Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

American Sale Corp Office

Phone: (708) 633-7700 Fax: (708) 633-7701 View Additional Phone Numbers 8401 W 185th St, Tinley Park, IL 60487 http://www.americansale.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Sale Corp Office meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Sale Corp Office include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on American Sale Corp Office
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 18, 2008 Business started: 01/01/1960 Business started locally: 01/01/1960 Business incorporated 06/25/1960 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert Jones III, President Ms. Mary Sue Kempton, H.R. Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Jones III, President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Cover Sales & Service Billiard Equipment & Supplies Patio Equipment & Supplies Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Whirlpool Bath Equipment & Supplies Christmas Lights & Decorations Spa, Hot Tub, Sauna Sales And Service All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Alternate Business Names
American Sales Corporation

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

American Sale Corp Office has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 8401 W 185th St

    Tinley Park, IL 60487 (708) 633-7700

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 11, 2015, I purchased quite a few things to close our above ground pool, as this was the first time we have ever attempted this, I was not completely sure of what I needed. I took the merchandise home and proceeded to close the pool. I overbought and brought back all the extra on October 12, 2015. I was informed by the sales clerk that he was arbitrarily charging me a re-stock fee as two of the packages had been opened and he could not sell them as new. I explained that I had opened one of them, but bought the other one in the exact condition that I returned it. I was issued a credit back to my debit card of $62.44, which has never hit my account. I called and spoke to customer service on 10/22/2015, and was told that it has just been batched and that I should see it shortly, depending on the banks...etc. I said ok, and and called back today, and explained the entire situation again and was told that I would receive a call back. That has not happened and I am very nearly a month out without receiving my funds. I find this ridiculous as I do credits card purchases all the time for my firm. I would like my money back without having to jump through any more hoops, or taking the time to call them and explain everything again. Thank you

Desired Settlement: I want my money refunded quickly.

9/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Still has not followed through on their Promise to repair damages done by their service technician when he came out to repair initial problem.

Desired Settlement: Replace & repair damage to walls done by their repair tech

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/15) */ Contact Name and Title: John *** ***** Manager Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX Contact Email: ********@americansale.com We have reached out via email to the consumer to identify exactly what needs to be done, to determine a best course of action resolution. We are waiting for their response. If we do not hear from them in 2-3 days, we will attempt to contact them again.

8/10/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a gazbo from American Sales back in 2012 which I financed and paid off through them. I paid $4000.00+ for this item. During installation (by them) the installer were stepping all over the roof. This cause the roof to buckle. They were four corner pieces that were to be replace but they kept coming damaged. During one of the repair attempt they cracked the skylight. All this was noted and I do have picture of the install (them stepping on the roof) and the notation of the crack skylight that was to be replace. I have sent several email to ******* at American Sales and can not even get her to ply to us any longer. I paid good money for a good product that was damaged by their installation department. Back in Sept. 2014 I received this email: ******- The replacement flashers we received in are also damaged. I have to re-contact the vendor about the issue. At this time, the installers will not be returning as I was advised there are currently flashers installed on your gazebo. Once I have an update from the manufacture, I will advise further. Thanks- ******* - In October I got this: We are not aware of a damaged sky light and was not notated anywhere on the original install. Thanks- ******* - Please note I have copies of everything and can provide it. All we want is the items repaired. That is all we have asked for. I even asked ******* for the GM name and number which were never given to me. Please let's get this taken care of! It's been going on three years now!

Desired Settlement: I would like for this gazebo to be repaired - since it was damaged by them!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/16) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *** ***** Manager Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX Contact Email: ********@americansale.com We will contact customer, get new parts ordered, and arrange for new parts to be installed on the gazebo. We will also have customer sign off that the new parts are satisfactory to ensure the problem doesn't become an ongoing situation again. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/05/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accept the response from the company. I would like to know how long I may have to wait for the new parts. Plus I want to make sure the new parts are the corner pieces PLUS the skylight roof. As stated I have pictures and sign off sheets from the previous installation member notating the above. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2015/07/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have not received one call from the company. My telephone number I can be reached at is XXX-XXX-XXXX. I am home ALL the time as I work from home. Please provide me with a number and person of contact so I can reach you also. Also, are the parts in? Summer is almost over - yet again. Final Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2015/07/30) */ Contact Name and Title: **** Van Huis, Manager Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX Contact Email: ********@americansale.com One of our Customer Service Representatives spoke with ***** ******** and requested photos of the components they are requesting be replaced so we can address all the concerns in 1 visit. We are waiting on pictures from the consumer.

8/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First the wrong pool and items were delivered pushing back the install date, then piles of dirt were left and we were never told we would have to have to removed. The men installing the pool did not speak English making it very hard to explain how we wanted it installed and for them to understand. The motor of the pump went out before the season was even over and I had to drive to exchange it. Our pool liner had wrinkles all over it they said the water would make them go away but it didn't, we weren't even going to complain at this point until now there is a huge divot like 4 inches deep and 7-8 inches wide in the bottom on the side of the pool. I called hoping they would just come fix it considering I have not even used the pool a season and a half yet but no they said the sand must of just washed away. They are willing to fix it if we drain the pool and pay them a additional fee. The manger was not helpful just said it wasn't covered sorry your unhappy with your experience with us never tried to make us happy for fix the list of issues we had. I would never use American Sale for anything again or recommend them to anyone. I will now be removing the frog system so I no longer have to buy anything from them again. After American Sales gets their sale and money that's all they care about, not keeping the customers happy and backing there products and installation.

Desired Settlement: I think they should at least come and fix the huge Divot in our pool and not charge to do so, I Will already have a large water bill considering I will have to drain the pool and then refill the whole thing.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/04) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *** ***** Manager Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX Contact Email: ********@americansale.com We apologize for the pool not being delivered correctly, but that was resolved immediately and you were installed thereafter. Dirt removal is not included in our basic installation, it is an unknown variable, how much digging will be done. They installers offer services to haul away any excessive dirt, and our installation agreements that the customer signed, states all of that. While the installers are more than qualified, we do not guarantee a wrinkle free pool bottom, most times those are "fold wrinkles" caused by the liner being folded up in the box from the manufacturer. Most do work their way out, but it is not guaranteed. No issues of divots or sand washouts were documented inside of the their 1 year installation warranty. Once a pool is installed, and used, there is no guarantee that ground will not shift, settle, or move, which can cause inconsistencies in the pool bottom. This is not covered under warranty as it is mother nature caused, and unavoidable. While it is not the consumers fault, it is not an element that is covered under any warranty. We made a more than fair offer to resolve the situation with a $65 service call fee, when our normal rate is $189. We wanted to handle this with our own service team, as the installer who put the pool in, would have charged much more. Water replacement is not covered under ANY warranty, documented clearly on our installation agreement, so best case scenario was to perform the service work at the end of the season when the pool would need water drained at that time anyways. We have made a good faith offer considering this is not covered under warranty. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/08/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) At first no one was trying to work with me on price at all it was not until after I submitted my complaint that I was contacted to do it for $60 and at that point my husband did make an appointment. I obviously will have to return to American Sales for pool chemicals and such so was not happy to have negative costumer service I appreciate that this was resolved thank you.

8/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/31/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
2/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought an outdoor kitchen from American Sale in 2013, after it was delivered some of the stones started falling off, they sent the delivery guys back to reattach them and they made a mess with the adhesive on both the stones and some of the stainless steel... they told me that they would replace the doors with new stainless and it would have a pull out base for the propane tank. THIS HAS NOT HAPPENED. in 2014 the tiles around the perimeter of the tiled top fell off, I again called American Sale... after that call I received a call from a delivery service stating that they had a new top for my outdoor kitchen... it was delivered and is sitting in my garage for about 60 days now, I called BULL grill and a representative of the manufacturer came to my home to see the delivery because h was not aware of any delivery scheduled for me. It turns out that the delivery should have been to a customer in Indianapolis Indiana. They sent someone to reattach the tiles, the tiles have been being held on with grips and a board on my grill top for more than a month and no one has been here to grout or complete the project, it is obvious tat we are again falling through the cracks and no one truly cares, they have my $6000.00 and have forgotten about me.

Desired Settlement: I don't know

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/25) */ We were not aware the grout and repair had not taken place as scheduled and it appears this is an additional problem that occurred. The replacement drawer/door was being handled by *** *** at Orland store location, and he will be ordering one for the replacement as the one we had in our display was not located in inventory which was going to be provided to **** as *** promised. The manufacture, **********, is aware of the repairs needed and are setting up their installer to go out to the home to complete the repairs and has to verify if materials are at the home or need to be mailed. Once I have confirmed dates on the issues, I will update further. Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2014/08/11) */ This has gotten out of hand... about 10 days ago two men came to my home to repair the doors to my outdoor kitchen, when they arrived i explained that they are to replace the doors not repair them, their work order showed they are to repair. They did not have the replacement doors. I still have the new, crated tile top in my garage and i need it gone asap! I would love if they simply take the grill back and give me my money back. Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2014/09/02) */ 8/29/14 We were not aware the Bull Grill technician had not completed the full repair of the tile after adhering it and then needed to further fill in the grout portion. Since this visit, the tile come off again due to the grout not being filled in. We have the tile and grout shipping from Bull to Ameridan Sale and our technician will be fillinf in the couple tiles and grout that has come off. Once the materials have arrived, the tech will contact to set up the appt for repair.

9/2/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was forced to purchase another pump dispute me replacing it for now a third time. The last pump that started working was purchased on 5/23/2012. I explained to the store clerk that it should be lasting more then that since I only use it 4 hours a day from ***-Sept. I keep it in a dry Storage over the winter to protect it. The pin that drives the pump frooze up and stopped pumping water. The clerk ***** P proceeded to tell me that it has been an issue and that they carry a more expensive one that I could try. In addition my next door neighbor has gone through four pumps (same pump I have) and is out the money as well. I don't think its fair since they have seen many of these pumps fail. They keep sticking to their 1 year warranty.mim forced only to return to American Sales otherwise I would need to replace the entire system. I think it should have been exchanged at the very least. My pool turned green and added additional cost to get it swim ready again. My purchase info is listed below ***** ****** 5/23/12 Waterway Pump 1.5 HP 2 Speed product ID PhXXXX-XRAM $229.99 Recent purchase 7/26/14 $229.99 w/tax $246.66 I have copies of the receipts if that is needed.

Desired Settlement: I want my money refunded for the second pump I had to purchase in the sum of $246.66.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/25) */ The pump has a 1 year manufacture's warranty which has run out as of June 2013. The pump is no longer under warranty and American Sale could have inspected the pump for a $35 fee and if it was not fixable, the $35 would be refunded and if it required parts then the $35 plu whatever parts were needed. American Sale is not refunding the cost of the pump as it's out of warranty and used for 3 seasons (2012, 2013, until August 2014). Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) American sales needs to do the right thing for the right reason. I have spent a small fortune the past 12 years at this location. A season really consists of only 4 months. If you add the 4 months for each of those years it adds to one full year. Why would American sales continur\e to sell pumps that they know will be returned just after the the warrenty. I'm asking for a full refund in the next 30 days. I don't think Amerciacn Sales wants the negative feedback will will share with others. I'm not the only one who has had this issue. I will start to gather others who have had the same issues to make a bigger deal out of this.I have all the receipts should you need them. The associate named in the compliant told me face to face its an issue and that they have heard the same compliants for many others. Again, I'm asking American Sales to do the right thing by it's customers especially if they want my continued business along with others. Thank you, ***** ****** Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/09/02) */ American Sale is not issuing a refund and as outlined, the merchandise is no longer under warrnty and can be inspected for repair.

8/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a pool on June 27, 2011 from American Sales in Orland Park, IL. Our customer order number is: ***********. The total for the pool was $2949.75. The pool was delivered on June 30, 2011 and was installed on July 11, 2011. We were charged $500 for the installation of the pool. In the summer of 2013 we realized that one side of the pool was sinking. We called American Sales and explained the situation. For months we never got any response or follow-up from the company. In addition, not only was the pool sinking, but it also collapsed. After several months of calling, American Sales finally sent an installer out in December 2013 to inspect the pool. The installer said that he had never seen a pool collapse like this and not to worry, that American Sales would have to honor the warranty. Then he suggested why don't we just contact our homeowner's insurance company instead. American Sales sold the pool, provided the installation and should honor the 30+ year warranty.

Desired Settlement: American Sales is a huge corporation and I cannot believe that they would simply ignore and treat a customer like this. Especially since this is the second pool that had purchased from them, in addition to a hot tub !!!! American Sales has never made any attempt whatsoever to resolve this issue, we want a full refund of the $3509.75, as follows: Purchase price: $2949.75 Installation: $ 500.00 Inspection fee: $ 60.00 TOTAL: $3,509.75

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/15) */ Customer first contacted AMS Customer Service on April 11,2014, nothing prior and no service orders or complaints about their pool prior to this date. The customer was advised on the same day they contacted cst svc and emailed photos of the issue, this was ice damaged incurred over the winter and the pool caved in due to the weight of the snow and ice that wasn't removed from the winter cover and the liner had torn caused the ice to shift and drop which collapsed their pool. The photos were recviewed and we sent our in house technician to the home, and was not an installer and he confirmed this was from ice damage incurred from the winter. The pool collapsed from the top down, so the weight of the winter cover began the process and then from not releasing it from the pressure and the ice dropping from the liner caused it to continue. American Sale submitted the photos to the manufacture regardless of our assessment which in turn the manufacture also confirmed this was caused by weather damage and is not covered under their warranty policy. This is not a manufacture defect and is not warratnied by the manufacture, which the customer is aware as they received a detail letter outlining the costs on each part that required replacement which is as follows: Part ID-URXXXXX-$25.72/each x 16 = $411.52 Part ID-ARXXX-XXX-R- $48.49/each x 16 = $775.84 Part ID-LCXXXXX- $2.53/each x 16 = $40.48 Part ID-LCXXXXX- $6.93/each x 16 = $110.88 Part ID-LCXXXXX - $.56/each x 16 = $8.96 Part ID-LCXXXXX- $.56/each x 16 = $8.96 Freight charge is $335.51 Total is $1554.06 The letter was emailed and directly mailed to the customer by the manufacture and they were advised to file a claim with their homeowvers insurance along with the manufactures letter stating it was caused by weather damage to have their pool replaced under their insurance. American Sale does not warranty or replace weather damaged items no matter what it is or when it was purchased as it's not a defect or a warranty issue. The customer needs all these poarts for replacement and it's on their own accord to cover the costs for replacement. Customer Service was in contact with the custmer the day they contacted us, not for months on end. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/28) */ e: BBB Complaint Case# 94513844 (Ref#XX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXXX) 1 message ********@aol.com <********@aol.com> Wed, Aug 27, 2014 at 10:56 PM To: *******@chicago.bbb.org Cc: ********@aol.com REBUTTAL We do not agree with the response from American Sales. When we originally contacted American Sales in late summer 2013, it was to report that our pool was "sinking" on one side. At that time we were told someone would get back to us. We left our name and number and expected to hear from someone. A couple months later we called again and we were instructed to contact "Sophie" at the distribution center in Tinley Park. We contacted her and never received any response from her either. We closed up the pool the same way we always did. In the spring of 2014 when all of the snow was gone, we could see the pool had collapsed. Once again we started contacting American Sales...not only because in the fall of 2013 and the pool had sunk into the ground on one side...but now because it had collapsed. During one phone call to the store we spoke to the manager, who I believe was Tom, who told us to just call our insurance company and file a claim. I insisted someone come out to look at the pool and finally he told me to call the installers. Finally someone from Esparza came out - who charged us $60.00. We have had pools for over 20 years. We were NEVER told to brush snow off our pools. In addition, NONE of our neighbors had a problem with their pools during the winter. Seems odd that only OUR pool collapsed, especially since it was not even 2 years old. It's very convenient that American Sales does not have records of our complaints regarding the pool sinking! If the pool had been properly secured, leveled and installed in the first place - it would not have sunk. Because the pool was not stable and leveled properly at the time of installation - certainly explains why there would be excess snow on one side which caused the sides to collapse. American Sales dropped the ball... period. They never followed up when the pool was sinking.. which ultimatelylater caused the excess damage. I've attached a copy of a letter we sent to the Mr.****** ***** at customer service of American Sales; along with a picture that shows the pool sinking. The resolution that we would like is for American Sales to replace our pool. Thank you for your time and we will await to hear from you. *** and *** ******* Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/08/28) */ American Sale did not drop the ball on any matter and as prevously outlined, the customer is aware of what caused the issue from both our assessment and the manufactures as well. The pool has been installed since 2011, any faulty installation would incur an issue immediately once the water is filled. American Sale has provided all necessary information to the homeowner as well as the manufacture dfirectly to the customer. American Sale is not covering any costs of the issue incurred by the weather related problem. Any issue on their own behalf can be followed up through their homeowners insurance as a suggestion to assist wtih the costs for replacement.

7/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased several items from Lansing store including pool vacuum. On July 4th having family over children wanted to swim vacuum would not work thought it was the batteries so my husband went and bought more. Vacuum still would not turn on. Took back to store spoke with manager *** ***** he was very rude and treated us as if we were trying to be deceptive. We have purchased several items from this location and never thought we would ever be treated with such unprofessionalism and horrible customer service. We never expected to be told that they do not honor returns and he didn't know what we had done with the vacuum just really unprofessional. I am returning all merchandise I purchased on the 4th and never ever patronizing with American Sales again. We are looking for a refund for an item we wrote able to use twice.

Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/07) */ The customer went into the store without a receipt of purchase or the packaging on the item and was used. The item can not be returned due to no receipt of purhcase (it's a cash and carry item and recipt is required)and no packaging. The issue must be handled through the manufacture, the store manager printed out step by step for the process (about a 5 minute process to complete) for replacement or repair of the item. The customer refused to accept the resolution and insisted on receiving a refund and that can not be completed and is printed on the receipt at time of purachse, original receipt is required. Also, the manufacture deals direct for any warranty matters and not through American Sale, which is also printed on the box itself for this item. American Sale is not issuing a refund or exchange of merchandise and customer needs to follow warranty process which was provided to them at time of conversation in store. The store manager advised he was not rude or beligernet and the customer refused to accept the return was not being completed.

6/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Order number 31022. We put money down on a pool. They said they would call when it came in. It has been 8 years. No one ever called me back! I called to get a refund. They said they refunded us back in 2011. That is a lie!! They never refunded us! The person I spoke to was rude and kept saying I don't know what to tell you. I'm wondering who they refunded- maybe someone who works there? It was not us. I will not do business with this company again.

Desired Settlement: All I want is my $100 back. I wish we had never put money down. You would think they would need the business and would have called us when the pool came in. They never did. It has been almost 8 years!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/09) */ The refund was issued back on 5/27/2010 and was issued back to her charge card at the Orland store location. There is nothing pending or due back further. She had a $100 deposit on her charge card and was issued back to the original card and it's tracked in our system. No refund is due or owing. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have the original receipt and can verify thru the credit card that I put on file. I can also provide records of the cc that was on file that it was not refunded. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/06/09) */ We spoke on the phone after this complaint was filed and I advised the credit was issued back. I can provide the system proof the credit was issued back. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/06/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

5/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company does not have a good service department including technicians and a way to communicate with them. They don't always show up when specified, don't repair the problem the first time and sometimes bring the wrong part. I am now waiting for my third side panel to be replaced after months (partially due to weather) but they are understaffed and not properly trained. Here is my recent email regarding another missed appointment and no phone call or follow-up - I have waited all day for someone to show up as promised to repair my tub. This is not the first time this has happened or you have sent repair people who are not qualified or have sent wrong parts, etc. I am really fed up with your company. Please see the email below. If anyone in upper management could give me a call I would appreciate it. Thank you. XXX-XXX-XXXX. Hi Mr. *******, The soonest I can have a tech out is Friday the 18th. I will put you on for then. Thank you,

Desired Settlement: I would like some free spa accessories for my trouble such as filters and chemicals amounting to $200.00. I was unable to leave the house waiting for them, received no phone call as to their time of arrival and was unable to take care of nay business.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/23) */ There was an issue with the panel, and a new one had to be ordered in January 2014 and is a 6 to 8 weeks lead time from the manufacture. The manufacture shipped us a panel that was too long, therefore we had to request the correct panel and notified the manufacture of their mistake, and the panel was requested to be rushed shipped to us for completion. The technician who is assigned to this job has many years experience and is the Manager of the Spa Department and is fully certified, so this is not a technician issue. The Manager/Tech has already advised the customer we are providing a set of filetrs and a chemical kit for troubles. Updates were provided through *****, our spa customer service representative when they were available from the manufacture.

4/8/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pool was bought 2007 the pool we ordered was not available, they gave us another brand they claimed was better. It is a Vouge brand, the pool is used by adults only well maintained within the first three years the heater rotted out,year four the filter went out,now the side walls are rotting out. American Sales offers limited warenties and no satisfaction. I've never heard of a liner lasting longer than a side wall.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of pool and installation costs

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/25) */ You had submited photos of the issue in August 2013 which customer service reviewed and submitted to the manufacture for review. The issue was caused by a leak and the chemical exposure, which created the holes as the water and chemicals coruated the section of the wall. The manufacture sent you a cost to replace the wall as it's not covered under warranty and we provided the copy of that letter direct to you as well. The issue is not covered under warranty and has a cost of replacement associated to it. American Sale is not replacing or installing a replacement pool free of charge. The issue is not warratied and was reviewed by both American Sale and the manufacture. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We never had a leak, and walls were advertised lifetime warrenty, until a problem arises then its limited life time, we just never heard of pool walls deteriorating after 7 years Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/03/26) */ As stated, both American Sale and the manufacture have reviewed the pictures and is not a warrantied issue. The issue occurred from chemical reaction from a leak and was the clear cause in the photos submitted. The warranty clearly specifies what is covered and not covered under warranty and the letter provided to you from the manufacture. The cost of replacement for the wall was provided and is not being replaced without cost. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/03/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) How can you say there was a leak with no holes in the liner, is it possible you gave us a defective product when you substituted this pool for the one we ordered.

2/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 28, 2013, Mrs. ****** went to American Sale and spoke with *** ******* sales rep for American Sale. Mrs. ****** informed Mr. ****** that she owned a Dough Boy Pool with a custom built deck. She asked Mr. ****** if she would be able to purchase a replacement pool that would fit her custom built deck, and she informed Mr. ****** that if she was unable to find a pool to fit her deck, she would purchase a new pool liner instead. Mr. ****** informed Mrs. ****** that a Vogue Pool would be a good replacement for her existing pool. He also said the Vogue Pool would fit her deck because it had the same number of posts and rails as her Dough Boy Pool. Mrs. ****** then went to the Great Escape, a competitor of American Sale, to compare pricing. Mrs. ****** was informed by a sales rep at the Great Escape that her existing Dough Boy Pool could not be replaced with a new pool. The sales rep told Mrs. ****** that currently, no pool existed that would fit her deck, as no pool has the same number of posts and rails as the Dough Boy Pool. Upon hearing this, Mrs. ****** went back to American Sale and informed Mr. ****** of this, and again, Mr. ****** ensured Mrs. ****** that the Vogue Pool would fit her deck as it has the same number of rails and posts as her Dough Boy Pool. Upon Mr. ******'s guarantee, Mrs. ****** placed a $500.00 down deposit on a Vogue Pool at American Sale. She received a receipt with a remaining balance of $1,574.99 attached hereto as Exhibit A. On September 30, 2012, Mrs. ****** paid off the remaining balance. American Sale's proposal included all required materials and labor for tear down of the existing pool, and installation of the new pool at the ******'s home located at XXXXX S. ********* Dr., Tinley Park, IL XXXXX. The installation and tear down was to be performed by Cabrera Construction. On October 1, 2013, the Vogue Pool was delivered to the ******'s home, and on October 2, 2013, their old pool was removed and the new pool was installed. First, before verifying that the Vogue Pool would fit the ******'s deck, the old pool was torn down and removed. Next, the installer finished most of the installation of the Vogue Pool before informing Mrs. ****** that it had only 13 posts, while her old pool had 14 posts. The Vogue Pool would not fit the deck, but the installer informed Mrs. ****** that he would do his best to finish installing the Vogue Pool. Upon completion of the installation of the Vogue Pool, the Nallons discovered that their deck had undergone major changes. Whole boards had been removed or cut down in an effort to retrofit the Vogue Pool. However, despite the major changes performed upon the deck, the Vogue Pool does not fit the deck. Now, the Nallons have a damaged deck and a pool that does not fit.

Desired Settlement: The cost to repair my deck. Approximately $400.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/27) */ We have not received a complaint in regards to any issue with the installation until now through this complaint. The installer, ********* was paid directly not though American Sale or included in the price of the pool sale completed through American Sale. Any issue with the installer and the deck complaint would need to be handled directly through the installer, as they were contracted through you to complete this work.We need pictures submitted in order to access the situation overall and need to be emailed to ***************@AmericanSale.com. The Customer Service Department was never contacted about this issue, and there are processes in place to investigate issues. Pleaze submite photos of issue. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/02/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Ms. Ciezcak, In response to your Better Business Bureau ("BBB") reply on February 6, 2014, the ******* acted in good faith upon the belief that the pool they were purchasing from American Sale would fit in their existing deck. They were enticed into believing this due to the promises and assurances of Mr. *** ******. On or around September 28, 2013, Mr. *** ******* acting in his official capacity as a salerperson for American Sale, made assurances to Mrs. ****** that a Vogue Zenith Rapid Flow Pool ("Vogue Pool") would fit into her existing deck without modification. As I mentioned in our prior BBB post, informing a customer that they will not have to modify their deck when they purchase a new pool, and then having them sign a document which says they are responsible for modifications, to which you are using in defense is clearly a deceptive business practice. According to 815 ILCS 505/2 false promises and/or misrepresentations that others rely on to their detriment, are considered violations of the Illinois Consumer Fraud and Deceptive Business Practices Act. In this instance, Mrs. ****** informed Mr. ****** that she did not intend to purchase a new pool if she had to modify her existing deck. Mr. ****** suggested purchasing the Vogue Pool because it would fit into her existing deck without modification. Mrs. ****** relied on the assurances of Mr. ******* and purchased the pool. Next, Mrs. ****** signed off on the document you have attached because she was made to believe she would not have to modify her deck. Now, Mrs. ****** is stuck with a pool that does not fit her deck, and a new deck would cost much more than the pool she purchased from American Sale. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/02/06) */ The attached documents outline the ******'s were aware the new pool they purchased would not fit the existing deck and clearly states and outlines as such and is signed by the ******'s. At no point was it promised a new pool would fit an existing deck with no modifications. It's in our pool agreement due to the fact this is not possible on any sale of a pool with an esisting deck. American Sale is not compensating for deck repairs or modifications.

8/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on American Sale Corp Office
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart