BBB Accredited Business since

Hampster Industries

Additional Locations

Phone: (866) 280-2287 Fax: (847) 550-9850 View Additional Phone Numbers 26400 N Pheasant Run, Mundelein, IL 60060 http://www.bigtimebats.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hampster Industries meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hampster Industries include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hampster Industries
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 23, 2010 Business started: 09/01/1999 Business started locally: 09/01/1999 Business incorporated 09/23/1999 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Obie, CEO Daniel Obie, Vice President Ms. Margaret Obie, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Obie, CEO
Business Category

Sports Memorabilia Collectibles Sporting Goods - Retail Gift, Novelty, and Souvenir Stores (NAICS: 453220)

Alternate Business Names
Big Time Bats BigTimeFootball.com

Additional Locations

  • 1000 Brown St STE 214

    Wauconda, IL 60084

  • 26400 N Pheasant Run

    Mundelein, IL 60060 (866) 280-2287

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9909 S Shore Dr STE 270

    Minneapolis, MN 55441

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** ***** <*********@comcast.net>, ****************@bigtimebats.com, ***** ***** <*********@comcast.net> ***** G. ***** **** ***** ****** ******** ** XXXXX tel XXX-XXX-XXXX Website order number XXXXXXX DEAR **** I ordered this bat in April, it is now June 8 and my grandson has not received his bat from ***********. He is very disappointed!! When will he receive his bat? Sincerely *** ***** (grampa) (XXX-XXX-XXXX) My grandson' address is ***** X ***** **** ****** **** ** *** ***** *** XXXXX PS Please see e-mail stream below I paid the $147.50 through my visa card. **** Card Withdrawal (Date 04/15/XX XXXXXXXXXXXX XXX to HAMPSTERDIR XXX-XXX-XXXX IL) On May 21, 2015, at 11:37 AM, ****************@bigtimebats.com wrote: It will ship the end of next week I am sorry for the delay. **** Original Message From: "***** *****" <*********@comcast.net> Sent: Thursday, May 21, XXXX X:XXpm To: ****************@bigtimebats.com Cc: "***** *****" <*********@comcast.net> Subject: HAS MY ORDER BEEN MAILED TO MY GRANDSON? ***** G. ***** **** ***** ****** ******** ** XXXXX tel XXX-XXX-XXXX Dear *********** I ordered the Giants World Series bat in April. Please advise when the bat will be delivered to my grandson! *** ***** My grandson' address is ***** X ***** **** ****** **** ** *** ***** *** XXXXX

Desired Settlement: I would like this company to send my grandson his bat, If this is not possible I want a refund ($147.95).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/23) */ Contact Name and Title: **** **** Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX Contact Email: ******@aol.com Dear Customer Service Please be advised that my grandson received his bat last Saturday (June 20). Thank you, *** ***** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/06/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Dear Customer Service Please be advised that my grandson received his bat last Saturday (June 20). Thank you, *** ***** PS Also see below complaint filed June 17 with the Illinois Better Business Bureau Case #XXXXXXXX.

2/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My order number is *******. I ordered a Chicago Cubs bat, got a KC Royals one. Went to the website after calling the number on the website only to be told they would not help me. No Response. I have tried to send these 4 or 5 times. No one responded until a yesterday and the only thing the email said was "sorry we have a 30 day return policy" Are you kidding me? You make a mistake and send me the wrong thing, do not have a working number to speak to someone and do not respond to repeated emails and then send me a one line response that you WILL NOT help me. POOR Customer service. I ordered the CORRECT item from another company got it within 3 days, then actually ordered 2 more for my boys. Very easy to work with and great customer service. I want my refund in full.

Desired Settlement: I just want my money back and to never use this company again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/12) */ We have a 30 day money back policy. It is stated on the web site. We do not show any emails from the customer before 2-9. We stated in the email received on 2-9 that we would be happy to exchange the bat for any bat of equal value. Customer states she purchased 3 bats from someone else, we are the only company to sell this bat. I am not sure why the customer did not return the bat when the wrong bat was shipped? We do make mistakes but we are happy to fix those mistakes.

12/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/4/14 I ordered the following-Big Time Bats Order #******* Thank you for ordering from BigTimeBats.com. If you have questions regarding your order, please e-mail customer service at ****************@bigtimebats.com. Please allow 4-6 weeks for delivery. Tracking information will be sent once your order has shipped. Please Note: The order you have just placed will show up on your credit card statement as *************** Order Date: 10/4/XXXX X:XX pmItems Ordered: -Nationals No HItter & Division Champs 2 Bat Set with FREE Display: 1 at $239.90 = $239.90 Subtotal: $239.90Tax: $0.00Shipping: $20.00Total: $259.90 Thank you for your business. Protect your new collectible bat or football in a handsome display case. Enter Promotional Code: DISC-BXXXXXX with your next purchase and SAVE 10% on a baseball bat or football display case. *******************************@bigtimebats.com *********************************** All Rights Reserved. I have never received the bats and when I call *************** they say they don't deal with the bats and when I email the customer service there is no reply.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my money refunded plus the interest on the money for the credit card company from the time ordered until this is resolved.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/12/11) */ She signed for the bats on 12-1 Shipping Company: USPS Tracking Number: ********************** She has the bats and did a chargeback I am out the money not her.

7/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hampster Ind / *************** are using very fraudulent deceiving business practice. I purchased 2 Wrigley Field Commemorate bats, the purchase was made on 05/09/2014, a week later I get a call from "*****" with big time bats, he makes an offer of getting my bats autographed by ***** ****** he goes on to say the cost of the bats I had already paid ($279 and change) would be included in my purchase. He then quoted me a price of $540 and change. I asked multiple times if that was my total cost to which he confirmed it was the total cost. I was also told the autographed bats would be the first 500. I got my bats and first I noticed they were numbered over 500, when asked ***** informed be the autographed bats were the first 1000, (which was quite different than the 500 he first told me). I was checking my credit card statement and I see two charges on my statement, one for $540 and the other for $279. When asked about the extra charge and being charged twice for the bats ***** claimed that was how the billing was explained. I checked the original paperwork and it indicates the $279 was deducted from the cost but the cost of the bats now had the 279 added to them. ***** was rude on the phone and would do nothing more than claim the amount was what he said it would be, very dishonest, deceiving tactics. There is no way I would have paid nearly $900 for 2 bats, the price I paid was top end, you can get autographed bats by ***** ***** for less on ****** These guys need to have their business pratices known.

Desired Settlement: $279.90 refunded to my credit card, this was the amount of the bats that Marty left me beliving was part of the purchase as described and then was charged anyway

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/07) */ The customer paid $795 for two autograpehd *********** Wrigley Field bats. The edition size for the Banks bats is 1000. We have over 800+ satisfied customers on this offer and are selling the bats every day. The price of $395 for an exclusive autographed Wrigley Field bat is very fair and reasonalbe. Having said that, the customer can return the items for a full refund. We have sent a call tag to the customer and he can return them for a full refund.

5/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 6, 2014, I purchased a signed ************** Superbowl football for $620. To be delivered to me in early March. Order Hampster Industries Order #******** I purchased it on my ***** ************** ******************** is the sales rep I have been working with. Beginning of March came and went...**** informed me that they were having troubles getting******** ****** to keep his signing dates. (he had missed 3-4)On April 9th, I contacted **** and he indicated still they hadn't gotten the footballs signed. I asked for a refund, and he obliged. It is April 28, 2014. I have not seen a refund. I have been continually asking **** about my refund and he says it is "done" on their end. It should not take 14 BUSINESS days to receive a refund.

Desired Settlement: I want my $620 back on to my VISA.

Business Response: ******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************* Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/05/01) */ customer was refunded as stated Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/05/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I just received the refund on May 2, 2014. Thank you

3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had order ************************************** game football ******************** This company charged my credit card ************ After they charged my card a man from this company called me two more times and tried to get me to pay them an additional******* to have my foot ball signed by ************** the Quarter back from the ***************** I told him no thank you. He called me again. I told know again. I still have not received the football. I had called there customer service number three times, and they tell me that they can not find my order, and they will call me back. To date I have not received one phone call back from this company.

Desired Settlement: Just send me my Foot Ball!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/25) */ ************************************************************************************************* Customer ordered on line the offer clearly stated 4-6 weeks for delivery, customer never emailed to cancel. He has now been refunded for internet order******** I am sorry the call center did not give the customer the customer service email address. The call center is an oustside company that does not have the internet orders for security reasons.

11/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Order of a 8X11 team winning the stanley cup photo signed by ************* I dont have order number but have been communicating with ************************************** as you can see below ******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement: id like my original order completed and or an equivalent replacement

Business Response: *************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Customer received the item, it was a*********** autographed item that did take a long time to arrive, Customer was asked rapidly if he wanted a refund and stated he did not, Not sure why he then filed this complaint. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 12, 2013/11/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The company sent me the purchased item, you can close the case *****************************************************************************************

7/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service