service selection page (i.e. state tax return page), there was not a single word mentioning that the state tax return would be prepared manually. Only after I made my payment until I knew this. This is unfair as I couldn't make informed decision whether or not to purchase the service. 2. After I submitted all the required document, Sprintax told me that my state tax return would be prepared by an agent, taking up to three business days(from Apr 5, Sunday) and I would be contacted. However, nobody reached out to me. I emailed Sprintax on Apr 10 Friday and got a feedback saying they are working on it and will get back to me once finish. Nobody contacted me after Apr 10. I tried to reach out to them on Apr 13 and was told it is still unavailable. 3. During this process I have asked several times whether they can guarantee a completed state tax return before the Apr 15 deadline but Sprintax kept ignoring all my inquires. I have tried to call the customer service number a few times a day for a few days but it's always unavailable. It's not like long waiting time but the automated system just says due to the high volume of phone calls they can't answer my phone and hangs up. I have tried to reach them through online chat but one associate just ignored my question after greetings and never responded.(I waited 40 minutes online, but no response). I then reached for the second agent(**** ******** He was better. However, when I told him I would sue Sprintax, if I don't have my return before Apr 15, for the loss due to possible IRS penalties, I was threatened: "then you will not get your return and the IRS refund for sure.". He then provided me the option to refund and I accepted that. I am extremely dispointed by Srpintax and I will filed the state tax return by myself.

Desired Settlement: 1. Refund for my state tax return payment. 2. Apologize for the threatening.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/20) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********* VP Taxback Contact Email: ********* To whom it may concern: Thank you for passing the below for our attention. We have since been in touch with ****** and had a detailed discussion about his experience and his feedback. It was acknowledged that the experience he had was less than ideal and not what we strive to deliver to the thousands of customers that we assist every year during filing season. The feedback he has given, and the experience he had, is being used to assist our team as part of our ongoing customer experience review program. In relation to the two specific resolutions he desired, the first, his refund ,was processed on 14th , before we had been made aware of this mail to the BBB. Regarding the apology, he was given a personal apology over the phone for any misunderstanding in relation to the conversation that he had with our Live Chat team. Having reviewed the direct transcript of the typed conversation between both parties, it was acknowledged that there was never ever any threat by Sprintax in relation to his IRS refund, as his IRS refund is something that is handled completely by the IRS and is nothing to do with Sprintax. ****** further indicated that should he be using Sprintax again next year he would much prefer to talk to an individual directly regarding any questions, and to this end I have forwarded him my person e-mail and telephone number to contact me should the need arise. Kind regards, **** ******** VP Sprintax

4/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 7th, I submitted my federal tax return and state tax return along with FICA Preparation to ********* I received a payment confirmation email and an email that said my state tax will be completed in 3 business days. However I did not hear back from them for 4 business days so I contacted them (on 3/12) through online chat and submitted an additional document which they never told me that I had to submit. ******* ***** who answered my chat confirmed that she received my document and told me that they will get back to me in 1 business day. The next day on 3/13 I received an email from ******* saying that I have to submit the document that I did the previous day which was confirmed by her. I replied to her that I already submitted but she never got back to me. On 3/16 I contacted them that I would like to cancel my state tax return because it was taking much more time than they promised and it was easier to just file on my own. The person who took care of me said he will ask his supervisor and get back to me in 2 to 3 days but I never heard back from them. On 3/20 I called them again and I talked to **** **** and told her the whole situation and asked for a refund for the state tax. She told me that she would reach out to me via email and that I should respond to that. I got an email saying that I had to submit the state tax return that I prepared and submitted on my own which was confusing because I was asking for a refund. I replied to her about this misunderstanding and never heard back. I also followed up with her again on 3/24 but haven't received any kind of response. On 3/20, I received an email saying that they had finished preparing my state tax (at this point, I had already done it on my own and didn't need them to do so). The state tax return was poorly compiled as it did not take into account any of the deductions that I qualified for and those I could simply find out about through the MA filing website. For example, they didn't ask me at any point about rent deductions or MBTA commuter expense deductions, two very basic deductions that most people qualify for. I still haven't heard back from anyone at **********

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for $75.85, the amount I paid ********* for their service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/31) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Contact Email: ****** Dear ******, I am very sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the service you received from Sprintax. Unfortunately there seems it have been a break down in communication on our side which caused the delay in your receiving your State tax return. I have arranged for my team to offer you the full refund of the payment you have made and someone will be in touch with you by phone today. Again I apologize for this situation. This is an isolated case and is not the procedure we follow. We have a great customer service team and endeavor to reach out and contact out customers int the eventually of any delays or further information needed. We have thousands of happy customers every year. However unfortunately this did not happen in your case. If you have any further questions please contact me on ****** Kind Regards ***** ***** President Sprintax

12/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is ****** ****** and I would like to file a complaint against In February 2013, I chose to prepare and file my 2012 taxes as it was highly rated by BBB and had positive reviews on their website. I agreed to pay the fees and submitted my paper work before deadline. promised me that I would be able to receive my state and federal refunds as soon as July. At the end of July, representative from, ******* ********* contacted me via email and informed that my state refund is processed but IRS never acknowledged my federal refund and he re-filled it with IRS. deducted handling fees and service fees from my state return. At the end of August-begging of September ******* informed me that IRS cannot locate my tax forms and he needs to re-file them again. At the end of September, ******* ********* informed that the IRS processed my refund and I would receive my money back on October 16th 2013, however several weeks later I received an email from ******* stating that due to the government shutdown IRS lost my tax return forms and he needs to re-file them again. I started to worry that I would be in trouble with IRS for late tax submission and I would not receive my federal refund. I contacted ******* via email asking for updates, but would not receive any information from him. On multiple occasions I contacted customer support via telephone, online chat, email, facebook, and the only information I was given that IRS keep loosing my forms and they keep re-filing. They promised that ******* was going to provide me updates on daily basis regarding the status of my return, but I have not heard anything from him. I asked customer support for providing me some kind of confirmation such as mail tracking number, electronic filing number but they refused to provide it to me. I even offered to deliver the forms my self in person to the IRS, as I live in Washington DC, but rejected my offer. IRS loosing my refund more than three times seems highly unlikely, especially when I was told that they processed it once and I am getting my refund on October 16th. I contacted IRS and representative told me that backlog for submitted for paper forms is 21 days at the most and that usually status of a return available through the website a day after the paper work is received. Why takes 10 month to get a tax return is beyond my understanding! At this point, I don't know if I should believe that my taxes were never submitted to IRS, or received refund and "does not want" to give it back to me and IRS losing my taxes is just and excuse?! Is a scam? I paid for services and they only provided a half. The other half was replaced by my stress, headaches, snarky, and deceptive responses from ******* *********. Please, help me to resolve my complaint. Thank you in advance.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking the to provide me tax services they promised in 2013 (refund or proof that IRS is processing my refund). I seeking that provided me a letter stating that late submission my tax forms to the IRS is the fault of or combination of both and I am not personally responsible for late submission of the forms and shell not be penalized by IRS. I am also seeking partial (50 percent) refund in fees I paid for the services as I was promised that my services will be provided to me by July

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/10) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** Contact Email: ******* To whom it may concern, Many thanks for passing the below to our attention. I was made aware of Ms. ******* file last week after her account manager ******** ********** escalated it for attention as well as public posts on social media by Ms. ****** and her partner. The information ******* provided was the information available to him. ******* is not in direct contact with the IRS therefore the feedback he provided was based on what we had from the IRS and our CPA who communicates with them. Ms. ******'s Federal application was submitted in advance of the state return (which has already been processed) to the IRS. We have since submitted the application for the federal refund a further two times. We are unable to provide the exact delivery receipts of these claims as returns are filed in batch. We have had refunds for many of the clients in the same batches that Ms. ******* return was with however hers has not yet been released. We do understand the frustration and are equally frustrated and disappointed by the unnecessary and unexpected delays with Ms. ******* return. There was a note on Ms. ******* internal file in to action this week if no information had been provided by the IRS. My colleague ******* ****** contacted Ms. ****** yesterday (prior to the notification from the BBB being passed to me) advising we were still pursuing the case and offering to pay the amount due upfront while we await confirmation from the IRS. Ms. ******* has since reverted requesting to see a copy of the original Federal return, this will be sent today for the clients review. If at that point Ms. ****** is happy to accept the upfront payment we will organise same. Here in we pride ourselves on our customer service and apologise if Ms. ****** feels Dimitar was snarky and deceptive, I have reviewed the correspondence between both the client and account manager however was unable to detect a snarky tone and would urge Ms. ****** to send the particular correspondence to my colleague ****** who she has been in touch with so he can review and speak with Dimitar re same I would like to reiterate at this point that this is not the normal process a Federal tax return follows, the information we are available to is subject to the information the IRS has on record regarding a claim. We do aim to offer a streamlined transparent service to our clients so they are informed of what we are doing on their file and very much stand over our obligation to a client to ensure the process is completed. Unfortunately in this case we have experienced un expected delays however endeavour to see the application through to what we can only expect to be a successful refund for the client Should you require any more information please feel free to contact me, Kind Regards, ******* ******

11/27/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a contract with to file for income tax return. Believing in the "no morey upfront until I had receive my income tax. I later researched the internet and found out that a lot of people complain about keeping the income tax return in their offices and sending a portion to the clients. Since I didn't wanted to fall for that scam, i decided to file for income tax on my own. A few months later, I was contacted by asking me if I had received my income tax return. I indee had (because I filed it earlier). Now is charging me a $90.00 dollars fee for filing the income tax themselves, after I had filled for it. I understand that filing for income tax using a 1040EZ with a taxc return of no more than $380 dollars is in most cases free of charge. I got my income tax return on my own; and I believe that is not entiltle to any money because I did not get my tax return from them.

Desired Settlement: I want them to cancel all the current fees and future fees (if any) that they may believe I owe them; and to exempt me form legal procedures or bad credit reports, if any.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/11) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** Contact Email: ******* To whom it may concern, Further to BBB Complaint Case********* (Ref#XX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX) Thank you for notifying us of this client's complaint. provides an end-to-end and fully transparent tax return service for our clients. Our service is supported by an online portal where the individual can access all information about their application including all actions taken. We pride ourselves on the level of service we provide, so much so that we have sought and received ISO certification to ensure strictest policies and procedures are adhered to throughout the process. Our relationship with the client began in late 2012 when she contacted us to apply for a tax refund on her behalf. Between November 2012 and February 2013 the client was in regular contact with us and provided us with the information required to submit her claim. The client's claim was submitted in March 2013 using the information provided by her and the authorisation received (in the form of signed forms). At no point throughout any communication with us, did the client advise that there had been negative information sourced about us nor did she advise that she would be lodging the tax return herself or using another tax agent to do so. Instead, she continued to work with us and provide the information required so that we could submit her claim. In June 2013, we contacted the tax office for an update on the client's refund and were informed that a refund had already been issued to the client. As this was only days after our application was submitted, it was clear that it was not related to our application. Further investigation revealed that the client had engaged another tax agent to file a tax return on her behalf. Throughout the process, acted in good faith for the client; we had no reason to believe that any other agent was acting on her behalf, particularly given the amount of communication we had with the client and the signed documentation we received which included a Power of Attorney and Customer Agreement. Once we identified there was no longer a refund available for the client we contacted her to confirm she had received the refund; this was done via the same contact channels previously used but the client did not respond. The client was contacted again in October as no effort had been made on her part to contact us. An invoice was issued at that time (for the service we had completed). As per the signed customer agreement, the service had been completed by us however the client did not fulfil her part of the agreement. A copy of this was provided to the client on 4th Nov 2013 and is available for you to review should you require same. The client has since asked for proof that we actually filed the return and has subsequently been provided with a transcript we obtained from the IRS on 8th Nov 2013. This transcript shows that a return was lodged by another company and the refund was subsequently released to this company. When the application was received it was therefore deemed to be a duplicate. While does not request any fees to be paid in advance of the refund being released by the tax office, we do have a fee for the service in the event that the has service has been provided and the client has broken the terms of the agreement with us. In order for a tax agent to act on an individual's behalf, one would assume that the company has signed documentation and the relevant information including a W2 in order to do so. We can only assume that there was a misunderstanding and the client has not deliberately engaged two companies to file the same tax return. We will contact our client directly and work with her to establish where this confusion has come from and seek a resolution to close the case. Should you require any additional information, please feel free to contact me directly at the following email address: ******* Kind Regards, ******* ****** On behalf of ***** ***** Final Consumer Response /* (450, 9, 2013/11/27) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: Dear BBB, representatives quickly replied my case. They had called me and we have spoken about my case. We realized that we both had a misunderstanding. After a negotiation, we understood each other's situation and came to an agreement. With a better understanding of their working process and my concerns, we learnt that neither of us did something wrong and they had decided not to charge me any fees. as a responsable and reliable company has shown concern for us, the people that they serve. I feel very appreciated with their attention to my case and with the BBB for protecting the customer. Your help in this matter is greatly appreciated. Thank you and the BBB for helping resolve this matter. Best regard. ******** ***

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Taxback, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)