BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/1984

American Sale - Carol Stream

(630) 504-2151320 W Army Trail Rd, Carol StreamIL 60188-9367 Send email to American Sale - Carol Stream

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/1984

BBB has determined that American Sale - Carol Stream meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised American Sale - Carol Stream's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on American Sale - Carol Stream

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
06/10/2013Problems with Product / Service
06/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: i had purchased a zenith above ground pool from american sale in 2012.While swimming yesterday my nephew cut his finger on one of the post caps which have very sharp corners. in addition i have lost a 4 pool toys because of punctures and never noticed it until he cut his finger. I called Debbie at American Sales in Carol Stream and she said i was OUT OF WARRANTY AND I CAN PAY TO REPLACE THEM .This IS DEFINITIVELY a DEFECT AND A DANGER THAT SHOULD BE COVERED .The pool is only 2 years old -unacceptable.Very dangerous -anyone can see that.Why would you have to watch where you grab onto in the pool?



Initial Business Response
The issue was not worked through the proper channels for review which is through the Customer Service Department. The store manager who initially received this complaint from the BBB contacted the customer and he will be out to the store location on Wednesday, June 11th and the caps will be reviewed at that time. It appears the caps cracked during the winter months and would not be considered a defect, it would be from weather related conditions during the harsh winter but will be accessed. The pool has been installed for 2 years and no prior complaints. Further update will be provided.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have told him(store manager)over the phone that the caps are not cracked and i am bringing them in to show them first hand .I do not like this sugar coating that they appeared to be cracked . They haven't even seen them yet and as i stated to him -They are still in new condition!!! It is a defect and that's it -all the caps have sharp edges on the bottom of them .They should really wait to see them until they respond absurdly.

Final Business Response
Customer dropped off the cap at the store location and I reviewed the photos and spoke to the store Manager. The issue is not a defect and is the way it's manufactured overall. The stock of inventory is also like this as well as on our display pools and the pieces vary. We have pulled 17 of these caps and is being sent to the store for the customer to pick up, the store manager will advise the customer once received. The edges are similiar and will vary and is not defective.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have done my part and can't stress anymore that the parts are defective. The parts are as sharp as razor blades. Some are sharper than others! I brought one in to American Sales and still the store manager said that the razor point on the cap would not cut a float. I cannot believe the ignorance of him saying that. What a terrible store manager(or not trained in customer service very well) and now we have the zenith pool guy saying they are not defective but he is willing to replace them but I have to come to the store as well and take the old ones off and put the new ones on. I am not happy with this at all . I have many floats that have punctures and a nephew with a cut finger but these parts are not defective! I don't know what happened to customer service but this is as bad as it gets. I want the new parts put on and the defective ones taken out . I want 4 new pool floats .I work hard for money and to be lied to is not acceptable ! I will be more than happy to show anyone that is willing to look at them the danger they pose .If the Zenith pool guys has these sharp caps in his stock then I think the States Attorney Office may be interested in this .That is way beyond unbelievable and as a consumer unacceptable. My resolution again is someone take off the old ones and replace them with the new ones and replace 4 pool floats (I have all of them and they will match up to where they lay in the water and the cut is exactly where the sharp point of the cap is pointing down)or they pay me for my time and the pool float cost. Otherwise if this does not get concluded to my satisfaction then I will work with the BBB on litigation . I am not the bad guy here and I only want what is fair. I am not trying to get something for nothing just what is fair. I really would also like to talk to a high ranking official at zenith pool and ask them where was the quality assurance when they made these sharp pointy caps.I have spent thousands of dollars at American sales so this is really not about money but what is right and fair. Nobody likes to be taken advantage of and I believe this to be the case . I have felt from the first call to American Sales all the way to the store manager writing in his first response (that I did not follow the proper channels) I was put on the defense and the customer is never right. Again how absurd is that .I did not see any postings saying what I should do! I called the store to explain and was told I can pay to replace them. What should I have done differently?

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Spa, Hot Tub, Sauna Sales And Service, Christmas Lights & Decorations, Whirlpool Bath Equipment & Supplies, Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers, Billiard Equipment & Supplies, Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies, Swimming Pool Cover Sales & Service, Swimming Pools & Hot Tubs

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/17/2012Business started: 01/01/1960
Contact Information
Mr. Chris Heemstra (Manager)
Related Businesses
American Sale - Naperville - 676 Amerisale Dr, Naperville, IL
American Sale - Orland Park - 16660 LaGrange Road, Orland Park, IL
American Sale - Romeoville - 745 N Center Blvd, Romeoville, IL
American Sale - Bridgeview - 8951 S Harlem Ave, Bridgeview, IL
American Sale - Tinley Park - 8405 W 185th St, Tinley Park, IL
American Sale Corp Office - 8401 W 185th St, Tinley Park, IL
American Sale - Lansing - 16955 Torrence Ave, Lansing, IL
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Spa, Hot Tub, Sauna Sales And Service, Christmas Lights & Decorations, Whirlpool Bath Equipment & Supplies, Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers, Billiard Equipment & Supplies, Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies, Swimming Pool Cover Sales & Service, Swimming Pools & Hot Tubs

Industry Tips
Contracts
In-Ground Swimming Pools Can Be a Major Investment

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for American Sale - Carol Stream

320 W Army Trail Rd

Carol Stream, IL 60188-9367

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 320 W Army Trail Rd 

    Carol Stream, IL 60188-9367(630) 504-2151

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*American Sale - Carol Stream is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Contracts
In-Ground Swimming Pools Can Be a Major Investment
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.