Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that S & M Plow Corp meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for S & M Plow Corp include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on S & M Plow Corp
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 07, 2010 Business started: 12/01/1998 Business started locally: 12/01/1998 Business incorporated 11/21/2011 in
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Joyce Gye, Secretary
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Joyce Gye, Secretary
Business Category

Snow Removal Service Snow Removal Service - Commercial Snow Removal Equipment Landscape Contractors Landscape Maintenance Landscape Contractors - Commercial Landscape Designers Tree Service Tree Service - Pruning Other Support Activities for Road Transportation (NAICS: 488490)

Alternate Business Names
S & M Snow Plowing

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/02) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ***, President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@att.net Please be advised that S&M Snow Plowing regrets that it was forced to cancel the contract with Ms. ******* ******** for snow removal at ****** ******* ******** Church because it was not cost effective. As you may know, the City of Chicago was hit with a number of record breaking snow falls in December and January. Our first snow occassion took two men more than two hours with snow removal trucks, snow blowers and shovels. It cost us more than $150 in time, labor and resources to do the job. In blizzard conditions you have to return to do additional clean up after the initial visit. We wanted to help Ms. ******** and keep the cost affordable because the church could not afford to pay and she was paying for it out of her pocket. Prior to receiving this complaint we returned Ms. ******** check to her for $130. We donated our services for that snow removal service in an attempt to make amends for not being able to honor the contract. The value of the service provided was in excess of $300. We have also looked into finding someone else in the area that may be able to accommodate Ms. ******** but have not been successful. The janitor at the church might consider doing the extra snow removal on the weekends if he was paid $130 per occassion. I await Ms. ******** response. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/02/07) */ Case # XXXXXXXX: S & M Snow Plowing 1 message ******* ******** <*******@ameritech.net> Fri, Feb 7, 2014 at 11:24 AM Reply-To: ******* ******** <*******@ameritech.net> To: "*******@chicago.bbb.org" <*******@chicago.bbb.org> Even though the company returned my check, I am not satisfied with the company's response! I did state to *** *** that ****** ******* Church's finances were strained and that I, personally, would pay for the snow removal. However, I did not put a limit on what I would play. When I asked Mr. *** what would be "cost effective," he avoided quoting a price but kept repeating that servicing ************** was not "cost effective." I question that the value of servicing ************** is in excess of $300.00. Also, Mr. *** could not determine what I was willing to pay for the company's service because he never answered my question. To just not show-up without warning me that he was reneging on the contract was an insult and put ****** ******* parishioners at risk because believing that his company was reliable, I had not arranged for back-up. There was time between New Year's Day when the company serviced the church and Sunday, when the company failed to show, for Mr. *** to warn me that he would not continue to service **************. I did get a suburban company to give temporary service. Also, Mr. ***'s suggestion about **************'s janitor doing weekend snow removal at the rate of $130.00 is misplaced. If he was sincere, he could have returned my check before he sent the bill and made the suggestion at that time. ******* ** ******** Consumer Response /* (450, 13, 2014/02/11) */ Corpus Christi Catholic Church (Snow Removal) 1 message Dolores ******** <*******@ameritech.net> Tue, Feb 11, 2014 at 10:31 AM Reply-To: Dolores ******** <*******@ameritech.net> To: "*******@chicago.bbb.org" <*******@chicago.bbb.org> Ms. Diana Mendez, I am in receipt of Mr. *** ***'s apology for cancelling his company's contract to shovel snow at Corpus Christi Catholic Church. Enclosed in the letter of apology was a "good-faith" check in the amount of $150.00 made out to "Corpus Christi Catholic Church." I, hereby, accept, without reservation, Mr. ***'s method of resolving the issue. *********. ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on S & M Plow Corp
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)