BBB Accredited Business since

Schmidt Exteriors, Inc.

Phone: (630) 752-4422 Fax: (630) 752-9801 1737 E Wilson St, Batavia, IL 60510 View Additional Email Addresses View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Schmidt Exteriors, Inc. is a siding contractor which installs exterior home elements for residential and commercial customers. This company serves the western suburbs of Chicago, including Geneva, St Charles, West Chicago, Winfield, Campton Hills, Wayne, Warrenville, South Elgin, Lily Lake, Aurora, Montgomery, Sugar Grove, Boulder Hill, Naperville, Elburn, Bartlett, Hanover Park, Glen Ellyn, Glendale Heights, Bloomingdale, and Kaneville. Services available from this company include siding installation, window and door replacement, and insulation installation.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Schmidt Exteriors, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Schmidt Exteriors, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Schmidt Exteriors, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 16, 2003 Business started: 04/01/1974 Business started locally: 04/01/1974 Business incorporated 10/07/1994 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Susan Selman, Business Manager Mr. Michael P. Schmidt, President/Owner Mr. Mike Schmidt, Owner/President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Susan Selman, Business Manager
Number of Employees


Business Category

Siding Contractors Windows - Installation & Service Doors Windows Contractor - Insulation Painting Contractors Siding Contractors (NAICS: 238170)

Alternate Business Names
Schmidt Builders Inc Schmidt Exteriors Inc.

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Schmidt Exteriors was to pump fome insulation into the exterior walls of my home from the interior of the hosue. Every room was to be efected. All photos removed, bookcases deconstructed, books moved, all furniture was moved off the exterior walls. All closets were emptyed in preperation. At 10:26 am the day of the job the owner of the company called and saide he was canceling the contract. I received price qt from company 10/2012. On 3/19/2014 I called their office who was able to located the price qt and scheduled the job for 3/28/2014. On 2/27/2014 I called their office to confirmed the job and time of arrive for the crew. I was told the crew will arrive between 8 and 9am. On 2/28/2014 I received a call from the crew that they were on their way and then they arrived at my house 920AM. Upon arivel I reviewed with the crew leader (Alfrado) the job. Alfrado noted that the price was to low and went to his work truck to call the owner (Mike). I returned to my home to see the truck driving away. I called the office and asked what was going on and was told that Mike would call me back. A short time latter I received a voice mail from the owner stated that he was in no way interested in doing the job and that he was canceling.

Desired Settlement: I am still in need to insulation installed and have every room in the house prepared.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/02) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **** Schmidt Exteriors apologizes for the confusion. When you called to schedule your project we did not realize the project had been quoted so long ago. The product you were quoted in 2012 is no longer available in the form that was quoted and has since drastically increased in cost. Labor costs have increased as well. It is the fault of our office that this wasn't caught and communicated to you beforehand but we could not possibly do this project for that price. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It is unacceptable that Schmidt failed to review or prepare for this job at any time in the 2 weeks prior to my appointment. Then once on site, a site which I spent 4 days moving all belongings from the work path and scheduling another trade to finish the walls afterwards, that the crew simply retreated to their truck. Once in the truck, they simply drove off without any communication to me. After and hour and a half, all I received was a voice message stating that there was no profit in the job for Schmidt Exteriors. No one offered an accurate quote, apology for the abandonment nor acknowledgement of accountability. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/04/24) */ 1) Client delayed the order for 2 years. 2) Mike ******* thought the project was cancelled and never thought of it again. 3) It was the fault of our office that the project was rekindled. 4)Product is no longer available in the form that was quoted 2 years ago. 5)We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to this homeowner and our company. 6)We do not accept responsibility for a client that delays a project for 2 years. 7)No money has been exchanged. No one is at a loss except for inconvenience. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/04/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) 1) their is no resolution proposed 2) no offer to up date price and material was offered just walked out and left the door open 3) taking some ownership to the problem is a nice thought 2) inconvenience was physical preparation in making their job easy 3) the lack of tact in how the company just abandon the job site with out notice, that is not how a A+ rated business operates 4) product no longer available - was never explained - voice mail stated "don't want no part of the this job" 5) they walked off the job leaving the house in complete disarray with out any thing explained it was disheartening and unprofessional. 6) we are in the process of getting another company to do the job