BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.

Additional Locations

  • 811 W Evergreen Ave STE 302

    Chicago, IL 60642

  • 9950 Lawrence Ave Ste 302

    Schiller Park, IL 60176 (847) 737-1555


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/2/2015 Delivery Issues
9/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I originally contacted them on 01/22/14 for assistance in consolidating my federal student loans and lowering my payments. They have already received the retainer fee of $600.00. To date no contact for final resolution of my loans, when they may start with a lower repayment plan.

Desired Settlement: If they cannot assist in coming to a resolution on this matter soon. I would like a full refund of the money paid to them as I have other companies that are willing to work with me at a quicker response time.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/04/29) */

3/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was billed for a case to be open regarding loan consolidation. I wanted to cancel the case less than 24 hrs after discussing this with a representative and a supervisor was to contact me. I have been charged a fee of $100 for nothing to be done. I have called the representative **** ******* several times a day over the past week and neither have heard from him or his supervisor.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded for any charges to my credit card for services that were not provided.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/18) */ Contact Name and Title: Advocate Tax Solutions Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **** Dear Ms. *******, I would like to apologize for any lack of communication on our part. We strive to offer 100% customer satisfaction. Since speaking with you yesterday, your account has been refunded $100. Please allow 24-48 hours for it to post to your account. If you have any questions or further concerns please feel free to contact us at any time. Advocate Tax Solutions Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/03/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

3/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I started paying these people in June 20, 2013. The $600 "retainer" fee I paid in 3 installments, and then I was charged another $395 for the CPA to file to forms. I've dealt with it. I haven't been able to pay this in one lump sum because I'm unemployed and disabled. I literally have been selling off everything in my house just to pay my rent. Regardless I have been slowly paying these fees when I can. I have an invoice with my client #XXXXXX which states all of these payments and my remaining balance. I paid off the remaining $100 last week. This morning someone called and told me I had to pay another $405 for them to send in the tax forms to the IRS. Over these months I was told countless times by their employees during their many calls asking for money that once I paid off the $395 the tax papers would be filed. I paid as often as I could as much as I could. I told them I would pay this last payment on 2/21/2014 and that's what I did. I called them up last Friday and paid it. Now someone else is calling asking for more money. I only needed one file sent in.

Desired Settlement: I want my tax form filed as promised.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/05) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@*********** Dear Ms. ********* I spoke with our client on March 3, 2014 and she has informed me that she has spoken to you about removing the complaint. She also sent me a copy of the email she sent you requesting the cancellation of the complaint which I have attached hereto. We take our reputation serious and especially our rating with the BBB. Thank you for your understanding. Dear Ms ********* Last week I waged a complaint against Advocate Tax Solutions during a heated dispute about my bill. After reading over my contract, I discovered that no matter how unfortunate it was on my behalf, the company was correct in their billing tactics. They were however eventually willing to work with me due to my financial hardship and reduced the added fee by half. We worked out a 90 day payment plan and they sent the tax forms regardless of payment due. I would like to completely cancel the complaint. One of the employees called today and told me they just receive the notice. They did all of this resolution without knowledge of my contact with the BBB. I would like to completely remove this complaint from their record. Here is the complaint ID# XXXXXXXX**********. I hope to hear from you soon. Best, Dxxxx Gxxxx Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/03/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

5/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service