Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Tiffani Kim Institute

Phone: (312) 260-9000 View Additional Phone Numbers 310 W Superior St # 2, Chicago, IL 60654 http://www.tiffanikiminstitute.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Tiffani Kim Institute include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tiffani Kim Institute
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 21, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1998 Business started locally: 01/01/1998
Business Management
Ms. Tiffani Kim Griffith, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Tiffani Kim Griffith, President
Business Category

Tanning Salons Health & Wellness Home Health Services Skin Care Other Personal Care Services (NAICS: 812199)


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    310 W Superior St # 2

    Chicago, IL 60654 (312) 943-8777 (312) 260-9000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In October of 2012 I visited the Tiffani Kim Inst. after purchasing a ******* for laser hair removal. At the first appointment I inquired about laser tattoo removal and was quoted a price of $250 for 10 treatments. I accepted the offer and paid the $250 for 10 treatments plus another $25 for numbing cream for the first treatment. I received my 7th treatment on November 9th. On that day Tanya, the person who sold me the treatments and the person performing the treatments said I had used up my "8" treatments. I said no, I had just used my 7th treatment but had paid for 10. She asked me if I was sure I didn't pay for 8 and I said no, I was sure it was 10. She got flustered after looking at her computer and then said she would deal with it later. I left thinking she just made a mistake. I emailed her a couple of days later to verify that it was 10 treatments and not 8 and she wrote back, now stating that I purchased 5 treatments with 1 free. She stated that for my size tattoo, the usual treatments were $50 each. I wrote back and said she was mistaken. She kept stating something to the effect that she didn't have any problem giving me the treatments but she didn't know if her managers would try to charge me or not. That is what she says in her emails. Today, a year after I paid for the services, I found out that they charged my American Express card for another $50, WITHOUT ANY AUTHORIZATION. I did not owe them any money, I paid for 10 laser treatments and only received 7. Tanya admitted that I received 7 treatments in her email. I would not have purchased the package if I was offered the treatments at $50 each. Furthermore, I was never offered a free treatment. I only agreed to pay $250 for these treatments because I was given the impression it was a really good deal. I left a voicemail message for the owner of the company, Tiffani Kim, or at least I thought I did, and never received a call back from her. I admit this situation has made me a bit upset, but I tried to handle the matter with them and they have refused to respond, other than the emails I have received from Tanya which do nothing but misrepresent what the agreement was. Then this company had the nerve to place a fraudulent charge on my credit card.

Desired Settlement: I want the $50 that they charged to my ******** ******* on 11/12/2013 (or there about)that I DID NOT GIVE AUTHORIZATION FOR. I did not owe them $50. In fact I also want a refund of $75 for the 3 treatments I have not received.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1001, 14, 2014/01/07) */ Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 21, 2014/01/22) */ The response from the Tiffani Kim Institute is untruthful. I did not leave without paying for anything. First of all, I had already paid for the service. Secondly, ***** ***** did not ask me for any additional payment. I have some documentation I would like to send to you. Please let me know how to go about it. Final Business Response /* (4000, 31, 2014/03/11) */ *********, we did not receive any type of correspondence after December 2013. I have attached the history for Ms. ***. Which will indicate that she bought a series of 6 treatments for tattoo removal. If you have any questions, or need further information, please contact me via email or you can call me at (XXX) XXX-XXXX. Thank you, Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 33, 2014/03/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First, please take a look at the attachment. The first page is a copy of the metadata from the document sent by TKI, which they claim is a representation of my account. As you can see, that document wasn't even created until 3/6/14. Second, they keep referring to my tattoo as "Medium Sized". If you look at the email thread between myself and ***** ****** she refers to it as "Small", stating that the rate for "small tattoo removal" is $50 per treatment. Second, Tanya Weeks states in her email to me that "I have no problem giving you those treatments, but I can't guarantee that you wont get a call from management saying you need to pay. I'll do my best to get all this past them though because it doesn't matter to me either way." I am dismayed that ******* *** ******** would respect the word of an employee that is perfectly willing to pull the wool over her eyes. My point is this, ***** ***** offered me 10 tattoo removal treatments for $250. No fake Excel spreadsheet is going to change that. And, there is nothing TKI can offer that would convince me otherwise. Furthermore, ***** ******* claim that she was too behind to look at her notes is also nonsense. She was sitting at the computer as she booked my 12/21 appointment (which was later cancelled per the email attached). She DID look at the computer and became frustrated, and then told me we would handle it at the next appointment, which never came to be. I have no doubt that there was no such note. But even if there was, again, the fact remains, her offer was 10 treatments at $250.

12/10/2013 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Tiffani Kim Institute
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)