Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

LifeStorage of Matteson

Additional Locations

Phone: (708) 279-4138 Fax: (708) 748-5073 View Additional Phone Numbers 21700 S Cicero Ave, Matteson, IL 60443 http://www.lifestorage.com/illinois-self-storage/matteson-storage-units/lifestorage-of-matteson/ View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that LifeStorage of Matteson meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for LifeStorage of Matteson include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on LifeStorage of Matteson
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 04, 2011 Business started: 02/01/2002 Business started locally: 02/01/2002 Business incorporated 02/13/2002 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Commerce Commission
160 N. LaSalle St., Chicago IL 60601
http://www.icc.illinois.gov
Phone Number: (800) 524-0795

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Shalonda Siler, Area Manager Peter
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Shalonda Siler, Area Manager
Business Category

Storage Units - Household & Commercial Paper & Document Shredding Shredding Services Office & Desk Space Rental Service Business Services - General Moving & Storage Company Moving Supplies Lessors of Miniwarehouses and Self-Storage Units (NAICS: 531130)

Alternate Business Names
Simply Self Storage

Additional Locations

  • 21700 S Cicero Ave

    Matteson, IL 60443 (708) 748-0001 (708) 279-4138

  • 450 Airport Rd

    Elgin, IL 60123

  • Cicero Ave

    Matteson, IL 60443

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/29/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/27/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I SIGNED A CONTRACT WITH LIFE STORAGE IN NOVEMBER OF 2013 .THE ENTRY DOOR WAS BROKEN FOR 2 WEEKS FROM 3/25/2015 THROUGH 4/8/2015 . I TRIED TO CONTACT THE MANAGER FOR 2 WEEKS ,WHEN HE DID CONTACT ME ON 4/8/2015 WE HAD A VERBAL CONFONTATION I TRIED TO EXPLAIN TO HIM THAT I AM HANDICAP AND THAT WAS A BREACH OF THE CONTRACT FOR ME NOT TO HAVE ACESS TO THE FACILITY WHERE I PAY AND MY BELONGING ARE . ALSO IM SUPPOSED TO BE RECIEVING A 25% MILITARY DISCOUNT THAT I FEEL IS NOT BEEN APPLIED CORRECTLY.WHEN ***** ***** WAS VERY MEAN AND RUDE AND TOLD ME THAT HE WAS NOT GOING TO COMPENSATE ME IN ANY WAY PLEASE HELP ME WITH THIS MATTER

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) APOLIGY AND REIMBURSEMENT FOR 1 MONTH RENT THIS IS NOT THE 1ST 2ND OR 3RD TIME IN THE LAST 6 MOS THAT THIS DOOR WAS NOT ACESSIBLY

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/14) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@lifestorage.com The tenant notified the managers in the office of the malfunctioning door. The managers were already aware of the situation and it was being addressed. Parts were ordered that are not normally kept in stock for the maintenance company. In the meantime, an option was given to use the opposite door to enter or to proceed through our office. A sign was also affixed to this entry way to avoid this entrance and use the other. The tenant became upset with either options and stressed this to be an inconvenience and wished to be compensated. The managers reached out to their District Manager (***** ******* due to her request. She also stated to them that the location was insecure and a breach of her lease agreement. Lastly, that she was supposed to get a 25% off discount on her space that she never received. I contacted the tenant on the 7th of April to address all of her concerns. The tenant started the conversation stating she was not looking for an apology for her troubles and only looking to be compensated. I asked for her to please go over her concerns with me and I would answer and address them the best that I can. She went on to explain each item that was already presented to the managers of the site. I started to address her concerns, however was cut off each time I tried to speak. I thought this only to be coincidence, until I asked her to proceed with anything else and she did not until again tried to speak. I finally interrupted her to state if she would not allow me to speak, then I will not be able to help with her concerns. Being able to address her concerns at that time I explained to her that she did in fact receive a discount on her storage space in the beginning of her rental in 2013. She has since received rental increases which we notified her of on a timely basis. Last one being on April 1, 2015. This was also addressed with her by another manager on 7/10/14. Tenant's rate is currently much below the standard rental rate of her size space. I then address her concern for the security of the property. The door was put out of commission and security cameras affixed to this area. Door was never kept in an open position. Property walks are also made on a frequent basis daily to ensure the security of the property. The access point given to tenants due to the malfunctioning door even gives a 2nd gated key access point they must drive through. I finally addressed her concern of not being able to access the property and the breach of her lease agreement. I advised in no way are we in breach of the agreement she has signed. Her storage space remains secure and she has been able to access it during the downtime of the door. I did apologize for the door being down, however this is a high traffic area and wear and tear does and can happen. Tenant understood previous addressed concerns, however still wanted compensation for the door. Tenant was given compensation for not being able to access the property a time before, due to not knowing of second access point as the door went down after office hours. Tenant was advised by the manager and myself of this other access point going forward. I advised we unfortunately will not be able to provide compensation for this case. After denial, tenant brought to my attention that she does have a handicap. I reassured her that the 2nd access point, as well as our first, is very handicap accessible. We have provided ramp access, first spot parking, and large moving carts available at the entrance (pictures can be provided). In agreement this door has had times of it being out of order. This is in no fault of the company avoiding the occurrence. Wear and tear of the door combined with abuse and mishandling has caused for the repeated maintenance. One incident includes a mover for the tenant using a brick to keep this door open and not utilizing the timer during her initial move in. LifeStorage addresses every concern with the utmost importance. This first starts with the managers in the store that are the first line of contact for account, billing, property, or rental questions. We believe our managers have addressed our tenant's concerns on every occasion. *Lease information and pictures of entry ways can be provided.

4/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4-9-14 I purchased storage bin. I was not sure if i would need it for 2 or 3 months. I stated that I might need 3 months. I was told by ******** ***** that 50% off 1st 3 months just ended now. She would only give me 50% off for 2 months only. If I needed 3 months I would have to pay full price for the 3rd month. It's advertised all over the internet 50% of for 1st 3 months. I am a paying customer, not receiving anything free. Just expecting same business services as all other customers. If I need 3 months I expect 50% off as advertised. Product_Or_Service: Storage bin Order_Number: Store Code **** Account_Number: Unit ***

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) 50% off for the 1st 3 months

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/25) */ After review of this account and speaking to the current tenant, we stand behind the decision that was made. The tenant before renting with us was explained exactly what promotion she would be given. She was told that at another time we had different promotions available, which was the 3 months at 50% off. Our promotions and prices offered can be updated and, or changed on a daily basis. They can differ from one facility to another. When visiting our website, you will see that our promotions state, "UP to 3 months for 50% off". We do however, value our customers and Ms. ******. Understanding her confusion and reluctancy in wanting go to another facility, we will be honoring the 3rd month at 50% off. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/04/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on LifeStorage of Matteson
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)