Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

The Great Escape

Phone: (708) 339-6060 Fax: (708) 339-6091 View Additional Phone Numbers 300 W Armory Dr, South Holland, IL 60473 http://www.shopthegreatescape.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Great Escape meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


This BBB Business Review is for all 16 of The Great Escape's locations in Chicago and Northern Illinois. All BBB complaints for The Great Escape are contained in this report.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for The Great Escape include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Additional Complaint Information

This BBB Business Review is for all 16 of The Great Escape's locations in Chicago and Northern Illinois. All BBB complaints for The Great Escape are contained in this report.


This BBB Business Review is for all 16 of The Great Escape's locations in Chicago and Northern Illinois. All BBB complaints for The Great Escape are contained in this report.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

10 Customer Reviews on The Great Escape
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 10
Total Customer Reviews 10

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 05, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1972 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/1972
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Marc Rush, President Mr. Frank Gaudio, Branch Manager Mr. Brian Geiger, General Manager Ms. Shannon Hill Mr. Michael Kite, Branch Manager Mr. Chris Lang, Branch Manager Mr. Ian Miska, Branch Manager Mr. John Nuebling, Branch Manager Mr. Doug Pearson, Branch Manager Mr. Andy Peilet, Branch Manager Mr. Tom Sendag, Branch Manager Mr. Barry Sneed, Branch Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Marc Rush, President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pools & Hot Tubs Swimming Pool Enclosures Swimming Pool Cover Sales & Service Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies Bar - Fixtures Wine Storage Equipment Sports & Recreation Awnings & Canopies Billiard Equipment & Supplies Exercise Equipment & Machines - Sales Fireplaces Furniture - Outdoor Furniture - Retail Games & Supplies Lawn & Garden Equipment & Supplies Home Accessories Home Centers Home Theater House Furnishings & Services Patio Equipment & Supplies Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Health & Wellness Internet Shopping Bar Supplies Spa, Hot Tub, Sauna Sales And Service Gazebos All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Service Area

This BBB Business Review is for all 16 of The Great Escape's locations in Chicago and Northern Illinois. All BBB complaints for The Great Escape are contained in this report.
Additional Information


This BBB Business Review is for all 16 of The Great Escape's locations in Chicago and Northern Illinois. All BBB complaints for The Great Escape are contained in this report.

Products & Services

This company also offers game tables/accessories, bar stools/bar accessories, wooden playsets and basketball systems.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The Great Escape has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 300 W Armory Dr

    South Holland, IL 60473 (708) 339-6060

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/30/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We've purchased from Great Escapes a full patio furniture set, established date for delivery and due to their error in processing they didn't deliver. When we asked for an update, they fully were aware we needed furniture for a Saturday party, the LIED to us and said it would be here in time. They called us the Friday before the party to then tell us deliver would be between 4-8PM, this is the time of the party. This is the second time we have had issues with credibility and more importantly TRUTHFULNESS from this organization. We are still waiting for resolution to a previous issue where they LIED to us regarding replacement product for damaged product. They indicated to us it was in route from ASIA, they told us this story for 3 months, to find out it was all A LIE, the product was never in route and they were no longer carrying the table we spent $2K for. They delivered the floor model (WHICH WAS ALSO DAMAGED) then resigned themselves to offer us a credit in store. THEY tell you want YOU WANT TO HEAR, are not responsive and refuse to escalate issues past local store. The GM for the Algonquin store takes Friday's off, i asked them to call his manager to see if they can reschedule to be the first stop of deliveries, the local store WOULD NOT. This recent order was $5,000.00 Our previous orders totaled $15,000. You'd think a company with this type of sales volume from a customer would do what they can to resolve and ensure they're happy. NO CUST SERVICE, NO SUPPORT and DECEPTIVE!

Business Response:

I’m very sorry for the delays in delivery and service.  I see that delivery of the most recent purchase was made on August 20th, 2016.  The delivery crew noted a problem with (1) lounge chair and service has been scheduled to exchange this item on August 24, 2016.  In regards to the warranty issue, the parts were ordered and shipped from overseas and arrived to our warehouse on 8/16/16.  They were sent to the Algonquin location and have been delivered to the customer.  We sincerely apologize that your customer service experience has been less than the 100% satisfaction that we strive to meet.

7/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a pool from the Great Escape on 4/6/16. I still do not have a quality install as of 7/5/16. It has been a myriad of problems. Could not get a hold of their installer for weeks. Finally get a date with the installer on 6/3, and the Great Escape did not deliver my pool. I offered to have one of my trucks pick up the pool on 6/2, which the salesman approved. Sent my truck to pick up the pool, and the manager **** (Aurora, IL) called me and said we could not pick it up due to improper set up by the sales person. Told the manager **** that he better contact the installer and let him know that the install would not happen on 6/3/16. **** stated that he had contacted the installer to let him know that the install would not happen. I then woke up on the morning of 6/3 to 2.5 tons of sand blocking my entire driveway. Called The Great Escape, and was told by the sales person **** ******** that they were working on a solution. Received a new install date on 6/22. Pool arrived at my house on 6/21. Installer showed up on 6/22, and could not finish install because the wall of the pool was to short. Installer left with parts laying all over my backyard, and garbage everywhere. Went to store on 6/26 and talked to **** (Asst Mgr Aurora, IL) to complain about where the new wall was. Delivered on 6/27, and they just dropped in my backyard. Installer arrived on 6/28 to 'finish' install. The pool was not straight, had waves in the walls. He told my wife to fill pool and it would take waves out. My wife did what the installer said and the waves did not go away. Also, tops of columns are popping off due to the pool not being straight. Contacted **** on 7/1 when I returned from business, and he stated that he was going to have a new installer come and look at it. Did not hear back from ****. Contacted **** on 7/2, and he said he knew nothing about it. He said he would call back, and he never did. I need someone to come and fix my pool.

Desired Settlement: I would like someone to fix my pool. It has been 3 months since purchase, and I still do not have a functioning pool. Reimbursement for all of the trouble, lost time, truck to go and pick up the pool, loss of garage use for almost 3 weeks.

Business Response:

Mr. ******

We are very sorry for the inconveniences experienced during the delivery and installation of your pool.  The pool wall issue was determined to be a manufacturer’s defect caused by the improper calibration in the cutting of the wall.  A replacement wall was ordered and shipped as quickly as possible.  There were time restraints in getting the new wall from the manufacturer. The new pool wall was delivered and the pool was installed in your desired location.  We understand that this was a replacement pool, meaning that it was installed in place of a pre-existing pool.  As you were previously advised, this could cause measuring and placement issues.  Fortunately, these issues did not happen.  After installation was complete, you did have questions concerning the quality of the installation.  Upon your request, we did send an installer to inspect the pool. The installer states that the pool is well within the required tolerance levels for both levelness and safety.  It is our understanding that you have decided to leave the pool as-is.  If you would like to contact **** ****** at the Aurora store location,  he will provide product compensation for your trouble and inconvenience.  Again, we sincerely apologize but hope that you will enjoy your pool for many years to come.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

10 Customer Reviews on The Great Escape
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart