Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

The Great Escape

Phone: (847) 853-1900 3232 Lake Ave   # 390, Wilmette, IL 60091 http://www.shopthegreatescape.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Great Escape meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for The Great Escape include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Great Escape
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 06, 2012 Business started: 01/01/1972 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/1972
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Marc Rush, President Ms. Shannon Hill
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Marc Rush, President
Business Category

Swimming Pools & Hot Tubs Swimming Pool Enclosures Swimming Pool Cover Sales & Service Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies Wine Storage Equipment Sports & Recreation Billiard Equipment & Supplies Exercise Equipment & Machines - Sales Fireplaces Furniture - Outdoor Furniture - Retail Games & Supplies Lawn & Garden Equipment & Supplies Home Accessories Home Centers Home Theater House Furnishings & Services Patio Equipment & Supplies Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Health & Wellness Internet Shopping Spa, Hot Tub, Sauna Sales And Service Gazebos Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Sporting and Recreational Goods and Supplies Merchant Wholesalers (NAICS: 423910)


Additional Locations

  • 3232 Lake Ave
    # 390

    Wilmette, IL 60091 (847) 853-1900

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last spring (2014) I ordered a sauna from ********** They promised to deliver and install it into my house in 30 days. They asked for the deposit - 50%. I paid with the credit card. After 45 days I called them and asked about my sauna. I could not wait longer and was about to leave town for a business trip. They said it was ready but if I wanted to cancel they would give me a refund. I canceled and got a refund. Last September I ordered the same sauna for a second time. After two months of waiting instead of one the truck came. But the workers could not install the sauna. The panels of the prefabricated sauna were so big that they did not go through into the basement. As soon as ********* realized that they came up with an amount they would keep. They got back to me three times with different amounts - $500.00, $612.00 and finally did not return into my credit card $661.68. When I was ordering that sauna I asked them numerous times if they would need to come over and check the place of installation. I heard only assurances that they were doing it for so many years that it would be not necessary. They did not tell me either how the sauna would be coming. No customer could foresee this. Also I was very saddened by the quality of ethics of this company. No excuses, no disclosing of any information about the product, the invoice was printed after the fact. The invoice did not contain any information about any portion of the money the would be keeping in case of non installation.

Desired Settlement: I request the refund of $661.68 into my credit card account or I will go to the court.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ****, CS Mgr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX ***** Contact Email: ********@shoptge.net Mr. ******** states that a full refund was given for the first canceled order (not our policy). The first order was canceled prior to shipping from the manufacturer, therefore there was no restocking fee. Mr. ******** also states he was saddened by the quality of the ethics of The Great Escape as it relates to disclosure of information related to the restocking fee. Our refund and return policies are prominently displayed at our sales counter and read as follows: Non-Refundable Items: "No refund will be issued for special order merchandise" Restocking Fee: " A restocking fee of 15% will be applied to opened resaleable merchandise" This same information is also printed on the invoice directly above the customer's signature: "A restock fee may apply for delivered goods (See reverse side for details)" and on the reverse side "Buyer will be assessed a re-stocking fee of 15% of the purchase price for returned merchandise accepted by The Great Escape" Regarding clearance issues in the home related to the dimensions of the sauna, the customer was provided with emails clearly stating a height of 80". When a customer special orders a product, it has been our experience that the customer has already done the proper measurements in their home. Since The Great Escape does not offer any in-home services prior to special ordering the product, it is the customer's sole responsibility to measure for the placement of the product. After receiving the special order product at our distribution center, the customer is responsible to direct our in-home installation crew with the proper placement of the product, in order to achieve the customer's complete visual satisfaction. Mr. ******** also states that The Great Escape was slow to perform. Special orders typically require 4-12 weeks to be ordered, shipped and received by The Great Escape's distribution center. These parameters were met by The Great Escape and this was not an issue to Mr. ******** at the time. In fact, when Mr. ******** canceled the first special order (not our policy), the clock was reset to zero. The Great Escape's policy on special order product is clearly stated as "Non-refundable". This is due to the fact that product that is customized for an individual customer cannot be returned to the manufacturer. The Great Escape graciously negotiated on behalf of Mr. ******** for the return of the special order product. However, The Great Escape did incur costs in the process (shipping and handling fees for the original shipment, repackaging costs and shipping and handling costs for the return to the manufacturer). The Great Escape has refunded all of the total purchase price ($4,411.19) minus the 15% restocking fee ($661.68). It is The Great Escape's viewpoint that the customer was treated fairly and was fortunate to be able to return a custom, special order product. It is also our viewpoint that the $661.68 restocking fee is fair and reasonable. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/02/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The presented information is not far from reality, but is not accurate at the same time. Some details of the transaction are different or missing, that is why it is hard to agree with what ********* claims. The core of the problem is that at the time of agreeing to this purchase and giving the credit card info to the sales agent (and not at the sales counter, but over the internet I was not informed about the policy of the company except that the charge would be non refundable. Neither I was presented with any invoice where I could have read the details ********* put in his answer. The invoice was prepared later and still was not even mailed or emailed to me. Inconsistencies are also a detrimental factor in this deal. ******** gave a credit for the first time, but said it was not their policy, mentions about restocking fee, but in the invoice which was not mailed. In the copy of the invoice I got from my bank it state only that "the restocking fee may apply for delivered goods". It does not say how much restocking fee would be and on what occasion. ********* claims their ethics was at high level, and not understand that one of their customers is complaining to BBB about their policy. Also ********* states that my order is a custom order. It was not. I chose one from 5 or 6 available for purchase on the "HELO" web site saunas. It was a bad shopping experience for me and my family, especially because ********* was not up to the high level of service and serving. ********* ******** PS: I consider extremely important for ********* to ichange their policy and nclude visiting homes of future clients and making necessary measurements before installing their saunas. The customer can't foresee what is coming. Yes, ********* mentioned 80" height, but who would know what were the panels ********* planned to put together? It is ridiculous and it still does not get it! Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2015/02/19) */ This was not an order placed on the internet. Mr. ******** spoke to the sales associate numerous times. There were also many email exchanges between the sales associate and Mr. ********. A copy of the invoice was included in one of the emails. Mr. ******** made the final payment prior to delivery in the store at the sales counter where our return policy is clearly posted. The same information is printed on the copy of the receipt that was given at the time of payment. As previously stated, The Great Escape did refund the entire purchase price (not our policy) for the first cancelation of the sauna, due only in fact, that the sauna had not shipped from the manufacturer. The second special order sauna was not only shipped from the manufacturer but delivery and installation to Mr. ******** was attempted. The Great Escape negotiated with the manufacturer on Mr. ********'s behalf to allow the return of the special order product. However, The Great Escape did incur costs for the original shipping fees, repackaging costs and the return shipping back to the manufacturer. In regards to Mr. ********'s claims that this was not a special order item because it was shown on the manufacturer's website, The Great Escape defines special order product as any item that is not stocked in our store or distribution center. These items must be special ordered direct from the manufacturer to satisfy the individual customer's desired product. The Great Escape strives for 100% complete customer satisfaction. It is extremely unfortunate that the special order sauna Mr. ******** choose was unable to be placed in the desired location due to size constraints. However, The Great Escape ordered the special order item that Mr. ******** choose, provided the dimensions to the consumer, scheduled delivery and installation per the consumer's request and attempted in every way to provide the best possible customer service. We are truly sorry that Mr. ******** feels this was a bad experience but we do stand behind our 15% restocking fee as fair and reasonable. ******* **** Manager/Customer Relations Universal Pool/ The Great Escape/ Chicago Home Fitness *** ** ****** ***** ***** ******** ** XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX Ext ****

8/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: From the Great Escape, I ordered 13 pieces of patio furniture: 3 Sofa, 1 Fire Pit, 1 Umbrella, 4 end tables, 4 glass top pieces for end tables, and 3 covers for the sofas. The sofa covers they sold were incorrect, but they insisted they were the correct size and I am now required to go out of my way to exchange them. The 3 sofas, 1 fire pit, 1 umbrella, 1 end table, and 2 pieces of glass arrived at my house. Because I spent over $1000 (I actually spend $6000), I was supposed to get free delivery and setup. No one setup anything they left everything on the deck and left. Of the pieces that did arrive 1 was damaged and will be replaced. For the pieces that didn't arrive they cannot give me new ones only floor models. I have talked to the sales associate and said that when I place my order she told me everything was in stock and would be reserved for me. I now find out that isn't the case. Ordering from the company doesn't mean they set aside something for you, it means you ordered it. I ordered my furniture before another order for the exact same set was placed. However, due to my deck being built my delivery date was farther out from the other person and they send my "reserved" set to them and now I am stuck waiting until I can get floor models shipped to me which will take over a week I am told. I am a 30 minute drive from most of the stores in the Chicago area, there is absolutely no reason it needs to take a week, especially when I offered to pick them up myself. Additionally, since I am purchasing floor models I was only offered a 10 % discount. Floor models are always sold for a significantly less amount than brand new full price items. I think this is unacceptable. Now I have an incomplete set of furniture, no dates as to when I will receive it all. I was lied to about the services they provide for delivery and setup. Additionally, when we placed the order the sales staff incorrectly ordered over 50% of the pieces and I had to point out the mistakes and ensure I had a proper order. I have called customer service and have not received a call back. At this point I am inclined to return it all, however I am told I cannot do that. Therefore, I want the products I paid for, delivered in non-damaged condition, and want to move on from this horrible experience. I will never be a customer again.

Desired Settlement: I am expecting a quick response to the lies, answers to why no one can tell me why they cannot be ordered, and explain to me how purchasing and reserving items to be delivered can be delivered to another customer who can take delivery before me. I would like the items further discounted and all damaged ones replaced in a timely fashion. I feel a minimum of 25% discount on the items I need to take as floor models is appropriate (and undamaged ones at that). This I feel is extremely fair not only have they lied and jerked me around, but I will have to take time off to go pick up pieces of the furniture. You have now wasted my time, caused tremendous frustration and should not be allowed to provide this type of service to anyone. The business practices of sales staff promising services that are not rendered coupled with the delivery of "reserved" items to other customers, is absolutely despicable.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/08/04) */ Contact Name and Title: ************ Contact Phone: ****************** Contact Email: *********shoptge.net The Great Escape has exchanged the incorrect items and has authorized the 25% discount for the floor model items ($150.00)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on The Great Escape
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)