Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Kult of Athena

Phone: (847) 531-8664 1485 Davis Rd  Ste A, Elgin, IL 60123 http://www.kultofathena.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kult of Athena meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kult of Athena include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Kult of Athena
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 26, 2010 Business started: 01/01/2000 Business started locally: 01/01/2000 Business incorporated 09/01/1997 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ryan Whittlinger, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ryan Whittlinger, President
Business Category

Swords Novelties - Retail Costumes - Masquerade & Theatrical Jewels - Imitation Knives - Custom Archery Equipment & Supplies General Merchandise - Retail Gift Shops Sporting Goods Stores (NAICS: 451110)

Alternate Business Names
Proton Multimedia, Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Kult of Athena has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1485 Davis Rd
    Ste A

    Elgin, IL 60123 (847) 531-8664

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/1/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August first I purchased a the Ronin Katana European Sword #4 Longsword RKE4 for $264.35. The description they put on the sword says that it is easily disassembled, when I asked them how they responded with, " If you tap the guard on either side with a rubber mallet it will begin to loosen the pieces of the sword to separate." When I did so the sword could not be properly be put back together, there seemed to be a problem with the nut of the sword. When asked for a refund I was declined saying that since it was damaged they could not refund me. I could only exchange it for an Item of equal or lesser value Where I would have to pay shipping both way costing me another thirty dollars to receive a agreeable product. The order number on the sword is ********, I paid for the sword through my Walmart paycard account

Desired Settlement: I seek either a full refund or an exchange where I wouldn't have to pay an extra thirty dollars for a satisfactory product.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/20) */ Contact Name and Title: Ryan *********** Presiden Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: info@************.com Hi John, I was not directly involved with this issue but I can offer some help. If you want to exchange the sword for another of the same, you do not need to pay additional shipping costs. In that case, we can send you a shipping label to make an exchange. The only reason you would need to cover shipping costs is if you are returning the item for refund or exchange for a different product. I apologize if this was not explained to you, or not properly explained. You can contact me directly at info@************.com and we can work out the details. If you are looking to send the item back for a refund or exchange for different item, it is a bit of a different issue. In either case you are responsible for any shipping costs involved, as is our posted policy regarding returns. Not liking a company's posted return policy is hardly a reason for a complaint to the BBB. The policy is posted here http://************.com/ship.html. Please email me and let me know if you are looking for a replacement of the same item, in which case, we'll cover the shipping or if you want a refund or different item, in which case you would cover the shipping. As long as the item you send back is a true defect and not the result of being abused, an exchange will not be a problem. As far as that goes I do not quite understand what exactly is wrong with the sword at this point. If you removed the nut and tapped off the grip as explained, why would there be any issue with the nut? It would just screw back on. Did you use the mallet on it with the nut still on? In any case, these are things I could better assist you with directly rather than through a complaint response. Please do feel free to contact me directly so we can discus this in a professional manner and work out the best course of action. Thanks Ryan *********** President


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Kult of Athena
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart