Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

American Sale - Carol Stream

Phone: (630) 504-2151 320 W Army Trail Rd, Carol Stream, IL 60188 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.americansale.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Sale - Carol Stream meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Sale - Carol Stream include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American Sale - Carol Stream
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 17, 2012 Business started: 01/01/1960 Business started locally: 01/01/1960
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chris Heemstra, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Heemstra, Manager
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pools & Hot Tubs Swimming Pool Cover Sales & Service Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies Billiard Equipment & Supplies Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Whirlpool Bath Equipment & Supplies Christmas Lights & Decorations Spa, Hot Tub, Sauna Sales And Service All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Alternate Business Names
American Sales Corporation

Additional Locations

  • 320 W Army Trail Rd

    Carol Stream, IL 60188 (630) 504-2151

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/24/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i had purchased a zenith above ground pool from american sale in 2012.While swimming yesterday my nephew cut his finger on one of the post caps which have very sharp corners. in addition i have lost a 4 pool toys because of punctures and never noticed it until he cut his finger. I called Debbie at American Sales in Carol Stream and she said i was OUT OF WARRANTY AND I CAN PAY TO REPLACE THEM .This IS DEFINITIVELY a DEFECT AND A DANGER THAT SHOULD BE COVERED .The pool is only 2 years old -unacceptable.Very dangerous -anyone can see that.Why would you have to watch where you grab onto in the pool?

Desired Settlement: I want the caps replaced or repaired so there are no sharp edges and people cannot get hurt . I want 4 pool toys repaired or replaced -each one has a nice cut as to where the height matches the sharp edges in the pool -i will take care of my nephew and his finger -ice cream does the trick .

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/06/09) */ The issue was not worked through the proper channels for review which is through the Customer Service Department. The store manager who initially received this complaint from the BBB contacted the customer and he will be out to the store location on Wednesday, June 11th and the caps will be reviewed at that time. It appears the caps cracked during the winter months and would not be considered a defect, it would be from weather related conditions during the harsh winter but will be accessed. The pool has been installed for 2 years and no prior complaints. Further update will be provided. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/06/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have told him(store manager)over the phone that the caps are not cracked and i am bringing them in to show them first hand .I do not like this sugar coating that they appeared to be cracked . They haven't even seen them yet and as i stated to him -They are still in new condition!!! It is a defect and that's it -all the caps have sharp edges on the bottom of them .They should really wait to see them until they respond absurdly. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/06/11) */ Customer dropped off the cap at the store location and I reviewed the photos and spoke to the store Manager. The issue is not a defect and is the way it's manufactured overall. The stock of inventory is also like this as well as on our display pools and the pieces vary. We have pulled 17 of these caps and is being sent to the store for the customer to pick up, the store manager will advise the customer once received. The edges are similiar and will vary and is not defective. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2014/06/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have done my part and can't stress anymore that the parts are defective. The parts are as sharp as razor blades. Some are sharper than others! I brought one in to American Sales and still the store manager said that the razor point on the cap would not cut a float. I cannot believe the ignorance of him saying that. What a terrible store manager(or not trained in customer service very well) and now we have the zenith pool guy saying they are not defective but he is willing to replace them but I have to come to the store as well and take the old ones off and put the new ones on. I am not happy with this at all . I have many floats that have punctures and a nephew with a cut finger but these parts are not defective! I don't know what happened to customer service but this is as bad as it gets. I want the new parts put on and the defective ones taken out . I want 4 new pool floats .I work hard for money and to be lied to is not acceptable ! I will be more than happy to show anyone that is willing to look at them the danger they pose .If the Zenith pool guys has these sharp caps in his stock then I think the States Attorney Office may be interested in this .That is way beyond unbelievable and as a consumer unacceptable. My resolution again is someone take off the old ones and replace them with the new ones and replace 4 pool floats (I have all of them and they will match up to where they lay in the water and the cut is exactly where the sharp point of the cap is pointing down)or they pay me for my time and the pool float cost. Otherwise if this does not get concluded to my satisfaction then I will work with the BBB on litigation . I am not the bad guy here and I only want what is fair. I am not trying to get something for nothing just what is fair. I really would also like to talk to a high ranking official at zenith pool and ask them where was the quality assurance when they made these sharp pointy caps.I have spent thousands of dollars at American sales so this is really not about money but what is right and fair. Nobody likes to be taken advantage of and I believe this to be the case . I have felt from the first call to American Sales all the way to the store manager writing in his first response (that I did not follow the proper channels) I was put on the defense and the customer is never right. Again how absurd is that .I did not see any postings saying what I should do! I called the store to explain and was told I can pay to replace them. What should I have done differently?

6/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on American Sale - Carol Stream
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)