Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Downes Swimming Pool Co, Inc

Phone: (847) 398-7665 Fax: (847) 637-1880 View Additional Phone Numbers 725 W University Dr, Arlington Heights, IL 60004 http://www.downespool.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Downes Swimming Pool Co, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Downes Swimming Pool Co, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Downes Swimming Pool Co, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 04, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1970 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/1970 Business incorporated 02/15/1972 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Luis Downes, President/Owner Mr. Michael Downes, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Luis Downes, President/Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Michael Downes, General Manager
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Service & Repair Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Checks
Products & Services

This company offers Inground Pool Construction & Maintenance.


Additional Locations

  • 725 W University Dr

    Arlington Heights, IL 60004 (847) 398-7665

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** swimming pool service ageed to come to my house to repair 3 items. While repairing one of the three which was the rope for the pool cover I had a conversation with the installer, who was very competent and very polite explained the problem, how he was going to fix it. He said that both ropes had to be replaced but he only had one on the truck and would have to come back the next day or two to complete the balance of work. And that the original charge for one side would be $420.00 but the other side would be less because I was paying for time and material and he would do most of the work for the other rope while he was there thus not having to spend as much time which equals less labor cost. He came back the next day as promised but only fixed the rope and left the balance of work for someone else to come back and take care of. That never happened. I waited for a return, called to see when they would return , no answer on when but that they would let me know. No call, no return to finish job. But I did get a bill for the rope, and it was the same cost as the original one that was installed. I called and spoke with one of the owners and assured me that there isn't going to be a lessor charge for the other rope even though his installer a rep. of the company explained in detail why it would be less. I was going to pay the majority of the bill but after dealing with people who don't do what they say they are going to do and still feel that they somehow are deserving of respect and payment. I've had it. What ever you can do will be greatly appreciated. Sincerely, ****

Desired Settlement: An apology from the owner and a small discount that was promised me from the beginning.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/23) */ Contact Name and Title: Mike ****** VP Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@downespool.com Mr. ******* contacted our company in August of 2014. He scheduled a service call for his auto cover because it was not working as well as the air blower. We confirmed a date and time for the morning of August 28th, Thursday. Our cover technician determined the auto cover rope had to be replaced because it was broke. He also determined the blower was not working because the electrical breaker had tripped. He reset the breaker and the blower worked. The technician called the office in order to get an accurate quote for the cover repair. The technician informed Mr. ******* that the cost to replace the rope, including the rope kit, end pulley, tax and labor was $443.83. This price was to replace (1) rope kit and (1) pulley. He agreed to the cost. Our technician wrote down the quote on the work order, which was signed by Mr. *******. After the rope was replaced and after the quote had been provided, the technician informed Mr. ******* the other rope was starting to tear and probably would break soon. He approved the additional work and paid a $400 deposit. Our technician only had (1) replacement rope kit on his truck and informed the client that he had to return. The tech did some of the preparation work while he was there, which was in addition to the $443.83 quote previously. The technician was there for 2 hours. We then reschedule the return visit on Saturday the 30th, 2 days later. The same technician returned and replaced the 2nd rope kit and pulley. Once those parts were repaired then he serviced and adjusted the entire cover. The technician was there for 2.5 hours on Saturday. The homeowner signed the work order approving the work, labor, material and quote. ****** then invoiced the client on September 2nd for $887.66 which was for both rope kits and pulleys ($443.83 x 2). On Monday December 8th I e-mailed the customer that the 3 month old invoice had not been paid and was still due. We then talked on the phone because he thought the invoice would be for less money. I explained the cost and he agreed to the total and said he would pay it. He stated he wanted additional work done. I asked that he pay this invoice first. On December 17th I e-mailed Mr. ******* again reminding him that we spoke over 2 weeks ago and that he told me he was sending in payment. I asked for an update on the payment. On December 21st he replied back that he will "have to send payment after Holidays. Looks like second week of January." On January 20th, the 3rd week of January, I again e-mailed him...."Good afternoon. cold I please get an update on the payment for the invoice from September 2nd for the auto cover repair." He replied 2 days later stating "I'll get a check out this weekend." We never received that check. On February 9th, over 2 weeks later, I e-mailed him "....we still have not received your payment. you told me 2 weeks ago that you were sending payment. what is the status?" Mr. ******* never replied. On Monday, February 16th I again e-mailed the client stating we had been trying to collect on this past due invoice for 1/2 year. On multiple occasions we were told that payment was going to be made. I informed him that we would give him until Friday the 20th to pay the invoice otherwise I would be forced to send the account to our attorney. Our company tried to collect and gave the client plenty of time to pay the invoice. On Friday the 20th Mr ******* called our office, swore on the phone to our office manager, told her to call back at 3pm for a debit card number then hung up on her. At 3pm we called him back. He did not answer so our office manager left a message. Mr. ******* did not return on phone call. He then filed a complaint over the weekend. ****** Pool has been patient in collecting the past due invoice owed. We have a signed work order approving the work and pricing. We have copies of the e-mails from him stating he would pay. Our office has mailed statements. Not at anytime did he state he would only pay part of the money due. The customer's auto cover was repaired and he had use of the cover the rest of the summer. One of the complaints is that we did not do additional work other than the auto cover. I'm afraid that if we did additional work then we would still be owed that money as well. The irony is that he stated that he "..was going to pay the majority of the bill but after dealing with people that don't do what they say they are going to do and still feel that they somehow are deserving of respect and payment.". We repaired the auto cover but did not receive payment. He said he was going to pay on multiple occasions but did not. We have been very polite and patient and have waited 1/2 year for payment. Mr. ******* owes the balance of the invoice $487.66 ($887.66 less the $400 initial payment). Back in December Mr. ******* told me that he wants us to do additional work but now thinks we are not deserving of respect or payment????


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Downes Swimming Pool Co, Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)