Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

S & W Home Improvements, Inc.

Phone: (630) 887-9649 Fax: (630) 887-7124 215 Midway Dr, Willowbrook, IL 60527 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on S & W Home Improvements, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 21, 1990 Business started: 07/01/1970 Business started locally: 07/01/1970 Business incorporated 04/29/1994 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Steve Watt, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Watt, Owner
Business Category

Siding Contractors Basement - Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling Windows - Installation & Service Doors Doors - Installation Windows Storm Windows & Doors - Repair Kitchen Remodeling Home Improvements Patio & Deck Builders Deck Builders Siding Contractors (NAICS: 238170)

Additional Locations


    215 Midway Dr

    Willowbrook, IL 60527 (630) 887-9649


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had contracted with S&W Home Improvement to replace my sliding patio door and screen in the beginning of June. I was recently called by the owner (*****)to schedule installation and for some reason he kept pushing the idea of leaving my home open to his crew while I was not at home, which was not acceptable. We went through my schedule of the next days I have off but he was always busy, so the call was ended with no date set. The next day I called him and asked him to pick the first available day in July; the very next day he called me, ignoring my request, and said that he could be here today to begin installation at 8:30 am and finish by 11:30am, a total of three hours. I agreed to this. The crew did not arrive here until 8:55. I told the driver that it was too late to do the install and sent him away. I called and left a message with the owner. He called back and was irate; "how dare I turn the crew around?" he asked. I told him my window of opportunity was closed. According to the information he gave me it would be a three-hour job. If he started at 9am, that would equal him ending at 12:00 noon. I had to leave for work at noon. He would not accept this and was arguing with me. This guy gave me a VERY hard time and was not willing to work with me at all. I wanted to do this on my day off so there would not be a time issue. I could not allow it to be installed and have something go wrong to make it go past the time I had to leave for work and jeopardize my job, and I would NOT allow his crew to be here when I was not. At the end of the verbal sparing on the phone, I again asked ***** to please pick the first available day in July to install the doors for me. He hung up without giving me a date. This is totally unacceptable. I have never worked with this company in the past and I am sure that I will never work with them in the future.

Desired Settlement: I simply want S&W Home Improvements to deliver and install my patio doors according to my schedule, not theirs.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/28) */ S&W scheduled to install a patio door for my customer on Thursday. Told him we would start around 8;30 am, arrived at 8:45 to start and was told since we didn't arrive at 8:30 sharp we would have to reschedule to install the door in July. I called him immediately to ask why he would change his mind and he stated he had to leave for work at noon, which again I assured him we would be done by 11:30. He said no since we were late. Explained that we had to unload the truck from wednesday and load his door on to the truck. He cost me 2 hours of lost revenue since we had to return and unload his patio door and load up a different job.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on S & W Home Improvements, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)