Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Aqua Pools, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (708) 301-9400 Fax: (708) 645-0176 View Additional Phone Numbers 13445 W 159th St, Homer Glen, IL 60491 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.aquapoolsonline.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Aqua Pools, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Aqua Pools, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Aqua Pools, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 11, 2005 Business started: 04/01/1978 Business started locally: 04/01/1978 Business incorporated 04/25/1979 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. James Eiler Mr. James Eiler, Jr., Vice President Mr. James Eiler, Sr, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Eiler
Principal: Mr. James Eiler, Jr., Vice President
Business Category

Contractors-Swimming Pool/Service & Supplies Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Cover Sales & Service Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies Swimming Pool Service & Repair Swimming Pools - Private All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Alternate Business Names
Aqua Pools, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 10517 Southwest Hwy

    Worth, IL 60482 (708) 361-1000

  • 13445 W 159th St

    Homer Glen, IL 60491 (708) 301-9400

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Aqua Pools was to come to my home to test my pool for a leak on 7-17. The charge for the testing was $225. The day before they called to confirm the appointment and took my debit card number over the phone and I was told that they would be over sometime after 2pm. I waited all day and never once did I see or hear anyone in my yard, nor did anyone contact me to tell me they were there. I had to call the office myself around 4 pm. I spoke to **** and asked when someone was coming because it was getting late and she proceeded to tell me someone was already there and they tested the filter. I said how come noone came to the door and she said that they knocked but noone answered. I then asked her why they didn't leave anything in the door or the mailbox showing they were there and what the test showed. She said that she would contact the person that did the testing and email something stating what the the problem was and an estimate for repair. But she was leaving at 5pm. I did not hear anything from them until I called them again on MONDAY at around 10:30am. I spoke to **** and she then stated that she couldn't give me an estimate of repair until another test was done that would cost me another $225. I said what about the first test what did that show, where's my paperwork telling me what the actual problem is and what type of repairs we would need to discuss. She said she couldnt provide that. Even though she was suppose to email what I requested Friday. So they charged me $225 to verbally tell me I had a leak in the pool which I already knew because that's the reason I called them, and they wouldn't give me what I paid for, the reason for the leak and what kind of repairs we would need to talk about. They claim to have been at the house for an hour doing testing but during that whole hour noone tried to get in touch with me, and afer they completed the so called testing I never received one phone call from them. I was constantly calling them. My daughter even had to call them and when asked why noone made sure someone was home or called to discuss them being there, ****'s response was we don't do business like that. They took my money and I have received no service or proof thereof, and then told if I want any more information it would cost me another $225. I'm 82 years old and I believe that they took advantage of me.

Desired Settlement: I was charged for a service that I have no idea if it was completed or not. All I have is an invoice stating that I'm paid in full and that they tested the pool for a leak. I saw noone, noone contacted me during or after the fact. I have nothing that I paid for. I paid for a service and whether or not it was done is debatable and if it was done I have no proof, no paperwork or reason for the leak! That is what I paid for! I received nothing but back talk back tracking and story after story. And 8f I want anything more I'm suppose to give them more money when I don't know what is even going on

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/27) */ We are sorry to hear that you are having an issue with your service. The service we supplied to the customer was a pressure test. The point of this test is to determine if the pool membrane is leaking or if the plumbing is leaking. After preforming the test, the results were that the plumbing itself is leaking because it would not hold pressure. On the service ticket, the instructions were to call when we were on our way. Our office called with no answer. When the service tech arrived, he knocked on the door with out an answer. We had access to the back yard so the service tech proceeded to carry out the service call. Once we determined that the plumbing lines are leaking we need to proceed to step 2. Step 2 would be using ********* to locate the leak/leaks. This is a separate charge. Nobody was available to approve the step 2 so we did not proceed with it. Once step 2 is approved, we will complete this and then we can give an estimate to repair said damage. We are not comfortable giving an estimate with out doing step 2 because it could be a couple hundred dollars to thousands of dollars. It all depends on how many leaks there are and where they are located. To describe this more thoroughly in a way that people may understand. The leak detect is like an x-ray. Sometimes you can see what the problem is but sometimes you need to go get an MRI for a more precise test. A ******** test for us is a more precise test. Once the MRI is completed then you have the surgery or rehabilitation of what ever is needed. This is just like what we do, once we use the *********, we can tell you what needs to be done.

10/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July, XX XXXX we purchased a pool liner and winter cover from Aqua Pools $4,722.90 paying in full for both pool liner and winter cover. I was told it would take approx. 2-3 weeks for delivery. Four (4) weeks later **** (installer for Aqua pools) came out to our home to re-measure the pool liner, **** indicated they had measured wrong. Two (2) weeks later ***** from Aqua pools called and advised us that the new liner came in damaged it would take another 2 weeks for a another liner. Finally the pool liner came in and we agreed for the installation date to be on 9/2/14. On 9/2/14 the installer **** was here to install the pool liner, I asked **** if he could close the pool since it was so late in the season. **** then asked me for the winter cover, I advise him that I ordered the winter cover 7/14 through Aqua Pools and that they should have the winter cover. **** later that day while installing the pool liner advised me the winter cover was never ordered, this was paid in full amount of $1,914.80 on 7/14/2014. After much grief from ***** and *** (owner)agreed to credit my ******** Card for the amount of the winter cover that was never ordered. Timeline: On 9/3/2014 they removed and installed the new pool liner in less then 2 hours, turned on the pool water and left the job - Only main drain was installed when they left without notifying us what their next step was re completion or when they would return to complete the installation. On 9/4 later that day while we where not home they showed up .... They re-moved the pool light which was in working condition prior to their installation of new pool liner. With no communication to us from Aqua Pools they showed sometime after 3:30 in the afternoon and tried to install the pool light in doing so they caused a large amount of sand to flow into the pool and damage to light itself. The installers knowing there was now a problem with the pool light continued to fill the pool by turning on the water and left the pool light on the deck of the pool without installing the light once again left without completion of the job. We where not home at the time.....***** knowing we where not home was able to reach me by my cell phone later that day and advised me there will be an additional cost to repair the pool light and the installers turned on our water to continue to fill up the pool. I indicated to ***** the pool light was working prior to the installers removing the light and I should not have to pay an additional fee to correct a problem they caused. ***** indicated she would talk to the installers. **** (installer) came back out and advised me the pool light should be an easy fix, but he can not complete the pool installation until we pay in full up front total balance due of $1,450. **** indicated once we pay in full he would come back and complete the installation of pool liner. On 9/29/14 **** came out approx. 4:00 pm to complete the job, **** stated before he could do anything Aqua Pools is requesting full payment upfront by check dated same day 9/29/14 for completion. **** stated once Aqua Pools receives check dated for today he will fix the pool light, drain all of the water that is now behind pool liner causing may wrinkles with the new liner and then finish filling up the pool water and come back another day to vacuum all of the sand out of the pool and turn on the pool light to make sure it still works. At this point our concern with the history that we have experienced with Aqua Pools business practice is this job would never be completed and our check would be cashed same day by Aqua Pools. To be fair to all parties same day with **** I offered to post date a check by 3 days - Or - pay by my ******** Card Either of these payments where offered by me to have reassurance of job completion. Neither of these forms of payment where accepted by Aqua Pools. Payment communication was done only through **** the installer - No direct communication with Owner

Desired Settlement: It has been over a month since the pool installation began. Currently our new pool liner is stained from standing green water - wrinkles thought the entire new liner caused by water behind liner - sand is still on the bottom of pool,- and pool light remains broken. It has been over 1 week since last communication with Aqua Pools re payment options - There has been no communications with the owners to resolve this issue in a fair manner for all involved. Winter is approaching we need to get this resolved so we can close the pool for the season. With Aqua pools we will postdate a check by 3 days for guarantee completion. OR Pay by ******** and if a problem we are able to dispute payment. If Aqua pools remains to refuse payments offered we have no choice but to hire another pool company to correct and complete pools installation.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/10/07) */ I apologize for the inconveniences that the customer had when ordering the replacement liner and the safety cover. The issue with the light in the pool is separate from the liner installation. The light still physically works but the problem with the light is that the underground pipe behind the light has rotted away. Saying that Aqua Pools is responsible is the same as having new tires installed on your car and telling the tire company that the brakes are bad due to the tires being installed. Because of the inconveniences with the liner and the safety cover, we came to an agreement with the homeowner that the light pipe issue would be repaired at no charge to them as long as the balance was paid in full to have their account in good standing. The homeowner stated that he would provide our service guys with the final payment when they showed up to repair the light issue. We scheduled a time to take care of the light issue for the customer, my service guys showed up and then the customer wanted to "post date" a check to us. Once the account is in good standing, we will take care of the light issue that we originally agreed to. The wrinkles in the bottom of the pool are due to the homeowner draining water out of the pool to get the sand out of the pool. We offered to vacuum the sand out of the pool for the homeowner which appeared due to the failed light pipe (from original installation of the pool done by others). Nobody had instructed the homeowner to drain the water out of the pool and we wanted the pool filled with water to stop the water pressure from building up underneath the liner. The water in the pool typically applies more pressure to the liner than water behind the pool when it is filled. We could still do the repair to the light with the pool full of water so it was important that the pool was filled up and it did not need to be drained and stay drained for as long as it has. By draining the water out of the pool and not refilling it, the homeowner allowed the water pressure to build up behind the liner and "float" the liner, creating the wrinkles. This can potentially damage the liner by the water in the ground applying more upward pressure that the liner can support while connected to the main drain in the bottom of the pool. This upward pressure could potentially tear the liner away from the main drain. We have been in business for over 36 years and have many customers that refer us. We have 2 stores so if you had an issue with something we have done, you have 2 places to go for it to be resolved should one arise. Not only do we have customers referring us because of the amazing work that we have done but also because of how we handle any issues that arise after we are finished with the job within our warranty period. The liner was completely installed and the homeowner could have used the pool as they saw fit. The light issue, which is not part of the liner installation, is a separate issue that we will take care of at no charge due to the inconveniences the customer had when the liner was ordered. At this point, the liner job is completed. Once the account is in good standing, we are more than happy to repair the light issue that we said we would at no charge to the homeowner, fix the wrinkles that the homeowner caused by draining the pool and vacuum the sand out of the pool for the homeowner. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/10/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Since Aqua Pools say's the light physically still works I went outside and turned it on. No light - If the pipe is rotted away - how was the installer able to remove the light? I was told by the installer not to fill the pool over the light because he put a plug in the hole and when he removed the plug more sand wound up in the pool. I trusted Aqua Pools on July 14th and I was billed for something they never ordered for 2 months. I'm sorry but I have been lied to and I have no trust in Aqua Pools. If they have any intention to fix these problems, it has been almost 5 weeks - How about a little good faith from Aqua Pools. I will accept under the following conditions: 1. Install light and make sure it works. 2. Fix the liner by removing wrinkles 3. Vacuum pool to remove sand from pool 4. Payment by ******** Card (as my prior method of payment offered to Aqua Pools. If there is a problem I will dispute the charges with ******** Card. I'm assuming in good faith on behalf of Aqua Pools part there should be no problems. I'm having someone close the pool for the winter on Monday, 10/13...Work must be completed by this date. A call from Aqua Pools to communicate date and time completion is schedule for. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/10/08) */ The light physically works. It has to be wired to turn on. The problem with the light is that light pipe failed. With a failed light pipe, the light cord can not be pulled through the pipe. The light was able to be removed because you can pull a cord out, you just can't put it back in. The homeowner must have misunderstood the installer. The purpose for us putting the plug in the light was so he could physically fill up the pool, not keep it below that. We take offense that you think we "lied" to you when it seems that you have misunderstood the situation. The pool is supposed to be filled! If at any point the water is drained out of the pool, the liner can float, wrinkle and shrink! This can permanently damage the liner. The homeowner was NEVER instructed to drain the water out of the pool. When the service guys were their last, the water was below the shallow end, which it should never be that low, and the service guys specifically instructed the homeowner to fill the pool up. We should be able to remove the wrinkles, depending on the condition the liner is in, some wrinkles may end up not coming out. I am stating this because that is not grounds to dispute the credit card charge since that is due to the homeowners actions. If the homeowner decides to pay his outstanding bill, we will accept a ******** Card payment. The homeowner can call the credit card in to our office and ask for the billing department. Once the account is in good standing, we will schedule the light repair and fix the wrinkles under the pool to the best of our ability. The next date that I have available is Tuesday 10/14/2014. I have penciled in this spot for the homeowner but we need a response by Thursday, October 9th at noon.

9/20/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In May of 2012 Aqua Pools installed a new liner for our in ground pool at a cost of $2,650. In August of 2012 we noticed the pool water was leaking. Service came out and explained there was nothing wrong. We continuously added 1 inch of water per day until Aqua Pools closed the pool in Sept/Oct 2012. Pool was opened in May of 2013, water level 4 inches below filter. In June of 2013 a very noticeable crease and dark spot starts to grow in deep end of pool. Pool continues to leak, 6 calls to Aqua in May, 7 in June, 6 in July, 9 in August. Several visits were made by Aqua. A very noticeable "crease" in the liner has now grown to 3 creases. In August of 2013 Aqua Pools recommends the concrete around the pool has sunken (which they installed). On September 2nd Aqua Pools patches the concrete at a $800 cost. Today, September the inground pool continues to lose water at an estimate 2-3 inches per day. This pool is in need of a new liner which Aqua Pools is unwilling to pay for.

Desired Settlement: While I hesitate to replace this liner by Aqua Pools, I understand this may be the only alternative. The liner leaked the first year and is now in terrible condition. A refund and new liner by a reputable pool company is desired.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/09) */ This complaint is a surprise to us. We have been out to this customers house approximately 10 + times responding to the customers calls. The customers received a new liner at 1/2 price because it kept leaking even when there was no apparent leak. Later this year, we found that one of the customers deck jets was leaking. This is where we believe the water was going for the last liner. The customers new liner has chemical damage and that is the cause of the crease. This was verified by the Manufacturer of the liner as well and they also said that it could be causing the leaking. We first noticed this chemical damage when we opened the pool this spring. We explained this to the homeowner and then had the Manufacturer's Local Representative out there to verify our findings. If this were a manufacture defect or an issue caused by Aqua Pools, I would be more than happy to help the customer with this problem but when the primary chemicals used in the pool weren't even purchased from any of my stores, I can't even take the responsibility for something that I don't even sell. The customer called us today and scheduled an appointment for us to come back out again becasue she brought some new information up to us pertaining to this potential leak. We will contact her by phone today to verify if she would like to keep the appointment.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Aqua Pools, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)