This business is not BBB accredited.

Skin1, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 842-4988 Fax: (312) 654-9800 View Additional Phone Numbers 680 N Lake Shore Dr  #101, Chicago, IL 60611 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.skin1.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Skin1 is a Chicago salon and online beauty product store with a focus on skincare, hair care, and makeup. Located in Chicago, IL, Skin1 provides both medical and aesthetic expertise to their customers as well as health and beauty products intended to rejuvenate and repair damaged skin and hair.

Skin1's Refine Medical Spa employs licensed dermatologists and aestheticians, and provides a variety of services to improve the function and appearance of skin and hair, including a variety of facials, peels, micro-dermabrasion, and waxing.

Their online store includes top-shelf beauty brands and equipment, with a focus on hair care, organic products, skincare, and quality cosmetics. For customers wishing to continue their spa treatments at home, Skin1's store has a selection of in-home tools available for purchase, such as micro-dermabrasion kits, pore cleansers, and hair and nail styling equipment. Their store also provides free samples of the products they offer and a blog written by aestheticians who work at the Skin1 spa. Brands that this company carries in their online store include Decleor, Dermalogica, Elta MD, Revision, Natura Bisse, Sothys, and Yon-Ka. Every order includes free shipping and samples of other products for customers to try and possibly purchase in their next order, and their website includes different sales and deals every day. Customers who review products on their website are eligible for discounts on their next order and other offers.

Visit the website for Skin1 to view their spa services, read their informative beauty tips blog, and shop online for skin and hair care products and cosmetics.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Skin1, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Skin1, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 21, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1990 Business started locally: 01/01/1990 Business incorporated 09/19/1996 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Shelly Greening, VP Operations
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Shelly Greening, VP Operations
Business Category

Skin Care Health & Medical - General Internet Shopping Day Spas Hair Products and Equipment Hair Removing Equipment & Supplies Cosmetics & Perfumes - Retail Hair Styling and Services Hair Removal - Laser & Electrolysis Health & Wellness Health Resorts Beauty Salons (NAICS: 812112)

Alternate Business Names
Skin-One

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Skin1, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    680 N Lake Shore Dr
    #101

    Chicago, IL 60611 (800) 842-4988 (312) 654-1800

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    680 N. Lake Shore Dr Ste 101

    Chicago, IL 60611

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/23/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/28/2015, an order was placed for $137.28 of merchandise. Only part of that order has been sent to me, although I was charged the full amount of the order. A note was added to the order stating that the order was incomplete and that the rest of the merchandise would be arriving shortly. When I called Skin1 in early December, I was told to wait no more than 10-15 business days for the outstanding merchandise to arrive. It is now early January 2016, and I have not received any additional merchandise or received an adjustment for the bill.

Desired Settlement: Either refund of undelivered merchandise or shipment of outstanding merchandise.

Business Response:

Good morning. We have sent communication via email to advise you of the delay with your order. Unfortunately, we have not received the remainder of our inventory from the manufacturer. At this time, when shopping with Skin1 you are charged for the complete order as soon as you submit it. If we are unable to fill the full order we send email communication, and notification with the shipment of the order. We do apologize for the inconvenience, and at anytime can cancel and refund for the outstanding items. We do our best to maintain our inventory levels, but occasionally we do encounter manufacturer delays. Please let us know how you would like to proceed with the balance of your order.

Again, we apologize for the inconvenience. 

12/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I November 9 at SKIN1**** this site to buy goods worth $ 172.8, order number: *******Up to now we do not have any shipping information. I have tried to contact them by e-mail three times, but they did not make any reply. I had to call my credit card issuer, which indicates that this amount has been deducted from my credit card true formula. Normally, the general shopping sites are waiting for shipments to pre-authorize deductions formally deduction, this site is very special, no shipping charge but also can not contact after reply.

Desired Settlement: The money returned to me, and give me an apology.

Business Response: Thank you for your contact. We have contacted the customer *** ***** *** ***** ******************* via telephone at ************* We do not make international calls from here. Both methods of communication have been unsuccessful for us as well. The order was place on hold because of the international billing address, and it shipping to a different name and address in the US. We hold the order until we can communicate with the card hold for security and fraudulent purposes. 

12/4/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An order was placed on 10/17/15 with Skin1 for 5 products totaling $392.00. My credit card was charged same day for that amount. I got an email stating product had shipped. Next day I got an email stating 4 of the 5 items were on back order or discontinued. I asked to cancel the remaining order and credit back my credit card (via email to the shipping person). This did not happen. The remaining items were shipped two weeks later (I had already purchased else where). When I called same day to stop shipment, Skin1 advised that could not happen. I was advised by Skin1 that I was to receive the product and return to sender. Received 11/615 -- returned 11/7/15 I have yet to receive credit for the returned items and have contacted Skin1 twice for status Why was my card charged for product that was not available? Why is it so difficult to cancel an order? AND Most especially why is so difficult to receive a credit due.

Desired Settlement: At this point, the credit should include interest charged on the credit card while waiting for the refund.

Business Response: Thank you for your contact. We did process a partial refund of $132.75 on 11/4/15 for the items that did not ship. We have not received the refused shipment back from the USPS as of today. However, based on the tracking stating that it was refused, we did complete the refund of $258.75 for the items we have not received back as of yet. This refund was processed today per a phone conversation with Barbara. We apologize for the inconvenience. 

12/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After receiving the wrong product, I called customer service to notify. The customer service rep said she'd send the correct product I ordered with expedited shipping. I asked for an email, never received one. I called today 11-14-14 to check the status of my order and a different customer service rep said that there was no record of me calling in or my product that I had paid for to be shipped. He apologized but was very short with me and said 'oh just keep the wrong product and we'll overnight the right product to you now." He just kept saying "I don't know what happened, I don't know what happened" over and over. I asked for an email and tracking for this now second time I've called to try and have the correct item shipped to me. I haven't received an email yet. Terrible customer service and just bad business. It's been 12 days since my purchase and I am still sitting here with the wrong product.

Desired Settlement: I just want to product I paid for. I will never do business with Skin 1, Inc. again

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/12/18) */ Contact Name and Title: ********************* Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: **************** We did encounter an error with the 1st reshipment of the correct item on 11/7. We did show the call from out customer informing us of the mistake, and a reshipment of the correct item was being sent. Unfortunately, a the time of the second call on 11/14 we could not locate the tracking information and the representative processed a request for a 2nd reshipment overnight which shows it was delivered, and also advised the customer to keep the incorrect item for the inconvenience of the mistake.

4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a cleanser with a gift certificate and when I received the product it had leaked a bit and I was so unsatisfied with how it worked I contacted me about the issue and they said since I didn't purchase it with money but with a . Gift certificate that it wasn't their problem and the guarantee wasn't good for it since I got the item for free usin the gift certificate they wouldn't credit me back eh credit or replace or exchange all because I used a gift certificate and wouldn't honor their policy of 100% satisfaction guarantee

Desired Settlement: I would likes. Refund of credit to get something else since I didn't like the product and it came damaged

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/04/01) */ *********************************************************************************************************** We here at Skin1 did provide *************** with a store credit of $33.50 on March 10th, which was the amount of the leaked cleanser she did not like. We were unable to give a refund because the purchase was made with store credit she won from a blogger site, and all refunds are given in the same form of payment the purchase was made. She did use the store credit on March 10th to make a new purchase for desired items. We did not request for her to return item she didn't like we let her keep it and simply supplied her with the new store credit code. If you need any further information please let us know.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Skin1, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart